Kona Grill - Denver

4
1375 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Welcome to Kona Grill Denver at Cherry Creek Shopping Center, with convenient valet parking right at our main entrance. Enjoy your local paradise after work, a day of shopping, or before catching your next movie. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Happy hour on the beautiful, shaded patio is a must. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Denver during COVID-19

Experiences

  • Kona Grill Date Night

    $39.00 per person

    Multiple dates available

    The search is over for the PERFECT DATE NIGHT! Make your reservation for DATE NIGHT at Kona Grill, offered every Sunday through Wednesday for $39 per person. This special menu features your choice of 1 of the 3 listed signature starters, Ribeye Meatballs or Lobster Toast or Ribeye Sliders. Followed by your choice of 2 of the 4 listed entrees, Sweet-Chili Glazed Salmon or Big Island Ribeye or Korean 5-Spiced Ribs or Assorted Sushi Board. Finishing your night off with Coffee Bread Pudding & a shot of Bailey’s. Add a bottle of Lunetta Prosecco, Chateau St. Michelle Chardonnay, or Two Vines Cabernet for $25.

Offers

  • Collect 1,000 bonus points

    Sun 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM, 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM, 2:15 PM - 2:45 PM, 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM, Mon - Thu 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM, Fri 8:00 PM - 11:45 PM, Sat 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM, 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM, 2:15 PM - 2:45 PM, 8:00 PM - 11:45 PM

    Receive points for dining rewards, KAYAK hotel savings and more.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1375 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
4.0
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
SC
SarahC
Denver
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I can't remember our waitress name but she was excellent. My family and I definitely be back.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on January 15, 2022
Overall2food1service4ambience4

Skip the steaks. The prime rib was awful and cold, the sides were cold Mac and cheese was actually just noodles with no sauce and the champagne was hot. I was terribly disappointed. I will say that all the food going to other tables looked fantastic. $100.00 later I left hungry and grabbed something on my way home..

M
vipMuse1712
Denver
7 reviews
Dined on January 15, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service! The clam chowder is worth the visit.

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded 5 days ago

Muse, Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Denver
9 reviews
Dined on January 14, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Love their HH! Service was outstanding. Great food + drinks + company meant a great time after a long work week.

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on January 14, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Music was too loud- otherwise It’a a good place!

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
l
viplrp2000
Denver
6 reviews
Dined on January 12, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a problem with using two gift cards together and the managers were awesome about adjusting the bill to take care of it. Their carrot cake is amazing!!!!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Denver
6 reviews
Dined on January 12, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food, great atmosphere and service! Was here for my birthday dinner and will definitely be back again soon!

b
bigcat2
Washington DC
24 reviews
Dined on January 11, 2022
Overall3food4service4ambience3

This is the second time in 3 weeks we have eaten @ the Kona Grill & the noise level & the boisterous screaming was intolerable!

The last time we ate there the noise level was almost intolerable!

The food was not at the level I expected - nor as good as the last time!

Our waiter was a bit distracted but he was waiting on several tables!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Denver
2 reviews
Dined on January 9, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Dara is a great host, she greeted us and promptly got us to a table. Robert was very attentive and the food, as always, was fantastic! Highly recommend Kona Grill for any occasion.

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
TG
ToniG
Denver
2 reviews
Dined on January 9, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We've been a fan of Kona Grill for over a decade. The prices have gone up but we still enjoy frequenting when in Denver.

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
WH
WesH
Denver
3 reviews
Dined on January 9, 2022
Overall3food4service2ambience2

Food service was slow and the noise level was very high making conversations tough to hear.

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded 5 days ago

Wes, We ​want to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us!!! 720-974-1300

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on January 8, 2022
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Best Friends Birthday Dinner

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Also Happy Birthday!!!!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Denver
6 reviews
Dined on January 8, 2022
Overall4food4service4ambience2

My boyfriend and I went here for date night, we got the potstickers and chicken satay for appetizers. Both were very good, I loved the Thai peanut sauce that came w the chicken satay. For an entree I got the cilantro-lime chicken and it was OUTSTANDING! I had the cucumber southside for a drink and it was very good as well. Only thing that wasn’t super nice was the music lol it was a very strange mix of EDM, but our service was phenomenal and overall had a great time.

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
L
Lisa
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on January 7, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a great lunch today with my girlfriends. Food , ambience and service fantastic!

