Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United States
  3. Asheville / Western North Carolina
  4. Asheville
  5. Asheville
Hemingway's Cuba, Asheville, NC

Hemingway's Cuba

4.1
4.1
2613 Reviews
$30 and under
Cuban
Recognized as the best Cuban food in the state of North Carolina by Big 7 Travel, come savor our savory Cuban dinner menu in Asheville, North Carolina. We pair traditional Cuban cuisine with Asheville flair to deliver an experience that keeps you coming back for more. Paired with the stunning panoramic views of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, Hemingway's Cuba is a favorite Asheville restaurant and rooftop bar for visitors and locals alike.

Thank you for booking your reservation at Hemingway’s Cuba! We look forward to having you. If you’d like to sit on our rooftop terrace, please put your request in the notes. Please note that terrace seating is not guaranteed due to high demand and weather restrictions.
Book Hemingway's Winter Cabanas here: https://bit.ly/47gYW1m

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 4 times today

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Price
    $30 and under
  • Cuisines
    Cuban
  • Hours of operation
    Breakfast Mon–Thu 7:00 am–10:00 am Brunch Fri–Sun 7:00 am–1:00 pm Bar Fri–Sun 1:00 pm–4:30 pm Dinner Mon–Thu 4:30 pm–9:00 pm Fri, Sat 4:30 pm–10:00 pm Sun 4:30 pm–8:00 pm
  • Phone number
    (828) 417-6866
  • Payment options
    AMEX, Discover, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress code
    Casual Dress
  • Executive chef
    Kareem Ross
  • Neighborhood
    Asheville
  • Cross street
    Grove Arcade
  • Parking details
    Valet parking available, $5 for guest of Restaurant
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Indoor Fireplace, Late Night, Outdoor Firepit, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What 2,613 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.1
4.1 based on recent ratings
  • 4Food
  • 4.1Service
  • 4.1Ambience
  • 3.8Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • Asheville / Western North Carolina

    Hot spot

  • Asheville / Western North Carolina

    Great for outdoor dining

  • Asheville / Western North Carolina

    Great for scenic views

  • Asheville

    Hot spot

  • Asheville

    Great for outdoor dining

  • Asheville

    Great for scenic views

  • Asheville

    Lively

2,613 Reviews
  1. Liza

    San Francisco

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 4
    We were happy to be able to have a bite at the end of a long road trip. The hostess and waitress were very nice. We had Cheeseburger sliders, yucca fries, and beef empanada. They were all pretty good but not outstanding. My impression is they use frozen food. On a different afternoon we enjoyed a glass a wine on the lovely deck with a feat view.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded 1 day ago
    Hello Liza, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're pleased to hear that you found our staff welcoming and friendly during your visit. We appreciate your feedback regarding the food, and we apologize if it did not meet your expectations. We take pride in using fresh ingredients whenever possible, and we're sorry if it seemed otherwise. Your comments are valuable to us as we continuously strive to improve. We're delighted that you were able to enjoy a relaxing afternoon on our patio now that it's getting warmer! We hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Thank you for dining with us! Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  2. Ashley

    Western NC

    21 reviews

    5.0

    21 reviews

    Dined on February 24, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    We went for a friend's birthday & planned to only stay for a little happy hour. However, we enjoyed it so much, we canceled our dinner reservations elsewhere & had everyone meet us at Hemingway's Cuba. We were not disappointed with our decision! It was great all around - the drinks, the food, the service - and we will be back!
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on February 25, 2024
    Hello Ashley, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a memorable experience celebrating your friend's birthday with us. From the drinks to the food and service, we're delighted that everything exceeded your expectations. We can't wait to welcome you back for another exceptional dining experience soon! Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  3. DanC

    Charleston

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on February 24, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 5
    Great food, view and ambience! Sunsets on the rooftop are beautiful
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on February 25, 2024
    Hello DanC, Thank you for sharing your experience! It's wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic visit and got to enjoy the sunset with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back for more memorable moments in the future! Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  4. CASmith

    Alabama

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on February 18, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 1
    The ambiance just wasn’t there. The shrimp was ok. The tacos were great. But it was all just way too “vanilla” for me to say that it was anything but over priced and over hyped.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on February 23, 2024
    Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're sorry to hear that the ambiance didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate your honesty about your dining experience, both the positives and the areas where we can improve. We strive to provide a memorable and enjoyable atmosphere for all our guests, and we'll take your comments into consideration. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the tacos, but we apologize if the shrimp fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. If you decide to give us another chance, we'd love to provide you with a much better experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    1 person found this helpful

  5. TaylorM

    New York City

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on February 18, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 2
    This place was rather disappointing. It’s a sports bar with a roof top. The roof top has fire places but overall is not warm enough to be outside and enjoy it. The drinks were basically juice and overall felt like a tourist trap. I didn’t try the food but from the entrees I saw, it was not impressive.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on February 24, 2024
    Hello TaylorM, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're disappointed to hear that your visit did not reach your expectations. We apologize if the rooftop ambiance fell short and if the drinks did not meet your standards. Your feedback regarding the atmosphere and beverage quality is valuable to us, and we will use it to improve and ensure a more enjoyable experience for our guests in the future. We understand your concerns and regret that we didn't have the chance to impress you with our food offerings. Should you decide to give us another opportunity in the future, I hope we can provide you with a much better experience. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    1 person found this helpful

