La Terrazza

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
409 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
La Terrazza's panoramic windows and glass ceiling provide some of the most spectacular views in Banff, from Sulphur Mountain to Mount Norquay.

La Terrazza (Italian for Terrace) is proud to offer our new Italian menu. Be sure to taste fresh authentic Italian cuisine with an Albertan twist in the heart of downtown Banff.
What 409 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.1
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
SE
SamanthaE
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food5service2ambience2

Food was fantastic and good value. Our server seemed to be inexperienced so the flow of our dinner was a little off, but overall it was a good experience.

YY
YYC84
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service3ambience3

Must order the Lobster Risotto! It seemed every table in the restaurant had someone ordering this dish. The kids loved the noodles & bread and butter to start. The calamari was also quite delicious.

The prices were a bit high for the amount of food you got, ie the Bisque and Caprese Salad.

The ambience was nice, but the roof dripped on us a few times as it was snowy and it is all glass where we were seated.

F
Fran
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2020
Overall2food4service3ambience1

Very disappointed. Food overpriced and over salted. Despite booking weeks ahead for ur daughter's birthday, we were seated adjacent to the sports lounge with large HD TV and next to the kitchen door. Couldn't hear ourselves with the noise in the restaurant. Here were our food issues: First, cocktails were sent to our table with sticky stems - our waitress kindly fixed the problem; Second, three flies were around us the entire evening - doesn't say much for the restaurant since our table was next to the kitchen. Third, we asked for a salad substitution but this was ignored. Would have been an easy fix. The wrong main course was brought to our table which could have been handled graciously. They were very rude that it was somehow our fault and our waitress was taken to task by a superior who had brought the food out - it was rectified but not very professionally. Food presentation was excellent. But the taste didn't match the presentation. Risotto oversalted, osso bucco quite fatty, gnocchi so salty that my daughter couldn't eat it. An overcrowded restaurant with insufficient staff. Definitely will not be returning.

La Terrazza
Responded on October 14, 2020

Good evening Fran, Thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback. We are disappointed that you had a bad experience and will make sure your comments are passed on to the appropriate team members so that our service is improved and we will make sure this will not happen again. Also we greatly hope you will give us another try in the future. If you are ever back way we would love the opportunity to make it up to you. Kind Regards, Nathalie La Terrazza Manager

Report
TB
TomB
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall2food1service2ambience2

Food was average and overcooked. Very dry chicken.

H
Harleylil
Calgary
3 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was delicious and the staff friendly and helpful. I would go there again.

La Terrazza
Responded on October 13, 2020

Good afternoon Harleylil, Thank you for choosing to dine with us during your stay in Banff. It's very nice to hear that you enjoyed your dinner, loved your food and got the best service. We hope and look forward to seeing you next time when you are in Banff again. Kind regards Nathalie

Report
AK
AnnetteK
Calgary
18 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Had a girls weekend in Banff and dined here on a Friday early evening. Bison carpaccio was delicious, melted in your mouth! Our main dishes were very good. Only downside was the butter served with the bread was through the roof salty. Great service!

La Terrazza
Responded on October 13, 2020

Good evening AnnetteK, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in the La Terrazza! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your girls dinner at La Terrazza and that our Bison Carpaccio met your expectations. We hope to see you in the La Terrazza again next time when you are around! Kind Regards, Nathalie Senkyrova Restaurant Manager La Terrazza

Report
LW
vipLoriW
Calgary
18 reviews
Dined on October 1, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Anniversary dinner and it was lovely. We chose the “Local Feature” that included an appetizer, main and dessert. Mushroom salad appetizer was very good, Parmesan chicken with spaghetti was ok but definitely a good portion, tiramisu desert was very lovely as well. Enjoyed a bottle of Italian Red wine that was quite nice and not exorbitantly over priced. The service was absolutely perfect. Overall, a very nice evening, thank you!

La Terrazza
Responded on October 13, 2020

Good afternoon Lori, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. We appreciate that you chose to dine with us! It's very nice to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary dinner and got the best service! We look forward to seeing you in the future. Regards, Nathalie Senkyrova La Terrazza Manager

Report
JR
JohnR
Palm Springs
1 review
Dined on September 29, 2020
Overall2food1service4ambience3

We had the Locals menu. The Stuffed Rissoto balls were tough. The Cioppino was the size of an average soup bowl and salty. The Chicken Breast was tough/overcooked but came with a lot of spaghetti. The Tiramisu Dessert was delicious. Ambiance was average. The servers and service was great. Guess the chef had an off night!

