Kona Grill - Baltimore

3.8
1931 Reviews
$31 to $50
Contemporary American
Welcome to Kona Grill Baltimore, at the Inner Harbor downtown, next door to the Baltimore Convention Center. Enjoy your local paradise after work, before an event, or after touring the harbor. Fresh, wild caught fish is brought in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Happy hour on the beautiful, temperature controlled patio, which overlooked the Baltimore Grand Prix, is a must. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and unique ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Baltimore during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon - Thu 6:00PM - 8:45PM
Fri 8:00PM - 10:00PM
Sat 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

What 1931 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
3.8
food
3.5
service
3.8
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
SH
ShirlettaH
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great definitely would come back. Enjoy ourselves

TC
ToriC
Charlotte
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent dining choice. Food was delicious and cocktails amazing.
Great service and ambience.

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- GM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
LE
vipLovetoEat22
Baltimore
6 reviews
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience4

We had dinner with a party of six. While waiting for some of our party, two of us were having drinks at the bar. The bar service was very slow and disorganized, with patrons arriving at the bar after us receiving their drinks before we did. That is why I gave only two stars for service. Once seated at our table, the service was good. We enjoyed our food in general. The salmon entree was a standout.

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded 5 days ago

Thank your review. We are so glad you dined out with us! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- GM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
SD
vipStewartDS
Washington DC
35 reviews
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall2food1service3ambience3

The food was terrible. We ordered the stir fry with chicken and shrimp and it tasted extremely bland like it came for a school cafeteria. Our kids ordered a chicken nuggets kids meal and we ended up having to take it back because the chicken tenders had no flavor, and the macaroni and cheese looked like penne noodles with Alfredo sauce. Would never come back here again. The quality has down a lot since they went bankrupt.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wife birthday

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- GM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
I
Inimitable
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on June 11, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

I had to leave a review. From beginning to end service was Great! The food and drinks were Good, for a group of 6 we had quite the variety to try. Our waiter Franklin was Excellent, very personable and welcoming. We also Love that management still engages with the customers about their experience. Sorry, no pictures but I will say I didn't have anything left, lol. Besides, there are tons of great photos already. Kona Grill Baltimore, Thank You for your superb hospitality. Whit, BGSC Baltimore

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- GM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
B
Blondiee
1 review
Dined on June 6, 2021
Overall2food4service3ambience2

We ordered something off the menu hower they never told us it was available.. then we ordered 4 fish tacos and only 3 came out. Then the manager came to the table with a attitude

S
vipSpartacus
Washington DC
11 reviews
Dined on June 6, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience1

The service was fine, but slow. The building was rundown. The food tasted metallic. The restaurant wasn’t clean.

N
vipNone
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on May 31, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

We walked in and it smelled like old fish, tables and floor were dirty. We waited 20 min and our server never came then we left

OT
OpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on May 31, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

My son (a 4 year old) and I had lunch at Kona Grill after visiting the aquarium. The tune& salmon poke bowl was very good and the mini cheeseburger bento box was tasty. I really liked our server. He was attentive, responsive, and accommodating. My only complaint was the condition of the restaurant. It seemed like there was a good party the night before. The floors were comparable to a bar at the end of the night, sticky and a bit smelly. However, once I brought it to my server’s attention, he moved us to a cleaner area and then mopped the whole area after taking our order. Other than the floors, the tables themselves and other surfaces were clean.

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on June 5, 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- GM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
AB
AngieB
1 review
Dined on May 30, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Didn’t have things we came for (the tray of drinks and something happy hour) but drink I had was strong

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on June 5, 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- GM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
PP
PaulP
1 review
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food and service was on point.
This was our first time at Kona Grill definitely won’t be the last.

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on May 31, 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- GM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience5

Food was good.. but who doesn’t cut the tough stem part off Brussels sprouts and remove the tough outer leaves before cooking? Had to bite them apart to get at the CHEWABLE part. Service was ok, until we were done and waiting for our check! Always a pet peeve of ours- when you dine with 3 kids and all the food is gone you DON’T want to wait another 20+ minutes for the check!!

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on June 5, 2021

Thank your review. We are so glad you dined out with us! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- GM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
L
Lovely
Sacramento
3 reviews
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Anniversary weekend

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on May 31, 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- GM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The mimosas were amazing!

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on June 5, 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- GM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
BD
vipBarryD
Chicago
5 reviews
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Did not have one of the two starters available for brunch. Otherwise, all was good.

