Lava Lava Beach Club

4.3
1347 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Dined here? Add a quick review...

Rate your experience

Restaurants you may also like

View all

About

The restaurant features several hundred seats in an open air setting with many seats directly outside on the beach. Drawing upon an open air ambiance, swaying coconut trees, stunning sunsets and tropical trade winds, and nightly live entertainment, the restaurant features “relaxed island cuisine” and a varied menu with options for light dining on fresh fish tacos and burgers as well as the Chef's creative preparations of steak, Hawaiian seafood and more upscale options.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Hawaiian, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am-3:00pm; Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am-3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 769-5282
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Beth Fuller
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
How do you to make a wedding, family reunion, company retreat, birthday, anniversary or other event more special? Have it barefoot on the beach on the Big Island!

Well, you have just found the island’s most exciting venue for weddings, birthdays and corporate events. The theme is fun, the setting beautiful and the experience unforgettable. Whether you chose to use our expansive oceanfront lawn or our beach, our team will work hard to create the perfect event!

Our private event spaces and packages offer you and your guests the opportunity to sit back, swim, surf, and share in the occasion while we do all of the work. Whether you’re planning a wedding, family reunion, company retreat, birthday, anniversary, or board meeting (surfboards are, in fact, an option) we know what you need.

For more information on booking your next party or event at Lava Lava Beach Club visit: http://lavalavabeachclub.com/special-events/book-an-event/
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Tina Saxon: (808) 769-5291
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact Paradise Gourmet Catering at 808.326.1244 or visit them online at http://paradisegourmet.com.
Open Google Maps
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Anaeho‘omalu Bay Public Beach
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Lava Lava Beach Club is proud to feature nightly local entertainment seven days a week. Come down and check out our Big Island talent.

You can view our Entertainment Schedule on our website by visiting http://lavalavabeachclub.com/about/local-event-calender/
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For more information on booking your next party or event at Lava Lava Beach Club visit: http://lavalavabeachclub.com/special-events/book-an-event/
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1347 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
4.7
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OT
1 review
Reviewed on April 24, 2018
Overall 1food service ambience

My husband and I went to Lava Lava to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. After an 75 min wait we were seated at the worst table in the restaurant. A two seater with views of the kitchen. Very busy table with no privacy.

I asked our server, Kiana P., if the half chicken dish was spicy. "No, not at all" said Kiana. Okay, perfect, since I have a stomach condition that is flared up by spicy foods and I can't eat them. I ordered the chicken and holy cow, the rub was VERY SPICY. I am not some wimpy person who can't handle spicy. I like spicy, and have a great tolerance but I can't eat it due to my stomach. My lips and mouth were burning. It was SPICY, and my partner confirmed. I called Kiana over and told her that it was really spicy. "It's not spicy to me" Kiana said. No apology, no solutions offered.

At that point, the issue was ruining our anniversary dinner. I ate the vegetables, but struggled since the chicken rub had crusted all over everything. I asked for more water twice, which was finally brought. My mouth was on fire just from eating the rice and vegetables which were under the chicken because the rub had literally rubbed all over.

Extremely poor service. There were a few other issues, which I am willing to overlook (cats running all over the restaurant, etc) but the spicy issue is unacceptable. I would NEVER had ordered the half chicken if Kiana hadn't assured me that it was spicy. I just paid $30 for an entree that I couldn't eat. Hard to have a romantic dinner under these circumstances.

WONT be back. Don't recommend it. Overpriced for such poor service.

Report
Helpful
IL
New York Area
31 reviews
Dined on July 26, 2017
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 5

The service is good. The atmosphere fun, with live music, and the sea. Everyone loves sunset on the beach. The only thing is the food: very mediocre.

Report
Helpful
OT
Orange County
1 review
Dined on July 21, 2017
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We usually go to Lava Lava for lunch. This was a special birthday for my daughter, she wanted a sunset dinner there. We now know both lunch and dinner are great!!

Report
Helpful
OT
Los Angeles
12 reviews
Dined on July 10, 2017
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 5

The service was mediocre
The view is what you come for

Report
Helpful
G
Baltimore
3 reviews
Dined on July 8, 2017
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 5

Went here for happy hour one day and dinner a couple nights later. Happy hour can't be beat with great views, drinks and menu. Dinner was a different story, very limited and pricey menu and in the dark you miss the ocean views.

Report
Helpful
H
Baltimore
3 reviews
Dined on July 6, 2017
Overall 5food 3service 4ambience 5

Super ambiance. Food was average, but the coolness of the location worth the time!

Report
Helpful
s
Charlotte
17 reviews
Dined on July 6, 2017
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Even though this is a staple in Kona, it still has a quaintness, out of the way feel to it. Our family ordered all over the menu from the chicken pineapple fried rice bowl (which literally came in a half pineapple), to sizzling shrimp to the teriyaki flank steak. Appetizer was the chips n mango/pineapple salsa. Everything was simply amazing. Staff was great outside of the guy serving water, he must have been having a bad day. Loved the place and would come back when returning to Kona!

