Bring the restaurant to you. Order and pay for food directly on OpenTable.
Lionfish Restaurant at The Pendry Hotel
*Please note we are holding reservations to a maximum dining time of 90 minutes, due to limited seating*
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Sealed or wrapped utensils used
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waitstaff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
- Staff temperature check required
If you're going for an intimate dinner for two, then you may wish to get seated outside, the music and general buzz of the place is quite loud, so made the ambiance more rushed than relaxed.
Thank you for sharing Ben. Please note next time for patio request and we will always do our best to accomodate your requests.
Food was great, service was terrible. It was also extremely loud and the tables were really close together.
Thank you for sharing Nicolel. First let me send my sincere aplogies on your service issues. Please feel free to call me directly if you would like to discuss. Joshua Liberman (916) 337-1611
One of the best meals I have ever had. Absolutely on my to do list in San Diego!
Amazing food and service! The outdoor seating was nice as well.
Fantastic food, service and ambience. There is nothing I would change about our experience.
Thank you for sharing Julie. So happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us.
One of the best seafood restaurant in San Diego. Definitely upscale. Excellent interior, great bar, good selection of cocktails, food is excellent.
Go there dressed.
Thank you for taking the time to sharing Sameer. We just launched Sunday brunch 11am-3pm if you are looking for a fun Sunday escape.
Music was a little too loud but everything else was perfect. Cheers
Delicious dinner all around from the margaritas to the entrees.
The buttery king crab legs were as tasty as they sound. My date had the duck which was recommended by our server and that was perfectly cooked. Great experience all the way around
I have been coming to the Lionfish very often but I must say First..the Food is always Excellent!!.. Unfortunately the food servers need some training and over the very many dining experiences we have had at the Lionfish ...there is always a server issue, slow, forgets items we ask for..etc,etc.. it always seems like they are not as focused as they should be ? .. but we laugh now about it .. because we keep going back and back and back .. but it is because we love the Food!.. and especially that cheesecake!..
Good food, nice atmosphere. Menu was a little bit limited but overall a solid dinner option.
Lionfish cuisine was amazing. Our server (Stephen) was amazing. However, our first impression was terrible. I am in the hospitality industry so I understand the operational side of restaurants and the Host is really the first impression of your dining experience.
We checked in for our 8:30 pm reservation, they said they were getting our table ready and to wait outside. We waited for about 20 minutes within that 20 minutes the hostess (Sara) updated us that we would be seated soon. Another host (Mike) came to us saying we could either sit at the Street Patio or at the bar. I was already upset that these were my options as this was a reservation we made in advance, not to mention for my birthday and we were under the impression our table was being set for us already, but I chose the bar because it was inside and I wanted to experience the interior. I thought maybe the bar area, but he led us to two end seats directly at the bar. Normally, I wouldn't mind this, but I am not from the area and it was a special weekend getaway for my birthday, so I was pretty annoyed that I was being seated at the bar. I felt undervalued by the Host (Mike), especially since we were guest of the hotel with a reservation. I am not sure if Sara noticed the frustration or our body language, but she came by to check if we were okay with sitting at the bar and I told her we weren't. She mentioned she thought so and that she has her eye on a table for us which she ended up transferring us to. Thank goodness for Sara. Luckily, the food was amazing and my husband and I easily spent over $300 on food and beverages. But because the host experience was disappointing I was displeased with my overall dining experience. Someone with a special occasion dinner reservation should not be offered a bar seat, ever. If Mike gave us the option to wait a little longer for a seat to open, we would have. He did nothing to make us feel valued.
Hi Cheryl thank you for taking the time for your thoughtful review. First allow me to extend my sincere apologies to you and the challenges you had on your birthday and your stay with us at the Pendry. We take all feedback as a growing opportunity, so we appreciate the candid feedback. Please allow me to invite you and a guest as my guests at Lionfish to give us another opportunity. When you are ready please feel free to contact me directly for a reservation. Joshua Liberman (916) 337-1611.
Very nice restaurant very tasty food but service is so slow! They took our order more than ones and we had different waitress each time and ended up not going out order correctly and even charged us extra for things we didn’t order!.
Was excited to try this place out, was pretty disappointed. We ordered sashimi and were not given any ginger or wasabi, the fish cuts just didn't seem very fresh either. Grilled octopus was a weird mix of burnt and undercooked but had great flavor! The filet ordered medium rare was severely overcooked. Nothing special with their cocktails.
Food and service were fabulous!
This is our favorite restaurant in San Diego. Beyond worth sitting in traffic from Orange County to celebrate our anniversary. We have been fortunate enough to have AJ as our server on both visits and received phenomenal service each time. I could go on and on about all the incredible food and drink we’ve experienced here but do yourself a favor a treat yourself to a fantastic night out at Lionfish and make sure to stick around for dessert! Excellent overall experience from start to finish. We’ll definitely be returning soon!
Thank you for joining us again Andrew. We are launching brunch this week on 4/18/21, another reason for a quick escape from Orange County. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.
The atmosphere was really nice, but the service was horrible and food took very long to get out to the table.
