Bao Brewhouse is a multi-concept restaurant, the first floor is known as the tap room, in which you will find service via QRL codes or counter service, Chinese street food inspired fare and a local rotating draft list. The second floor is known as our Tea Room, there you will find a more traditional dining experience with a twist. The Tea Room menu and ambiance lend to more curated and intimate affair, with a vast tea selection ranging from herbal to puer, a thoughtfully selected wine list with a focus on natural wine and a tea-centric cocktail program to satisfy even the most adventurous of palates. The Tea room is open from Wednesday through Saturday with a live DJ every night giving the room a not-so-stuffy feeling (we call it high energy fine dining)
The Tap Room
Multiple dates availableIn the tap room, you will find service via QRL codes or counter service, Chinese street food inspired fare and a local rotating draft list. If you prefer seating in our tea room, please go back and select a Standard or Bar table.
The Tea Room
Multiple dates availableIn our tea room, you will find a more traditional dining experience with a twist. The Tea Room menu and ambiance lend to more curated and intimate fair, with a vast tea selection ranging from herbal to puer, a thoughtfully selected wine list with a focus on natural wine and a tea-centric cocktail program to satisfy even the most adventurous of palates. The Tea room is open from Wednesday through Saturday with a live DJ every night giving the room a not-so-stuffy feeling (we call it high energy fine dining). If you prefer to reserve the Tap Room, please go back and select either a Counter or High-top table.
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waitstaff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
- Staff temperature check required
Food/environment great! Poor service, waitress seemed angry like she didn’t want to be there made us all feel uncomfortable.
We are from out of town visiting and we’re excited to go to Bao based on what we read in advance. Our server appeared to order our dim sum for the tables next to us instead of for us, so it took awhile to get our food. We ordered the short rib fried rice. Overall the short rib was very tender but not a ton of flavor, the rice that came with it (we think) was intended to be Smokey but was burnt. I wouldn’t recommend that dish. The atmosphere was great and the drinks as well as the crab Rangoon were very good.
Amazing food and our server was amazing!
Ate upstairs…. Overall just okay food. Service was subpar at best. Would not recommend the duck. Dumplings were good though.
Our waitress was drunk, and it affected all of the tables around us. It took 45 minutes to get our cocktails. The meal overall took 2.5 hours. We spoke to management twice and they rightfully took care of our meal. But it was our first time there and a very bad experience. Because of one waitress under the influence we likely will not return. And the food was just okay. Nothing overly exciting or tasty, especially considering how expensive some of the dim sum was. The cocktails were creative and worth the price; but not the dim sum.
Once again sorry for our staff that evening we tried to handle the situation as best as possible. Once we figured out what was going on the damage was already done. Thank you for your review and we hope you will give us another chance.
The food was amazing, the staff was amazing, the drinks were amazing and the ambiance was very cool!
Thanks for the positive words. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you again soon and keep spreading the good word.
Mixed experience for our first time in. Specifically booked the Tea Room for milestone anniversary dinner. A very large and very loud party was there and seemed to get priority over all other diners. Server was kind and apologetic. Disappointing to learn that the beer menu upstairs is very limited. Kitchen totally missed one of our entrees. No acknowledgement from management at all.
Sorry that you felt like you didn't get the attention you deserved. I know its not an excuse but Saturdays guests come to have a good time upstairs and we usually have large parties that are here to enjoy themselves. We are working on creating a great customer experience for everyone that dines with us. Sorry we missed the mark on your anniversary. Hopefully you will give us another shot show we can show you how great we can be.
Not a huge fan of the app-based ordering system. I can do THAT with Doordash. Also would have probably ordered more if prompted by a server.
Sorry you didn't enjoy the app based dining experience. That is what we use for the street food part of our restaurant, figured it was fitting. WE do have a full service restaurant upstairs if you want to receive the full dining experience. Maybe you can try that next time you with us dine.
Staff is super friendly! Food is DELICIOUS. Vibe is energetic and fun! Love it there!