Report
Helpful
DC
Jacksonville
2 reviews
Dined on July 4, 2017
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

By far the best value restaurant we went to while on teh big island. Amazing, amazing atmosphere with a spectacular view. I recommend the fried rice in the pineapple! Available with meat or vegetarian options!

Report
Helpful
OT
Los Angeles
7 reviews
Dined on July 4, 2017
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 5

Beautiful location. Food (selection and price) and service could be improved

Report
Helpful
OT
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on July 4, 2017
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Food was prepared very quickly waiter was on top of ordering and checking on us and the atmosphere was excellent for dinner environment

Report
Helpful
OT
Hawaii
3 reviews
Dined on July 3, 2017
Overall 4food 4service 2ambience 5

Location is great, food is pretty good. Service is questionable.

Report
Helpful
CC
Las Vegas
6 reviews
Dined on July 3, 2017
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This place is so amazing that we made sure to visit our first and last night on the big island. Best mai tais, best place to watch sunset and the food is pretty amazing too! I will definitely be recommending this place!

Report
Helpful
e
Cincinnati
13 reviews
Dined on July 2, 2017
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Visited twice while on the island. Loved the food had the fresh catch twice Tater tots and ahi nachos a must Sizzling shrimp too. You can watch the sunset with a perfect dinner

Report
Helpful
MJ
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2017
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

A great place to get fresh local food and take the kids! Good customer service and live entertainment...a wonderful place for a family dinner while on vacation!

Report
Helpful
MC
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on July 1, 2017
Overall 1food 1service 3ambience 1

What a disappointing experience. I had made a reservation since it was a holiday weekend and I was expecting it to be busy. To my surprise when we arrived we were seated immediately and there was Dj and a packed house so I was excited as a first timer. That's where the good times ended. We sat for 45 minutes waiting for a server and were told 4 times that someone would be with us shortly so we hung tight and listened to tunes. We asked the hostess to move us to another section which she refused to do so we decided to leave after an hour of waiting at a table in the middle of the restaurant. It really was a disappointment because people around us seemed to be enjoying their food and drinks but we wasted an hour of our time. Unfortunate outcome for what I thought was going to be a great afternoon.

Report
Helpful
KK
San Diego
75 reviews
Dined on July 1, 2017
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

We came here on their anniversary, which was unintentional and probably a mistake as they were extremely crowded. Our waiter was over-busy so we had to wait longer than ideal for attention, and then he forgot one of our drink orders, so we had to ask again after the food was delivered. The food was fine, but not spectacular. The location is really the only special thing about the place as far as we could see, but it's proximity to the ocean definitely is a nice benefit. So overall don't regret going, but likely would not return.

Report
Helpful
OT
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined on June 30, 2017
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 5

Beautiful setting on the beach. Excellent food. We went 3 times during our stay.

Report
Helpful
NM
New Mexico
5 reviews
Dined on June 30, 2017
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 3

Good food and drinks. Prices have gone up and now not all that better than the other nice restaurants in this area.

Report
Helpful
OT
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Dined on June 30, 2017
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

2nd time this trip. Once was not enough. Had a wonderful meal, got caught in the rain, but had a fabulous time. This beat a luau by far and we had an ocean view. Recommend mai tai, Lava Flow, chicken strips for the kids, chocolate macadamia ice cream, coconut shrimp, salad, coffee and one of their other deserts.

Report
Helpful
OT
Phoenix
8 reviews
Dined on June 30, 2017
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This was the best night of our trip. Our waiter was nice and attentive as was the entire staff. We were celebrating my fathers life. And they ensured we had a great time even with the surprise rain shower. The food was amazing and the ambience was Beautiful.

Report
Helpful
AM
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on June 30, 2017
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Toe's in the sand! What more can you ask in Kona. Helpful staff and great food and Drinks! Walking distance to the Marriott .

Report
Helpful
e
Cincinnati
13 reviews
Dined on June 29, 2017
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was plentiful and delicious. We can't wait to go back in two nights! Right in the beach. Wonderful

Report
Helpful
KZ
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on June 29, 2017
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The best sunset view combined with great food and attentive service on the island. Reservations are strongly recommended. Loved the ahi stand up nachos. The ono special was incredible.

Report
Helpful
GA
Hawaii
23 reviews
Dined on June 29, 2017
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Great water front restaurant, great service, and totally laid back. Great for kids!!

Report
Helpful
OT
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on June 29, 2017
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 5

Our server was great! Food was okay. Location was obviously the best part.My main issue is how they serve wine in an acrylic glass.. It was horrid how it altered the taste of the wine. So for that reason we won't be back. I know its close to the beach..they just need to not let anyone walk around with a glass.

Report
Helpful
OT
San Diego
1 review
Dined on June 28, 2017
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Simply spectacular! The service was fantastic and the food even better. We always go there when we are in town. Never disappointed with the feel...live music, sand and beatiful sunsets!

