Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United States
  3. Washington, D.C. Area
  4. District of Columbia
  5. Southwest Waterfront
Nara-Ya, Washington, DC

Nara-Ya

4.7
4.7
1242 Reviews
$31 to $50
Sushi
Nestled at the heart of the District Wharf, NaRa-Ya offers traditional Japanese Cuisine with modern inflections. Featuring an elegant a la carte menu and available tasting menus, we take pride in the culinary artistry of the traditional Japanese kitchen while advocating a personal responsibility to environmental demands. It is our practice to source local produce, offer sustainable, farm raised, and wild caught global marine products while maintaining an unparalleled dining experience. NaRa-Ya boasts an extensive sake & Japanese whisky list, including exceptional offerings rarely seen outside of the islands of Japan. Most seats at NaRa-Ya offer breathtaking views of the marina and Potomac River.

We recommend allowing extra time for parking.

Make a reservation

2 people

9:30 PM


Booked 19 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Elegant
  • Price
    $31 to $50
  • Cuisines
    Sushi, Japanese, Regional Japanese
  • Hours of operation
    Brunch Sat, Sun 11:00 am–2:30 pm Dinner Tue–Thu, Sun 5:00 pm–9:00 pm Fri, Sat 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
  • Phone number
    (202) 506-4625
  • Payment options
    AMEX, Discover, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress code
    Business Casual
  • Owned/operated by
    South Asian/Indian
  • Executive chef
    Chef Satha Boyd
  • Private party facilities
    Nara-Ya is delighted to host your private event or corporate function. Please inquire at info@nara-ya.com.
  • Neighborhood
    Southwest Waterfront
  • Cross street
    9th and Maine
  • Parking details
    While visiting Nara-Ya, located at 88 District Square, Washington D.C. 20024, it is strongly recommended to utilize Uber/Lyft. Parking is extremely limited on the street and in the garage.
  • Public transit
    Near: DC circulator, 54 Bus line; L'Enfant Plaza, Smithsonian Metro stops<br />Ride share available through rideshare apps.
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gender Neutral Restroom, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Vegan, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What 1,242 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.7
4.7 based on recent ratings
  • 4.6Food
  • 4.5Service
  • 4.7Ambience
  • 4.2Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • District of Columbia

    Great for scenic views

1,242 Reviews
  1. OpenTable Diner

    Miami

    3 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on April 13, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Restaurant is nice but not as fancy as seems on the picture food is good . I get the 20 % gratuity but I do restaurant several time a week since years and I never see a surcharge of 3.5 for pay with credit card ….pretty ridiculous
    Nara-YaResponded on April 14, 2024
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We're glad to hear that you found the restaurant nice and enjoyed the food. We strive to provide an enjoyable dining experience for all our guests. Regarding the 3.5% surcharge for credit card payments, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We understand that this may seem unusual, especially if you frequent restaurants regularly. Our aim is to be transparent about any additional fees associated with payment methods, and we appreciate your understanding. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we will certainly take it into consideration as we continually strive to improve. If you have any further concerns or feedback, feel free to reach out to us directly. We appreciate your patronage and hope to welcome you back again soon.

    Is this helpful?

  2. OpenTable Diner

    Fort Lauderdale

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 13, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Especially impressive hospitality by staff; Melvin our server was very attentive without being overwhelming. Just the right balance
    Nara-YaResponded on April 16, 2024
    Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you found our hospitality impressive and that our staff provided just the right balance of attentiveness without being overwhelming. Ensuring our guests feel well taken care of is a top priority for us, and we're delighted that you felt so during your visit. We appreciate your support and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

    Is this helpful?

  3. OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on April 7, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Rosetta was an amazing server, our glasses were always full and our table was always clean she was exceptional. I love her, wonderful experience for our first time. Only thing there was no changing tables to change our baby but overall 10/10
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    That's wonderful to hear! We're thrilled that Rosetta provided exceptional service during your visit. Keeping your glasses full and ensuring a clean table are essential parts of the dining experience, and we're glad she excelled in these areas. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to her. We appreciate your feedback regarding the changing tables for babies. We'll take this into consideration as we strive to continuously improve our facilities to accommodate all of our guests' needs. Thank you for choosing to dine with us for the first time, and we're delighted to hear that it was a wonderful experience overall. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more 10/10 experiences in the future!

    Is this helpful?

