Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. London
  4. North London
  5. Islington
Humble Grape Islington, London,

Humble Grape Islington

4.4
4.4
161 Reviews
£25 and under
Wine Bar
We’re an independent wine merchant and tasting event company specialising in boutique, hand-crafted wines from small vineyards. At our bar, shop and events you will get the opportunity to taste highly sought after “small lot” wines, discover the classics and the unusual, learn a thing or two and maybe find a new favourite along the way. Our events are curated and tailored for you but are always governed by the simple philosophy that wine should be fun and approachable.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 3 times today
Experiences are available.

Order delivery or takeout

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates, Contemporary European
  • Hours of operation
    Mon–Wed 5:00 pm–11:00 pm Thu 3:00 pm–11:00 pm Fri 3:00 pm–12:00 am Sat 12:00 pm–12:00 am Sun 12:00 pm–10:00 pm
  • Phone number
    020 3904 4480
  • Payment options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress code
    Casual Dress
  • Neighborhood
    Islington
  • Cross street
    Upper Street
  • Parking details
    Street Parking
  • Public transit
    Angel station
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Dog Friendly, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Late Night, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wine

Experiences

  • Add a seasonal flight of four wines (4x 50ml)

    £16.00 per person

    Multiple dates available
    This mini self-guided tasting & will be an indulgent way to start your time with us! (Nothing to pay now, we'll add the experience to your bill on the day).
  • It's Icon Thursday & Friday!

    Multiple dates available
    We've opened some premium gems which we're pouring by the glass, pop in to see what's on!
  • It's "Retail Monday"!

    Multiple dates available
    All bottles of wine are available at "take-away" prices when you drink in, all day Monday!

What 161 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.4
4.4 based on recent ratings
  • 4.5Food
  • 4.6Service
  • 4.4Ambience
  • 4.3Value

NoiseModerate

161 Reviews
  1. Marta

    London

    7 reviews

    3.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on December 22, 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    We thought the wine menu was good (if pricey), and Patricia the waitress was lovely, great to chat with and helped recover our evening after a wobbly start. The food was very late; the kitchen seemed overwhelmed by orders even though the restaurant was not full, and OK when it arrived. We appreciated the chef bringing us some cheese croquettes to keep us going. The back room is a bit gloomy and unappealing, so make sure your booking is in the front room, which has a really nice ambience.

    Is this helpful?

  2. Sophie

    London

    19 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    19 reviews

    Dined on July 31, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    A great place to relax and enjoy food and good wine.

    Is this helpful?

  3. JamesM

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 14, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    A wonderful culinary experience, really nice people making great food.

    Is this helpful?

  4. OpenTable Diner

    London

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on February 6, 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Service impeccable, ambience really good - would recommend. Food was okay, but wine range and quality was very good

    Is this helpful?

  5. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    vip
    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on January 28, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Erik’s service was very timely.

    Is this helpful?

  6. OpenTable Diner

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on January 28, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Wonderful wine tasting experience with delicious food. wine matched to tapas. Really enjoyed The Alsace themed food.

    Is this helpful?

  7. phoebeh

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on January 22, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great food, great wine, great atmosphere, great service

    Is this helpful?

  8. CarolineH

    London

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on January 14, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Really delicious lunch before a matinee at the Almeida - we tried a good range of dishes and had excellent advice on wine from the friendly staff. Very quiet when we were there but it was early and we were told there were lots more bookings a bit later. Interesting menu, very well cooked. Looking forward to a return visit so we can sample more!

    Is this helpful?

  9. MartaC

    London

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 31, 2022

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Alessandro was great! He recommended a very good Italian wine for our aperitif, however As appetiser we choose a mix of charcuterie and cheese and for 2 small slices of cheese, 6 slices of prosciutto (2 bresaola, 2 Parma ham and 2 coppa), 2,5 slices of bread the cost we got charged for was £26, way above average even if it was New Year’s Eve, and unfortunately the coppa wasn’t fresh at all (which can be easily identify from its colour). We had a nice time but I would not recommend this place and I would not probably come back again.
    Humble Grape IslingtonResponded on January 22, 2023
    Hi Marta, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Feedback is very important for us and, on this occasion, it looks like we didn't live up to the standards you've come to expect from us. I will investigate and address the issue mentioned in your review with the team, and I'd love for you to give us the chance to regain your confidence in our service. Please feel free to contact me directly on carlos@humblegrape.co.uk so I can make a more meaningful apology. Regards, Carlos

    Is this helpful?

