Taverna Opa - Orlando

4.3
2658 Reviews
$30 and under
Greek
Taverna Opa welcomes you to loosen your ties, and have an unforgettable time while enjoying great food and entertainment. Fresh Greek cuisine with our nightly entertainment has made Taverna Opa the top dining destination in Orlando. Taverna Opa prides itself on their traditional Greek menu with its fresh seafood and Angus steaks. Open daily at 12:00pm-until the ouzo runs out! Located on the 2nd level of Pointe Orlando, open 7 days a week. Please note on Fridays and Saturdays, reservations after 6:30pm are priority seating. What this means is, as soon as your entire party is present, you will be moved onto our seating list and as soon as a table opens for your group, you will be sat. There is usually a wait at that point of a minimum of 30 minutes. *There is a food order minimum for indoor table service Fri & Sat. Groups larger than 10 may be 2 separate tables.

Support Taverna Opa - Orlando during COVID-19

Experiences

  • Visit Orlando's Magical Dining Month

    $46.81 per person

    Aug 27 - Oct 3, 2021

    Available August 27-October 3, 2021 | 3-Course Menu for $37 per person (plus tax & gratuity) Choice of Appetizer: Saganaki, Falafel, or Horiatiki Traditional Greek Salad Choice of Entree: Slow-Roasted Lamb, Filet Mignon or Lavraki Bronzino Choice of Dessert: Baklava, Opa Ekmek, or Loukoumades Optional menu enhancements available!
  • Christmas Eve Family Style Menu

    $41.75 per person

    Dec 24, 2021 only

    Celebrate Christmas Eve OPA-style with our special family style menu for 4 or more guests available all day, for only $33 per person (not including tax or gratuity). First Course: Hummus, Tzatziki, Dolmades, Horiatiki Second Course: Spanakopita, Calamari, Keftedes Third Course: Meat Platter with Chicken Kebob, Beef Kebob, Pork Loin & Sliced Gyro with Yiayia’s Veggies and Lemon Potatoes
  • New Year's Eve Party

    $96.78 per personPrepaid

    Dec 31, 2021 only

    Ring in 2022 at Orlando's best New Year's Eve Party! Feast on Greek cuisine and celebrate the night away with our belly dancers and DJ at Taverna Opa! $85 per person (plus tax & gratuity) Family Style Appetizers and Individual Entree Family Style Appetizers: Hummus, Horiatiki, Keftedes, Spanakopita, Calamari Entree: "Surf & Turf" Filet & Lobster Tail Seasonal Dessert Station Tickets are non-refundable. Book by Cyber Monday for 10% off tickets (price already applied).

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 2658 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Energetic
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
SB
ScottB
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was noisy but in a good fun way, food came fast, drinks were great. Overall a very fun place

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded 20 hours ago

Thanks so much, Scott! We're glad you enjoyed the food and drinks, and that you had fun with us! OPA!

Report
JZ
JackieZ
Orlando
5 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Date night with my husband and had a great time. The ambiance was fun and energetic and the food was delicious!

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded 20 hours ago

Such a fun date night! Thank you for choosing Taverna Opa!

Report
HC
vipHansC
Orlando
27 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome evening.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded 20 hours ago

Woohoo! We're so glad you had an awesome time with us.

Report
K
vipKate
Orlando
88 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Had the lamb on the magical dining menu which was excellent. Also ordered chicken kabob excellent also. We would definitely go back. Only issue was they brought our dinners while we were still eating out salad and was absolutely no room to put them so our dinners were not as hot as they should have been. Great service Good good.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded 20 hours ago

Thank you for the 5-star review and your feedback! We know it can be a lot of food on the table! We will be sure to remind our staff to time courses out accordingly so our guests can fully enjoy each one. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
ES
vipErnieS
Naples
552 reviews
Dined on September 20, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Server was very nice but got slammed so part of my meal did not come at same time as rest of my meal. At that point I was full and should have refused it but felt sorry for the server
Food was good, plentiful and my husband could not finish all the lamb served which was delicious.
Very, very, very noisy.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded 20 hours ago

Thank you for your feedback, Ernie! We're glad you enjoyed the food! We apologize that the timing was off on some of your items, and we will definitely remind our staff to be mindful of this. We appreciate your 4-star review!

Report
K
Kime
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time here, but it won't be our last! The food was great and the service was even better. Gotta get the cocktail flight and the filet is amazing.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded 20 hours ago

Thank you so much! We're happy to see that you can't wait to come back. We look forward to it too!

