Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United States
  3. Denver / Colorado
  4. Boulder Area
  5. Boulder
Spruce Farm & Fish, Boulder, CO

Spruce Farm & Fish

4.3
4.3
1829 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Spruce Farm & Fish serves creative and contemporary Brunch and Dinner menus utilizing the highest quality ingredients. Guests can indulge in Brunch any day of the week until 2pm. Partnering with sustainable oyster farms and fisheries, seafood at Spruce is flown in daily. Spruce offers rotating dinner specials, including certified Angus beef house-smoked prime rib.

The bar offers espresso drinks, an extensive selection of wines, and locally sourced spirits and craft beers. Happy-hour specials are available daily and include seasonal small plates and fresh cocktails.

Want to eat out without going out? Order your food to-go! Give us a call at 303-442-4880. Our top priority is the health and well-being of our staff, guests, Boulder community.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 37 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Private dining

Private dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Elegant
  • Price
    $30 and under
  • Cuisines
    Contemporary American, Seafood, Breakfast
  • Hours of operation
    Brunch Daily 7:00 am–2:00 pm Dinner Daily 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
  • Phone number
    (303) 442-4880
  • Payment options
    AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress code
    Casual Dress
  • Executive chef
    Mike Thom
  • Catering
    Please call for information.
  • Private party facilities
    Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Spruce Farm & Fish can accommodate all of your special event needs.
  • Private party contact
    Sales & Catering: (303) 442-4880
  • Neighborhood
    Boulder
  • Cross street
    13th St & Spruce St
  • Parking details
    Valet parking available at Hotel Boulderado.
  • Public transit
    RTD bus stop located at the corner of 13th Steet and Spruce Street in Downtown Boulder.
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What 1,829 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.3
4.3 based on recent ratings
  • 4.3Food
  • 4.3Service
  • 4.4Ambience
  • 4.1Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • Boulder Area

    Great for brunch

  • Boulder Area

    Healthy

  • Boulder Area

    Most Booked

1,829 Reviews
  1. AnthonyM

    Denver

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined 5 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The food and drinks were outstanding and the restaurant itself was beautiful. Only item that wasn't perfect was the cake special, which was dry and the flavor was just ok. It took long to come out so they comped it for us, which was a nice gesture. Overall I loved it and will definitely go back. The mushroom and shallot pasta was one of the best pasta entrees I've ever had!
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded 4 days ago
    Anthony, thank you for your feedback! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the food and drinks, as well as the ambiance of our restaurant. We apologize for the issue with the cake special, but we're glad we were able to make it right for you. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

    Is this helpful?

  2. Lovegoodfood

    San Diego

    20 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    20 reviews

    Dined 5 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Excellent restaurant. We stay at the Boulderado Hotel a couple of times a year and always eat at the restaurant. Quality has been very consistent over the years. Friendly atmosphere.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded 3 days ago
    Thank you for your kind words about our restaurant! We are thrilled to hear that you have had consistently great experiences with us. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you stay at the Hotel Boulderado.

    Is this helpful?

  3. Moiself

    Denver

    7 reviews

    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined 5 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    Absolutely scrumptious food at incredibly low prices for what you get. Wonderful atmosphere.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded 4 days ago
    Thank you so much for your kind words about our food and atmosphere. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We strive to provide quality food at affordable prices, and we're glad to know we hit the mark with you. Hope to see you again soon!

    Is this helpful?

  4. OpenTable Diner

    San Francisco

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on February 14, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    The food was amazing. The waiter was a little slow at refilling waters. Our drinks sat empty for a long time.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded 4 days ago
    Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the food, and we apologize for the slow service you experienced with refilling waters. Your feedback helps us improve, and we hope to provide a better experience for you next time. Thank you for choosing us.

    Is this helpful?

