The Crabtree

4.4
595 Reviews
£26 to £40
Gastro Pub
'The Crabtree, with its spectacular position downstream from The River Cafe,
has a huge sprawling garden, a glazed colonnade and frontage on to the
Thames shaded by a weeping willow. The prawns in chilli hot oil and the toast
spread with tomatoes and onions were good, so much so we ordered them
again when we returned for Sunday lunch. Sunday roasts with 'all the
trimming's' - we tried beef and pork - had everything a Sunday roast should
have. Somewhere rather spiffing to go' (Fay Machsler, Evening Standard)

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 595 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall1food1service2ambience1

The food is ridiculously overpriced for the portion sizes - paid £10 for the equivalent of 1 pancake - really disappointing food

The Crabtree
Responded 37 minutes ago

Hi There Firstly thank you for leaving us your feedback, I'd love to know some more details about your visit with us. Please can you give me a call ? 020 7385 3929 Many Thanks Sam Smith

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
3 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best food we’ve had out in a very long time! Great atmosphere, heaters and fairy lights everywhere. On the river...... beautiful

The Crabtree
Responded a day ago

Wow, what an amazing review, thank you so much for this lovely feedback. Very happy to read you had such a great time with us & loved the food. Make sure you come back and see us again soon, All the best, The Crabtree Team

Report
AI
AliceI
Berkshire
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food5service4ambience2

We booked ahead but were given a table that was stuck round the corner rather than in the nice terrace. There were no lights or heater. These tables should be for walks in. As we booked I thought we’d get a nicer table.

The Crabtree
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Alice Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review, apologies you didn't have a 5* visit with us. Unfortunately our terrace tables do come on a first come, first serve basis and aren't bookable, whilst we always aim to accommodate guests and give them a table that they will love it isn't always doable. We would love to turn this into a 5* visit for you, if you do wish to come back and see us again please pop me a call and I'll book you in a great spot. Many Thanks Sam Smith

Report
S
Scott
London
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2food3service2ambience2

In normal times this is a great pub, and appreciate C-19 restrictions need to be priority. However our visit to the pub was so strict and we were reassured multiple times that we only had an hour and half, it ruined the 'go to pub' experience a little. We went to a pub after which was much more welcoming unfortunately.

Will return but maybe once the pub has relaxed both in management and government restrictions allow so.

The Crabtree
Responded 35 minutes ago

Hi Scott Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review, apologies this wasn't a 5* visit with us. As you can imagine it's been pretty eventful operating under ever changing c19 restrictions, we are trying to do the most we can to ensure the safety of our staff and guests. Please do come back and visit us when everything has relaxed, we can't wait for you to pop in and be able to grab a pint again as the norm. Many Thanks Sam Smith

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service2ambience4

Great food! Good ambience! However they need to sort out their bookings! We had to wait 30-40 mins in a queue until we got our table. What’s the point of booking then? Those who chose the walk-in and wait option got their table faster. Stupid!

The Crabtree
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, very happy to hear once you were sat that you had such a good time with us. Secondly I'd like to apologise that you had to wait longer than expected to be seated, we appreciate feedback as it allows us to continuously develop and offer our guests the best experience. We hope you'll come back & see us again soon and we can make this a 5* experience all round. All the best, The Crabtree Team

Report
A
Anon
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Staff were very welcoming and felt they went out of there way to help us. Very nice atmosphere and would highly recommend based on how great the staff were.

The Crabtree
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Anon Thanks for your review and 5*s! We will pass your kind words onto the team. We hope to see you again soon. The Crabtree team

Report
F
Fussydiner
London
14 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Unfortunately the weather was really bad so I don’t think we got the best out of The Crabtrees outside dining. Having said that the food and service were very good.

The Crabtree
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Fussydiner Thanks for the review. Great to hear that you enjoyed the food and service. Hopefully the weather is better on your next visit! The Crabtree team

Report
T
Tinka
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Even on a rainy day we enjoyed a few drinks outside on the roofed terrace. Cannot wait to be back once the weather is better.

The Crabtree
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Tinka Thanks for the 5*'s, very glad to hear you got to enjoy a visit with us even in the rain. Can't wait to welcome you back when its a bit warmer. All the best, The Crabtree Team

Report
2
28silver
1 review
Dined on May 4, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience4

The outdoor accommodation is excellent. The service was very good except they seemed to misplace my food order, which took almost an hour to arrive.

BC
BChops
London
1 review
Dined on May 4, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Lovely pub with friendly staff and good beer but a bit pricey.

