Reservations will guarantee a table somewhere in our restaurant, but NO SPECIFIC AREA will be guaranteed with a reservation. Please expect an additional wait for Rooftop Seating, Live Music, and other high demand areas. You are welcome to leave us a note with your REQUEST, but please know that it is only a request, and will not be a guarantee. To book a Private Event or Guaranteed Table with a deposit, please contact our events coordinator, call 949-715-7777 x2.
Mozambique brings a taste of Southern Africa’s coastal cuisine to Laguna Beach. Enjoy wood-fired steaks fresh seafood, and chicken with ocean views and Live Entertainment!
Complimentary Transportation available! Wednesday - Sunday, 5pm and Later, within Laguna Beach or a 10 mile radius. For customers with dinner reservations only! Call to schedule 949-715-7777 x1.
Book your next event with us
Prego Steak Sandwich
6 oz. beef filet marinated in garlic, lemon and Maputo herbs with grilled onions and Peri-Peri sauce, served on soft ciabatta bun
Atlantic lobster meat (claw and knuckle) on fresh baked roll served one of two ways, your choice hot with drawn butter and lemon. Chilled with lemon aioli
Peri-Peri Chicken Pops
3 grilled chicken skewers with grilled pineapple, vegetable slaw and Peri-Peri sauce
Great food and service. A lot of options to choose from. Cocktails are excellent.
It was the first night for our server. Appetizers and entrees came out at same time. She was trying. Background music was too loud. Lobster was good but expensive, scampi was overcooked and tough. Great chocolate dessert. We will go back after staffing issues get resolved.
Always a great experience. I appreciate them and their service(s).
Yummmmmmy pasta and steak and lobster 😋
We were looking for some new flavors and we were so glad we picked this restaurant. It did not disappoint. Service was also very good and staff was friendly and happy.
Great night. Service was excellent. Food awesome. Need more extensive dessert menu. Cheesecake or key lime pie or both to add. Also ice cream. Overall still 5 Stars
The restaurant has expanded into the parking lot - it obviously doesn’t have the ambiance that the restaurant or bar has - I guess I can understand using it as overflow seating but we had a reservation. They have some unique sauces that are really good but the seafood I have had there was never cooked that well. Mediocre food in a depressing setting - we won’t be back.
Another very good meal and evening. My wife's Sea Bass was the best in memory. Our guest's wife's Tuna Steak was also outstanding. The volume of the music was a little too loud for dinner table setting. Prices are noticeably higher. All thanks be to Joe and his handlers.
Great service and the Brunch was delicious.
Was a special occasion and no one attempt to make it special. Food was decent but not great the steak was overcooked. Too many extra charges for simple things.
This place has a beautiful location and view of the ocean from the rooftop, great relaxing atmosphere, and fast and friendly service.
The food was a disappointment. I did enjoy the swordfish dish from the happy hour menu. It was a tad over cooked but still good and the potatoes and asparagus were very good.
The 3 stars are for the filet and prawns. They tasted old and freezer burned. Don’t know what happened but the beef smelled like dog food and did not taste any better. Same with the prawns or shrimp, over cooked, dry and tasted old and freezer burned. Pretty gross. My friend ordered the prawns and rice and her rice was burnt and dry and same with her prawns. I had heard great things of this place and it was my first visit. So disappointed in the quality and flavor and freshness of the food overall. I will not be dining here again when Laguna has much better to offer food wise.
Friends visiting from out-of-state
Sat on the roof. Went early during happy hour and had a fabulous entre of swordfish. Drink specials and a great view of Laguna made it a perfect dining experience.
Great and enjoyable experience
It was our first time at the Resturant and we loved everything about it. The view on the rooftop was amazing and the food and drinks were great
Excellent food and ambiance. Unfortunately, our neighboring table was so loud we could hardly hear one another. It happens. We love Mozambique and will return.
The ambulance was great, The food was outstanding, i’ll come back for sure!
My girlfriend did not like the host who with a green dress, she did not like the corner of space and asked to see if the host can switch to a table as as this is her first time to be the restaurant, without offering any consideration , the host said no to her!
It didn’t bother me as I knew to get a table is appreciated for the weekend :-)
“The kitchen would feel less pressure if you decided to leave” and “the food would not go to waste” was the response from the manager after waiting on our order for well over an hour. Not a sign of life until we inquired about what was going on with our order. Enough said. We have tried to support them over the pandemic with our patronage and generous tips, but there is no hope. Sad.
Very enjoyable evening. The food was delicious. We also had fantastic service.
