Hereford House - Independence

4.6
1724 Reviews
$30 and under
Steakhouse
Hereford House is one of Kansas City's legendary steakhouses. Great food, casual atmosphere, superior service and reasonable prices.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1724 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
KW
KevinW
Kansas City
3 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was a perfect evening.

JS
JackieS
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall1food2service1ambience4

Bad service but manager tried to rectify. It was the first time my entire party had been there and none of us were impressed. I believe that the server made preconceived judgements without knowing us. Presuming because of age and skin color we were in the wrong place. But truth is I could afford anything I wanted from there. Also, two in my party are servers so we ALL are GREAT tippers. We always give more than 20% so the server missed out. Should have shown us just as much as attention to us as a table in your section. Their biggest mistake was NOT catching that it was our first time there.

RM
RandyMc
4 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Service was average at best ...long wait
To get service..
Food was really well prepared with
Ample portions ...will revisit ..

C
Cochinohake
Kansas City
19 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very quiet lunch, service was outstanding and the new pimento cheese, candied bacon burger was superb!

S
Spshltymes
Kansas City
9 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Absolutely delightful ..the best waiter we have ever experienced “RICKY” we were given the “wine“ room which made for a very delightful dining experience and we had four that were first time visitors and they enjoyed it very much.

The appetizer I ordered for the table was not fit like it had been sitting on the counter and dry it out but they didn’t replace it with a fresh order of calamari of which made 100% difference in the texture flavor and temperature of the appetizer. Our meals were all delightful and very nicely done.

This was one of the best experiences we have had with our waiter Ricky and also being given the special room called the wine room. I was not aware we could book that with five or more guests.

We will certainly request that in the future. Thank you kindly and we were there again tonight for dinner but Ricky was not working darn it

TB
TeresaB
1 review
Dined on February 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service and food were great. Definitely recommend to others and we will be back.

M
Mark
Kansas City
3 reviews
Dined on February 21, 2021
Overall3food1service2ambience2

Just not up to par. Ordered a KC Strip medium rare. What arrived was some cut of sirloin medium, tough and sinewy and difficult to even cut. Ordered a Manhatten up- $10 - which arrived on the rocks. Specified when ordering we wanted the $20 off $60, check was delivered with no discount. My dinner got a KC strip medium which she described as 'dry". Hereford House needs to do much better.

HR
HeatherR
1 review
Dined on February 20, 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience3

We had a party of 4 with a reservation at 6:00. We were seated promptly at 6. The food was excellent-great quality and portion size. There was a really loud group behind us that made it hard for us to hear each other at our table. Our server did great at the beginning but towards the end our dirty dishes sat on the table for 12+ minutes while we waited for him to bring our check.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are disappointed to hear you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. We will relay your comment to our team at Independence to improve our services. We hope you can give us another chance in the future!

Report
s
skidrow
Kansas City
29 reviews
Dined on February 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Once again another great dining experience at The Herford House in Independence. We had to wait just a little while past our reservation time, but it was worth it. The restaurant was very busy, which was good to see.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded 6 days ago

We are so happy to see such a great review of our Independence location! We appreciate your patience with our team. We hope to see you again soon! Take care.

Report
DP
DebbieP
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on February 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The dinner 2 for $80 is a great deal and excellent food.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 22, 2021

We're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our Dinner for Two. We look forward to your next visit!

Report
C
Cruise88
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Hereford House has been a favorite of ours for more than 10 years. It never disappoints! This visit was not exception. The service was even better that the last time we went. I love going in the winter time with the large heath fire going. The only thing I would say could be better was that the bathrooms were freezing but it was -2 degrees out in the middle of the day.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 22, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at our Independence location. We are happy we could meet your expectations! Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience and is glad you found this to be the case during your visit. If you have further needs or questions, please reach out! Thank you for your continued support.

Report
AL
AshleyL
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, good service that isnt over bearing but attentive.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 19, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did! We look forward to your next visit.

Report
n
niebert
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server was extremely knowledgable and helpful. She made several excellent recommendations, and was quick to solve any questions we had.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 18, 2021

We are pleased to hear you found our team to be helpful while dining with us! We are more than happy to pass along your kind comments to our team at Independence! We hope you have a great day.

Report
JL
JoeL
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food service was great very hospitable, clean and friendly staff

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 18, 2021

We are so happy to hear you found our team to be helpful during your recent dining experience. Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope you have a great day.