  4. RickardT

    New York City

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on April 6, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Really nice place for family or friends. Lively atmosphere, nice views and really, really good food! Highly recommendable!
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    Thank you for your kind words! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant. Creating a lively atmosphere with nice views and serving really good food is what we strive for, and we're thrilled that you found it to be recommendable. Whether it's a gathering with family or friends, we aim to provide a welcoming environment for all our guests. Thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

    Is this helpful?

  5. OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    1 review

    vip
    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 6, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Amazing ambience and delectable brunch menu. Also had a great view of the Warf
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    Thank you for your fantastic review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us, from the delectable brunch menu to the amazing ambiance and view of the Wharf. Providing top-notch food, service, ambiance, and value is our goal, and we're delighted that we hit the mark across the board during your visit. We appreciate your support and hope to welcome you back soon for another amazing experience!

    Is this helpful?

  6. NicolasL

    Washington DC

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on March 30, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    I made a reservation to celebrate my birthday with close friends and our waiter Diego hospitality was incredibly great! He made sure we all had a wonderful experience. Additionally, the food was exquisite.
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    Thank you for sharing your birthday celebration experience with us! We're delighted to hear that Diego provided you and your friends with such fantastic hospitality, ensuring that you had a wonderful experience. It's always our goal to make every guest feel special, especially during such special occasions. We're thrilled that you found the food to be exquisite as well. Providing delicious and memorable dishes is something we take great pride in, and we're glad that we could contribute to making your celebration even more special. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon for another memorable dining experience!

    Is this helpful?

  7. Visiting

    Greater Boston

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on March 12, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    Great ambiance with amazing views. The cocktail list includes some tasty house creations. Services was very slow. The spicy edamame came out quickly, the sushi took nearly 25 minutes. Two of the three rolls we ordered were very bland. One roll tasted like cream cheese. Even the wasabi was mild. Our server was friendly, but lacked a sense of urgency.
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    We appreciate your honest feedback and are glad you enjoyed the ambiance and cocktail selection. However, we apologize for the slow service and the inconsistency in the quality of the food you experienced. It's disappointing to hear that two of the rolls were bland and one tasted like cream cheese, and we understand your frustration with the mild wasabi. Providing excellent service and delicious, flavorful dishes is our priority, and we're sorry we fell short. Your comments about the server's friendliness and urgency will be addressed with our team to ensure improvement. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to have the opportunity to make it right if you choose to dine with us again.

    Is this helpful?

  8. OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    1 review

    vip
    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on March 9, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Service and food were great. Loved the Lobster fried rice!
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    Thank you for your review and positive feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the great service and food during your visit. It's fantastic to hear that you loved the Lobster fried rice - it's definitely one of our favorites too! We're glad that you found the overall experience to be enjoyable and that you appreciated the value for what you received. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another delicious meal at our restaurant!

    Is this helpful?

  9. OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on February 28, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great sushi and loved the decor and the view . Definitely going back again .
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    Thank you for your wonderful review and perfect rating! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the great sushi, decor, and view during your visit. It's fantastic to know that you had such a positive experience that you're planning on coming back again. We can't wait to welcome you back for another enjoyable dining experience!

    Is this helpful?

  10. shiatsumom

    Washington DC

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on February 24, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Staff quickly accommodated extra happy hour guests to our group. We loved the happy hour specials!

    Is this helpful?

  11. Eater

    Washington DC

    5 reviews

    3.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on February 24, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    I have been here before and at my last visit the food was excellent. This time however it was found wanting. A dish that I tried on my previous visit and absolutely loved came out with a rich sweet sauce that simply overpowered the delicate flavours of the meat. To the restaurants credit they took my feedback and reimbursed me.
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're sorry to hear that your recent visit did not meet your expectations, especially with regards to the food. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that the restaurant took your concerns seriously and reimbursed you accordingly. Ensuring that our guests have a positive dining experience is our priority, and we apologize for any disappointment caused by the dish not meeting your expectations. We hope you'll consider giving us another chance in the future to provide you with a more satisfying dining experience. Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to dine with us.

    Is this helpful?

  12. Jess

    Washington DC

    56 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    56 reviews

    Dined on February 10, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Highly, highly recommend this place. Amazing food, service, and views! Definitely coming back here.
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    Thank you so much for your glowing recommendation! We're thrilled to hear that you had such an amazing experience with us. Providing delicious food, excellent service, and stunning views are top priorities for us, and we're delighted that you found all three during your visit. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon for another fantastic dining experience!

    Is this helpful?

