The Mooring Restaurant

4.5
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
5295 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Located in the heart of downtown Newport's waterfront, the Mooring Seafood Kitchen & Bar provides the freshest and most creative local, regional and international fish and seafood selections, paired with an award-winning 300+ label wine list. The Mooring adheres to fresh, local and organic in many plate preparations. Enjoy true waterfront views of Narragansett Harbor as you dine at one of the best seafood restaurants in New England.
What 5295 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
C
New York Area
31 reviews
Dined 14 hours ago
Overall 1food 1service 2ambience 3

I’m sorry but I ordered lobster ravioli it smell and tasted like fish my husband ordered stop saw it was dry and paper thin. The food is not good here best place for drinks and view do not eat dinner here

s
Washington DC
219 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

The chowder was outstanding, as was the dinner salad. The haddock for the fish and chips was lovely, but could easily have done with MUCH LESS breading.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 11 hours ago

Glad to hear skabootch and thanks for the feedback. We will share your thoughts with the culinary team who are always looking how we can improve ourselves. We hope you come back soon.

Report
m
Philadelphia
22 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

The food was good, but it wasn’t special. I liked the setting, but it was a little loud.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 11 hours ago

Thank you for the review Michelle. We wish our food had exceeded your expectations but glad you enjoyed the view.

Report
MD
New England
6 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 4

I've been coming here for over 8 years.. food is always good but this time I ordered the scallops and roasted veggies entree but was SHOCKED to find 4 scallops, corn an peas as my 30 dollar meal...if I'm only getting 4 scallops the least u can do is go heavy on the veggies... throw in some potatoes or something of substance to counter the small portion...

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for the feedback MDinCT. We always value hearing from our guests on what they enjoy and what they do not. We will share your feedback with the culinary team who is always looking to make sure our menu brings the most exceptional flavors at fair value to our guests.

Report
OT
Phoenix
9 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Especially enjoyed the warm bread and good service. Great atmosphere with pretty view of sailboats and water. Restaurant was fairly noisy. Would return.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed the bread and service and we are happy you would come back again. We look forward to seeing you then,

Report
MB
Tampa
6 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A great laid-back vibe here for a meal on the harbor. We sat outside and Johnny was our excellent waiter. The swordfish special was delicious and we enjoyed the whole experience. It was my birthday and I was given a complimentary crime brûlée for dessert. Highly recommend.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 11 hours ago

Thank you Marcia! We are glad you enjoyed and honored to have earned your recommendation. You were in good hands with Johnny and we will be sure to pass along the compliments.

Report
CH
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

We had a wonderful evening. We enjoyed the ambiance and our meal was delicious.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 3 days ago

Thankyou Christy! We are glad you enjoyed your evening with us.

Report
j
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 5

We sat on the patio, at the end of the Newport Boat Show, so it was busy. It was our anniversary and the restaurant did a very nice thing: the gave us both a glass of champagne! Service was pretty slow, so eventually they didn’t charge for our salad. We ordered a rather expensive wine, and our waitress handled that part well. My wife ordered the Atlantic Wild caught salmon- it was excellent. I had the yellow tail tuna with stir fry vegetables. I ask for chef’s choice on prep style. He choose Ahi style. Fish was wonderful but it and bed of vegetables were barely warm. It had taken so long to get to this point I chose to eat it as is. Still good, just not great. Water glasses were never filled until we flagged another waiter. All in all we still had a good time. Next time we will pick a less busy time.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for joining us jkbrawley and we are honored you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed but am sorry to hear that our service was slow. That's never what we like to hear and we will work hard to make improvements. Boat Show weekend is always busy but we never want to sacrifice our standards of exceptional service. Hope you can join us again.

Report
RW
New York Area
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

will come again, meal was very good. view exceptional

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you Richard! Glad you enjoyed.

Report
CM
New England
20 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Great location on the outside deck (views are of course much better than inside) with view of the marina. Our food was very good, albeit on the expensive side (it is Newport on the water after all). The Lobster roll was considered very good, Caesar Salad with Seared Tuna was also good. The Tuna was excellent, though the portion size was modest, and the salad was good but somewhat overdressed. Overall, four stars, and we would return if we could dine outside.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 3 days ago

Thanks for sharing your review CentralMassDiner and we are happy to hear you enjoyed. We look forward to you returning and hope we can get you a table on the patio to enjoy our wonderful harbor.

Report
KI
New England
4 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

Celebrating our mother’s 82nd bday. Everyone enjoyed their meal and our server Dan was excellent!

