Limoncello

4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
866 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian

Top Tags:

Pre/post Theatre
Larkin's® Restaurants is excited to expand and open Limoncello, an authentic Italian restaurant. Join us for a great meal in a beautiful atmosphere!
What 866 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
RB
Charleston
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Perfect birthday dinner!

OT
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The servers were very friendly at the bar and at the table. Drinks are very good. Definitely recommend the 8 dragon palm drink. Calamari was very tasty too. Nice quiet place for a girls night or date night.

RW
Western NC
27 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always solid & reliable food with terrific service

D
Charleston
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall2food1service3ambience3

From the quality & taste of the food to the way Limoncellos staff/management handles cleaning duties during dining hours, there is a ton of room for improvment. Our waiter was very attentive & the atmosphere and location of the restaurant was good, though.

A
Western NC
5 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Second visit to Limoncello. Had great food and service again. Perfect place to eat before attending events at the Peace Center.

OT
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2food4service1ambience4

We made reservations here for my birthday and were expecting to have a special evening. Our server was not friendly and did not even smile once. She rushed us through dinner and did not talk about specials, wine or drink recommendations or even the offered prefix menu. She acted like we were an inconvenience just being there. I’m not sure if she was just having a bad day but it ruined what was supposed to be a special night. The food was good and the hostess was very sweet and friendly. Management should know about this server. Feel free to contact me for more info as I don’t want to put her name out there publicly. We will not be back.

NV
Charleston
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food4service5ambience5

Need to have sides of vegetables available
Need to include more than TWO anchovies on romaine salad
Need to add herbs to olive oil for bread dip
Should have a whole wheat pasta alternative for pasta dishes
Salmon was excellent, bread very good.
Waiter did excellent job
Had good beer choices
Saw no merlot or malbec wines - both of which are very popular in addition to Italian wines

G
Western NC
11 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Great meal! Bar was a little slow but our server was great and food was delicious!

OT
Charleston
4 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food5service3ambience4

The tables for 2 are really small and I think they actually have 3 chairs, so 3 people at that little table, to eat?, no way! There is only room for your drinks.

It was not a busy time, we came in at 4:30 on a Saturday. Our waitress was slow, took much longer than normal just to come to the table for the first time to get the drink order and she was in attentive after that. Food was prepared quickly and was good, I ran out of drink (which is very rare for me) and it took several more minutes to catch the waitress so that I could ask for another drink, and wait again. I’m not exaggerating. Most of my public reviews are 5 stars. If the restaurant was busy, I would have rated this better. I expected more for a $100 meal.

PG
Charleston
5 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This one of the best places in Greenville to eat we love it

OT
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Dessert was not as good as you would expect from Italian restaurants. specially, tiramisu and chocolate cake were avg. Olive Garden has better tasting desserts. We have tried Tiramisu from various places including many cities in Italy and the one we had here I would say was slightly below average.

OT
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Valentine’s Day

RK
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Been here before, never disappointed!!! We will most certainly be back again. We love the quaint family owned restaurants in Greenville and always try to support them!!!

CG
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was excellent. Had to make reservations really early. Arrived at reservation time. Nobody in restaurant for an hour after we arrived at our time. Seems like reservations were too early.

OT
Charleston
9 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience3

Delicious pizza and wine

OT
Charleston
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Hannah was a great server. The food was outstanding and we were in and out quickly. I look forward to returning.

R
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Waitress disappeared for long stretches and had to be reminded of things, forgot our final round drinks and just wasn't around-- we had already paid our bill, so we just left instead of having our last round. A couple of the items were good (garlic shrimp dish and lobster pasta), but the chicken alfredo was totally boring-- could have used supermarket sauces that were better and the chicken barely seasoned, the pizza was overpriced and they didn't seem to try to make it special. The antipasto board had nice things, but very sparse for the price, the bruschetta was dry, hard and the flavors really didn't work together. Really not great. It's a shame, because it's a beautiful place. I would go back if I had a different server and I would order the lobster and shrimp dishes again, but not the other stuff.