  5. Cognitivist

    Denver

    35 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    35 reviews

    Dined on February 13, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    This was a dinner to celebrate my birthday. Since it was a Monday, I selected Spruce because a hotel restaurant really needs to be functioning on Monday, unlike many others. And past experience led me to expect good food. My husband and I shared an order of calamari as a first course, It was outstanding, as I found on a previous visit. I think the sauce was different from the last visit, but at least it was not a marinara type sauce. The pieces of calamari were an appropriate size, not too large, and they were perfectly cooked. My main course was duck breast cooked with blackberries, a bit unusual. It was good but excessively sweet. It arrived beautifully food styled with the vegetables arranged in a sort of star. The dessert situation was a letdown, however. Since it was my birthday, I wanted a dessert. There were only about four items available. I ordered one serving of the chocolate item to take home for eating later in the evening. I thought it was going to be a regular chocolate cake, more or less. But actually it was a sort of chocolate dump, very chocolate and overly sweet. Awful really. The dessert menu needs work. In the past the restaurant in the Boulderado had a real pastry chef. And once upon a time, it had a wonderful light version of a flourless chocolate cake or tart. Bring it back!! The server was very pleasant.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded today
    Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the calamari and duck breast, but we apologize for the disappointment with the dessert. Your feedback on the menu is valuable, and we'll take it into consideration for future improvements. We hope to welcome you back soon.

    Is this helpful?

  6. OpenTable Diner

    Denver

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on February 11, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We are never disappointed here. Great food and service.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on February 12, 2024
    Thank you for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you always have a great experience with us. We appreciate your support and look forward to serving you again soon.

    Is this helpful?

  7. KirstenD

    Denver

    5 reviews

    4.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on February 11, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We were seated immediately in an area we love. The atmosphere was lovely with low light, jazz music and good decor. The waitress was very attentive and had a very good demeanor. They were understaffed at the bar and in the dining room which is odd for a Saturday night. We had to wait a while for drinks. We were served our salads before our appetizers which we did not like and had to ask for more dressing as the salads were dry. I got the Brie appetizer and would not get it again- too little Brie, too much prosciutto and hard to handle and sticky. My entree was good but the meat was tough. Desert was great. We do love being at the Boulderado so enjoyed our overall experience.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on February 12, 2024
    Hi Kirsten, thank you for your detailed review. We're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and the service provided by our attentive waitress. We apologize for any delays with drinks and the mix-up with the salads. We appreciate your feedback on the Brie appetizer and will take it into consideration. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience at the Boulderado.

    Is this helpful?

  8. FrenchWineAndDine

    Hawaii

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on February 9, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Good food and great service. I Boulder classic. I took two French colleagues there and they loved the western ambience. Succesful business dinner.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on February 11, 2024
    Thank you for the kind review! We're thrilled to hear that you and your colleagues enjoyed our food, service, and ambience. It's always a pleasure to create a successful business dinner experience. We hope to welcome you back soon!

    Is this helpful?

  9. OpenTable Diner

    Denver

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on February 8, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The server was first rate and has been working there a minimum 15 years - I had beed going to the Boulderado since 2006 but it is my first time in Spruce. Get the house old fashioned and scallop butternut squash
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on February 11, 2024
    Thank you for your kind words and 5-star review! We're thrilled to hear that our server provided excellent service and that you enjoyed the old fashioned and scallops. We truly appreciate your continued support and look forward to serving you again.

    Is this helpful?

  10. Perzik

    Denver

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on February 4, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Everything was to our best expectations on this snowy evening!
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on February 5, 2024
    Hi Perzik! Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback. We're thrilled to hear that everything met your expectations, even on a snowy night. We appreciate your support and hope to continue providing excellent service.

    Is this helpful?

  11. HollyW

    Salt Lake City

    4 reviews

    3.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on February 2, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    The food wasn’t quite as good as it sounded on the menu. There were three at our table and we all felt similarly about that given the price point.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on February 3, 2024
    Hi Holly, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize that the food didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate your honesty and will take your comments into account to improve our offerings. If you have any further concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out.