  13. PinkyS

    Washington DC

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on February 10, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great service, great food! Love the view and ambiance.
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    Thank you for your fantastic review and perfect rating! We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us. It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed the great service, delicious food, and loved the view and ambiance of our restaurant. We appreciate your support and hope to welcome you back again soon for another fantastic dining experience!

    Is this helpful?

  14. OpenTable Diner

    Chicago

    1 review

    vip
    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on February 4, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 4
    The credit card processing fee is weird. Just update your prices and let people pay with a credit card without a fee. I don’t kind an automatic 20% tip but the service has to match it. That didn’t happen. When we have to stop someone to ask for a refill on water, it’s not a good sign.
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and found the ambience to be pleasant. Regarding the credit card processing fee, we understand your concern and will take it into consideration. We strive to provide transparency in our pricing, and we apologize if the credit card fee was inconvenient for you. Additionally, we apologize for any lapses in service you experienced during your visit. Providing attentive and prompt service is important to us, and we regret that we fell short on this occasion. Your feedback will be shared with our team to ensure that we improve in this area. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a better experience in the future.

    Is this helpful?

  15. IvoryB

    Washington DC

    12 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    12 reviews

    Dined on February 4, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    Server was very attentive. The atmosphere was nice and it's a great place for a meal with friends.
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    Thank you for your review and positive feedback! We're delighted to hear that you found the server to be very attentive and that you enjoyed the nice atmosphere of our restaurant. We're glad that you had a great time with your friends and that you found it to be a suitable place for a meal together. If there's anything we can do to make your next visit even better and earn that fifth star, please don't hesitate to let us know. We appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

    Is this helpful?

  16. OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on February 2, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 5
    Nice restaurant with great atmosphere. Enjoyed all the sushi options. They asked early about allergies and recommended items to avoid for our party member with restrictions.
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    Thank you for your fantastic review and perfect rating! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant and that you found the atmosphere to be nice. We're especially pleased that you enjoyed all the sushi options and that our team was proactive in asking about allergies and providing recommendations to accommodate your party member's restrictions. Ensuring the safety and satisfaction of all our guests is a top priority for us, and we're glad that you noticed our efforts in this regard. We appreciate your support and hope to welcome you back again soon for more delicious sushi and great service!

    Is this helpful?

  17. OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    4 reviews

    3.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on January 28, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    We tried this restaurant after seeing it on Instagram. The food was good. It was a bit loud for normal conversation.
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're glad to hear that you found the food to be good during your visit. We apologize for the noise level being a bit loud, which made it difficult for normal conversation. We understand that ambiance is an important aspect of dining, and we'll take your feedback into consideration to see how we can improve in this area. We appreciate your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a better experience in the future. If there's anything specific we can do to enhance your next visit, please don't hesitate to let us know. Thank you for choosing to dine with us.

    Is this helpful?

  18. OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on January 23, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Terrjfic food, great service, nice atmosphere. Pricey indulgence for our special occasion.
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    Thank you for your review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the terrific food, great service, and nice atmosphere during your special occasion with us. We understand that our offerings may be considered a bit pricey, but we're honored that you chose to celebrate with us. We appreciate your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for more special occasions in the future!

    Is this helpful?

  19. OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on January 13, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The team, food, and overall atmosphere was amazing.
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you had an amazing experience with us. Providing exceptional food, service, and atmosphere is our top priority, and we're delighted that we hit the mark during your visit. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another fantastic dining experience. If there's anything else we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know. Thank you for choosing to dine with us!

    Is this helpful?

  20. Handsgirl

    Greater Boston

    62 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    62 reviews

    Dined on January 7, 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    Food is decent. Service could be much better. We needed to waive our server down a lot to order food (can only order 3 items at a time) and cocktails!
    Nara-YaResponded on April 11, 2024
    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're sorry to hear about the service issues you experienced. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and assure you that we take your comments seriously. Your feedback helps us improve, and we'll address these issues with our team to ensure better service in the future. We appreciate your honesty and hope to have the opportunity to make it right during your next visit.

    Is this helpful?

  21. Allen

    Richmond

    47 reviews

    3.0

    47 reviews

    Dined on January 1, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 3
    We have been here many times. For new years, it wasn’t the experience we have had in the past. Food quality was not up to what we usually get. The service was decent but not the normal excellent service.
    Nara-YaResponded on April 11, 2024
    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're sorry to hear that your recent New Year's experience fell short of your expectations. We apologize for any inconsistencies in food quality and service. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we'll address these issues internally to ensure improvements moving forward. We appreciate your continued patronage and hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience during your next visit. Thank you for your understanding.