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Very happy to hear you all enjoyed and what a happy occasion to celebrate! Our best wishes to your Mom!

Report
JM
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My friends and I had a wonderful dining experience at The Mooring this past weekend - the boat show was also on. We had an exceptional waiter - David - who take great care of us!

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks for joining us! Boat Show weekend is always hectic around here but we love meeting so many great people and making them happy.

Report
J
New England
12 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Great food...great service! Hope to return soon!

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you Joyful! We hope you return soon too.

Report
CF
New York Area
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The best oysters I’ve ever had. The service was excellent. My lobster was cooked to perfection. Overall great experience. Would highly recommend

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you Claudia! We love serving up fresh oysters right from local sources. Glad you enjoy them too. Hope you come back to join us again and thank you for the recommendation.

Report
s
New England
4 reviews
Dined on September 13, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

food was very good ,the cam chowder was out standing great window seat out side,service very good nice night

LG
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on September 13, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It was everything we were told. Great. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Well that makes us happy! Glad you enjoyed and hope we see you again.

Report
LS
New York Area
10 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Terrific food, great service. Lovely oysters.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you LousiStreet! Glad you enjoyed it all.

Report
J
New York Area
11 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

Maybe we’ll go again. Our salmon, bacon, lettuce and tomato took 40 minutes to arrive—the bacon was superfluous—we wouldn’t order it again. We’ve had much better meals here, but ‘‘tis time we were disappointed.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for the feedback Jean and we will be sure to pass it along to the culinary team. We never like our guests to be disappointed. We hope that you will give us another try and when you do, we can deliver on a more typical Mooring experience which you have enjoyed in the past.

Report
L
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Celebrated an anniversary.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for celebrating with us!

Report
OT
Orlando
1 review
Dined on September 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Great location and very good ambiance. Lobster doughnuts were delicious as an appetizer and the swordfish was amazing. Definitely recommend if you have to take a client out to dinner in Newport

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 13, 2019

Thank you and we appreciate your recommendation too. We love hosting business dinners and get togethers.

Report
L
Atlanta
31 reviews
Dined on September 10, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

There is a beautiful view from this restaurant. We had difficulty finding parking due to the boat show. We were not familiar with the town and did not realize that they did not have parking.
The waitress was pleasant, although, seemed extremely busy.
The food was good, not outstanding.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you Liza and glad you enjoyed. The Boat Show does present some parking interruptions in Newport, so we are grateful that you were still able to join us and enjoy the view.

Report
EL
Los Angeles
4 reviews
Dined on September 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The crab cake was tasty and the 🦞 exactly as I like it! The lobster roll needed a little more condiment but that’s ok. The dessert was perfect to be shared.

Our waiter was attentive and friendly. The day was perfect to watch the docked boats.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 13, 2019

Thank you Estela. We are happy we served the crab cake just like you like it. We are glad you joined your day with us and hope we see you again.

Report
D
Denver
10 reviews
Dined on September 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Anniversary

OT
1 review
Dined on September 9, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The Mooring is one of our favorite spots in Newport.
We had a waitress Jennifer who was absolutely amazing and worked with us on or time restraint since we had 45 minutes to catch a sailboat in Goat Island.
Drinks arrived within minutes and food followed within 10.
We will be back soon and definitely will request Jennifer.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 11, 2019

Thank you! You were in good hands with Jennifer. Our whole team will always do what they can to make a guest happy - especially when they have to catch a boat. Glad you enjoyed and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report
KK
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Definitely recommend The Mooring! Very attentive wait staff. Great ambience.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 10, 2019

Thank you Kari! We are truly grateful to have earned your recommendation. Glad you enjoyed.

Report
SC
Philadelphia
6 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We thoroughly enjoyed dinner at The Mooring. Our sever was very pleasant and our food was great.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 10, 2019

Thank you Shelli! We love when guests leave after thoroughly enjoying. Hope we see you again.

Report
AG
1 review
Dined on September 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Dinner at The Mooring was quite simply amazing! I did not ask for an outside table during the reservation process, but did ask for one when we arrived. While it was evident the outside patio was completely full, they readily sat us at the perfect indoor table right by the open windows leading to the deck, which was perfect. We had an amazing view of the beautiful sunset, and the ambiance was fabulous.

Our server was friendly and knowledgeable with drinks and the menu, and was the perfect level of attentiveness. Not leaving us waiting for anything, but not constantly stopping by and interrupting the meal.