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on May 31, 2021

Thank your review! We are so glad you dined out with us! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- GM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
DM
DeepakM
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on May 25, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Food was good. Ambieance was nice. The server was new and made mistakes in the order and overcharged us. But nice place and location

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on May 29, 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- GM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
M
Mark
Washington DC
19 reviews
Dined on May 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was our first time at Kona. Living in Hawaii for three years, we were anxious to visit and see if the Aloha spirit was there. It sure was. The Mai Tai was a bit strange - but it could be the difference from the Big Island and Maui.

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on May 29, 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- GM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Chicago
3 reviews
Dined on May 22, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience3

The worst service we have experienced in a long time. Took 45 minutes to get a server and water for the table after we were seated. One of the waters came with a beer cap at the bottom of the ice. Silverware came 15 minutes after food arrived (which took another hour after order was taken) so the food was cold once it could be eaten with utensils. Some items were missing from our order. 2 hours to get food after being seated was ridiculous and no attempt by manager to rectify. Will NOT go back to this place.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on May 22, 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience3

The service all together was annoying. 2 stars at the very least. I ordered the Kona Stir Fry with shrimp and my rice was stale but the stir fry was decent. My friends food was good so I gave more more star for that and am willing to give this place a shot again but I’d only order carry out from the Baltimore location moving forward. The mango ice tea is delicious btw.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on May 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful food and staff. Exceptional! Thanks

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on May 22, 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- AGM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on May 19, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Went there at 615pm for Happy Hour. Was told by server, it’s not anymore, so just opted to eat. Really slow service. Margarita was more juice than tequila. Pad Thai was soggy. Cilantro Lime Chicken had weird dipping sauce & burnt chicken. Had to constantly look for our server. Water was only refilled once, and still had to beg for it. Our togo order was waiting in the back table forever. The place was not busy, why did it take so long? Our server was just not attentive to his customers needs. He does not even know about the KG Rewards when i gave him the code upon checkin. I came in coz i wanted to use my $15 birthday reward. Instead, our server chose his own dessert for me to bring home, which i found out when i got home, that it was not even in the bag. Don’t ever come here. They need to be closed forever.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on May 16, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Terrible experience. Disappointed. Not going back . We love Kona for lunch and decided to do brunch today. Service was horrible. I made a reservation, we were seated late. When we finally sat nobody came for 17 minutes. We had no water napkins or silverware. Then we asked for server and the hostess came to get our drink orders. Then server finally came and took forever to bring our mimosas and then entrees came before appetizers. We got dirty silverware and napkins at this point but separate—- I guess they wanted up to roll it ourselves. When the appetizer came the server told them to take it back but then he came back and said it was complementary. It was nasty. Tasted like uncooked dough. Just overall bad service I could go on and on. We will be finding a new spot. I truly loved this spot, literally just left a fantastic review last week . This week was totally different. Would not recommend. Also two people got side orders of pancakes ; one came out huge and the other came out miniature like a kid size . Idk what was going on honestly just a mess.

D
Dream
Baltimore
5 reviews
Dined on May 16, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Everything was ok. We did mimosas but it was just champagne. Probably wouldn’t go back. It’s a cute spot though.

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on June 5, 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- GM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
D
vipDisappointed
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on May 15, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience5

We have been to Kona many times, all of our past visits were great, but this time the service was below average. 4 different servers asked our drink orders, 25 minutes later the wrong drinks were brought to us, finally 15 more minutes later we got our drinks. A bus boy brought our food out, which was correct and good but we were not checked on at all for another 30 minutes. We had to get a servers attention to pay our check, which he brought back with no pen, so we had to wait and get someone’s attention again. The servers were nice enough, but the service was not good. Maybe we will try again in a few months.

J
John
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on May 15, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Had a 4pm reservation on 5/15/21. Sat at the table for 20 minutes waiting for a waiter/waitress; neither of the two waiters even addressed my party. 15 minutes in, I did ask one of the passing waiters “Where is our waiter?” He said that he would find out but didn’t return for the next 5 minutes so we left. Ridiculous that you wait for 20 minutes without even an introduction or “I’ll be with you shortly” or a glass of water. Kona Grill definitely needs new staff all around even at the front desk.

KJ
KarenJohnson
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on May 15, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience3

Staff was rude and/or indifferent, often on their personal cell phone. Our waiter took 20 minutes at every turn before getting what was asked (ex: drink refills, ketchup, etc.). Food was sub-par and over priced. Wrong food order came out and there was 10-15 between service of each of our plates at our table of four.
Would NOT recommend!!!

P
vipPool
Washington DC
13 reviews
Dined on May 13, 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience4

Short staffed. Server seemed despondent at the end of our dining experience. No farewell exchange. No goodbyes from hostess stand upon leaving. Not a very happy team.