    Is this helpful?

  12. Dixie

    Denver

    7 reviews

    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on February 2, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Valet parker very friendly & right on the spot. Our server (from Djon France) was absolutely Perfect. Paid such close attention to our every need. The cocktails were delicious. Bread tasty (we were in the S. of England in October, amazing bread & husband remembers the breads of France). Entrees Amazing. I have an onion/leek/shallot allergy. Our server made certain NONE of that. Trout done to perfection with wild rice & kale. Husband had unbelievably delcious duck. We shared a slice of Key Lime pie. I spent my 17th summer on Key West in 1970. I am fussy about Key Lime anything. This was quite good. We will be Back!
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on February 3, 2024
    Hi Dixie, thank you so much for your amazing review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience. We're glad we could accommodate your allergy and that you enjoyed your meal. We can't wait to welcome you back soon!

    Is this helpful?

  13. ALSDKE

    Denver

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on February 1, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    This was a pleasant surprise! Everything we ordered was wonderful.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on February 5, 2024
    Thank you so much for the kind words. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed everything you ordered. We hope to continue exceeding your expectations in the future.

    Is this helpful?

  14. ChristyF

    Philadelphia

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on February 1, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Spruce was a special experience in every way. The location is great, food tasty and menu varied with many great choices. Our party of 4 all chose something different and every dish was beautifully prepared and delicious. Drinks were great too! Quaint ambience. You can’t go wrong with Spruce. We will be back!
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on February 3, 2024
    Hi Christy, thank you so much for your amazing review! We're thrilled that you had a special experience at Spruce. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the location, tasty food, varied menu, and delicious dishes. We can't wait to welcome you back!

    Is this helpful?

  15. MaggieS

    Denver

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on January 28, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    This was our first time at Spruce Fish and Farm but won't be the last. We enjoyed our meal very much.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on February 1, 2024
    Hi Maggie, thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great experience at Spruce Fish and Farm. We can't wait to serve you again soon.

    Is this helpful?

  16. JeanT

    Denver

    8 reviews

    5.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on January 27, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Perfect place for brunch on the weekend - as it was quiet and the food was great. Anna was fantastic! Thank you
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 29, 2024
    Hi Jean, thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your brunch with us. We'll make sure to pass along your kind words to Anna. We hope to see you again soon!

    Is this helpful?

  17. Luvgoodfood

    Denver

    17 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    17 reviews

    Dined on January 21, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    What a wonderful surprise! We stayed overnight at the Boulderado Hotel for quick respite from Denver and to attend a show at Macky auditorium. I saw that Spruce Farm and Fish had good reviews so we decided to eat there before the show. It was an excellent experience. Our waiter Chris was on his game. The ambiance was charming and comfortable in the historic hotel. From the trout special, to the Ahi tuna salad, to the scallops with squash risotto, our meals were delicious with a culinary twist. The presentation was lovely, and the portions were perfect. We shared apple strudel for dessert, and it was over the top as well. We will definitely return.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 22, 2024
    Thank you so much for your amazing review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience at Spruce Farm and Fish. We're glad you enjoyed the charming ambiance, delicious meals, and top-notch service from Chris. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!

    Is this helpful?

  18. LaurenA

    Greater Boston

    3 reviews

    2.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on January 20, 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 3
    Waited 45min to receive app that was totally not worth it. Mains included short rib so tough we needed a steak knife.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 21, 2024
    Hi Lauren, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize for the wait time and the quality of the food you received. We appreciate your input and we'll use it to improve our service. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future.

    Is this helpful?

  19. BrentN

    Denver

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on January 18, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    Fantastic service!!! Food was delicious on all the senses.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 19, 2024
    Hi Brent, thank you for your kind words! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our service and found the food delicious. It means a lot to us. We look forward to serving you again soon!

    Is this helpful?