B
Las Vegas
15 reviews
Dined on February 9, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Lasagna was good. Little too much meat but tasty. Wish it came with a salad. Other couple we were with thought the meatballs were tasty but sauce acidic. I would return and try another item.

KW
New York Area
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Pizza soggy. Pappardelle fantastic.

Report
JG
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We tried Limoncello because it was close to the Centre Stage Theater. I loved the atmosphere the ambiance and the overall vibe of the restaurant. We had reservations, arrived early had a drink at the bar and was able to be seated early. The food was very good from the appetizer to the salad and the main course was Outstanding. I recommend it and will take some friends the next time I go. Bravo, Limoncello!

LS
Las Vegas
3 reviews
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall1food3service1ambience4

We have dined at Limoncello many times with our dinner group of 8. Something must have changed since our last visit as the 8 of us were asked to sit in a horseshoe booth with had us elbow to elbow. Last time we were comfortably seated at a round table in dining room which was perfect. When I asked to be moved as I had reservations weeks in advance, was told they were booked that evening. The food was good, although one of our party had ordered chicken marsala and the leg was raw. The manager instead of comping meal gave a free glass of wine. We had to ask repeatedly for water refills and waited 15 minutes for dessert to be told they ran out of cake and coffee. Really what!! Doubtful we will be dining there again in a large group.

SH
Charleston
10 reviews
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was our first experience at Limoncelle. The food and service was excellent. It felt like we were in another city having dinner. We will definitely return for lunch or dinner.

KG
Charleston
9 reviews
Dined on February 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Best calamari in town by far! Limoncello delivers quality and consistency by a friendly and accommodating staff.

D
1 review
Dined on February 7, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience5

Food was better last time we were there. We brought new people with us and they said the food was just okay.
Service was terrible! There seemed to be a lot of wait staff but not working. Had to wait for check. Some couldn’t get dessert because we were heading to play which we told waitstaff when we arrived at 6:15. We were very disappointed!

AF
Charleston
3 reviews
Dined on February 6, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

We all had Lasagna and it was great. The Bibb Lettuce Salad is fantastic and the bar makes great drinks. Hannah was a lovely server.

RW
Western NC
28 reviews
Dined on February 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Have added a pre-show pre-fixe menu.................................................................and I can't come up with 50 characters to satisfy opentable

JV
Louisville
1 review
Dined on February 2, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience2

That is the last time I will ever dine there! The booth they sat us in was very dusty and dirty glasses were on the table. We should have left then! They brought us clean glasses and we ordered a bottle of wine. 20 minutes later it was brought to us. We had theater tickets so thought at that speed we better order right away. Bread came right away, but another 20 minutes passed before our salads came out. Lettuce was brown on edges, way too much dressing and old and hard croutons. When my fish and pasta came I had to send it back it was so bad. The salmon had no flavor and the pasta was like rubber. To top it all off I spent half the time at the theater with indigestion from the little that I did eat. The two that dined with me had substandard meals as well. Too bad, it’s a good location. Twice before I had dined there and enjoyed everything. Don’t know what has changed so drastically but that was a very bad experience!

DW
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined on February 2, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

For the most part we all really enjoyed the experience. Our server was Hanah and she was fun and spunky. We asked for the gluten free bread option and it seemed like it to forever to get it and it was just like sliced bread out of the package. I was hoping for something nicer. Maybe a roll. We had to remind her to bring some dipping oil which she did. It was tasty. I had the scallops which were excellent. The sauce was very tasty. On the spicy side but very good. My pasta was on the almost cold side but my scallops were hot. Overall is was a fun experience. I would definitely go back next time I’m in town.

Limoncello
Responded on February 6, 2020

Thanks for sharing with us and we look forward to seeing you when you are back in town!