Report
PC
PeterC
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Couldn’t have asked for better service and the food was truly authentic. A little loud but that’s what I was looking for.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 20, 2021

Thank you Peter! We're so happy to see this and hope you'll be back again soon.

Report
NP
NoraP
Atlantic City
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience2

Food and service was great music was so loud we could not have a conversation 1st and probably last time unfortunately

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 20, 2021

Since you loved the food and service, we hope you will consider coming back during lunch or happy hour when it's much quieter!

Report
NI
vipNICETOEATOUT
Orlando
39 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall1food1service5ambience3

Horrible meal- Grizzly steak. Very uncomfortable in that the place was packed full of people. Couldn’t be noisier or more annoying. Valet took 20 minutes then 2 flights of wet steps to climb to get to the restaurant. Only bright side was a fabulous waiter. Will never return.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 20, 2021

We're sorry to see the steak was disappointing! We will definitely pass that feedback along to our kitchen. Unfortunately we do not operate the valet, but we will let that company know about the delays that were experienced.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Orlando
4 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall2food3service4ambience2

We were disappointed with everything except for the server. We asked to be seated outside because I am immune compromised. We asked to sit at a table near the building because it was clearly going rain. Last time we there we were seated under the tent and got wet. Reluctantly they sat us at the table next to the hostess stand. Sure enough it rained and people who were waiting to be seated lined up next to our table…kids were running around and people who didn’t want to wait were coming around our table to get to the hostess. The people were so close without masks breathing on my food I clearly lost my appetite. We pick restaurants where we can sit out side and not worry about enjoying our dinner. This did not happen at this restaurant. The quality of the food has clearly gone downhill since we eaten there before. We will have to find a new restaurant to get our Greek food.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 20, 2021

We're glad your server was a positive during a disappointing evening. We apologize that the outdoor seating did not go as you had planned. Unfortunately we cannot control the weather and the other guests trying to stay dry. We hope you'll consider coming again, maybe during lunch or happy hour when there are less people. Thank you for the feedback.

Report
P
vipPatty
Orlando
27 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Taverna Opa is the only place we go when we get a craving for lamb. They have the best lamb in Orlando.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 20, 2021

Thanks so much, Patty! We're happy you love the lamb because it is of course our signature!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Orlando
1 review
Dined on September 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The foos was delicious.. amazing lamb chops, octopus was great but I prefer if they make it with less amount of vinegar

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 20, 2021

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed Taverna Opa!

Report
EA
EbbenA
Charleston
1 review
Dined on September 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and atmosphere! Food was great also. Get the chops!

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 20, 2021

Thank you so much! We're happy you enjoyed everything and hope to see you again soon!

Report
SG
vipSandraG
Orlando
6 reviews
Dined on September 17, 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience3

We were looking forward to authentic Greek food and entertainment. Very good selection of choices, even for magical dining. Members of our party could not walk up steps, so getting there was an issue. We were advised there was an escalator. Inspected by the state, it was OUT OF SERVICE.
Fresh, flavorful pita bread was brought to our table, but with no dip accompaniment. We had to ask for tzatziki sauce, at an additional cost. Wine flight and drink flights were ordered and the Greek wines were pleasantly delightful choices. Orders were taken and first course arrived at different times, mixed up.Orders of cheese first courses were ordered, 3 arrived. We were told one was for 2, and needed to be split, but no prior notice was given. One additional appetizer was completely eliminated.
For the most, our party enjoyed the lamb, which was moist and flavorful. Beans on the platter were overcooked as well as mushy potatoes. One order was completely cold, with no waiter in site to relate incident. The moussaka, however was amazing, just the right spice level, thick pieces of eggplant, and creamy potatoes and bechamel sauce.
The music started, which I am sure could be heard at the Orlando convention center. Management needs to understand we are NOT at a Greek wedding, but trying to enjoy our food. It was impossible to even talk directly into someone's ear. Noise level qualified for guaranteed hearing loss. Although entertainment was fun, it went on and on, for over an hour, and enjoying food was difficult. Kids and adults dancing on tables had us pondering if the tables were sanitized after.
When one of our party addressed our server about the cold plate of lamb that was served, she sent the manager, who sent another 1/2 order: hot, but customer was too full to enjoy.
Hard to tell if communications with server were heard, because of noise level, but the bills were not correct either. Disappointing evening.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 20, 2021

We're sorry to see that the evening was disappointing! We're glad to see some of the dishes like the lamb were enjoyable, but will share your feedback about the other dishes with our kitchen team. Our atmosphere and entertainment is definitely the most lively on weekend evenings, so if you're ever looking to have a meal when it's quieter we would love for you to join us during happy hour or lunch!