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on January 6, 2022
Overall4food4service4ambience4

I been going to this place for a couple years now and it’s great place to hang out with friends and family. Food is good

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
P
vipParker
Denver
103 reviews
Dined on January 5, 2022
Overall4food4service5ambience5

We enjoyed a very nice evening. Happy hour entrees are great. Glad there is a sushi option, and my husband loves the chicken/shrimp lettuce wraps. Bummed that they were out of Kona Big Wave. Our server, Lane, was exceptional!

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded 5 days ago

Parker, Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
M
vipMark
Denver
11 reviews
Dined on January 2, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

All good, just too noisy.

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Denver
1 review
Dined on January 2, 2022
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Great service!!

CA
CesarA
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service amazing people, I will recommend this restaurant

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded on January 6, 2022

Cesar, Thank you for the five star review!!!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Denver
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

NYE prefix menu was very limited and food was prepared quickly but greasy. Extremely loud music playing so conversation was hard to have

NY
NYE2021
Denver
3 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience1

Very loud music. Don't book if you are looking for a romantic evening. Filets were dry and the service was so so. Our bill was as high as we have paid at higher end restaurants. Kudos to one manager (a veteran) who was extremely personable!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Denver
3 reviews
Dined on December 30, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience1

It was TOO LOUD! And they have practically doubled some of their prices, so now it is very overpriced.

TB
vipTimB
Denver
12 reviews
Dined on December 30, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Sushi was great but other dishes was not as well prepared.

L
vipLeelo84
Denver
10 reviews
Dined on December 29, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Inattentive service, poorly executed food and drinks, overpriced. Skip it.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Denver
1 review
Dined on December 27, 2021
Overall1food5service1ambience1

Sad, because it used to be a great place. But they must be understaffed because everything has gone wrong, not just with me, but with everyone around I watched. The hostess was so cold and not friendly. Assuming people told her about bad service all day. After we got a table, we waited 45 mins to just get a glass of wine. The staff was frantic and we literally got chopsticks thrown on out table from afar. Everything took forever. One lady next to me asked for a check and said “please, not tomorrow!!”. Other guy next to me said “wow, this is way too spice” and the reply was “yeah, i hope you like spicy food”. Anyways, I used to love this place, but it is a disaster now.

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded on January 6, 2022

We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. We would like to make it up to you, and have a better experience on us. Please contact us at so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kona Grill Managers 720-974-1300

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on December 27, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience2

Responded to email already.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Denver
2 reviews
Dined on December 26, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Steaks were both over cooked, drinks overpriced and weak, charged $2 for 3 small slices of avocado that we had to ask twice for. Totally “meh” experience which is too bad because I had lunch here a couple weeks ago and it was great.

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded on December 28, 2021

We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kona Grill Managers 720-974-1300

Report
c
cherrycreekcustomer
Denver
1 review
Dined on December 26, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

I was there for dinner and the waiter we had was excellent. Attentive, clear, present and thoughtful. We had great service. Thank you!

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded on December 28, 2021

We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kona Grill Managers 720-974-1300

Report
JA
vipJasonA
Denver
4 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Sweet Saints tonight was positively awful.

So let's start with the bad since it is a longer list.
-45 minute wait with out 7pm reservation, the reservation was booked two weeks in advance. They also said they would text me when the table would be available, but low and behold no text saying a table was ready for us. We walked back at 7:45 and they sat us
-The manager tried to seat us near the other angry customers at the front door and gave us only two menus for our part of 3. We asked for a different table.
-Waiter didn't show up for around 10 minutes. A waiter asked me where I got my mask and I actually had to ask him to find our waiter so we could get an order in. We waited another 10 minutes and just walked out. We've actually eaten at Kona before for Valentine's day the year before the Covid and thought it would be nice.
-OpenTable showed spots to reserve showing they were trying to take more reservations at that time.
-Honestly felt like we were being punished for coming back after 45 minutes and asking for the table

The good
Absolutely nothing.

Thanks for making my family waste an hour and a half of our time.

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded on December 28, 2021

jason A. We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kona Grill Managers 720-974-1300

Report
HD
vipHeartDenver
Denver
19 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience4

Almost three hours for food on Christmas night. Waitress and manager completely avoided the floor so no explanation, no refilled drinks, no apologies, no discounts for waiting. Such a shame.

