The Lake House

4.6
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
2355 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Canadian
Perched directly above Lake Bonavista with large glass windows overlooking the lake, The Lake House is home to one of Calgary’s finest & most creative restaurants as well as a unique setting for private events & weddings. Exuding rustic elegance, the interior is illuminated with ornate elk antler chandeliers & a grand fireplace. Catching your eye when you enter is a glass encased wine cellar & a refurbished bar from the 1800’s, previously housed in a mercantile shop in Montana. Our wonderful location is complemented by Chef Thomas Neukom's celebrated Alberta Rocky Mountain cuisine. His offerings feature locally raised meats, game & vegetables from farmers & producers who share his vision for sustainable high quality & close to home cuisine. To augment Chef Neukom's Canadian focused cuisine, The Lake House provides a variety of wine from some of the world's top producers. Our passion extends to many regions of the world, as we have sought to find some of the world's best producers.
What 2355 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was amazing, the service and the atmosphere both were fantastic. I could have not asked for anything more. A lot of places in Calgary are over rated but this is not one of them, If I could give this place 10 stars, I would give them 11

S
Calgary
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything we ordered was delicious. Good portions and beautiful view looking forward to visiting during the summer when the lake ist frozen. Staff were friendly and helpful very prompt service without hovering it was fantastic highly reccomend

RB
Calgary
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience4

It was nice to return to this venue after many years absence. The views over Lake Bonavista are really nice. The food and service were excellent. Our only problem was back ground noise - it was hard to hear my wife speak at times.

RS
Calgary
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience4

The food was okay but not much value for your buck in the current times we live in.

MD
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful service, attentive waiter. Perfect blend of seasoning and the meat and fish were cooked to perfection. Desert was lovely can’t go wrong with apple pastry and sticky toffee pudding.

Definitely did not walk away hungry.

The view was amazing and nice and cozy by the fire place.

JB
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food service and view can't wait to see it in the summer.

OT
Calgary
5 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always amazing!

WC
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Very good food good service. Very nice restaurant definitely will go back

JD
Calgary
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing Chilean sea bass special! Should offer this all the time! Excellent sticky toffee pudding as well

OT
Calgary
20 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Lake House never disappoints, the food, service and atmosphere are priceless.

P
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Had the Ribeye and it didn't really taste like much. No seasoning or the bone marrow jue that they spoke about. I've had way better steaks for the same or less. My wife had the salmon which she said was very good and would like to go back.Diner with wine was $500 and I'm ok with that I just think a little more seasoning would go a long way

JJ
Calgary
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great Valentine’s Day service. The menu and wine pairing were a hit. I will definitely be returning to try out the regular menu

K
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went for valentines and everything was delicious

OT
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

amazing !!!

Report
OT
Calgary
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall1food2service1ambience4

We arrived a bit early with the intention of sitting at the bar for a cocktail. The host was very kind and accommodating, showing us a few tables to see if we liked the locations before proceeding to seat us early, which was lovely. They brought our drinks, we were enjoying being together alone, talking. We were there to enjoy a lovely romantic valentines dinner together, having never been to the Lakehouse before, we were quite excited. Then our server arrived and it quickly went down hill. He was overbearing from the start, approaching our table and interrupted our conversation and dinner every 3-4 minutes. He rushed us through each course, no time to enjoy anything. Disappointing. Finally we asked him if he was able to calm down, that he was too pushy.. his response was “I have 6 tables!” And he walked away. Rude, overbearing, inconsiderate. This is your job, I am your guest... 6 tables of 2 in a sea of 50 tables should be easy with a set menu. His only goal was to flip the tables as fast as he could. There was no consideration. First and last time we will dine at the Lakehouse, which is truly unfortunate. Our bill was well over $200 for their valentines set menu so leaving $0 tip was a no brainer. Very unfortunate for the host, bar and kitchen staff as they were all very lovely. I wonder if we were the only ones who thought that. Not so Happy Valentines.😕

The Lake House
Responded on February 16, 2020

Mrs. Gauthier, we strive to ensure all guests receive excellent service as well as delicious food. Your server (Darcy) has had nothing but raving reviews on OpenTable and Google and we are sorry he wasn't up to your expectations. The Lake House

Report
OT
Calgary
4 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Darcy was our waiter for Valentine’s Day and the meal was absolutely amazing! Stellar service by Darcy! Would 100% recommend and go back time and time again for service like that.

