The Reef

4.1
950 Reviews
$31 to $50
Seafood
The Reef is a gathering spot that captures the heart of the seadog in all of us. It feels like home port in all the right ways, and acknowledges the wanderlust and adventurous spirit in every sailors soul. Situated dockside in Newport Harbor, The Reef is a waterfront restaurant serving international cuisine inspired by the travels of sailors to ports around the world, with a drink selection to suit every taste. Our versatile harborside space is great for intimate gatherings and large celebrations alike, yet casual enough for spontaneous come-as-you-are get-togethers. Down a quick libation at the end of a perfect sail, or enjoy a meal with flavors from faraway places while listening to live music on the patio. Our accommodating staff guarantees a pleasant, memorable experience every time you visit. At the Reef, we believe every day can be a good one when you’re surrounded by the sights, sounds and flavors of the sea.

Support The Reef during COVID-19

Experiences

  • Savor Newport

    $60.00 per personPrepaid

    Sep 25, 2021 only

    Savor Newport will showcase an incredible array of Wine and Food, Chefs and Food Demonstrations, Spirits, Craft Beer, Sparkling Seltzers, a DJ and great Live Musical Performances. Visit savornewport.com for updated schedule and details Saturday, September 25th Daytime Waterfront Tasting Session, Chef Demos with DJ 12:00pm – 4:30pm | Tickets: $60 VIP Exclusive Preview Hour, Waterfront Tasting Session, Chef Demos with DJ & Live Music Performance 5:30pm - 6:30pm | Tickets: $85 Evening Waterfront Tasting Session, Chef Demos with DJ & Live Music Performance 6:30pm – 10:30pm | Tickets: $70

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 950 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.2
service
4.3
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
ER
EmilyR
Chicago
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall3food2service4ambience3

Overpriced and mediocre. Tuna tartar app was great, lobster alla vodka was good, steak and burger were not good. Pricey and atmosphere is okay, but some of the other wharfs have better atmosphere, like Bowen’s. Service was good.

J
Jadai
New England
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were greeted and sat immediately when we arrived. We got a great seat inside next to the water and the big glass doors were open so we had an incredible water/yacht view and a beautiful breeze! We ordered the mac and cheese with steak, grilled chicken sandwich (yummy sauce), the chicken skewers and a side Caesar salad. Everything was delicious and there was enough mac and cheese for three with enough left over for three more! Oh and the red sangria was delicious as well, we had to go for seconds! Highly recommend!

C
Chris
New England
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience4

My guests were done eating before my entree showed up. I got it packed up to go. No “I’m sorry”, nor did they take the $38 off my bill.

P
vipPixie
New England
113 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was a beautiful day to sit outside for an early lunch with our furry friend. Lunch was delicious!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall2food2service3ambience4

Stale lobster in Newport…multiple order mistakes by the server.

AM
AMP1
Denver
1 review
Dined on September 9, 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience4

Definitely not what I was expecting. It must be something about the ambience that makes it popular because paying $18 for 3 Carne Asada tacos which came in the same shells as you would purchase at a grocery store and were substandard in their taste was a waste of money. Needless to say. We left and are the rest of our meal elsewhere.

F
vipFoodie
New York Area
13 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Food average. Clam chowder didn’t have any clams. Service was good.

OT
vipOpenTableDiner
New England
57 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing location. Food was very good.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a great time !!! Food , service, atmosphere!

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Dropped my son off at college. He was hoping for hot lobster roll but we must have been looking at an old menu

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 28, 2021
Overall1food2service2ambience2

Slow and confused service. Value vs quality questionable

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on August 28, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience3

Service was horrible waited 30 min just for a bottle of wine, management could careless what’s going on with customers and dining experience, view is great but don’t go for dinner there are better options!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
1 review
Dined on August 27, 2021
Overall3food4service5ambience4

Food was good. Cocktails were undrinkable. Vodka and tonic. Not difficult.

LA
LARF
Philadelphia
19 reviews
Dined on August 25, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

We were seated outside directly under a bright light and a loud speaker with very loud music. We asked to be moved and we’re told there were no other tables available. The music was turned down for a few minutes and then resumed. Our chicken satay was not fully cooked. Service was pleasant but very slow.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
1 review
Dined on August 25, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Worst meal I’ve had in Newport by far

The Reef
Responded on August 26, 2021

We are sorry to hear that this was your experience, and hope that you were able to speak with a manager about your frustrations. If you were not, we would be happy to speak with you to further understand what you did not enjoy.

Report
J
Julied
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on August 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and food was great!

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

Cheers Julie! :)

Report
D
Dtrain
Louisville
5 reviews
Dined on August 19, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Menu limited. We were advised the night before reservation but still pretty basic. Tough situation based on lack of employees. Food was prepared well but pretty simple

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

Thank you for the review! We do hope you will visit us again soon. We had to run with a limited menu temporarily, but have a more extensive menu that provides tasty options for everyone! Cheers, The Reef

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Charleston
10 reviews
Dined on August 19, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great service, and tasty food! Will be back.