  10. LynnA

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 16, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    My only complaint is that the duck wasn’t hot but the chips were so I presume there was a mismatch on timings in the kitchen. The duck was excellent otherwise. The madeleines were absolutely exquisite and I hope they’re on the menu next time I come.

    Is this helpful?

  11. AlexF

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on December 10, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We were running late but were still accommodated like we were royals. We ate on a Saturday night with our doggo and a 12 week old baby and all of us had the best time. The food was outstanding and the wine exceptional

    Is this helpful?

  12. DonC

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on December 10, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We had an amazing experience from the moment we walked in to when we left. The staff was smiley and so friendly, even greeted our dog with tofu treats. We had a cheese board then had a few starters as nibbles and they where well presented and delicious, we had a Serbian wine which was recommendations by our waiter and he chose well. We will definitely be back

    Is this helpful?

  13. rach

    London

    15 reviews

    2.0

    15 reviews

    Dined on December 4, 2022

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    The food was below average, the roasts were dry and overcooked, some of the vegetables were barely cooked (imagine biting into a raw-ish turnip). The cauliflower and cheese was tasteless. The service was okay to bad, they kept on forgetting our drinks or some of the food we ordered. We had to get up several times to get them to bring us drinks. Which took forever, just wanted another bottle of wine, nothing complicated with that! The place itself is great, I’ve been here several times and the atmosphere is lovely. I’m just very disappointed in the quality of service and food. I’ll just stick to wine if I decide to come again.
    Humble Grape IslingtonResponded on December 12, 2022
    Hi Rach, Thanks for your feedback. As you can see from the other reviews, more often than not, we do get things right. I am truly sorry that, on this occasion, things didn't go according to plan and you didn't get the chance to have the experience we aim to deliver at Humble Grape Islington. Please give us a chance to wine back your confidence in our service. I'd love to invite you back so please contact me directly on carlos@humblegrape.co.uk so I can make a more meaningful apology. Carlos

    Is this helpful?

  14. Sean07

    London

    16 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    16 reviews

    Dined on December 2, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    A perfect wine-centric bar / restaurant with great service and a wine cellar full of humble grapes.

    Is this helpful?

  15. BENL

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 1, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We were sat at an idle table, tucked away. All staff were really welcoming and helpful. They are more than happy to advise on wine, knowing their stock very well. Food was great, particularly the venison carpaccio

    Is this helpful?

  16. Cooper

    London

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on November 26, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    A great place to pop into after a busy afternoon to meet up with friends. I just thought the wine choice was a little limited…..

    Is this helpful?

  17. Ghastkill

    London

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on November 22, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Absolutely fantastic evening, few glasses of delicious wine and hearty flavoursome food. Really friendly staff who are knowledgeable and make the experience even more inviting. Keisha in particular really stood out for her warmth and expertise. The environment has lovely low lighting and it’s warm and spacious. Will definitely be back.

    Is this helpful?

  18. TomaA

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on November 19, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great service and great wine here. 10/10. Outstanding service and would definitely recommend

    Is this helpful?

  19. JB2023

    London

    15 reviews

    4.0

    15 reviews

    Dined on November 17, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 4
    Very good food selection, good number of wines by the glass (plus some additional special ones on the day) and a fun atmosphere - will definitely head back.

    Is this helpful?

  20. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on November 15, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Good service, good food, good wine.

    Is this helpful?

  21. LucyF

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on November 15, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    I love coming here for a quick glass alone or with a friend -- great ambiance!

    Is this helpful?

  22. OpenTable Diner

    London

    5 reviews

    4.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on November 11, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Chill even for a catchup

    Is this helpful?

  23. RichardA

    Newcastle

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on November 9, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    Humble Grape is a very pleasant bar/restaurant with a nice quiet atmosphere and nice surroundings with plenty of space. The food we had was really nice and very well cooked. Service was friendly and very prompt. As a matter of personal preference our group would have preferred to re-fill our own water and wine and didn’t feel the need for this to be done at such regular intervals. This is a minor matter however when we had a lovely evening with very nice food.