  20. JodiP

    Denver

    37 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    37 reviews

    Dined on January 14, 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    We arrived on time for our reservation, greeted and seated within a few minutes. After getting coffee and placing our order within 10 minutes, we waited 40 minutes for our food with little check in from our waiter, no offers to refill our coffee or water glasses. When we did get a check in, we were told the kitchen was backed up. Once our food did arrive, it was clear it had been sitting under a warmer for a bit. We had an event to catch so we asked for to-go boxes, placed our food in them, paid the check, and left without getting a chance to eat our meal. We’re going to give Spruce another try at a future date but all in all, this was a disappointing experience.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 18, 2024
    Hi Jodi, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the delays and lack of attentive service you encountered during your visit. We appreciate your understanding and would love the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.

    Is this helpful?

  21. Mwills

    Denver

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on January 14, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    Lovely location, food was okay, we overall felt forgotten about service wise.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 18, 2024
    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your kind words about our location and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with our service. We'll take your comments into consideration and work to improve. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

    Is this helpful?

  22. OpenTable Diner

    Palm Springs

    5 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on January 13, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Outstanding meal and great service!! Would definitely come back.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 18, 2024
    Thank you! We're thrilled to hear that you had an outstanding meal and enjoyed great service. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

    Is this helpful?

  23. DaleB

    New York City

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on January 12, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Fantastic meal. V generous portions and great service. Our first meal there was so outstanding we went back again a day later and tried other items. Beautiful old building and worth going there for that. We loved this place.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 18, 2024
    Hi Dale! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the generous portions, great service, and the beautiful historic building. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!

    Is this helpful?

  24. OpenTable Diner

    Denver

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on January 6, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We had a great brunch! Lavender lattes were delicious. French toast special is always a good choice. Morning host and waitstaff were very attentive to our needs. Will definitely return!
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 8, 2024
    Thank you for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your brunch and our lattes. It's wonderful to know that our morning host and waitstaff provided attentive service. We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

    Is this helpful?

  25. Reba8000

    Denver

    11 reviews

    4.0

    11 reviews

    Dined on January 5, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The room is lovely. The staff is professional and friendly. The food, as always, is just okay—B or B+.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 8, 2024
    Hi Reba, thank you for your positive feedback about our lovely room and professional and friendly staff. We appreciate your honest assessment of the food and will take it into consideration to improve. We hope to welcome you back soon for an even better dining experience.

    Is this helpful?

  26. MaryK

    Washington DC

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on January 5, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Exceptional service by our waiter, Chris. Ambience in the separate section overlooking outside was perfect. Food was exceptional.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 6, 2024
    Hi Mary, thank you for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you had an exceptional experience with Chris as your waiter. We're glad you enjoyed the ambience and the food as well. We hope to welcome you back soon!

    Is this helpful?

  27. RhianP

    Denver

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on January 2, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We had a great time and we sat at the bar!! The bartender was great and very professional. We will definitely visit again!
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 4, 2024
    Hi Rhian, thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great time at our bar and that our bartender provided excellent service. We can't wait to welcome you back for another visit soon. Cheers!

    Is this helpful?

  28. OpenTable Diner

    Orlando

    3 reviews

    1.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on January 1, 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 4
    Took an hour to get our breakfast and we had to refill our own water and coffee.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 4, 2024
    We apologize for the delay and the inconvenience you experienced during your visit. Please know that we take your feedback seriously and will address these issues with our team. We appreciate your patience and hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Thank you.

    1 person found this helpful

  29. MaryC

    Greater Boston

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on January 1, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 5
    Not sure why this has happened to us in Boulder for our visit but service was not impressive at any of the restaurants we visited. Slow and inattentive.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 4, 2024
    Hi Mary, thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for the slow and inattentive service you experienced during your visit to our restaurant. We appreciate your input and will work towards improving our service to provide a better experience for our customers.

    Is this helpful?