Report
Helpful
AP
Portland
1 review
Dined on June 28, 2017
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Amazing location literally right on the beach. Good food, nice waitress, good drinks!

Report
Helpful
R
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined on June 27, 2017
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 2

The service was horrible there for several reasons. 1. The first come first serve high tables and cushions chairs are all taken and people just hanging out after they finish their dinner. So, there's no system for this first come first serve.
2. Our waitress was taking so long to order our food and we had to wait for our dessert for about 20 mins. Definitely low tips!!!
3. I gave some plus because of the beachfront restaurant and the food was okay because some of our food was not hot enough.
4. Tips for those who are planning to go there, please make sure you make a reservation few days early. Otherwise this restaurant tends to booked very quickly. Same as for parking, make sure you get there early to check out the beachfront and take pics of your loved ones. Otherwise you would have to park way in the back parking lot.
Hope this info helps.

Report
Helpful
OT
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on June 27, 2017
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 5

Our waiter didn't go out of his way to be friendly and didn't provide valued service. We felt rushed and he didn't seem happy serving. The land to sea was not good and my sister couldn't eat it besides the 3 shrimp. Sorry for the poor review but that was our experience at your lovely beach restaurant. The seafood overall was good though.

Report
Helpful
OT
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Dined on June 26, 2017
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always one of our favorite places to go when we are in Kona. Atmosphere, food, cocktail, ocean view and staff are awesome. Prices aren't to steep. Definitely worth a trip if you have never gone. Once you have, you will return. Try the pineapple bowls, Mai Tais or the Lava Flows.

Report
Helpful
OT
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2017
Overall 3food 2service 2ambience 4

The service was ok but the server was not very attentive and was rarely seen. The food was ok and the cost was a bit high for what we ordered (we left with the thought that we paid a lot of money for greasy food). They charged $4 each for my kid's pineapple juice (they had 2 each) and it was mostly loaded with ice. The most positive thing about it was the location on the beach where my kids could run around and we could enjoy the sunset.

Report
Helpful
OT
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2017
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 5

美しいサンセットをバックに ライブ、フラと申し分ない環境です🌅
お料理も美味しく、カジュアルなビーチハウスです‼️
お皿にお料理残ってるのに 引こうとするのが難点😣

Report
Helpful
OT
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2017
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 5

Fun to hang and share entrees, they are delicious except the chicken in a pineapple too dry. The fish of the day is the way to go and the ribs!

Report
Helpful
JM
Chicago
3 reviews
Dined on June 26, 2017
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 4

I started with a bowl of chowder which was dissapointing when I could find very few small bits of fish. I then ordered a hamburger cooked medium. It arrived essentially raw with a cold center. While my wife enjoyed her dinner, mine was a complete failure. The ambience is very pleasant, just be careful what you order.

Report
Helpful
DA
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on June 25, 2017
Overall 2food 5service 5ambience 4

Our first reservation was rained out, something to keep in mind. The second open table we were seated immediately. There was a part of six seated next to us when we were seated. They were finished with their meal when our food Finally came. It was cold except for one plate that was warm. No explanation. I had the New York steak (their term) and no steak knife. Brave move I thought at first, but absolute fail. The waitres took some time deciding to take my wife's silverware after the appetizer but then never brought more. I'm not one to put down restaurants because it's easy, but betwen the kitchen and watriess, something was amiss. On the positive side, the food was seasoned really well if it hadn't been served cold.

Report
Helpful
JS
Washington DC
12 reviews
Dined on June 25, 2017
Overall 4food 2service 2ambience 4

The location is great. Food is not great and pretty expensive. Service is weak. Asked twice for appetizer dishes to be removed and no one took them. Front desk was rude.

Report
Helpful
TN
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on June 25, 2017
Overall 2food 1service 2ambience 3

We have been to this place several times in the past with good impression. At this time, we were very disappointed. The food was below par as our mixed fried seafood was half cooked and steak was still frozen inside. The waiter was not attentive and reponsive to our complaint and we finally gave up. The live musc was too loud. We are not sure if we would go back to this place in the future.

Report
Helpful
OT
Los Angeles
7 reviews
Dined on June 25, 2017
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 5

Did not honor reservation time. We waited over 30 minutes and staff was somewhat rude

Report
Helpful
OT
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on June 25, 2017
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 5

Entertainment noise level was very excessive. Did not allow for conservation at the table. Had to wait an excessive amount of time for our reservation. In excess of 20 minutes pass our reservation time. Food was less than outstanding for the price.

Report
Helpful
CC
Las Vegas
6 reviews
Dined on June 25, 2017
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 5

Could not have asked for a better experience for our first night in Hawaii. Service was wonderful, Mai Tais at sunset under tiki torches on the sand with live Hawaiian music playing, was truly everything we had ever envisioned Hawaii to be. The fact that it was also EXTREMELY family friendly AND the food was great and you have a picture perfect first night in Hawaii. Happy parents and happy kids! I cannot recommend this place enough and we will DEFINITELY be back!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
34

Tweets by Lava Lava Beach Club