    Is this helpful?

  22. MayaH

    Washington DC

    9 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on December 30, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Food was delicious and staff was very attentive. Overall was a little overpriced. Ended up being 91 dollars per person for a bottomless brunch with tip and a surcharge.

    Is this helpful?

  23. OpenTable Diner

    Miami

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 29, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great ambiance and food was very good. Grilled edamame was a first for me and was great

    Is this helpful?

  24. MiguelR

    Baltimore

    24 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    24 reviews

    Dined on December 28, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    This was a nice discovery. The appearance, ambience, service, drinks, and food were all exceptional. I’ll be back!

    Is this helpful?

  25. BrianC

    Exclusive

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 23, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    It was a fantastic restaurant! Great food, great drinks, great views and decor! The bottomless brunch was excellent— we were celebrating a friend’s birthday and ended up staying for 3 hours. We will all be back for brunch again!

    Is this helpful?

  26. BitiaC

    San Francisco

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 17, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Loved everything about Nara-Ya. Beautiful people, delicious drinks, delicious food, great energy.. just tons of fun!! Can’t wait to go again when I’m back in DC
    Nara-YaResponded on April 10, 2024
    Thank you for your fantastic review and perfect rating! We're thrilled to hear that you loved everything about your experience at Nara-Ya. From the beautiful people and delicious drinks to the tasty food and great energy, it sounds like you had an amazing time. We can't wait to welcome you back again when you're back in DC for another fun-filled visit!

    Is this helpful?

  27. Barbie

    Las Vegas

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on December 17, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Beautiful experience dining in for brunch. Service was great and food/selection was really good. Favorites would have to be the matcha pancakes and the pork dumplings. The value is great for a bottomless brunch. We celebrated my bf’s birthday and they made her feel very special. Definitely returning when I’m back in town! Thank you to all the staff of Nara-Ya!

    Is this helpful?

  28. JasonM

    Washington DC

    2 reviews

    2.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on December 17, 2023

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 5
    Mediocre Sushi, mediocre service, parking is a pain. You are paying for beautiful view and ambiance. Sushi is good, but I've had much much better for less cost in the suburbs.

    Is this helpful?

  29. RhondaR

    Washington DC

    7 reviews

    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on December 16, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Lovely birthday celebration. Thanks for a great evening!

    Is this helpful?

  30. RobertS

    Baltimore

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on December 14, 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    I wondered why there were so many open tables. This place has a chance to truly be an incredible experience but it misses. The decor is average at best with the exception of the entrance mural. The view is spectacular but the have invested little to nothing into the dining experience. The wait staff was par at best. It is the food that disappointed us the most. If we were in our late teens to twenties, we might be impress with eating there. At our ages and experience with high-level restaurants, this fell way short. The food felt and tasted like it was old. It was also mushy, especially the eel. The most enjoyable item was the fried cauliflower because it was in a cream based sauce. We felt like we would have been better with Safeway Sushi made daily. To top it off the bill totaled $200 for 2 people and they graciously added a 20% tip. We suggest this place to 1st time sushi eaters only. There are other sushi restaurants in DC at that price point with much tastier options, great ambiance, and awesome wait service like O-Ku. This place should close for a few months and redesign as well as get tastier/fresher sushi offerings.
    Nara-YaResponded on December 15, 2023
    Robert Sharp, We would apologize for you disappointing experience. We take these reviews very serious. I am curious if you brought your concerns to the wait staff or management during your visit. We want to follow up what they did to help remedy your experience. As far as the decor, we have won several international awards for our design. Jesus was your server, and he receives a lot of positive feedback. As far as the empty tables go, regrettably this is the slow season because of the weather and holidays. Your bill did total 200 dollars because you shared 3 rolls, 2 cocktails and a dessert. After tax and gratuity, this is comparable to other restaurants in DC. Please reach out to us so we can correct where we fell short. Once again, we apologize for your disappointing experience.

    Is this helpful?