Glad you love it as much as we do. Thanks for spreading the good word we hope to see you again soon for a fun energetic vibe.
Food was really bland. I ordered the pork belly fried rice, vegan fried rice and dumplings in chili oil. Had really high expectations for this place and wanted to love it so much but not let down.
Sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. Those are some of our more popular items. Not sure how the steamed pork dumplings in chili oil could have been bland. We also have chili oil, chili paste, dumpling sauce, and tamari to add flavor if the way it came out didn't suit your taste buds. Maybe we were just off that night but we do have bunch of other menu items that are packed with flavor. Please come back and give us another try sometime
Amazing experience and the best Asian fusion! Can get kind of hot inside sometimes so make sure you’re keeping cool, especially with the spicy food!
Glad you enjoyed your experience with us. WE also know how hot it can be in here. Historical buildings can be tough to keep cool especially when its hot and we are running up and down the stairs. No better way to keep cool then with some of our delicious cocktails. Hopefully we see you again soon.
We went here for my birthday and had a great time! The food was unique and delicious and the staff were very friendly and accommodating given our large party. My only complaint is that it is very very loud and we couldn’t hear each other very well but we were seated right next to the dj and I’m not sure that the atmosphere is always like that. We did go there at a later time of night on Saturday so that is perhaps why.
We usually try to progressively get louder as the night goes on. The parties that come to enjoy a quieter night we always suggest coming in a little earlier and those that want to have fun and dance while they eat to book a later reservation. It can be a difficult balance from being too loud and just right. We are working on getting better at that.
Food was great. Atmosphere is cool, music loud. Unfortunately the night we were there they were short on cooks so food took +1hour to get out. Waitstaff was accommodating and friendly.
Thank you for being understanding. That was one of the hardest nights we've had since we opened. Our food never takes that long and it was painful for us as well. We are trying to find a happy balance with the music being loud enough for people to enjoy the atmosphere but not too loud. It can be harder than you think.
Service was extremely slow and there was clearly no communication between the hostess and the waitress
Sorry we were extremely short staff the night you dined with us. We were doing the best we could do to keep up with demand. Sorry we were not up to par and it was a little slow for your liking. We are getting close to fully staffed so hopefully next time you come in you will have prompt service.
Absolute nightmare. Kinda feel like it mocks Asian culture.
The DJ for the tea room is insanely loud. Took over 2hrs to get food, much of it wrong. Felt taken advantage of when weighting the food price and service.
We agree, that night you dined with us was one of the hardest nights we've had at our restaurant. We had multiple employees not show up for their shift right before service and it made it very difficult for us to handle a busy night. I apologize for what you experienced, we normally are much better at providing a quality dining night out.
Rude waitstaff, food was awful….won’t be back.
Sorry you didn't enjoy your experience we were extremely shorted staffed that weekend. We pride ourselves on trying to be s polite as possible. You caught us on an off night and for that I apologize.
Some of the best Chinese food I've found in Denver. Went to the tap room, the dumplings and skewers were delicious but can't wait to go back & try the tea room next!
Thank you for the kind words. We are working on only getting better and providing more delicious items in the tap room. We can't wait for you to try the tea room we consider that our crown jewel of the restaurant.
Delicious food, great ambiance, super fun experience when you’re alone on a Friday night.
We are glad you had a great night out with us. We are working hard on providing a fun experience every night of the week. We hope that you make it back soon
Music is super loud with a night club atmosphere. I liked the mood and our waiter was super energetic, but seemed like more of a celebration or novelty place. Liked the experience, but wouldn’t go again. Tea Room food was also very expensive for what it was, definitely close to double the amount it should be.
Thank you for the 5 stars. We try to find a good balance between the level of music where its a fun atmosphere but not too loud that you cant enjoy your dinner. Can be harder than you think. We have priced our food based on the quality of our ingredients. We hand make everything in house and only use the freshest items. This is why our prices are on par with similar restaurants of our quality. If you are looking for something more in your budget everything in the tap room is under $20.
The food and service were excellent!! The food is on the pricey side but I expected it. Despite that, the food was delicious and the drinks were amazing!