    Is this helpful?

  24. Galaxy

    London

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 15, 2022

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    We won’t be coming back. The restaurant was unable to accommodate a request for only white wines on the mini flight which we worked with and compromised on and could vaguely understand despite it being a wine bar. However in tandem with this, the service was slow (the new waiter was trying and so parts of this were forgivable), however, we were served the wrong steak and did not realise, were then charged £77 for what should have been a £22 steak, and the manager did not see the issue and refused to charge us for what we asked for, instead making a token discount still valuing the steak at double what it should have been. We were sat next to a rowdy group who were boisterous, swearing, banging into our chairs, and guests at that table were photographing themselves with 3 bottles of wine in their mouth at the same time - how hilarious. To top it off, the ladies loos were a mess with water and tissue everywhere. This does not give off good vibes when you are about to dine. The manager was disinterested and unfriendly. If you want a nice meal with a few friends, and good, friendly, accommodating service then I would not recommend this restaurant at all. What a shame, very disappointing all in all.
    Humble Grape IslingtonResponded on October 16, 2022
    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, which is very important for us. On this occasion, it looks like we didn't live up to the standards you've come to expect from us. Please accept my most sincere apologies and rest assured I will investigate and address the issue mentioned in your review with the team. Please feel free to contact me directly on carlos@humblegrape.co.uk so I can make a more meaningful apology. Regards, Carlos

    1 person found this helpful

  25. LucyM

    London

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on October 11, 2022

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    The food and wine was lovely, but on the pricy end. The big issue was the service. There were only 3 members of staff for the whole restaurant, only one of whom seemed competent. We ordered wine and 3 things to share. We had to ask staff on two occasions about our wine before they brought it out. We only received two of our food plates and were given the bill. We explained that we hadn’t finished and we’re waiting on a charcuterie board (which doesn’t take a long time to prepare). After about 20 minutes I asked a member of staff who took away our plates about the board and he said he would check. After another 15 minutes I went up and asked the member of staff behind the bar if it was coming, he went to the kitchen and about 10 minutes later it was brought out. It was a real shame and seemed to be the case for everyone in the restaurant with both tables either side waiting a long time for items. We had the service charge removed from the bill as it was not worth it.
    Humble Grape IslingtonResponded on October 16, 2022
    Hi Lucy, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Feedback is very important for us and, on this occasion, it looks like we didn't live up to the standards you've come to expect from us. I will investigate and address the issue mentioned in your review with the team, and I'd love for you to give us the chance to regain your confidence in our service. Please feel free to contact me directly on carlos@humblegrape.co.uk so I can make a more meaningful apology. Regards, Carlos

    Is this helpful?

  26. SonjaL

    London

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on September 23, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    I’ve been here a few times now and the service is always amazing.

    Is this helpful?

  27. FionaC

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 15, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Delicious pre theatre meal and Lovely attentive staff.

    Is this helpful?

  28. ChloeW

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on September 9, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    We had an extra person than the initial booking but was seated straight away and staff made it work. The staff were very attentive. Atmosphere was buzzy. Will definitely be back again.

    Is this helpful?

  29. SallyG

    Dublin

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on September 8, 2022

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 2
    Service was very friendly but a bit sporadic. Had to wait a long time to order as they couldn’t print more menus, despite us offering to just look on our phones. We were placed out in the back section which was very quiet and didn’t have the same atmosphere as the main area. They had run out of my first choice of gnocchi which was a bit unfortunate given the selection of mains is fairly narrow but the Steak was delicious and cooked perfectly! I would return on the basis this was probs a few unlucky things.

    Is this helpful?

  30. OpenTable Diner

    Melbourne

    4 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on August 26, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great casual vibe, attentive service and interesting wines to taste. Perfect way to finish off the working week - or kick off the weekend.

    Is this helpful?

  31. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 18, 2022

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 3
    With regret I cannot fault the service of this place and the bad faith of the staff. We make a reservation for 9.30pm using opentable and the reservation is accepted. We arrive at 21:36 and the manager tells us to wait, after 5 minutes she tells us to go to the bar for a drink while we wait for them to free our table. So we do. At 10 pm they make us sit down and when it comes to ordering they tell us that the kitchen closes at 9:40 pm. So we ask for the bill and they charge us 40 for 3 glasses of wine that they suggested to us. We leave very hungry and very sad for the treatment also received by the manager's colleague who treated us like criminals. I will certainly not return for bad faith and I advise you not to go to them. As soon as we arrived we were told that the kitchen was closed, the worst thing was to make us wait and then say that the kitchen was closed after selling us three glasses of wine to wait.