La Terrazza
Responded on October 13, 2020

Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your most recent visit, although we are sorry to hear that the chicken breast did not meet your expectations. We are happy you enjoyed the service! Also we do hope you will visit again as we would really love the opportunity to turn your opinion around and make your experience better! Kind regards, Nathalie La Terrazza Manager

Report
R
Rosalita
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The noise level was low until a table of 4 arrived. They talked very loudly. That’s not the fault of the restaurant.
I had the 3 course meal. For my main I had the gnocchi and it was superb! It was perfect.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food and service were impeccable!

La Terrazza
Responded on September 29, 2020

Good evening, We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at La Terrazza and thank you for taking your time to leave us such a nice review. Hope we will see you soon again. Kind regards, Nathalie Senkyrova La Terrazza Manager

Report
A
vipAlbilicious8
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Quality of the food was exceptional, the lobster rissotto came woth a lobster tail!
Ambience was so cozy and quite so romantic and our waitress was so nice

La Terrazza
Responded on September 29, 2020

Good evening Brad, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. We appreciate that you chose to dine with us! It is always encouraging to hear such warm comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your Lobster Risotto. It's very nice to hear that you enjoyed your dinner and got the best service. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Regards, Nathalie Senkyrova La Terrazza Manager

Report
AH
AdrienneH
Calgary
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Really nice meal, ambience felt a bit dated but classy.

La Terrazza
Responded on September 29, 2020

Good evening Adrienne, thank you very much for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and dining with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Kind regards, Nathalie Senkyrova La Terrazza Manager

Report
AE
AmberE
1 review
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience5

Staff were friendly and cheerful, but scarce. We had to wait quite a while between services for any server to stop by.

The food was exquisite - minus the potatoes which tasted bland and had a weird texture.

We decided to attend this restaurant for our honeymoon - all in all a great experience, and would return.

BK
BradK
Hawaii
5 reviews
Dined on September 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The service was great. They had a lot of COVID-19 precautions in place. The waitress were wearing a mask and they were very thorough when cleaning the table after a sitting.
Highly recommend and will be back

La Terrazza
Responded on September 29, 2020

Good evening Brad, We are thrilled we could welcome you in La Terrazza and we are very happy you enjoyed dinning with us and felt comfortable with the COVID-19 precautions during your stay. We are doing our best to keep our guest safe as much as possible. Thank you for taking your time for writing. Hope we will see you soon again. Kind regards, Nathalie La Terrazza Manager

Report
DL
DanielleL
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience1

The restaurant itself was nice but it was eerily quiet you couldn’t hear the music and it was super dark. The service was ok we had like 3 waitresses which was a little weird. The food was fair. The menu on their website does not match the actual menu at the restaurant at all. The food was very bland and water logged or to greasy. Would not recommend especially for the price point.

La Terrazza
Responded on September 29, 2020

Good evening Danielle, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at La Terrazza. Our apologies for the menu. We just started our new fall menu recently and changed the online menus right away but unfortunately the update took a little time. Hope this inconvenient will not hold you back from giving us one more change on your future travels. Kind Regards, The La Terrazza team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Calgary
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

GReat food

R
Rich
Calgary
10 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience2

Food was good, the decor could use some sprucing up. Service was ok and precautions were takes due to the virus, which was great

La Terrazza
Responded on September 29, 2020

Good evening Rich, thank you very much for taking your time writing a review about your experience with our restaurant. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our food and service. We hope to see you soon again! Kind regards, Nathalie Senkyrova La Terrazza Manager

Report
P
Princess
Calgary
1 review
Dined on September 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was amazing. They told us that there bread is even made on site. There was 4 of us and it was so good we went back the next night for dinner. Congratulations to the chef and staff. Very excellent job.

La Terrazza
Responded on September 29, 2020

Good evening, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in the La Terrazza! We are thrilled the lodge made bread was to your liking! We indeed proudly make the bread in house. We hope to see you in the La Terrazza again next time when you are around! Kind Regards, Nathalie Senkyrova Restaurant Manager La Terrazza

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Calgary
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Dinner was amazing. We had the lobster bisque and the chicken Parmesan..so fresh, flavourful and delicious. Kudos to the staff who were attentive, friendly and made the experience that much more enjoyable. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. We will defiantly be back next time we are in Banff.

La Terrazza
Responded on September 29, 2020

Good evening, Thank you for taking your time to leave us such a nice review. We are thrilled we could welcome you at La Terrazza. We are glad you enjoyed our menu offering and we can't deny it is all delicious. We will make sure to pass on your kudos to the staff. We can't wait to welcome you back soon!

