Sake no Hana

3.7
5705 Reviews
£41 and over
Japanese
Sake no Hana bar and restaurant is housed on the first floor of a modernist Grade II listed building in the heart of St James, offering modern Japanese dining. The a la carte menu provides a variety of hot and cold appetisers, charcoal grill, Toban and Kamameshi dishes, while sushi and sashimi are prepared to order at the 13 seat sushi bar. A carefully selected list of sakes, Japanese whiskeys and other wines, spirits and liqueurs complement the dishes offered in the restaurant. Sake no Hana’s interiors were designed my esteemed architect Kengo Kuma and the bar includes a beautiful futuristic chandelier, offering the perfect space for post work cocktails. Cloakroom available. ALIPAY and weChat payment accepted.
What 5705 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.7based on recent ratings
4.2
food
3.9
service
3.4
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Moderate
62% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
N
Nick
London
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall3food5service4ambience3

Food excellent. Cold on the terrace and no heaters. Food service good. Sadly no drink list to go with the menu.

Not so good as previous visits

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
3 reviews
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience1

Booked an inside table, after months of eating outdoors we were looking forward to it, arrived and the staff had moved all seating to outdoors. We were very cold the whole time which affected the experience. The food was ok but overpriced we felt, and a £100 deposit was taken the day prior to us arriving which I wasn’t informed about, asked for a refund to then eventually split the bill. Disappointing!

p
paperstone
London
3 reviews
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Amazing food as always. Service was great but feels like could be made better with attentiveness and better order taking process. Love the terrace and the setting on a sunny day, can’t wait for it to open indoor.

HW
HanlieW
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing service and friendly staff who go above and beyond. Food is excellent and the sushi to die for but it’s definitely on the pricey side!

KS
KrutikaS
1 review
Dined on June 3, 2021
Overall2food5service4ambience3

So - I don't think anyone can deny that the food here is brilliant. Everything including the cocktails were amazing! However, it is the experience that I had an issue with.

The waiter rushed us through our meal - We were in and out in 55 minutes or so. And it wasn't like they were super busy. When you eat an expensive meal like this, you would want to enjoy it, but the waiter was at our table every two minutes to ask if we'd finished the dish or not. I was very intrusive.

If there is a time limit on how long you have the table, I would rather them tell us when we enter the restaurant than force us out.

i
vipigodelp
London
10 reviews
Dined on June 2, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience3

We went for a dinner to the terrace.The terrace has not any decoration and too much comento.I would definitely prefer inside.We were told that they had aircon issues.Anyway.Apart from that fantastic dinner

Sake no Hana
Responded on June 4, 2021

Dear igodelp, We appreciate your feedback. It’s great to hear that you loved the food, but it is disappointing to read that your dining experience did not live up your expectations and I must apologise for that. We do hope that the few concerns expressed will not deter you from visiting us again. Sincerely, Annie Hu Thornton Senior Restaurant Manager

Report
o
ocakes
1 review
Dined on June 1, 2021
Overall2food5service1ambience3

They could’ve done so much better with the service. Discrimination at its finest? Especially with how much i paid. There are so many other restaurants that does better service and much cheaper than theirs.

Sake no Hana
Responded on June 4, 2021

Dear ocakes, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Annie Hu Thornton Senior Restaurant Manager

Report
KS
KSX12345
London
2 reviews
Dined on May 30, 2021
Overall3food4service1ambience3

Food was nice but service was very slow!! To be honest there are better Japanese restaurants

T
vipTky74
London
4 reviews
Dined on May 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love this restaurant and have been many times. The food is always incredible and the staff have been super friendly and helpful. If you like sushi, then Sake No Hana is a fabulous choice. We'll be back soon, no doubt

A
Abcd1234
Yorkshire
5 reviews
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall1food5service5ambience1

The restaurant was unbearably hot 🥵

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on May 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very exciting to be back eating in Sake no Hana for Friday lunch after lockdown. Still amazing, fresh food. The black cod and wagyu bentos we went for were out of this world. The sushi excellent as you would expect and also creative - soft shell crab with mango - don’t mind if so do. Service was smooth and staff friendly. One small thing irked me which is asking if you want water and tea at the beginning. If I’d twigged quicker I was going to be charged £10 I would have likely ordered a different drink. I assumed they were as in Japan, free. My bad I suppose. Not bad enough to detract from an amazing meal.

EJ
vipEllJ
London
13 reviews
Dined on May 27, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Lovely as always. Looking forward to when all menu back to normal.

SM
ShelleyM
London
1 review
Dined on May 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautifully presented with gorgeous aromatic flavours

b
bocman
1 review
Dined on May 26, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great, the cocktails were absolutely amazing. The food was delicious, a little more generosity for there price would be better. Overall, very good.

j
vipjijim
London
2 reviews
Dined on May 23, 2021
Overall2food2service4ambience2

Food was ok not worth the price at all , I’ve been charge for £150 for 3 people in advance , they told me I will get refund in 3-4 days , what a joke ...

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on May 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service. There was no point during our visit where our glasses were empty or didn't feel attended to. Food was amazing and service friendly and excellent.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on May 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As always, the food and service was exceptional. It is a pricey experience though, but well worth it.