FS
Calgary
18 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience4

We decided to try the Lake House for the first time on Valentine’s Day. Big mistake! It was a prix fixe menu and was extremely disappointing. The prosciutto asparagus was so overcooked that it should not have even been served. The chicken was so underwhelming my date barely touched it. Overall, we were thinking we were eating a meal at a cheap wedding buffet. On the bright side, the wine pairing was spectacular! Overall experience was awful and shame on the Lake House for such an experience.

The Lake House
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on The Lake House. We strive to ensure every guest receives excellent service as well as delicious food, and are sorry you feel this was not the case during your visit. We would advise letting your server know as soon as possible and our kitchen would be able to remake the dish for you. We hope that you would consider giving us another chance in the future to redeem our CRMR cuisine and change your opinion on us! Desiree Plume-Manager

Report
GB
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience4

I booked the valentines dinner 1 month out. On feb 12 the restaurant called and said the menu changed and they are doing a set 5 course menu. First course - Oysters. Not my taste second course - lobster lasagna not my taste and desert was also fixed and had significant sugars which does not work for a diabetic. So I had a small salad and chicken. We went for the experience but stopped on the way home to eat. Updating people two days before valentines leaves no options to rebook a restaurant. The restaurant should have planned better letting the people know the set menu. The cost was about $230 with diet cokes and tip. Not including the meal I ate on the way home.

The Lake House
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you Gary for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were not made aware of the 4 course menu until 2 days prior to your reservation. We post our menu for Valentines at least 6 weeks out on social media and our website. I wish you would have informed management that night that you were disappointed to allow us make your experience better. Please email me at .......... if you would like to discuss this further.

Report
TC
Calgary
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Darcy was a fantastic server. Made the meal even better.

BC
Calgary
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great dinner in a great location with excellent service!

OT
Calgary
4 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Definitely going to try this place again in the summer! The view will be beautiful, I just know it. My boyfriend and I had a beautiful Valentine’s made extra special by the attentive staff. The food was amazing as well. Highly recommended.

HR
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Overall a great experience. We did find it comical that myself and my husband (who is over 6' and broad shouldered) got placed at a very small table that would have been better for one person. There were other tables by us that were larger that went unused for the whole time we were there, which was also confusing. But for a fancy night out the drinks were great and the food delicious. Server was also knowledgeable about my allergy concerns.

The Lake House
Responded on February 16, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on The Lake House. We try to seat as close to the window as possible and we are sorry your table was uncomfortable for you. We would advise letting your server know as soon as possible and we would have been happy to move you to a larger table. Desiree Plume-Manager

Report
N
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2020
Overall3food2service5ambience3

Reserved for a date and got put next to the water table, only one person could see the view. Great service, food great, except for the moldy rye bread and our main meal which was the bison, the elk was perfect, the bison was a perfect rare, but it was soooo salty I could pick out the seasoning used easily and needed two glasses of pineapple juice to deal with how thirsty that made me and my partner. When we mentioned the saltiness to the waiter, he was in disbelief and did not a knowledge our issue, I even offered for him to taste a piece. We had no apology for that until we decided to leave and get our bill at the front counter to pay. While we were discounted, this left us with a nasty test in our mouth for our first time there. And the water was not even filtered. It was pure calgarian chlorinated, herbacide/pesicide water. I have seen the water report. I have been to better places that are cheaper, just as good food, and great clean water. This was our Valentine date. Very disappointing for the price.