    1 person found this helpful

  32. ElianeS

    Hertfordshire

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on August 18, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Wonderful staff! Bit noisy inside but we sat outside and it was lovely

    Is this helpful?

  33. nc123

    London

    4 reviews

    1.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on August 17, 2022

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    I've had Humble grape recommended to me by multiple people but this was a surprisingly poor experience. I turned up to join a party of 3 and was told my reservation was non-existent and had to show them my reminder email to get a table. I gave my name and I was looking to join my friends and was sat at a separate new table. Due to the building, there's no signal so when I waited for half an hour at a table sending messages it wasn't until my friend went came from the basement to call me that I realised they'd sat me somewhere separate. I'd specifically given my name and said I'm looking for my friends but was told we don't have your booking let's see if we can find you a table which was very inconvenient and frustrating. The service in the basement is different to the service at the top. Upstairs staff were attentive and I got water immediately. In the basement, my friends and I asked for water 3 times and we gave up after it wasn't brought to us. My friend asked for recommendations and was told ' I don't know anything about wine' . If this was a pub fair enough, but given its a wine bar that's a very reasonable and surely common question to ask? It took us ages to get the waiter's attention to order food. When we ordered more wine he just kept bringing new glasses and not clearing the table. We didn't bring this up as our focus was to remind him about the water. The only redeeming feature is the food was nice, my friend was really happy with her salad and the buratta was good. I really like the concept so will try another central branch but don't recommend the Islington one to anyone.

    1 person found this helpful

  34. Shal

    London

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on August 9, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    It was great, one of my favourite wine bars in London!

    Is this helpful?

  35. IreneO

    London

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on August 8, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Excellent service and range of wines available. The staff are very helpful.

    Is this helpful?

  36. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on August 7, 2022

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    We went at 7 hoping to have the roast with a glass of wine. Apparently this doesn’t run past 4, needs to be change on the booking website as that is what I was able to book. We ended up leaving. However the servers were lovely.

    2 people found this helpful

  37. NadiaK

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 31, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Very cool place for a quick lunch, great wine selection, delicious food and service. Will visit again and again!

    Is this helpful?

  38. AnetteP

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on July 30, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great experience, nice food and super friendly staff.

    Is this helpful?

  39. Fifi

    London

    21 reviews

    5.0

    21 reviews

    Dined on July 24, 2022

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Fantastic evening, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful staff. I will definitely be back.

    Is this helpful?

  40. sarahm

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on July 16, 2022

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Our food was lovely although we ordered the panzanella and it had no bread in it.once told they brought out a new one with bread, and it was delicious. Very attentive, but not intrusive. We had a lovely time.

    Is this helpful?

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitizing

    • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
    • Contactless payment available
  • Physical distancing

    • Limited number of seated diners
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

FAQs

Humble Grape Islington does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo and Uber Eats.

Humble Grape Islington is rated 4.4 stars by 161 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 3 times today
Experiences are available.

Order delivery or takeout

Google Map for Humble Grape Islington

11-13 Theberton Street, London, N1 0QY

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Cross street
    Upper Street
  • Neighborhood
    Islington
  • Hours of operation
    Mon–Wed 5:00 pm–11:00 pm Thu 3:00 pm–11:00 pm Fri 3:00 pm–12:00 am Sat 12:00 pm–12:00 am Sun 12:00 pm–10:00 pm
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates, Contemporary European
  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Dress code
    Casual Dress
  • Parking details
    Street Parking
  • Public transit
    Angel station
  • Payment options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Dog Friendly, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Late Night, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wine
OpenTable
  • About Us
  • Blog
  • Careers
  • Press
More
Businesses
  • Restaurant reservation software
  • Industry insights
  • Hospitality resources
  • Marketing resources
  • Operation resources
  • How to open a restaurant
  • For restaurants
  • For restaurant groups
Join us on
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
Rentalcars Logo
OpenTable Logo