We had visitors coming from Seattle, and we wanted to show them a good time. We have always had a wonderful time at Mozambique. We made reservations several weeks ago. When we arrived we were told that there would be over two hour wait for view/rooftop seating. We were offered to sit in the area with music, which was definitely not the vibe we were going for at all. The girl who brought us to our seat was rude and acted like it was a hassle to take us to our seats! We then were told that there was seeing available, and when we were seated it was in the little bar area. Please note we had two children with us, five and six-year-old. The service was slow, everyone was rude and the overall experience was terrible. I think the worst part was we ordered the calamari and they literally gave us half a plate of sweet potato fries. So Disappointed! We will definitely not go there again!
Another outstanding visit - food is great - nice to have a South African twist on food rather than the same-old fare. great drinks - good beer selection.
a great evening
Not impressed at all. Food is we a-okay and the ambience sucked. If you’re looking for a quiet dinner-this is NOT the place. And the service is awful. We went in on Friday night and it took them literally 7 mins to even come to greet us at the table. Annoying!
Mozambique is an amazing restaurant with great food and music.
Loved our waiter, Tyler. Food was pricey but so worth it! Soooo delicious!
Live band and outside ambience was great as well
Good food, nice rooftop deck. Meats were overcooked, otherwise the food was good.
Fast and great service, great environment!
Everything was great especially I enjoyed the bread pudding with banana and macadamia nuts! Delicious!
It's one of my favorites!
Always a first choice!
Great food, live music on tented patio, cozy interior patio, roof top ocean view patio, and indoor bar area. Enjoyed our dinners and drinks. Excellent wait staff.
We were there to celebrate a birthday. We requested (in advance) the rooftop which we know is based on first availability. We asked if that wasn’t available to be on the 2nd floor or in the tent.
We said we did not not want to be inside on the 1st floor. The hostess said it was not a problem but when we arrived we were seated inside on the 1st floor.
Not ideal when we’re spending $500. 1st round of drinks took about 20 minutes but the server was very friendly and everything else was great!
Management did a poor job of articulating seating availability. As “regulars” we expected more and more effort to accommodate our party. Spoke to manager early in the day, and he did not inform us that half of the rooftop area would be occupied by a private party. We were there to celebrate two family birthdays (for which family had traveled 7 hrs to be with us), and upon arrival were told it would a two-hour wait beyond our reservation time to sit at the rooftop. We were grossly disappointed and the manager on duty clearly had no interest in accommodating us—has was quite gruff and matter-of-fact. We’ve grown to love and appreciate this restaurant and the great food they serve, but we’ll think twice about our options next time—especially for any special events.
We made a reservation and showed up a half hour early because it said trooftop reservations couldn't be made and we really wanted to eat on the rooftop. They said it would be a 30 to 45 min wait for rooftop so we put our names on the waitlist and went to the bar. An hour later we still weren't seated. When we went to check on the time for seating they said that they had marked us as already finished our meal. We didn't get a table for a other 30 minutes after that.Then, it took forever to get our food. Even though we got to the restaurant at 7:15 we didn't actually eat until 9:30. The food was good and the waiters were nice but having to wait two hours to eat is a bit ridiculous. Only 3 stars overall.
We had a lovely time
The rooftop was a great place for us to have lunch and enjoy the view and the breeze. Our waiter, Logan, did a terrific job even though their computers had a hiccup and orders were not getting transferred to the kitchen properly,
We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch.
I leave very few reviews but I just have to warn anyone who is thinking of going here: Go for the roof view, I guess, get a beer, maybe a simple appetizer, fine. But if you’re going for the food, pick Denny’s or an Irish pub, and save 100$. I’ve had better steak at Sizzler, the calamari was a soggy mess, and the fries, while adequate, are definitely not what you’d expect from a place with 65$ entrees. Server was very nice, if a bit inattentive, and entrees only took an hour to come out. However, if you LOVE tv’s everywhere for your dining experience, this place might be for you.
Waiter was great, he tried his best. My fellow diner sent back his lamb chops and then his steak twice. Food quality was good, not great. Bill was $420 so not cheap for a semi-mediocre meal.
Food was delicious & kids loved it too!
Service was great, we were seated almost immediately. Food was very good, and prepared very nicely, not to mention that our food was brought to us fresh in a matter of minutes. The staff was very kind, and did a great job on checking up on us.
Great food, great ambience, sit on the rooftop if you can!
The restaurant sat far more tables than the staff could handle, given the shortage of servers. While the server apologized, they were clearly working too many tables and the service was unfortunately terrible. The management should better determine how many tables they can seat that will receive the good service that the prices should come with.
Mozambique Restaurant does offer delivery in partnership with Postmates.
Mozambique Restaurant is rated 4.5 stars by 2145 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.