The drinks and food were quite amazing as well. My girlfriend and I had planned a romantic getaway for the weekend, and it was to be her first time having lobster. The setting and the food were everything I had hoped for and more. We both enjoyed the lobsters and pairings of potatoes, and I couldn't have been more impressed with everything.

I'm planning on proposing to her in the not too distant future, and will definitely include The Mooring in that evening's plans.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 11, 2019

Thank you Andrew! We are so glad you enjoyed your dinner with us and that we could be part of your romantic weekend. It's always an honor to serve someone their first lobster too. We are very grateful for the kind review and look forward to seeing you again. We would be thrilled to host your special evening!

Report
j
New York Area
54 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had a fantastic seafood lunch. Great table with a view of the marina.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 11, 2019

Thank you for celebrating with us and we are glad you enjoyed it all. Hope we see you again soon.

Report
KH
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 3

Very loud and service was not exceptional. Food was good.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 10, 2019

We are glad the food was to your liking although we wish our service and atmosphere was more to your liking. Exceptional service is what we built our reputation upon. We will work hard to make sure your service is more remarkable on your next visit.

Report
OT
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on September 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wonderful time! Food was delicious and the service was great!

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 10, 2019

Thank you! Exceptional food and service is always our goal.

Report
OT
New England
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Celebrating my daughter’s 30th Birthday.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 10, 2019

Thank you for celebrating with us!

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 3

At best average

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 10, 2019

Sorry to hear we didn't make a better impression. If you'd like to tell us more, we'd love to hear it. Please call us at 401-846-2260

Report
OT
Poconos
3 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Great views, great food!

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 10, 2019

Thank you!

Report
ML
New York Area
28 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent service and food. Love this restaurant!!’

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 10, 2019

Thank you! We love our guests too!

Report
T
Atlantic City
34 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Bag of donuts delicious but you must eat them while they are hot, the tuna poke was ok but I have had better, the chips were stale. The best thing was the clam chowder. One of the best I have ever had.Main course was delicious. The salmon and yellow tuna were prepared perfectly.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 10, 2019

Thank you Teacher22! It's always an honor to hear our chowder ranks among the best. Glad you enjoyed and we really appreciate the feedback. Hope we see you again.

Report
MM
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent dinner. Great service. Beautiful sunset view. Would highly recommend.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 6, 2019

Thank you MsMary1 We appreciate your recommendation and glad you enjoyed.

Report
d
Baltimore
234 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We dined there two times during our 4 day vacation in Newport - loved the lobsters both times. The service, food and ambience were excellent.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 10, 2019

Thank you Davie! It's an honor to have been part of your vacation and glad we could deliver a delicious experience.

Report
RS
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

"I love the relaxed feel of this place, eating on the patio is always enjoyable – I definitely would return to try more dishes. The Native Scallop Chowder soup was amazing . Angus Beef Filet with Scallops was fantastic as always. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable." Have never been disappointed all the times we have dined here.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 10, 2019

Thank you Russell! We are truly honored that you continue to join us and happy that it is always enjoyable. We appreciate the review and look forward to your next visit.

Report
JL
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We’ve come to depend on the Mooring as our go to Family Restaurant in Newport... Great menu choices for adults with children’s coloring menu & crayons. Cocktails are Top Shelf as is the service staff. No one ever leaves dissatisfied. Something not quite right... whisper it to your server and rectified with a smile and an apology...

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 10, 2019

Thank you John! We are glad you have come to depend on us and happy to hear our customer service is top notch. We are grateful for your patronage.

Report
C
New England
2 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 3

Selected the Mooring for a special event dinner with an overseas guest. Was very disappointed with noise level being very high, the lack of taste (bland) with the appetizer mussels, the main courses of stuffed lobster and scallops was quality-wise mediocre. We will not be recommending or visiting the Mooring in the future. Also the cost of parking cost, because the parking lot is not controlled by the restaurant, is exorbitant and the restaurant does not validate the parking ticket.

The Mooring Restaurant
Responded on September 6, 2019

Dear Chip, We are grateful you chose The Mooring for your special event. Sorry to hear you were disappointed. We strive to deliver exceptional food and tastes to all our guests and never like to hear we let them down. I will discuss your feedback with the culinary team who is always working at improving. I am sorry that you would not choose to come back, but if you do, I hope we can deliver on an experience more typical of what we are known for. Sincerely, Dan Fischer General Manager

Report
1
2
3
133