Report
SE
StefeniaE
1 review
Dined on September 17, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

The food was thoroughly cooked but the wild greens were heavy in oil. The rest of the food was flavorful and cooked well. Potatoes seemed to have been cooked ahead and sitting for awhile but that did not affect the great lemony taste they had.

If you want a lively environment and a chance to see a lot of the dancers then dine inside. For a quieter experience dine outside where all the tables are covered. The dancers did come outside a couple times. The service was great and attentive but not hovering.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 20, 2021

Thank you so much, Stefania! We appreciate your 5 star review!

Report
R
vipRichard
New England
52 reviews
Dined on September 17, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Overall a great time. Service and food were excellent. Entertainment was excellent which involved both the patrons and the staff. Noise level was energetic but loud.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 20, 2021

Thank you so much, Richard!

Report
CB
vipCharlesB
Orlando
33 reviews
Dined on September 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great food and excellent server.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 20, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 star, Charles!

Report
TG
TerriG
Orlando
10 reviews
Dined on September 16, 2021
Overall3food2service5ambience5

I had seen lots of raves for this restaurant. So when our craving for Saganaki hit, we decided to try it. The atmosphere and our server were great! We opted for Magical Dining. I had the filet mignon, Saganaki, and baklava for dessert. Saganaki came out and was flamed tableside. It looked and tasted good, but my portion was significantly smaller than my husband’s and the guy who got it at the table next to us. Next came the main course. It had 2 small filet medallions. Portion size was perfect. I ordered medium - one came out medium rare and the other was medium well. I am also not sure how they can call it filet mignon as it was hard to cut, very chewy, and had gristle in it. I seriously don’t think it was filet mignon. Both had very little in the way of spices. The sides it came with were two potato slices, which were bleh and some sort of green bean dish. The spices on the beans were good, but I felt like they were green beans out of a can. So, just no. On to the dessert. It was good, but like the saganaki, not the best I have ever had. We also had a pitcher of the white sangria. It tasted like juice. It was just ok and definitely did not have much Chardonnay in it. Needless to say, we won’t be going back. My husband put it best — it was underwhelming considering all the hype I had seen. Maybe people go for the belly dancers. I wouldn’t know as they did not appear while we were there. Also, the mic Old, we could barely talk to each other.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 20, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback, Terri! We are definitely going to share your notes about the filet mignon with our kitchen, as we agree it should not be tough at all. Our green beans are made from fresh beans that are stewed with tomatoes like in Greece. We'd be happy to recommend a different side dish anytime that may be more enjoyable! We're sorry you felt the experience didn't live up to the hype you've seen, and we hope you will reconsider giving us another try!

Report
TD
TonyD
Orlando
14 reviews
Dined on September 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Magical Dining menu was excellent. Ryan greeted us when we arrive and to our surprise he was also our server. We got there early for Happy Hour and met Anna at the bar who was so delightful!!! Anna recommend the steak and the fish which we order however, the fish came with it's head on!!! One I covered the fish head with a napkin I found the fish to be amazingly fresh, flaky and delicious.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 20, 2021

Thank you so much, Tony! We will share your find feedback with both Ryan and Anna! We hope to see you again soon.

Report
RC
RickC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Dined on September 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved it…will be back!

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 20, 2021

Woohoo! We look forward to it.

Report
AG
AntoinetteG
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The magical dining experience was great we had a great waiter I can't remember his name but he looks Spanish and has a tattoo under his eye he was very friendly and was quick with bringing out food out to us definitely will be coming back we had the slow cook lamb and it was sooooo good

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 13, 2021

Thank you so much, Antoinette! We're happy you loved your meal and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report
KK
KelliK
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had so much fun at Taverna Opa! I was a little scared after seeing reviews saying it was too loud but we enjoyed it. We had 6:15 reservations which I thought was ideal. The noise level at that time makes it easier to talk over dinner. At 7pm the belly dancer came out and the music was cranked up. My 9 and 11 year old loved watching her dance and were in awe of all the wait staff when they threw napkins everywhere! It was such a fun experience - perfect for our vacation! The food was very good as well. We loved the flambeed cheese with pita bread. I had a gyro and my husband had another ethnic dish that we both enjoyed. Kids loved their kids meals as well. Next time we come to Orlando, we'll definitely be back to eat at Taverna Opa!