Report
BF
BrittaneyF
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was incredible! Quite expensive but if you’re looking for quality food with a nice ambience I’d highly recommend eating here!

La Terrazza
Responded on September 29, 2020

Good evening Brittaney thank you very much for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and dining with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Kind regards, Nathalie Senkyrova La Terrazza Manager

Report
MS
MelissaS
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Staff were amazing and food was very good! Would recommend!

La Terrazza
Responded on September 29, 2020

Good evening Melissa, thank you very much for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed dining with us and the service what we give. We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Kind regards, Nathalie Senkyrova La Terrazza Manager

Report
EP
EricP
Calgary
1 review
Dined on September 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Ambience, food, and service was top notch. Wonderful place for romantic dining with someone special.

La Terrazza
Responded on September 29, 2020

Good evening Eric, Thank you for dining with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meals, service and the ambiance. We hope to see you in the future for another date night. Regards, Nathalie Senkyrova La Terrazza Manager

Report
S
Seonor
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on September 1, 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience3

OK Food, good service. A little bit overpriced .

La Terrazza
Responded on September 29, 2020

Good evening Seonor, Thank you for dining with us. It's unfortunate that the pricing didn't meet your expectations. We hope you would join us again in your future travels. Kind regards, Nathalie Senkyrova La Terrazza Manager

Report
TD
ToniD
Denver
10 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience5

Caesar salad was good. Lettuce crisp, croutons were wonderful. Arrancini was very good. Got three deep fried balls as appie. Bread served was just average. Nothing special. My husband got Lobster Alfredo Fettuccini. Was very tomato-ie. Not at all like regular Alfredo. He liked the lobster tail but did not care for Fettuccini. I got Rosienne Pasta. It was good. Got three medium sized rosettes of pasta with ham rolled into them in a creamy tomato sauce. It was good, very filling. Couldn't finish it, Dessert was tiramisu which was beautifully presented. It tasted somewhat bland but good. All in all it was OK. Certainly not best Italian restaurant we have been to. Service however, was excellent.

La Terrazza
Responded on September 29, 2020

Good evening Toni, Thank you for dining with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the service and we are sorry that your meal choice didn't meet your expectations. However we hope you would join us again in your future travels. We are thrilled you enjoyed the service. Best regards, Nathalie Senkyrova La Terrazza Manager

Report
1
1234
Edmonton
4 reviews
Dined on August 27, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

It was lovely

I
vipIlouise
Calgary
14 reviews
Dined on August 20, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Anniversary

La Terrazza
Responded on August 23, 2020

Good afternoon Ilouise, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience! We are delighted that it was a positive one and you enjoyed your anniversary dinner in La Terrazza. Hope to see you again soon. Best Regards Nathalie

Report
WT
vipWendyT
Vancouver
10 reviews
Dined on August 19, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Friendly, attentive staff. Good food presentation and quality. Good timing of courses. Would definitely go back.

La Terrazza
Responded on August 23, 2020

Good afternoon WendyT, Thank you for joining us for taking your time to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed the time spent in La Terrazza and we met your expectations of the service, presentation and quality. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Nathalie

Report
JC
JohannaC
Calgary
4 reviews
Dined on August 8, 2020
Overall2food1service4ambience3

Good attentive service. Disappointing food. Too greasy, overly complicated. Had the salmon and panzanella. Bread was deep fried :( Salad was boring. Salmon was well cooked but bland and the potato and veg were a mushy slop on the plate. No flavour, no texture. Even the dessert (peach tart - and usually my favourite) was bland and mushy pastry, dry and overcooked peaches. Hoping for something special, maybe good classic Italian, to celebrate our anniversary - this let us down.

La Terrazza
Responded on August 11, 2020

Good afternoon Johanna, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at La Terrazza. We are disappointed that you had a bad experience and will make sure your comments are passed on to the appropriate team members so that our service is improved. We hope you would give us one more chance in the future so we can make it up to you. Kind Regards, The La Terrazza team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 7, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Order anything except for the steak. You can get a better steak at a liquor store Parking lot and while you’re at it get some frozen vegetables at Walmart. It will be better than that disgrace. Waste of money. Not going back.