Glad you enjoyed yourself at our restaurant and you thought everything was excellent. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
The food was terrible. We ordered the crab rangoons, bone marrow dumplings, egg rolls and short rib fried rice. I have had better crab rangoons at Panda Express. The bone marrow dumplings didn’t taste anything like bone marrow, they tasted like bland tofu. The egg rolls were way too big and completely bland. The fried rice tasted like the burnt bottom of an old wok and the short ribs were bland. The cocktails were also sub par and flavorless. There was a DJ for some unknown reason, and my boyfriend and I had to shout across the table to have a conversation and I left with my ears ringing. Two stars because the service was great.
I highly doubt that Panda express has handmade crab wontons with lumped crab in a house made mango mustard. I thought maybe our food might have been off that night, but then when I read that the cocktails were sub par and you didn't like that there was a DJ, I realized that our restaurant probably just isn't for you. Our cocktail menus are probably some of the best in the city and who doesn't want to listen to good music while they eat. Thank you for your opinion though.
Bao Brewhouse is excellent! Our server Rob was great and was very efficient. The food was all top notch and our favorites were the crab Rangoon, the short rib fried rice, and the bone marrow gyoza. Half off wine bottles on Wednesday made our night even more fun. We will always look forward to time spent at Bao!
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We try to provide the best product that we can. Glad you enjoyed our Wednesday night special of half priced bottles of wine. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Beat meal I have had in Denver this year.
YAY!!!!! Thats so great to hear. We are working hard to keep providing that for every guest. Hopefully you will come back and enjoy dinner with us again soon.
Delicious food. 80’s dance-pop like Madonna playing felt a little weird. Not bad...just weird. Did not like that upstairs menu did not match and was much pricier than downstairs menu. They initially discouraged ordering from downstairs and did not have it available for us to review but with our three kids we requested to order for them off that one and they allowed it and brought us the downstairs one. For that I appreciated them working with us. Overall good vibe and food. Great mixed drinks.
Our upstairs is a more elegant experience so the prices are to match. We let our bar staff pick the music sometimes and they were feeling the Madonna experience that day. The downstairs menu is all street food and the prices are to match something you would receive on the streets or from a food vendor.
We ate upstairs in the Tea Room, the experience may be very different downstairs. Overall we were very disappointed. The food was meh at best. The lychee salad was not good at all, a bowl full of bitter greens, which a very little amount of dressing (no lychee flavor), and one element that tasted like burnt rubber. We also ordered the bone marrow dumplings, which were fine, but the dumpling dough was tough, and the pork belly soup should have been described as very crispy pork belly and should have come with a spoon to eat the broth and greens. We left after appetizers because we didn't expect the main entrees to get better and decided to save the money.
Tea room decor is lovely. Nice touches to create an intimate vibe. Service very attentive except for initial check in for reservation. Had 3 couples waiting while hostess took a party upstairs and remained there for several minutes. Cleaning protocols between diners is outstanding. Food and drinks are very pricey. Portions are small for appetizers but ingredients are high quality. Crab rangoon-3 for $17. But very good. Kobe dumplings were basically shredded beef with no discernible flavorings added just sauce on the plate. Grouper undercooked to the point it took effort to break it up with a fork so did not get eaten. They did however handle it well and removed it from the bill. Overall good but not at great as it could have been. Was hoping for outstanding but got average with an above average price
Loud and overpriced. It’s not a place for authentic Chinese food.
Sorry you feel that way. We have pulled some of our menu items directly off of menus in China and had a lot of experience with the cuisine. What we don't have is general tso or anything of that nature. We have put some twists on things to make them unique and different but we try to be as authentic as possible. Maybe we just aren't for you
We sat up in the tea room. By the time we left, it was fairly busy and you could still hear the other talk. We tried four of the Dim Sum sharables: Fried Oysters, Kobe Beef sparerib, the radish pate & lobster rolls. The sauces were a perfect compliment along with the presentation. You could choose the amount of spice. I would recommend everything we tried. The next table over got the Kobe Steak entree -- trying that next time.