I had my birthday dinner celebration over the weekend. We seated right away. I didn’t like the booth table it was too big for party of 6 and can’t hardly hear everyone. Food was delicious but service was ok.
Thank you for your feedback your dinner with us. Apologize for the booth and the service issues you had. Please feel free to conact me directyly if you would like to discuss further. Joshua Liberman-General Manager
Increíble lugar y deliciosa la comida
Súper recomendable el pato y el sushi
We did not enjoy the food at Lionfish. Two of us shared three small plates: kampachi Crudo, crispy rock shrimp, and spicy grilled octopus. The Crudo was poorly cut and bland. The rock shrimp were all coating and no shrimp. The octopus was inedibly chewy. I do not recommend.
Thank you for sharing Lisa. We take all feedback constructively, and have shared your feedback with our Chef and culinary team. Please feel free to reach out to me directly of you would like to discuss further. Joshua Liberman (916) 337-1611.
Worst service EVER! we ordered appetizers that came after the entrees, we ordered a roll that simply never came, and they brought raw chicken and just offered to reheat it when we complaint. After the check came the manager was anxious for us to leave but tried to mark even the missing dishes, even though the place is nicely decorated, the restrooms don’t have a baby diaper changing table that they must have as a public place. NEVER coming back, I recommend to avoid this place, mostly because it is really dangerous from them to serve raw chicken that can end on serious health problems.
Thank you for taking the time to share your dinner experience with us. First my sincere apologies, we take food safety for our guests as the highest and number one priority and we obviously failed on that for you and your guests. I would love to invite you and your guests back as my personal guests when you are ready to give us another opportunity. Again, my sincere apologies, and look forward to hearing from you. Regards Joshua Liberman
The food was delicate and fancy ambiance was amazing definite must try
Thank you for the kind words. We are launching Sunday brunches on 4/18. We look forward to having you join us again.
Simply outstanding. The best meal we've had in quite a long time. Service is knowledgeable, kitchen is on point. Had king salmon sashimi, duck tostada, beef skewers, scallops and a sushi roll. Breathtaking.
The food was terrible and incredibly overpriced! The only good thing was the rock shrimp.
Thank you for sharing, our sincere apologies. I have shared your feedback with our culinary team. Please feel free to reach out to me directly, as we value all guests feedback; Joshua Liberman (916) 337-1611
I lived everything about it except how my tab ended up at $82 without barely having eaten anything.
Jessica is amazing! Best server I’ve ever had in San Diego. Will be coming back again and again. Ambience + Service + Amazing Food + Amazing Drinks.
You can’t beat it!
First time dining here. The food was absolutely amazing. My favorite was the rock shrimp. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant itself was such a cute vibe to be in with lit candles on a rainy day. I’ll definitely be returning!
Thank you for taking the time to share your dinner experience with us. We look forward to having you join us again.
The staff were polite and accommodating. Cozy and beautiful interior dining. Oysters and cocktails for happy hour was a highlight. The fresh sushi and savory duck were my favorite dishes.
Love Lionfish but my experience was not that great this time around. I was on a date and excited to bring him here but when we arrived we were sat in the far left corner outside on the street patio. It was freezing and I expressed to the hostess and my server if we could be moved to a warmer seat but nothing was done. My nose was running the whole time and I was frozen. Probably will not be going back even though the food is great.
Delicious. One of the best meals I have had in a long time.
Fabulous food and people.
Our waiter was not the most attentive. Will not return
A bit pricey, but delicious food and great service!
Heaters desperately need to be added. The ones that they had were only for show and were not giving off any heat. It was pretty miserable trying to enjoy dinner in 45 degree weather
Our date night
It took 30-40 minutes everytime we ordered a food or cocktail. Terrible experience
It was my birthday and it felt so special! Even on a busy weekend, thank you!!
Amazing food and drinks! Would recommend to a friend!
Food was amazing
Service was more than amazing
I would consider returning if we could sit in the covered "outdoor" dining space. The price was too high to sit in the middle of the street. For the price charged for the food, I would want to experience the ambience of the venue. And it was cold. Not enough heaters. In downtown, in the winter, you really need 1 heater per table with how far apart the tables are spaced for social distancing.
With that said, the food was good. I would not order the Crudo though again, we spit that out. The lobster was amazing. Though the portion offered for the price charged was not a good value. Squash soup was really good. And the carrot tequila cocktail was creative and amazing.
Service was outstanding and the manager here, was notably fantastic.
I wish I knew we were seating on the road tables I requested height tops. The road tables were too cold.
Restaurant had tables inside and patio with high tops open around more heaters.
We waited a long time to get our ordered entered we got waters and never saw the waiter had to stand up and go find him. The entire meal the waiter apologized how long our meal was etc.
It’s unfortunate that having two managers no one even cared to come talk to us.
Even when we left there was not even a thank you as the suites gentlemen walked by us.
Lionfish Restaurant at The Pendry Hotel does offer delivery in partnership with Postmates and Uber Eats. Lionfish Restaurant at The Pendry Hotel also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (619) 738-7200.
Lionfish Restaurant at The Pendry Hotel is rated 4.6 stars by 917 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.