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 20, 2021

Thank you so much, Kelli! We love that the whole family had a great time and we look forward to your next trip to Orlando!

Report
LH
LizH
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Didn’t realize entertainment didn’t start until 7 so disappointing we missed it… didn’t see that on website. Other than that our waiter Maksum was great and food was delicious!

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 13, 2021

We're happy you enjoyed Maksum's service and the food! We will share your kind words with the team!

Report
WM
WandaM
1 review
Dined on September 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love the place.. First time"i went with my son and we did really like it .. Happy place and nice music the belly dancer's very nice.. I will come back definitely..

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 13, 2021

Thank you Wanda! We're so glad you feel we are a "happy place" because that is our goal!

Report
TO
TheresaO
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

It was a good dinner - fun, energetic atmosphere - loud music playing throughout. Service wasn’t great and food was good - not great. Fun night overall

DF
vipDiegoF
Miami
6 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Very lively even on a Sunday night. Highly recommend.

VG
vipVictorG
San Diego
2 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall1food1service3ambience2

The food was mediocre at best. Served sort of warm. The place has loud cheesy dance music playing the entire time. I mean super loud. you can't even have a conversation.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 10, 2021

We're sorry to see you felt this way about your experience with us. We take a lot of pride in our food, and we hope you will consider trying us again sometime during lunch or happy hour when it's more relaxed and quiet.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Orlando
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall2food5service1ambience1

We came in for magical dining. Had a reservation for magical dining. We had to ask for menus. One of the people in our party fainted. The hostess came and asked if we wanted an ambulance, we said no. No manager ever came to the table to check on us again. They didn’t take our information. Nothing. Unfortunate because the food was great. The attention to the service piece however, needs work.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 10, 2021

We're sorry to hear what happened to someone in your party! To our understanding, one of our managers was the person who had checked on your group and as she was calling for medical assistance she was told by someone in the party that it was not needed. If we felt that there was something else we could have done, we definitely would have.

Report
ME
MaribelE
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall5food4service3ambience5

Food was excellent, the place overall fun entertaining, the tip they automatically added was RIDICULOUS it was 19% of the bill, that’s extremely unfair, just because of that I wouldn’t come back and wouldn’t recommend

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on September 4, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Amazing, would definitely go again.!

J
Jonnybaum
Orlando
3 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2021
Overall3food4service4ambience4

I ordered a gyro and was talked into something else, nothing like a gyro and 12 dollars more.

Ordered 15 dollar hummus trio and at doesn't come with anything to dip in it.

Kids Mac and cheese is craft. For 9 dollars come on.

They will nickel and dime you here no doubt

The Greek salad is not great at all. It's a chunk of feta and a bunch of large chunks of vegetables. Definitely nothing special.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on September 10, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. Our intention is never to "nickel and dime" our customers, but we will always suggest our most popular and authentic dishes to our guests. Our Horiatiki Greek Salad is authentic to the village salads in Greece with large cut produce and no lettuce. The hummus trio should always be served with fresh pita bread, so we will definitely be reminding our staff of this!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Orlando
2 reviews
Dined on September 3, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Anniversary

KH
KellyH
1 review
Dined on September 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Not knowing what to expect. We are here for a convention. OMG!!! Amazing!!! The environment to the service to the beautiful belly dancer. It went from a quiet evening out for dinner to the best highlight of the trip. We will be back for sure. We will be bragging forever!!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Orlando
1 review
Dined on September 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was great

m
michellem
Orlando
1 review
Dined on August 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had an amazing time at OPA! Strongly recommend! The good was delicious and the ambiance was fun and entertaining. The servers are fantastic as well!

CS
CraigS
1 review
Dined on August 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was great and it was a very high energy atmosphere. I wouldn’t go there is your were thinking quite night out. It was a lot of fun

AF
AnthonyF
Philadelphia
3 reviews
Dined on August 28, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Food and service. A lot of charges that should be included. I.e. order of hummus does not come with PITA bread. That's an extra charge.

G
Gina
Orlando
1 review
Dined on August 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Greek salad here is the best in Orlando! It’s the sole reason we come here and it did not disappoint. The staff is extremely friendly and the ambiance feels like you’re in Greece. Wonderful experience!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Kids 5th birthday. Fun atmosphere. Great for families. food for the entire family.

L
Lucia
1 review
Dined on August 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was delicious! Service was excellent! I definitely recommend this place.

Taverna Opa - Orlando
Responded on August 27, 2021

Thank you so much, Lucia!

Report