  30. JohnF

    Portland

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on January 1, 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Have eaten at SF&F many times. Oysters were fine, tuna salad was fine, small ceaser was dry with no dressing, peach chicken tasted like it was microwaved and not sure what they put under it? White watery tasteless paste. It was NYE but that was a complete fail.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 4, 2024
    Hi John, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're sorry to hear about your recent experience at our restaurant. We appreciate your specific comments about the dishes and will pass them along to our team for improvement. We apologize for any disappointment this may have caused.

    Is this helpful?

  31. MikeF

    Denver

    22 reviews

    5.0

    22 reviews

    Dined on January 1, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    Outstanding food and service with several gluten free options!
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 4, 2024
    Hi Mike! Thank you so much for your kind words about our food and service. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our gluten-free options. Your feedback means the world to us. We hope to welcome you back soon for another great experience.

    Is this helpful?

  32. MarkJ

    Denver

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on December 31, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Celebrated a birthday and was perfect.....Always enjoy going there!
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 4, 2024
    Hi Mark, thank you for celebrating your birthday with us! We're thrilled to hear that you had a perfect experience. We always strive to provide enjoyable moments for our customers. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

    Is this helpful?

  33. Chupje

    Denver

    13 reviews

    5.0

    13 reviews

    Dined on December 31, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    Excellent brunch, we shared French toast & Boulderado Benedict, sweet & savory. We will definitely return to this establishment, great ambiance.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 4, 2024
    Thank you! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our brunch offerings, especially the French toast and Boulderado Benedict. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back for another great experience.

    Is this helpful?

  34. apchavey

    Denver

    38 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    38 reviews

    Dined on December 31, 2023

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    I normally always look for the positive in my dining experience, but it was hard to find one with this dinner. Started out poorly when checking with the hostess. We were early by about 15 minutes and were told, curtly, to come back at our reservation time. I get that restaurants are shorthanded, but there were a few open tables, and we could have been seated to order cocktails. We went to the bar and ordered an Old Fashion and a glass of wine. The Old Fashion was undrinkable, and I exchanged it for straight Vodka as I didn't think the bartender was quite up to making a decent cocktail. We returned to the hostess as requested, and she didn't seem to remember us ten minutes later. We passed the empty tables and were sat in a small booth. Our waiter came by to take our drink order, and when we said we already had drinks, he walked away and returned about five minutes later to take our dinner order. We ordered a Prosciutto appetizer, which was just ok, and for the main course bison short rib on the bone and lamb chop special. The bison came back dry and very fatty, and the lamb chops unseasoned and bland. The bison was placed on a Polenta, which was runny and not very flavorful. The lamb was on a cous cous that way too much citrus making for a bad meal overall. Both myself and my guest were disappointed with dining experience, and I greatly doubt that we would come back again. Maybe just a bad night at the restaurant, but one that we won't forget.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 1, 2024
    Thank you for sharing your honest feedback about your dining experience with us. We apologize for the inconsistencies you encountered throughout your visit. We appreciate your patience and will address these concerns with our team to ensure a better experience in the future.

    Is this helpful?

  35. FrancineM

    Denver

    6 reviews

    4.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on December 31, 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    This was our third visit to Spruce in 2023. Our son was treating four of us to dinner from a work bonus, and we reserved two weeks in advance, requesting a table on the porch. We were seated instead at a booth, the hostess explaining she hadn’t noticed the request, “but maybe next time.” Service was fine but a bit slow and perfunctory. Food was good but lukewarm, probably because service was slow. In sum, if we return, it’ll be on a weeknight when the restaurant’s attention may be easier to win.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 1, 2024
    Hi Francine, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding the table request and the slow service. We appreciate your feedback and will address these issues with our team to ensure a better experience in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

    Is this helpful?

  36. JosephZ

    Denver

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 30, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great! Stayed the night in the hotel, awesome place
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on December 31, 2023
    Hi Joseph, thank you so much for your positive review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great experience staying at our hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon for another awesome stay!