The waitstaff was fantastic. They didn't rush us and were very efficient. I can't wait to try the tap room. This is a do-over.
We were excited to go
Food and drinks were delicious- the decor is super cool and the location is great! I don’t especially like the “do everything yourself” digital ordering system - but I can definitely see the convenience of it. All in all I would definitely come back !
My friends and I went for just a night out and were blatantly disappointed. We waited over 20 min to be seated for our reservation, which was the least of the issues. As we were seated our waiter seemed very rushed and inattentive, just basic things like water being replenished did not take place. As appetizers came out around 30 min later, we sat waiting on the entrees for an additional 30. One entree arrived, but one had not so we asked the waitress and the waiter for the third time when the food would come out. They continued to explain that this is family style and things will come out when they do. After another 15 minutes the waiter came back to inform us that they were out of that entree all together. We left unsatisfied and upset and felt like we had wasted so much time for horrible service and okay food.
Overall our experience was very good. The only downside was that we made a reservation and then had to wait when we got there because the upstairs dining wasn't ready.
Sorry you had to wait for your reservation. We try our best to time reservations out appropriately, but sometimes things don't always go as planned.
We came in for the restaurant week which no one had any idea what that was. Were told to sit at the bar and they would come to sit us upstairs.
The host proceeds to take multiple groups up completely forgetting about us. We go upstairs once we were like yea we're still here and mention we were here for the rest.wk only to be then told that's only valid downstairs. They forgot to give us water and silverware (had to ask them for it the waiter comes back with only one set). Plus the food was super salty with no real flavors and lukewarm that we didn't finish it. They do not adhere to CDC guidelines since the place was packed with no distance between tables or the bar areas. Also, the promotion advertised icecream so we asked around and all they could tell us was it's the only ice cream place around there and to just look for it while pointing in a general direction.
Waiter was very nice, but the music wad extremely loud
The hostess was so helpful changing our reservation last minute. Our waiter was very friendly. the food was amazing!!
We had a nice time Staff was very attentive And the food was awesome! Thank you
We ate upstairs in the tea room and were very impressed with our experience. It is the pricier option compared to the main level brewhouse menu, but definitely worth it. The cocktails were delicious, food was amazing and the ambiance and staff helped make the overall experience memorable. Halfway through our meal, a dj started and created a fun, lively atmosphere. We want to try their brewhouse menu next time but will definitely be back to the tea room for special dinners!
The food and service were great! We sat in the taproom. Our waitress recommended getting the chicken skewers and adding fried rice. I am so happy she recommended that because it was fantastic! The Lee Ho Fook was also delicious.
This place is an abomination. The food was absolutely disgusting! I am so upset at how much I spent for the lousiest food I have eaten in years. Three of us ordered dumplings and an entree. All of it was terrible. Only one dish, the Big Pig dumplings were edible and a few notches below “good”. My soup dumplings were soupless and served cold and two were falling apart at the seams. The sauces on the side were the only salvation. Sent them back for the cold meat inside to be heated.
My friend had the pork noodle soup and said it was flavorless. Another friend ordered the Lee Ho Fook noodles and said it was bad. The lamb dumplings were overly thick and the meat tasted kind of old. My main dish was super mediocre, but the shrimp were cooked well. The noodle/egg pancake thing under the shrimp was burned and gummy.
My cocktail - a lychee mule, was actually decent so maybe go for drinks only. The service was okay, atmosphere was loud, tables were tight and only high rise in the brew house area. Don’t get excited like I did thinking this is a cool fusion of wonderfully inspired Asian flavors. This is a place that should be in a college town serving late night revelers carbs at 1:00am to sober up.
Great spot! The food was super flavorful! Really authentic. We liked the ordering system from your phone. Great trendy vibe. The drinks were good as well.
You can order delivery directly from Bao Brewhouse using the Order Online button. Bao Brewhouse also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (720) 324-8675.
Bao Brewhouse is rated 4.4 stars by 95 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.