J
James
1 review
Dined on May 21, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience5

Everything was great, until we asked for a gluten free option on dessert and then the waitress had a tantrum. Most of the food was really good even if it was overpriced. The prawn nigiri tasted like off fish which was a shame as it looked beautiful. All in all, Sake no Hana is more about location, venue and big price tags and less about good food, good service and authenticity. I would go again but it should be half the price.

Sake no Hana
Responded on May 23, 2021

Dear James, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We take great pride in our cuisine and source our ingredients from the best purveyors. I can assure you that the experience you had with the food and service was not our standard. We have sent your feedback to our team and do hope you will visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Annie Hu Thornton Senior restaurant manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on May 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Enjoyed very much being back and eating delicious food. I will definitely be going back again.

J
Jade
Kent
3 reviews
Dined on May 21, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

The location, service and ambience was good. The food was ok for the price, the menu is very limited and for the money you are much better off going to Roka/Zuma.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on May 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really wonderful evening sat at the bar

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on May 21, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

日本食にあまり馴染みのない、イギリス人を接待するには良い店です。店内も料理も洗練されていて素晴らしいです。メニューは紙のメニューを全員分用意してほしいです。また、お手拭きも出て来ればありがたいです。最初に手で枝豆を食べますから、気を使います。

Report
R
Rajeev
London
2 reviews
Dined on May 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and service! The food was delicious as was the cocktails!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on May 17, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Good food but price too high!

DG
DumitruG
Caribbean
1 review
Dined on May 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Perfect Service ,
Food was great!
Staff was very friendly and helpful
Amazing atmosphere !

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on May 16, 2021
Overall3food3service1ambience1

A bit mediocre. Slow service

HW
HowardW
London
1 review
Dined on May 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were there on the final day of outside-only dining before rules were relaxed on 17 May. The staff could not have made the experience better. The food (including the miso black cod), as always at Sake No Hana, was excellent and the sake was perfect both in taste and the way it was presented

D
Didier
1 review
Dined on May 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great experience. The food is truly amazing. I would recommend it to any friend.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Essex
1 review
Dined on May 15, 2021
Overall1food5service1ambience1

Very disappointed. Waiters kept bringing us wrong food and drinks over priced

Sake no Hana
Responded on May 17, 2021

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for dining with us at Sake No Hana. We appreciate the feedback on our service standards. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

Report
ZP
ZainulP
London
3 reviews
Dined on May 15, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience2

The Terrance wasn’t the best for atmosphere. I was shoulder to shoulder with someone. The food compared to other places wasn’t all that for the price.

SS
ShrutiS
1 review
Dined on May 14, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience1

The tables were outside and in cold. The food is overpriced for its value. They made mistakes in the order and in the bill. I've eaten better sushi elsewhere. Do not recommend the place.

Sake no Hana
Responded on May 18, 2021

Dear ShrutiS, We regret to hear that you weren’t happy with the service and the food. We take every comment seriously and have passed your notes along to the team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

Report
A
vipAmerah
London
5 reviews
Dined on May 14, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Still too cold for outdoor dining they have blankets but no heaters. As for service they are great. Food is not the best lacks taste but everyone has their preference.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
3 reviews
Dined on May 13, 2021
Overall1food5service1ambience1

The restaurant is not equipped for outdoor seating. Freezing cold with no heaters, rain which came through the umbrellas soaking us - especially due to table placement. Extremely wobbly tables and after asking for it to be fixed we got told it would have to be done after the food, so eating was not a pleasant experience. Asked for the bill and it took 15 minutes as the paper was being changed. Heard the table complaining next to us the whole time about how two glasses of wine took over 45 minutes to arrive with only 4 tables occupied in the whole restaurant. General unpleasant demeanour from some of the staff. Outstanding food but unfortunately the experience was disappointing, especially considering this was booked for a special occasion. Will not be returning.

Sake no Hana
Responded on May 15, 2021

Dear Anonymous, We regret to hear that you weren’t happy with the service . I can assure you that the experience you had was not our standard. We take every comment seriously and have passed your notes along to the team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

Report
L
Leonel
London
3 reviews
Dined on May 11, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Some staff members were rude and we felt rushed the whole time. I’m sure the experience inside is better but it was not what you’d expect from a restaurant like that

Sake no Hana
Responded on May 12, 2021

Dear Leonel, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I can assure you that the experience you had with the service was not our standard. We have sent your feedback to our team and do hope you will visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre`D

Report
FS
FoodieS
London
2 reviews
Dined on May 11, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I was high quality food with good service as usual. The warm Sake we ordered was not as great as we'd wanted but I would still recommend it on an overall experience.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on May 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love it! Great sushi awesome sake. Lovely staff!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on May 9, 2021
Overall1food3service3ambience3

This is the second time that I come home with a stomach bug

Sake no Hana
Responded on May 12, 2021

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for dining with us at Sake No Hana. We appreciate the feedback on the food. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Anna Kuzmina Maitre’D

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
5 reviews
Dined on May 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The location is fantastic both inside and outside, nevertheless I would recommend staying inside. The food is surely the best Asian one you can find in London. Even if the price is high it is completely justified by the very high quality.

A
Anonymous
London
1 review
Dined on May 8, 2021
Overall2food4service2ambience1

Sent our order to another table, sat in the cold for up to 2 hours. They offered us 2 deserts as an apology. Decent given I come to this restaurant a lot.

Sake no Hana
Responded on May 10, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for dining with us at Sake No Hana. We appreciate the feedback on our service standards. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can res