  31. TamaraA

    Washington DC

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on December 9, 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Shoutout to Jose, our waiter, whom was absolutely demonstrated the best customer service I’ve experienced ON THE WHARF. I’ve been to La vie, Mi vida and service is mid compared to Jose at Naraya. Tables were constantly checked for empty plates, drinks follow-up. Food was good for the price point. Salmon was done well, chicken was a bland but the sushi and pork dumplings carried! Drinks were made with great alcohol balance. If you come to the wharf, I’d recommend this place compared to others!!!
    Nara-YaResponded on December 9, 2023
    Thank you for taking the time to leave a glowing review for our service staff, specifically Jose. We are fortunate to have an awesome team in the kitchen as well as the dining room. We strive to provide the best service and will continue to do so. We look forward to seeing you again!

    Is this helpful?

  32. OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on December 9, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    I cannot recommend Nara-Ya enough! I’ve had many incredible meals here, as the sushi is out of this world. But this weekend I took a group of ladies there for a friend’s birthday dinner. The staff knocked it out of the park!!! From the moment we stepped off the elevator, they were falling all over our birthday girl—complete with a special dessert and champagne. I really cannot thank you all enough for making the night so special. Many thanks from the ladies and birthday girl!

    Is this helpful?

  33. OctopusArms

    Raleigh

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on December 8, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We celebrated a birthday and it was fantastic! Service was great and GM even made sure to come by and tell us happy birthday. Very polite and outstanding service

    Is this helpful?

  34. LauraC

    Washington DC

    7 reviews

    3.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on December 2, 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    I wish restaurants would stop automatically adding 20% gratuity and let the customers decide. It’s kind of a turn off to ask for that plus a service charge plus tax plus an additional gratuity.

    Is this helpful?

  35. MadCity

    West Palm Beach

    3 reviews

    2.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on December 2, 2023

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    We did the tasting menu and they threw the courses at us so fast it was ridiculous. Felt like they were trying to turn the table and couldn't get us out of there fast enough

    Is this helpful?

  36. KimberlyL

    Philadelphia

    8 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on December 2, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The place was very cool. Drinks were great and food was awesome. Our waiter was very good and they gave us free champagne to celebrate our anniversary. Will definitely go back!

    Is this helpful?

  37. OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on November 26, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great bday experience Rosetta was a awesome server

    Is this helpful?

  38. Carli

    Orlando

    21 reviews

    4.0

    21 reviews

    Dined on November 26, 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Great service with good food. Limited variety and budgets on the wine list

    Is this helpful?

  39. OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on November 19, 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 5
    Third time doing the tasting menu. Food fantastic as always, view great. But we went Sunday night, place wasn’t full, and got the food just came out too fast for a dozen courses

    Is this helpful?

  40. DSNavy

    Washington DC

    6 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on November 19, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Had a great time and the food was perfect. Had the salmon and lobster rice. Server was attentive the whole time and offered good recommendations.

    Is this helpful?

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Nara-Ya using the Order Online button. Nara-Ya also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (202) 506-4625.

Nara-Ya is rated 4.7 stars by 1242 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

9:30 PM


Booked 19 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Google Map for Nara-Ya

88 District Sq SW, Fl 3, Washington, DC 20024-2491

Additional information

  • Cross street
    9th and Maine
  • Neighborhood
    Southwest Waterfront
  • Hours of operation
    Brunch Sat, Sun 11:00 am–2:30 pm Dinner Tue–Thu, Sun 5:00 pm–9:00 pm Fri, Sat 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
  • Price
    $31 to $50
  • Cuisines
    Sushi, Japanese, Regional Japanese
  • Dining style
    Casual Elegant
  • Dress code
    Business Casual
  • Parking details
    While visiting Nara-Ya, located at 88 District Square, Washington D.C. 20024, it is strongly recommended to utilize Uber/Lyft. Parking is extremely limited on the street and in the garage.
  • Public transit
    Near: DC circulator, 54 Bus line; L'Enfant Plaza, Smithsonian Metro stopsRide share available through rideshare apps.
  • Payment options
    AMEX, Discover, Mastercard, Visa
  • Owned/operated by
    South Asian/Indian
  • Executive chef
    Chef Satha Boyd
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gender Neutral Restroom, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Vegan, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Phone number
    (202) 506-4625
  • Private party facilities
    Nara-Ya is delighted to host your private event or corporate function. Please inquire at info@nara-ya.com.
Discover
OpenTable
  • About Us
  • Blog
  • Careers
  • Press
More
Businesses
  • Restaurant reservation software
  • Industry insights
  • Hospitality resources
  • Marketing resources
  • Operation resources
  • How to open a restaurant
  • For restaurants
  • For restaurant groups
Join us on
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
OpenTable Logo