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

We look forward to it! Cheers :)

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 19, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Very pleasantly surprised with the service and food quality.
Nice outdoor seating with hire and music

JG
JohnG
1 review
Dined on August 18, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience3

Nice atmosphere, menu was very limited. Clean with friendly staff.

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

Thank you John!

Report
RM
RayM
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on August 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First of all, the staff were outstanding! We sat outside and enjoyed a nice sunset with our dinner. The lobster bisque was different than any we have had and very good. The Lobster Roll was okay, the roll could have been much better. Drinks were spectacular. Good stop.

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

Thank you Ray! We can't wait for your next visit. Cheers, The Reef

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Orange County
1 review
Dined on August 15, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience5

Very limited menu due to kitchen staffing issues

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

We are working hard to rebuild our team and are in the process of launching a more extensive menu. We hope you will stop back in for a visit soon!

Report
JL
JeisyeL
1 review
Dined on August 15, 2021
Overall2food1service3ambience1

Was call the an hour be fore my reservation that the food was limited and had a small quantity of food. The forks and spoons were dirty with food residue. I had a old fashioned with the cup dirty. The picture are not what they seem.

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

We are sorry to hear about these frustration Jeisye. Due to an internal issue, we did have to run a limited menu the weekend you visited with us. We did our best to inform all guests ahead of time, as this was certainly not something we were able to plan for. We apologize that your experience was not what you expected, but do hope you will come visit in the future! Sincerely, The Reef

Report
MM
MadisonM
New England
2 reviews
Dined on August 15, 2021
Overall1food2service2ambience5

The entire kitchen staff quit the night prior, so I understand the restaurant having a tough couple following days. I would have appreciate notice though as it was a nice restaurant reserved for a special occasion which they were aware of, and we only had 3 options to eat, a burger, chicken sandwich, or Caesar salad. Also, prior to them bringing out our entrees they brought out the cake for my boyfriend ruining his dessert surprise. The entire thing was a disaster, he didn't feel I was even taking him out for his birthday which just really stunk because I know The Reef usually is awesome.
I hope they get back on their feet, but I will not be going here again and would not recommend. Hope they treat their staff better so they don't all quit again.

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

Hi Madison, We are extremely sorry to hear about this experience and would very much like the opportunity to speak with you directly. If this is something you would be open to, please contact Adrienne. Her information will be provided in your private messages, and she would be more than happy to set up a call! We hope to hear from you. Sincerely, The Reef

Report
LB
LaurineB
New England
1 review
Dined on August 15, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Considering the lack of staff, the meal was very good and our server did his best to accommodate us.

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

Thank you Laurine! We hope you will come back soon :)

Report
K
Kikip
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on August 14, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience5

The location was amazing on a large dock surrounded by boats and the sunset. But the service was so terribly slow (couldn’t get water for 30 minutes, had to go find salt myself etc) that we would not go back any time soon. Also the menu was very limited and we never saw a drink/wine menu, not sure if they have one.

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

Hi Kiki, We had some internal issues during the weekend of your visit, and for that we sincerely apologize. We are launching a new, extensive menu for both food and drinks & hope that you will come visit again and give us the opportunity to wow you! Sincerely, The Reef

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
12 reviews
Dined on August 14, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience2

A very disappointing experience. Arrived and was handed a menu that had very few of the options advertised on their web site. The owner claimed they were having staffing issues in the kitchen and that she had called all guest to warn them ahead of time that the menu was limited. We received no such call and she was unapologetic about the bait and switch of her full online menu and the menu being offered. The entree choices of fish and chips Mac and cheese a burger and a few other items was not worth the price and not what I’d expect from the venue. We decided to leave. Beware that if you make a reservation at this restaurant you may not get what you expect.

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

We are sorry to hear about your frustrations with you visit. We did have to run a limited menu, but can assure you that our team is working hard to fully staff our business in order to get back to our full, extensive menu with delicious options for everyone! Sincerely, The Reef

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 14, 2021
Overall1food1service3ambience2

Upon arriving at the restaurant, we were told by our waitress that they just had the entire kitchen and bartending staff walk out. We were suspicious when we received just printed menus that had an extremely limited selection from the normal menu. Due to there being no appealing items on the menu, no mixed drinks being offered, and concerns about how the food was being prepared, we ended up abandoning our table and reservation. Hopefully this is something that the management is able to resolve soon, but it worries me that it happened in the first place. With the difficulty of getting weekend restaurant reservations, it would’ve been nice if the problem was communicated in advance rather than us being blindsided by it on arrival.

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

Hi there, We completely understand the frustration and wish we had been able to provide a wider selection of food & drinks during your visit. The team did there best to notify all reservations of the last minute menu change. We truly apologize for any frustration or disappointment this caused during your visit. We aim to wow all of our guests, and hope that in the future you will give us another chance to do so. Sincerely, The Reef

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
8 reviews
Dined on August 13, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Today’s menu had a wide selection. I chose the Fish and Chips- a bit to greasy. My wife chose the Connecticut lobster roll but decided she’d have preferred the Newport. Service was excellent. The music a bit too loud, as is always the case almost everywhere.