LT
LiveToEat
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on May 9, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Pretty sure the ownership of this restaurant has changed hands over the years, and not for the better. Blasting Migos (rap group) in the waiting area with children present, while reservations are backed up an hour, and accepting patrons who look like they just rolled out of bed is not a good look. It was a 180-degree difference from our first visit a few years ago.

CG
vipChaseG
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on May 9, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

After waiting over an hour for our appetizers, we decided to cancel the rest of our food and go somewhere else to eat. This is after we watched 3 other tables get up and leave after not getting their food at all. Most definitely do not recommend and will not be coming back at all.

PK
PamK
Tampa
2 reviews
Dined on May 9, 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience3

Ok, it was Mother's day and very crowded. Had to wait for our reservation. The food took an HOUR. But when it finally arrived it was good. Could have been hotter. The wait staff was very pleasant. The manager was accommodating and took a couple items off our bill due to the inconvenience. The ribeye was outstanding! However, the club dance music during brunch was annoying.

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on May 11, 2021

We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us on Mother's Day. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at your convenience so we can try to make this right. We look forward to hearing from you. Antonio-AGM Kona Grill- Baltimore (410) 244-8994

Report
TB
TaylorB
Richmond
2 reviews
Dined on May 9, 2021
Overall2food4service1ambience3

The service on Mother’s Day was not a pleasant experience. We had a reservation at 11:45 and sat down at 12:05 but no one greeted us at our table for 30 mins! Not even to ask for drinks. When our drink orders were taken we did not get out drinks for another 30 mins and our food did not come until 1:45. Luckily the food was good but the food wait and the service was not. Not a good way to spend Mother’s Day. We were not even a large party only a table of 4.

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on May 11, 2021

We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us on Mother's Day. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at your convenience so we can try to make this right. We look forward to hearing from you. Antonio-AGM Kona Grill- Baltimore (410) 244-8994

Report
b
bdg123
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on May 9, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Had reservation, but took 12 minutes to be greeted at door. Took 1.5 hours to receive 3 breakfast entrees. Upon arrival of food, items were missing and food was cold. Table was not maintained/bussed. Glassware was soiled.

BT
BrittanyT
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on May 9, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience5

I typically dine at Kona grill and the food is always excellent. However- they did not seem properly staffed to accommodate their Mother’s Day reservations. We waited over two hours for food- only half our party was served... and the food was cold. Not very pleasant for Mother’s Day.

A
Acovi006
Baltimore
3 reviews
Dined on May 9, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience5

We had the absolute worst experience and server ever. My reservation was for 11am, we weren't seated until 11:30am. The server didn't know about the Mother's Day brunch special, it took her forever to get anything, we didn't receive our order until 1pm and almost every order was incorrect. My sister's sliders were raw and she never came to check o. Us or ask for refills. We had to wave her down. It was so bad that my niece applied to work there while sitting there to help. The manager was very helpful and assisted with getting the check situated after it was incorrect 3 times.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Baltimore
3 reviews
Dined on May 9, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Ok it was Mother’s Day so I expected that there would be some delays. Ok no problem! We had reservations for 11am, we didn’t receive our food until after noon. The food was substandard, French Toast tasted like onions, as if it was cooked on the same grill. I was brought cold coffee, it took 15 mins to get some cream. At the end, I paid by gift card only for them to tell me I didn’t have enough on the card. The manager then tells me my waitress doesn’t now how to process gift cards properly! Absolute awful experience!

DN
DougN
New England
2 reviews
Dined on May 9, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience2

Brought the wrong meal for my wife. Brought correct meal which was not prepared correctly (missing cheese & sauce). Brought correct sandwich but the spam was still ham. Fries were cod & I had finished my meal (although had to ask for new toast since mine did not come with butter). Was comped my wife’s meal but the experience ruined the Mother’s Day brunch

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on May 11, 2021

We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us on Mother's Day. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at your convenience so we can try to make this right. We look forward to hearing from you. Antonio-AGM Kona Grill- Baltimore (410) 244-8994

Report
FG
FamilyGuy899
Philadelphia
6 reviews
Dined on May 8, 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience2

Pulsating club music rocked the scene. Sat at table for a while before approached by server. Experience was really good after that… food was excellent.

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on May 17, 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- AGM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
DM
DoniM
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on May 8, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Waiter could’ve been better but everything else was perfect!!

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on May 11, 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- AGM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report
TP
TomP
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on May 8, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Nice place, good food, good service, but pricey during non-happy hour. Good pre-game spot.

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Responded on May 11, 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! Antonio- AGM Kona Grill- Baltimore

Report

FAQs

Kona Grill - Baltimore is rated 3.8 stars by 1931 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Baltimore does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Kona Grill - Baltimore