La Terrazza
Responded on August 9, 2020

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We are really sorry about your experience and we wish you have brought it to our attention during the service so we could have done our best to meet your expectations. Hopefully you'll give us one more change in the future. Kind regards, Nathalie

Report
SM
SusanM
1 review
Dined on August 6, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Pasta was under done - I sent it back and my dinner arrived after everyone else had finished eating... this place is VERY $$$$$

La Terrazza
Responded on August 9, 2020

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry about your pasta. Please let us know next time you come in and we will try our best to make the occasion extra special for you. Kind regards, Nathalie

Report
M
Mafel
Edmonton
5 reviews
Dined on August 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The wait staff was very friendly and efficient! All the waiters check on each table whether or not they are their customers. From the appetizer to dessert the food was SUPERB! My boyfriend and I had the fettucine and Roselline which were both delicious. If you are ordering the Roselline; it is quite a big plate so make sure you come with an empty stomach. Felt very safe as everyone have masks, tables are spaced out nicely, and hand sanis everywhere. Will definitely eat here again!

La Terrazza
Responded on August 3, 2020

Hi Mafel, Thank you for taking your time writing such of kind words and choosing to dine with us at La Terrazza. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your dinner and our customer service. We are glad we met your expectations and will hope to see you next time again. Kind regards Nathalie

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Edmonton
3 reviews
Dined on July 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went to La Terrazza to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. It did not disappoint. The service was top-notch and the food amazing. My husband started off with the lobster bisque followed by the lobster fettuccine, both of which he thoroughly enjoyed. For myself, I had the Arancini followed by the Roselline which were also delicious and very flavorful. What was really a nice touch was when our waitress surprised us with a free gelato desert specialized to signify our anniversary. We would highly recommend La Terrazza for your special occasion or a romantic evening out.

La Terrazza
Responded on August 3, 2020

Thank you for choosing to dine with us during your stay in Banff. We are really happy to hear how much you enjoyed your anniversary dinner with us as well as the service. We look forward to seeing you next time again. Kind regards Nathalie

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on July 21, 2020
Overall1food1service3ambience2

The food was all under cooked. When we sent the dishes back and everything was brought back out it was still under cooked but warmed up in a microwave.

La Terrazza
Responded on July 27, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at La Terrazza. However, we have passed on your feedback to the kitchen and we will make sure this will not happen again and our service is improved. Also we greatly hope you will give us another try in the future. If you are ever back way we would love the opportunity to make it up to you.

Report
JI
JILLD
1 review
Dined on July 17, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

This restaurant ever disappoints. Very comfortable atmosphere and furnishings. Food is first class. Presentation was not at the expense of portion or quality. Italian dishes all honoured their namesakes. Would love to go there regularly, sadly we live out of town.

La Terrazza
Responded on July 25, 2020

Thank you for dining with us Jilld. We are always happy to hear that the meal and service was outstanding, the quality of everything we do is important for us. We are more than happy to welcome you back once you get a chance to come back to Banff!

Report
C
Carstairscouple
1 review
Dined on July 11, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Excellent food and service. I would highly recommend going to La Terrazza. The restaurant was a little challenging to locate (inside the hotel/plaza area without great signage), and the table we had was extremely sloped. My husband had to hold his beer glass to keep it from tipping over (as the glass he had was very tall with a small base) my wine glass was fine. The other tables were full or I may have asked to move. The food and the service made up for it though. Great restaurant.

La Terrazza
Responded on July 25, 2020

We are happy we could welcome you in La Terrazza and we are thrilled you enjoyed dinning with us. Also we want to thank you for your review which we appreciate. Hope you will back soon when you are in Banff again!

Report
RL
RichardL
Edmonton
3 reviews
Dined on July 8, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

It was very quiet in the restaurant, but that was to be expected, given the reductions in seating capacity. The server was very good, quite happy to be back at work. The house bread was really good and our lobster linguini tasted fantastic. My only issue was the size of the portion. I understand that lobster is expensive, but pasta is not. Very good experience overall.

j
janh
Calgary
1 review
Dined on July 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

celebrating Chef Nigel’s last evening at work
so sad that your position has been discontinued
excellent meal & service

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Calgary
21 reviews
Dined on June 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Was a lovely experience. The service was good and the food was wonderful.

La Terrazza
Responded on June 28, 2020

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a positive feedback about your experience with us. When you are in Banff next time, we hope to see you again!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Edmonton
18 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and good value for the price. Request a seat by the window for a mountain view!

La Terrazza
Responded on June 28, 2020

Thank you so much for the visit and your kind words! We hope to see you again when you are visiting Banff next time!

Report
F
Foodie
Edmonton
11 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Service was not great, the food was not good at at all and expensive for what you get.

La Terrazza
Responded on February 24, 2020

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance and we’ll do better. Please feel free reach out to La Terrazza manager with any further comments, concerns, or suggestions you wish to share. We would love to make things right if you give us another chance. Kind regards Team La Terrazza

Report

FAQs

La Terrazza is rated 4.3 stars by 409 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.