Report
C
Charleston
7 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

One of our favorite places to go before a show downtown. The quality of the food is very good and they have “theater specials “

o
Charleston
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience3

The pasta was not good. It either was cooked or sat too long before being served. I ordered the Salmon Piccata there was no taste, no sauce at all just plain noodles with a couple of capers. My children did enjoy the pizza though. I would not go back.

LT
Charleston
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall1food3service1ambience2

We hadn't visited Limoncello for awhile but have enjoyed it immensely in the past and decided to go after a matinee performance at the Peace Center. I checked the online menu when I made the reservation and it was the menu I was used to seeing, however that was not the case, I have since checked the menu on Limoncello's website, and it shows the reduced menu. When asked about the reduced menu, we were simply told the spicy Italian sausage pasta dish was no longer offered with no further explanation. Service was not up to par either. After our server introduced herself, she said she'd come back after we had a change to review the menu. We had to call her back to the table to ask if we could get a cocktail before dinner. We then had to ask for a wine menu. The pasta on the dish I ordered had been sitting for awhile and the starch had glued it together. I used the olive oil that was left from dipping bread in order to moisten the pasta so I could get a fork in it. Limoncello has always been better than this and I hope our experience was an unfortunate exception.

Limoncello
Responded on February 6, 2020

We are sorry that your visit did not meet the high expectations we set for ourselves. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will take note of the issues you had and work to improve the areas to make our operation the best it can be.

Report
DT
Charleston
1 review
Dined on January 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always good! Nice people. Excellent drinks and food. Easy to get to Peace Center.

OT
Western NC
1 review
Dined on January 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My husband and I brought our 3 adult kids and one of our kids wife for a family date night. We enjoyed the restaurant, but it was a little more expensive than we usually spend.

JG
Western NC
14 reviews
Dined on January 30, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My wife and I ate at Limoncello prior to a show at the Peace Center. The Theater Menu, a three-course meal for $30, was a delightful surprise. We both had Caesar salad, lasagna and gelato, with a bottle of Montepulciano d’Abruzzo. The food was delicious! A great meal experience!

SF
Charleston
3 reviews
Dined on January 29, 2020
Overall4food5service2ambience4

The food and atmosphere were great. Our server was very personable, but appeared to forget we were there from time to time.

NL
1 review
Dined on January 28, 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience3

Not right now, the food is not as good as it was the last time we came. Service was ok

Limoncello
Responded on February 6, 2020

Thanks for your comments. We use our guests comments to constantly work to make our operation better.

Report
2
Charleston
9 reviews
Dined on January 28, 2020
Overall2food1service4ambience3

I ordered Meat Balls as a starter. I ordered pasta with alfredo sauce and shrimp. Both were only slightly warm. The pasta was well undercooked. I know what al dente is but that was not the case, it was undercooked and lumpy. The salad was quite good though.

OT
Tallahassee
3 reviews
Dined on January 26, 2020
Overall2food2service4ambience5

Service was good. We had the carpaccio and it was very good. Wife had the lasagne and it was good but I had the scallops scampi which unfortunately was not. No taste of lemon or garlic and the pasta was literally a hardened mass with no sauce. Might have been a bad night but won’t be back. Not at all what we expected

Limoncello
Responded on January 30, 2020

Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. I am sorry that there was a dish you didn't like and we will share your feedback with the chef. We are glad that there were a number things that you did enjoy.

Report
CB
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Wonderful fresh flavors - we ordered the shrimp capellini which was outstanding. This is our favorite Italian restaurant in Greenville.

Limoncello
Responded on January 30, 2020

We are so happy that you love the restaurant! Thanks for spreading the word!

Report
LW
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience4

disappointed. Not really Italian. Low quality compared when with you first opened. Sad because it is such a great location next to Peace center.

Limoncello
Responded on January 30, 2020

Thanks for sharing your opinion with us. We would love to hear more about what you think. If you would like to share with us, please call the restaurant and ask for David. We love to hear from our guests.

Report