The Lake House
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review Nicole. We take all reviews very seriously, especially ones that claim of expired food. Quality control is highly managed and what looked like mold on the rye bread is actually a dusting of flour. In regards to the water, we use a company called Vivrea, an award winning water filtration system. The water served was not unfiltered and we are sorry you felt differently. If you would like to discuss this further please email me at ...........................

Report
FW
1 review
Dined on February 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I would put this experience in my top 5 great restaurants that my wife
and I have ever been to.

AL
Calgary
48 reviews
Dined on February 11, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Beautiful table by the window for a quiet lunch.
We had the oysters - which weekend a great size and delicious. Then had the fish board - this was great - as well as the little seafood salad it came with and the crackers. Our server was fantastic. A nice experience.

DS
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on February 10, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Great ambience; fireplace, large windows overlooking lake, high back chairs and, what we really came for, great food. Helpful and friendly staff. This place is a bit of a diamond!

OT
Calgary
3 reviews
Dined on February 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Just wow. Nowhere we have been before can compare to this experience. Food incredible, view fantastic, service outstanding, place for every occasion. Just a must visit place

OT
Calgary
4 reviews
Dined on February 10, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Birthday lunch

TD
Calgary
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went to this restaurant to celebrate an anniversary! The food was delicious, and the service was great. I enjoyed the window seat overlooking the lake. A beautiful mix of classy ambiance with a bit of a rustic touch. It is a slightly higher priced menu, but the food was worth every bit. I will go back again for another special occasion in the future.

GD
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and service. We have been to the Lakehouse three times and have enjoyed it every time.

OT
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

From the minute we got there to the second we left we had a great time. Darcy was our server and he was nothing short of amazing! He was top notch! We will definitely be back in the future

The Lake House
Responded on February 6, 2020

Thank you for your wonderful review, we agree that Darcy is wonderful and we look forward to your next visit with us! The LH Team

Report
OT
Calgary
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place with excellent food!

SG
Calgary
4 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Lake House is a beautiful venue for an elegant dinner out. I went with friends, but it's also a really romantic get away too. Beautiful views of Lake Bonavista and a gorgeous fireplace with great lighting give it a beautiful, intimate atmosphere. Our server, Darcy was the best! He was well informed about the menu and wine selections, and made great recommendations on wine and food pairings. Can't wait to go back again!

The Lake House
Responded on February 6, 2020

Thank you Susan for your lovely review. We agree, Darcy is pretty amazing! We look forward to your next visit and feel free to request him next time you're in. warm regards, The Lake House Team

Report
x
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on January 31, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

A very enjoyable evening. Great food, beautiful restaurant, and excellent service.

AC
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on January 27, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Went on a Monday night, so very quiet. Just one large group that was far enough away to not bother us. If it was full, it would be noisy. There are lots of hard surfaces to echo the sound.
Our server and the kitchen were very helpful in accommodating our dietary constraints.
Usually restaurant desserts disappoint; Lake House's did not. They were a delightful conclusion to a wonderful meal.
It isn't inexpensive, but worth it. We will be back, just not every week.

JH
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Restaurant is gorgeous. Winter or summer I would definitely recommend! Food was great. Staff were unbelievably amazing! I would return based on the staff alone.

The Lake House
Responded on February 2, 2020

Thank you Jesse for your wonderful review, we look forward to your next visit with us! The LH Team

Report
OT
Calgary
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. The Lake House is our favourite restaurant!

OT
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on January 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We enjoyed everything! Was a wonderful dinner for a bday date.

OT
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on January 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The dinner was wonderful. The service was excellent both at the bar and at our table. The food was delicious we had multiple items and they were all really good.

ST
Calgary
26 reviews
Dined on January 21, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Lunch portions were ample, but not excessive. 3 of our group had jambalaya risotto ... perfectly prepared and just spicy enough. Service was attentive but not intrusive.

Restaurant was relatively full for a Tuesday lunch. As it seems to be a great spot for ladies’ lunches, the noise level was very high.

Tweets by The Lake House