Report
SW
SheriW
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I love going to Herford House. It is always a wonderful experience, the food is amazing and the atmosphere is comfy and service is great!

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 18, 2021

We are so happy to hear you enjoy dining with us at our Independence location! Thank you for your kind comments. Until next time!

Report
JH
JohnH
Kansas City
3 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience5

We ordered the Valentines Day Special with Prime Rib & Ribeye Steak. Both were up to Hereford House standards, although the Ribeye wasn’t hot when served. The sides fell short, broccoli was not cooked long enough, bake potato came without any butter and one of the baked potatoes was to be loaded but was served bare. All in all, we’ve had better experience and service at this location.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 18, 2021

We are disappointed to hear you are not completely satisfied with your recent dining experience. We strive to provide top-notch service and cuisine for our guests and regret to hear this was not the case during your recent visit. We will relay your comments to our team at Independence to better improve our services. We hope you can give us another chance in the future!

Report
SF
StephanieF
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience5

Got seated next to roaring wall fireplace. Server disappeared on us multiple times. Witnessed chef going off on manager in open kitchen. Great food. Good night. Just weird circumstances.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 16, 2021

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are disappointed to hear you did not receive the top-notch quality service we strive to provide. We will relay your comments to our team at Independence to better improve our services. Thank you again for this information from your visit. We hope you have a great day.

Report
WK
WendyK
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Really good dinner & great service. Enjoyed the relaxing & quiet dining experience. Dessert was disappointing, but dinner was great.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 16, 2021

We are so happy to hear you are mostly satisfied with your recent dining experience. We are disappointed our dessert did not meet your expectations. We hope you can try our dessert again in the future! Thank you for your feedback.

Report
S
vipSpshltymes
Kansas City
10 reviews
Dined on February 13, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

I always enjoy going to Herford House. Our waiter Andrew was efficient and saw to it thatAll are requests were mad. I was disappointed in the crab /asparagus béarnaise sauce addition I got with my entrée as it was served cold and I didn’t anticipate that...
It was a little bit more pricey than I anticipated at $11 for the additional add-on so I won’t do that again in the future

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 16, 2021

Thank you for your honest feedback! We are disappointed to hear you are not completely satisfied with your recent dining experience. We will relay your comments to our chef at Independence regarding our crab enhancement. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
BR
BRENDENR
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Food yummy me like steak and the shrimp. GF didn’t really like the corn tho

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 16, 2021

Thank you for your positive review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our Herf & Surf. We hope to see you at our Independence location soon.

Report
JR
JulieR
1 review
Dined on February 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We absolutely love coming here for their happy hours… Always great service and great food!

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 15, 2021

Your positive review means a lot to us! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our happy hour. We hope to see you at our Independence location soon!

Report
AP
AmandaP
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on February 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My daughter and I stopped to eat on a Saturday night. We were able to get seated immediately with our reservation and all of the staff were very friendly and professional. We were seated at a small table for two and our waiter was always very quick to remove each plate we were finished with and collect any trash. I never once felt as though he was hovering but he was always right there for all of our needs. The restaurant was very clean and the food was AMAZING. Everything was cooked just right and while the prices were more than some of the other restaurants in the area, they were very appropriate to the dinning experience and quality of food received.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 8, 2021

Thank you for your great review of our restaurant. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed dining with us! It is reviews like this that motivate us to continue providing excellent experiences for our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Report
A
vipAljo
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent cuisine! The 1/2 price Chiefs' bye week prime rib was delicious and extremely tender. The service from Matthew was great. Always a wonderful dining experience at HH Independence 💕

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 5, 2021

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our ½ Price Prime Rib Special. Thank you for your positive feedback; we are more than happy to pass along your comment to our team, including Matthew! We hope to see you again soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Kansas City
2 reviews
Dined on January 30, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Delicious food, hot and cooked perfectly.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 1, 2021

Thank you for your kind words and positive review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our cuisine. Until next time!

Report
JH
JeffH
1 review
Dined on January 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was my 1st experience at Hereford House and I was not disappointed. Very good service, excellent food and comfortable environment. Thanks for a great evening.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 3, 2021

Thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Independence! Thank you for taking the time to leave us this information about your first visit. Take care!

Report
RK
ReginaK
Kansas City
9 reviews
Dined on January 26, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Great steaks, nice warm atmosphere. Wait staff was very pleasant and accomodating.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on January 29, 2021

Thank you for your amazing review! We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable dining experience with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report
KK
KimK
1 review
Dined on January 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The best filet we’ve had in many years. If you want a truly delicious steak this is the place!