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded on December 28, 2021

We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kona Grill Managers 720-974-1300

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2021
Overall1food5service1ambience5

Waited 2 hours for our food

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded on January 6, 2022

We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. We as the KG managers would like to make this up to you. Please contact us at so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kona Grill Managers 720-974-1300

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Denver
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

This was the worst dinner experience I’ve ever had!!! You guys completely ruined my families Xmas!! We were in your restaurant for over 3 hours and never actually received our ordered meals!

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded on December 28, 2021

We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kona Grill Managers 720-974-1300

Report
TJ
TimothyJ
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience3

We had an an ABSOLUTLEY TERRIBLE Christmas dinner at the Kona Grill last night. We had reservations for 3 people at 5pm and it took 2 hours and 40 minutes to get our dinner. Yes, we arrived at 5pm, we were sat at 5:05pm and were served our dinner at 7:40pm. It had nothing to do with our server - who was awesome by the way - or the cooks who were busting their humps to get the food out.

The problem? Kona Grill MANAGEMENT made a decision to prioritize Christmas delivery app orders over customers actually seated & eating in the restaurant. This was a DISASTER and left countless tables of people waiting 2+ hours to get their food. There were numerous people sitting at the tables adjacent to us who had been waiting to be served for over 2 hours when we finally left at 8:15pm. Older folks and several couples with younger kids who made the mistake of choosing the Kona Grill for their Christmas dinner.

At times, they had 5 or 6 delivery drivers from the different delivery apps hanging out by the hostess stand ready to pick-up food ... and these orders were prioritized ahead of everyone actually seated at the restaurant. The extensive waits for food then left those people that had later reservations without an available table and holding the bag just waiting to get seated.

The best part? Our server stop by our table at 5:30pm - after we had been waiting 2 1/2 hours - and asked if we wanted them to still make our dinner or if we just wanted to go ahead and cancel. Then, when our food arrived 10 minutes later, the "Christmas Specials" were lukewarm and the veggies were simply awful.

I've lived in Denver for 32 years and this was easily our worst restaurant experience. TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE decision by the Kona Grill management.

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded on December 28, 2021

We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kona Grill Managers 720-974-1300

Report
L
Leslie
Central Coast
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2021
Overall3food5service5ambience4

Food was amazing, server was great. Unfortunately, they got more take out orders than they could handle so even with reservations, we waited an hour and forty minutes for our food. We had another event to go to and we were late even with plenty of time planned. This was not the servers fault and she was awesome. Once we got the food, it was also awesome!

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded on December 28, 2021

We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kona Grill Managers 720-974-1300

Report
E
Ellie
1 review
Dined on December 24, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Lovely experience overall. The only downside was waiting almost an hour for our food. Will definitely be back!

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded on December 28, 2021

We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kona Grill Managers 720-974-1300

Report
T
Trebor
Palm Springs
4 reviews
Dined on December 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Completely enjoyed our meal, server, and experience!!

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded on December 28, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on December 24, 2021
Overall5food3service5ambience1

Music too loud

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded on December 28, 2021

We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kona Grill Managers 720-974-1300

Report
DS
DannielleS
Denver
1 review
Dined on December 24, 2021
Overall1food2service2ambience3

We scheduled a reservation in advance. We received confirmation and even a reminder minutes before the reservation started. Once we arrived, they told us they didn’t have our reservation. They sat our party of 6 anyway. We waited 45 min to get our edamame, and we waited an hour and a half for our food. Our entire meals came cold and you could tell they’d been sitting. The manager informed us they sat for a while while waiting for everything to come out together. I was very polite with the waitress and I know it wasn’t her fault. However, they took the edamame off our bill and she said they took our bottle of wine off as well and didn’t. Had they actually done that, I would’ve thought that was fair. The children were tired and “Santa” was coming the following morning so we couldn’t dispute this. We gave her a nice tip and left. I’m extremely disappointed in the lack of care from the manager and making sure they properly corrected this matter.

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded on December 28, 2021

We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kona Grill Managers 720-974-1300

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Denver
6 reviews
Dined on December 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food as always.

Kona Grill - Denver
Responded on January 6, 2022

Thank you for the five star review!!!

Report
WM
vipWilliamM
Denver
48 reviews
Dined on December 24, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Disappointed that the restaurant had neither of the 2 Sske that I wanted to try.

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Kona Grill - Denver using the Order Online button. Kona Grill - Denver also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (720) 974-1300.

Kona Grill - Denver is rated 4 stars by 1375 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Denver does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.konagrill.com/more/gift-cards.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.