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

Cheers!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 12, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience4

Sunset was beautiful!!!

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

We couldn't agree more!

Report
I
vipImpressed
New York Area
158 reviews
Dined on August 12, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience5

They seated us at 7:15 the reservation time. We were served our appetizers 20 minutes later and our drinks 25 minutes later. Our entrees were 90 minutes later. The manager provided a round of drinks to make up for the long wait but the kitchen and the wait staff were very disorganized. I don’t think we will return any time soon.

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a review. Feedback from our guests is extremely important to us. Like many other business', we have had to deal with staffing issues. We are working hard to train our team to ensure exceptional service to all of our guests. We hope you will give us another opportunity to impress you soon! Sincerely, The Reef

Report
K
vipKillamom
New England
33 reviews
Dined on August 11, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Celebrate 42years of marriage. Assuming there was a shortage of wait staff it took a while to be served, although our server was pleasant.

RG
RobertG
Hawaii
3 reviews
Dined on August 11, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Service was friendly. Location near water w view of boats was nice & ocean breeze welcome for both summer heat & infection control. Unfortunately, no specials available. We’d eat here again for sure.

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

We look forward to your next visit!

Report
GM
GMcD
New York Area
9 reviews
Dined on August 10, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience4

The Reef is great for outdoor, harbor side dining. The food is standard seafood fare. Tasty and serves its purpose for lunch/dinner in New England cities. If you’re fussy it’s probably not for you. The view and ambience is really pleasant. Our server (don’t recall her name, sorry) was perfectly efficient. She didn’t overdo the customer service but took care of us without infringing on our experience.

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback! We hope you will visit again soon :)

Report
f
foodie13
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on August 10, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Wonderful outdoor location! Table clean and great wait staff. I ordered the lobster dinner but was not given a plate to put the shells, extra napkins or a opener to crack open the lobster, had to ask. These are always given to me at every other place I’ve eaten lobster, so that was very odd.

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

Cheers!

Report
LG
vipLoriG
New York Area
14 reviews
Dined on August 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful ocean front location - outdoor dining (indoor too if you want that). Great selection of food choices. Always a Newport favorite!

The Reef
Responded on August 24, 2021

THank you Lori! We can't wait to see you again soon :)

Report
L
Laurenp
New England
2 reviews
Dined on August 10, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience4

The service was good. The waiter could have been a little more lively/personable.

Food was just okay. Calamari was the best thing we ordered. Lobster a la vodka was bland…vodka sauce was very plain the the amount of lobster was small. CT lobster roll was to garlicky. Scallops were bland tasting as well.

Overall I was excited to try this place with the new management/ownership but I wasn’t impressed with the portions or the taste of the food. Over priced for the quality and quantity of food.

The location and view is awesome tho. I don’t need to go back for a reservation for dinner but it would be good for drinks and hanging out.

The Reef
Responded on August 19, 2021

Hi Lauren, We are sorry to hear that your meals were not what you were hoping for. We very much appreciate feedback from our guest as it allows us to continuously grow and improve. We do hope you will visit us again soon for the view, cocktails and hopefully give us another shot to wow your taste buds! Sincerely, The Reef

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on August 8, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Here on short vacation

The Reef
Responded on August 11, 2021

Cheers!

Report
SB
SolarBear
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on August 8, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Food was very good. Kitchen did great with a full house. Recommend the calamari. Came out piping hot and crispy. Delicious.
Bar was unfortunately understaffed and sold out of just about all the bottles we tried to order. Something fir management to deal with.
Staff friendly and helpful

The Reef
Responded on August 11, 2021

We love the calamari as well! We thank you very much for the feedback, and guarantee we will have a fully stocked fridge when you visit next. We had a delivery issue which left us without many of our wonderful wines temporarily, but that has since been remedied. Cheers!

Report
DH
vipDebHubb
New England
28 reviews
Dined on August 8, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

The food was just okay. Our dinners were the Caesar salad with grilled chicken and the fish and chips; both were okay not bad yet not great. The restaurant does have beautiful views of the marinas with very high end yachts on either side. They also offer two hours of free parking. Still doesn't beat my favorite Newport restaurant.

The Reef
Responded on August 9, 2021

Hi deb, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review! We appreciate our guests feedback as it allows us to grow into a more well rounded restaurant. We are sorry to hear that your menu selections were just okay, we always hope to wow our guests! We hope you will visit us again soon and perhaps try some of the other items we offer! We hope to see you again :) Cheers, The Reef

Report

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from The Reef using the Order Online button. The Reef also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (401) 324-5852.

The Reef is rated 4.1 stars by 950 OpenTable diners.

The Reef does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://swipeit.com/product/2155/the-reef.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.