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on January 29, 2021

Thank you for your kind words and praise! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our Certified Hereford Beef. We hope to see you at our Independence location soon.

Report
DT
DavidT
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was as expected, food excellent, service was outstanding. We will be back!!

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on January 29, 2021

Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed dining with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
AW
AprilW
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Waitress was excellent. Everything was wonderful. Felt safe in our booth next to fireplace. Food was amazing. We don't go out much because of covid and with us both fighting cancer so this was a wonderful and enjoyable experience!

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on January 29, 2021

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so happy to hear you felt safe during your recent dining experience. We cannot thank you enough for your support. Until next time!

Report
TM
TaliaM
1 review
Dined on January 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love it! Service was great! Food was amazing! Drinks where delicious 😋 definitely love the Fall Salad!!

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on February 1, 2021

Thank you for your amazing review of our restaurant! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our cuisine, including the Fall Salad! We hope you have a great day.

Report
LS
LeanneS
Kansas City
7 reviews
Dined on January 23, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

We waited for 15 minutes before we had a server acknowledge us. Food was cold when it arrived.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on January 25, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to learn about your unsatisfactory experience. We strive to provide top-notch quality and service for our guests. We hope that you can give us another chance in the future!

Report
JS
JanetS
1 review
Dined on January 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We rarely eat out due to Covid, but decided to have a special night out at Hereford House. As always, it met or exceeded all expectations. Their food is always just spectacular, as is the service.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on January 25, 2021

Thank you for your kind comments! We are so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
m
vipmimitoni
Kansas City
79 reviews
Dined on January 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Our annual birthday party. Was great!

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on January 25, 2021

We are so happy to hear you chose Hereford House for your birthday celebration. Thank you for letting us know about your recent dining experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
TC
vipTomC
Kansas City
32 reviews
Dined on January 22, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Great lunch with my nephew and great nephew. Don't recall the servers name, but she was excellent. Looking forward to another visit.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on January 25, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We appreciate your positive feedback. Have a wonderful day!

Report
A
vipAljo
San Francisco
6 reviews
Dined on January 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As always, the warm reception from Alex was welcoming and very appreciated. The service from Emma was top notch and the prime rib was delicious. How fortunate we are to have such a great restaurant in KC that supports our Chiefs' every win with half price prime rib. Thank you, Hereford House in Independence!

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on January 22, 2021

Thank you for your kind comments about our Independence location. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our ½ Price Prime Rib Special. We hope to see you again soon for another KC win!

Report
S
vipSpshltymes
Kansas City
10 reviews
Dined on January 18, 2021
Overall4food3service3ambience3

Overall Always enjoyed going here they were just having an off day not opening until 3 PM and quite busy

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on January 22, 2021

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are disappointed to hear your recent visit did not live up to your expectations. We strive to provide high-quality food and service regardless of how busy we are. We hope you can give us another chance in the future!

Report
S
Socalmo
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on January 17, 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience4

Restaurant week deal wasn't worth it...carrot cake with no icing?

Horrible menu selection and quality.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on January 21, 2021

We are disappointed to hear you had a negative experience with us. We strive to provide high-quality cuisine for our guests and regret to hear that this was not the case during your visit. We hope you can give us another chance in the future.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on January 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had good food and enjoyed it.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on January 21, 2021

Thank you for your kind comments! We hope you have a great day!

Report
AC
ArlandC
1 review
Dined on January 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Ive been to Hereford House quite a few times and this was the best. The steaks were cooked perfectly and our waitress was the best.

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on January 21, 2021

We are so happy to hear about your positive experience at our restaurant! We are more than happy to relay your comments to our team at Independence! We hope to see you again soon.

Report
ML
vipMoLadybug
Kansas City
31 reviews
Dined on January 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic evening! Our service was excellent, half of our party of 8 ordered from the Restaurant Week menu, rest of us ordered from the Dinner for Two on the regular menu (highly recommend!). My prime rib was awesome, hubby’s 12 oz Strip same! Everyone loved the good & service!

Hereford House - Independence
Responded on January 21, 2021

Thank you for your kind comments! We appreciate your positive feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed dining with us during KC Restaurant Week! We look forward to your next visit!

Report

FAQs

Hereford House - Independence offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (816) 795-9200.

Hereford House - Independence is rated 4.6 stars by 1724 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Hereford House - Independence