The Crabtree
Responded 6 days ago

BChops, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, We're glad you enjoyed your time at The Crabtree - we think it's the best pub along the The Thames! (we're a little biased) We look forward to seeing you again soon, The Crabtree

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on May 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best roast in London

L
Lippty
London
1 review
Dined on April 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really great food and good atmosphere. The staff were super friendly and attentive. They also hand out blankets when it gets cold which is definitely the best part of the night

The Crabtree
Responded on May 2, 2021

Hi Lippty Thank you for your review & the 5*s! We will pass your kind words onto the team. We hope to see you again soon. Th Crabtree team

Report
LH
LarissaH
London
2 reviews
Dined on April 30, 2021
Overall5food3service5ambience5

Amazing ambience, lovely garden, great vibe. Staff are very attentive, polite and friendly, food is decent but currently a very limited menu during these times, but in usual times the menu and food is great. Great place to go for drinks and a catch up with friends.

MO
MargaretO
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on April 30, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Lovely place , comfortable seating and nice location

LH
LizH
London
1 review
Dined on April 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazingly helpful staff. A great selection of drinks - 5 stars!

AN
ANIB
London
2 reviews
Dined on April 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

great pub food with style and being able to sit outside by the river - there is nothing not to like

SH
StephH
1 review
Dined on April 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Brilliant food, great service and a lovely outdoor space- with heaters!

The Crabtree
Responded on May 1, 2021

Hi StephH Thanks for your review & 5*s! We hope to see you again soon. The Crabtree team

Report
JA
JACR
London
2 reviews
Dined on April 27, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

We had a most enjoyable evening - the vegan and vegetarian food were not to our taste but our guests thought there meat/fish dishes were very good. We would return and just choose vegetables.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on April 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Zac and all of the team at The Crabtree are outstanding. It’s one of my all time favourite places to go. Everyone is lovely, service is fantastic, food is wonderful

The Crabtree
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, incredibly lovely to hear that the team took such good care of you & you had a great visit with us. Make sure you come back & see us again soon :-) All the best, The Crabtree Team

Report
TK
TomaszK
London
1 review
Dined on April 27, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Very happy with my vist to crabtree.fantastic place.

DZ
D92Z
London
3 reviews
Dined on April 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place, well organised, delicious food and really lovely staff.

The Crabtree
Responded a day ago

Hi D92Z Thanks so much for the 5*'s, really lovely to read you had such a good time with us & the team looked after you so well. Make sure you come back & see us again soon. All The best, The Crabtree Team

Report
WH
vipWhatsHappening
London
13 reviews
Dined on April 26, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Cool and fun place. But honestly why can't they provide heaters? When it is a bit it get even colder here because of the wind.

The Crabtree
Responded on April 28, 2021

Hi WhatHappening Thanks for the review. We are experiencing problems sourcing gas which is an industry wide problem at the moment. Once we have this resolved, we will have more heating to add to our existing. We hope to see you again soon. The Crabtree team

Report
q
vipqueenie
London
105 reviews
Dined on April 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

There were four of us at dinner at 5pm on not a warm evening and we asked for a table in a warm position outside. They put us in a corner, out of the wind, which was very comfortable. The food is excellent, as always, and good value. The staff were super friendly and professional. Will definitely be back.

The Crabtree
Responded on April 28, 2021

Hi Queenie Thanks for your lovely review and 5*s! We look forward to welcoming you back again. The Crabtree team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on April 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Crabtree staff was amazing at making sure we got lovely seats by the river. Really enjoyed our lunch there.

The Crabtree
Responded on May 1, 2021

Hi Anon Thanks for the review & 5*s! Great to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us and we hope to see you again soon. The Crabtree team

Report
DS
DerekS
London
1 review
Dined on April 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good location with lovely garden, especially when the sun shines. Food good if a little pricey. Felt self and staff were very attentive and efficient. Good afternoon.

The Crabtree
Responded on April 28, 2021

Hi DerekS Thanks for the review & 5*s! We hope to see you again soon. The Crabtree team

Report
n
nigelc
London
6 reviews
Dined on April 26, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Picked a sunny day so fish and chips on a nice outdoor table near the river was great

The Crabtree
Responded 4 days ago

Hi nigelc Thanks for your review and 5*s! We hope to see you again soon. The Crabtree team

Report
H
Harry
London
1 review
Dined on April 25, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

With 7C outside in April, the heating was (at least) inadequate and unacceptable. Absolutely disgraceful treatment of the customers with these temperatures, knowing that only outside seating is available and the provision should be there at these temperatures.