    Is this helpful?

  37. Anne

    Denver

    5 reviews

    4.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on December 28, 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Overall it was a nice place for an after Christmas midweek dinner. The decorations in the lobby were beautiful and the staff were helpful and friendly. The valet parking was convenient and reasonably priced. We had four people in our group and they gave mixed reviews on the meals. The seared scallops were excellent, a generous serving and cooked just right. The bison short ribs, which were described on the menu as ‘fall off the bone’ tender were more like ‘saw off the bone’ chewy. The flavor was ok though. The steak dish and the chicken dish were both described as ok by the diners. The drink orders were filled promptly and were all very good. So to sum it up, it’s a good place to go with a group but maybe just stick with the hamburger or simple dishes.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on January 1, 2024
    Hi Anne, thank you for your detailed review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance, friendly staff, and prompt drink service. We apologize for the mixed reviews on the meals. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we'll work on improving the consistency of our dishes. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back soon!

    Is this helpful?

  38. MikeR

    Denver

    11 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    11 reviews

    Dined on December 26, 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 4
    Nice place for a good brunch to catch-up with old friends. Excellent spicy Bloody Mary!
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on December 29, 2023
    Hi Mike, thank you for your review! We're delighted to hear that you had a great experience catching up with friends over brunch. We're glad you enjoyed our spicy Bloody Mary. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

    Is this helpful?

  39. DavidK

    Denver

    4 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on December 26, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Love this restaurant. It is a great atmosphere, good food, and always great service.
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on December 28, 2023
    Thank you, David, for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you love our restaurant's atmosphere, food, and service. Your feedback is truly appreciated. We look forward to serving you again soon!

    Is this helpful?

  40. DonnaS

    Denver

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on December 25, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    My son and I had Christmas Day dinner at Spruce Farm and Fish. The food was delicious. Apparently since it was just two in our party, we were seated twice in very unpleasant locations. After requesting both times to be relocated to one of several empty tables in a desirable location, the service was amazing!
    Spruce Farm & FishResponded on December 28, 2023
    Hi Donna, thank you for choosing Spruce Farm and Fish for your Christmas Day dinner. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the delicious food. We apologize for the initial seating inconvenience, but we're glad our team provided amazing service once you requested a relocation. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again soon.

    Is this helpful?

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitizing

    • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Spruce Farm & Fish using the Order Online button. Spruce Farm & Fish also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (303) 442-4880.

Spruce Farm & Fish is rated 4.3 stars by 1829 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 37 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Google Map for Spruce Farm & Fish

2115 13th Street, Boulder, CO 80302

Additional information

  • Cross street
    13th St & Spruce St
  • Neighborhood
    Boulder
  • Hours of operation
    Brunch Daily 7:00 am–2:00 pm Dinner Daily 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
  • Price
    $30 and under
  • Cuisines
    Contemporary American, Seafood, Breakfast
  • Dining style
    Casual Elegant
  • Dress code
    Casual Dress
  • Parking details
    Valet parking available at Hotel Boulderado.
  • Public transit
    RTD bus stop located at the corner of 13th Steet and Spruce Street in Downtown Boulder.
  • Payment options
    AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, Mastercard, Visa
  • Executive chef
    Mike Thom
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Phone number
    (303) 442-4880
  • Catering
    Please call for information.
  • Private party facilities
    Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Spruce Farm & Fish can accommodate all of your special event needs.
  • Private party contact
    Sales & Catering: (303) 442-4880
OpenTable
  • About Us
  • Blog
  • Careers
  • Press
More
Businesses
  • Restaurant reservation software
  • Industry insights
  • Hospitality resources
  • Marketing resources
  • Operation resources
  • How to open a restaurant
  • For restaurants
  • For restaurant groups
Join us on
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
Rentalcars Logo
OpenTable Logo