The Crabtree
Responded on April 28, 2021

Hi Harry There is unfortunately a London-wide shortage of gas at the moment that the entire industry is dealing with. We have gas on a standing order so hopefully you'll give us another try and we will be able to fire up the heaters. We hope to see you again soon. The Crabtree team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on April 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was exquisite. Wine was great. Well Staffed and brilliant service

The Crabtree
Responded on April 28, 2021

Hi Anon Thanks for the lovely review and 5*s! We hope to see you again. The Crabtree team

Report
P
Panp
London
6 reviews
Dined on April 24, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience5

Great location and outdoors seating, ambience too.
Limited choice of starters and mains, slow service, food not bad but could have been better for a gastro pub.

I
Ingrid
London
1 review
Dined on April 24, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Lovely place to spend time with friends or family. I think the beer garden is the most original idea at the moment.

L
Lorna
London
1 review
Dined on April 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love the Crabtree- one of my favourite pubs in london !

B
vipBassim
London
78 reviews
Dined on April 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really excellent service. Love the staff and love the food!

The Crabtree
Responded on April 24, 2021

Hi Bassim Thanks for the lovely review and 5*s! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon. The Crabtree team

Report
AB
AlexB
London
1 review
Dined on April 23, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Absolutely wonderful service in one of the best pubs in London!

The Crabtree
Responded on April 28, 2021

Hi Alex Thanks for your review and 5*s! It was great to hear that you enjoy your time with us! We hope to see you again soon. The Crabtree team

Report
A
Anonymous
London
1 review
Dined on April 23, 2021
Overall2food1service2ambience1

Very disappointing experience here! Had made a booking for 2 people and was placed at a 4 person table in a very windy area, close to the road. We asked if we could possibly move seeing as there were a number of empty 4 person tables in the garden, they informed us that they couldn't do this and that these would be saved for groups of 4 which was completely understandable giving the booking system at the moment. Over the space of an hour they seated four parties of only 2 individuals at the tables we had asked to be moved too which was very disappointing given we had previously asked. We also purchased the only bottle of prosecco on the menu for £30 which tasted horrible, given that price I don't believe that is acceptable. It is such a shame that the service and quality of drinks has gone down hill as the garden is lovely and has a nice ambience.

L
Londondiner
London
13 reviews
Dined on April 23, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great pub, great location, super nice staff and delicious food.

MS
MaryaneS
London
1 review
Dined on April 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Since a long time ago I have been planning to go to The Crabtree and finally found the time for it. The service was excellent, with the team members always around to take our orders, offer a blanket.. or clean up the table. My friend and I just had a few sides, and the quality of the food was good. For beers, they do not have a large range of draughts available. Prices are similar to most of the pubs these days. Defo I'll return there, but next time I hope I can grab a table with the riverside view.

The Crabtree
Responded 7 days ago

Maryane, Thank you for the 5* and thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed reviewed - we are so happy to hear about your time with us. The two Riverside Terraces are for our A La Carte menu and are always first come first served. We look forward to you coming back and having lunch/dinner with us! Best wishes, The Crabtree

Report
MA
MA2021
London
3 reviews
Dined on April 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We had a great time! Thanks. It would be even better if there were heaters outside. The blankets are a nice touch but with Covid probably not a very hygenic solution.

The Crabtree
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hi MA2021 Thanks for your review and glad to hear that you had a good visit. To set your mind at ease, we put the blankets in the tumble dryer on a high temperature in-between uses. We hope to see you again soon. The Crabtree team

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
13 reviews
Dined on April 21, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Reception disorganised. Table Service unpredictable. Great to start then forgotten about. Starters - parfait and squid nicoise (!) - ok but it’s time in a long time I have left a main course. Linguine overcooked; prawns undercooked. To their credit it came off the bill with no hesitation. Great shame.

A
Aeida
London
5 reviews
Dined on April 20, 2021
Overall3food2service2ambience4

The staff seemed very overwhelmed. Some of them were super friendly but a few of them could have been nicer (very blunt and a bit aggressive with the customer service)

Otherwise lovely place.

The Crabtree
Responded on April 28, 2021

Hi Aeida Than you for your review. Would you mind calling me so that I can get a bit more detail? Ryan 02073853929

Report
M
vipMichela
London
29 reviews
Dined on April 20, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

One of our favourite spot in west london on the riverside! We always enjoy the time, the food and the nice staff. Highly recommended

The Crabtree
Responded on April 23, 2021

Hi Michela Thanks for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon. The Crabtree team

Report

FAQs

The Crabtree does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo. The Crabtree also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at 020 7385 3929.

The Crabtree is rated 4.4 stars by 595 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.