  6. OpenTable Diner

    Western NC

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on February 14, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Excelente 👌 lugar lo recomiendo la comida es muy rica
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on February 24, 2024
    Hello, Thank you for sharing your dining experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us so much. We hope you visit us again soon. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    1 person found this helpful

  7. RobertL

    Charleston

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on February 10, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 5
    Great food at decent prices. Highly recommend it. We will definitely go back.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on February 23, 2024
    Hello RobertL, Thank you for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed dining with us. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we're delighted to know that you plan to return. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great dining experience soon! Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  8. BillS

    Western NC

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on February 9, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    Quiet night in Asheville and at Cambria. Got seated quickly. Chris, our server, was great. The food was very good. Should try it. I was surprised as I didn't know about Hemmingways.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on February 11, 2024
    Hello BillS, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We really appreciate your kind words and are so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope you come back to see us again soon! Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    1 person found this helpful

  9. RickS

    Charlotte

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on February 4, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Fantastic burger, Fantastic wings, awesome outdoor patio with great views. Highly recommended!
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on February 4, 2024
    Hello RickS, Thank you for sharing your experience! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed dining out on our patio. We are delighted to hear that you loved your experience. We hope you visit us again soon. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  10. OpenTable Diner

    Coastal Georgia

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on February 3, 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 2
    I made the reservation weeks in advance requesting one of the enclosed spaces on the rooftop and they were given to the party that arrived minutes before my party.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on February 4, 2024
    Hello, I'm so sorry for the confusion that the Cabana's were reserved a month ahead at that time slot. Unfortunately, our Cabana Reservations are available through Hemingway's Cuba Winter Cabanas, the reservation despite the request, was for our regular dining. It does have a deposit in order to reserve one, and they had reserved both. If you ever have any questions, please feel free to reach out to us and we can see what we can do for you. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  11. CarolineC

    Western NC

    9 reviews

    5.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on February 2, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Our waiter was really nice! The food came out pretty quickly also.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on February 3, 2024
    Hello CarolineC, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  12. OpenTable Diner

    Western NC

    9 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on January 27, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Everything was delicious and the service was great!
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 29, 2024
    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food and service! We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  13. AndyLisa

    Raleigh

    40 reviews

    3.0

    40 reviews

    Dined on January 27, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 4
    Local patrons , visited many times. This visit was a Friday night Restaurant was less than half full at 730 pm. Server ( Caesar? ) Seemed a bit uninspired about being at work. Took drink and app order. He delivered drinks in a fair amount of time but only one drink at a time. Returned to take main order several mins later. Normal . After about 20 mins. Main courses arrived. We mentioned we still didn’t have the appetizer. He looked on the handlheld ordering device and mumbled (my bad ). He didn’t enter the order to the kitchen. By then our drinks were empty so as asked for another round. As we started eating we noticed him exit the main dining area by a door at. The far end. Watching the bar the noticed the bartended has completed our drink order and there they sat, 10 mins, 15 mins , 20 mins……21 mins later our server came back into the dining room, MIA for 21 mins. Finally delivered 2 watered down drinks. So we asked for the check. We dine out not just for. The food but for good service- SERVICE is equally as important as the food. He did a very poor job and none of his co-workers or management was around to help fill void in his lackluster service. Not a good experience
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 29, 2024
    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit. We sincerely apologize for the less than satisfactory experience you had with our service. It deeply concerns us that your server appeared uninspired and failed to provide the level of attentive and efficient service we strive to deliver. We understand that promptness and professionalism are essential elements of a pleasant dining experience, and regret we fell short of meeting these expectations. Please know that we take your feedback seriously and will address these issues with our team to ensure that such lapses in service do not recur. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the excellent dining experience that you deserve. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  14. tomeatsfood14

    Charleston

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on January 20, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Our food was spectacular. I feel like surface was excellent. You get a lot of food for your money
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 21, 2024
    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and found it spectacular! We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  15. OpenTable Diner

    Las Vegas

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on January 20, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We have been to Hemingways several times, but this time was the best. We tried the ACP and Cammarones Con Coco; both dishes were full of flavor. Highly recommend
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 21, 2024
    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your last visit with us so much. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  16. KellyB

    Western NC

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on January 18, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Hemingway’s is one of my favorite places to eat out in Asheville. It’s where I take everyone that’s visiting from out of town. Amazing food and cocktails. Beautiful view during the day and right in the heart of downtown. Walking distance to plenty of neat local bars. I’ve never had bad service here! 10/10 would recommend lol
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 21, 2024
    Hello KellyB, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. We truly appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that we've become one of your favorite places to dine in Asheville. It's always rewarding to know that our efforts are making a positive impact on our guests. We value your loyalty and are honored to be the restaurant of choice when you have visitors from out of town. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another delightful dining experience! Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  17. Callie4A

    San Diego

    20 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    20 reviews

    Dined on January 16, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    The rooftop bar had really nice views of Asheville, the cocktails were pretty tasty, and our server was very nice and attentive. The food however wasn’t great. Everything was pretty bland, the only thing that helped was adding hot sauce to everything.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 19, 2024
    Hello Callie4A, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our view of Asheville, and we appreciate your kind words about our tasty cocktails and attentive service. We're sorry to learn that our food didn't meet your dining expectations, and we appreciate your honest feedback. Your input is valuable to us as we continuously strive to enhance our dining experience. We'll certainly take your comments into consideration. If you decide to visit us again, we hope to provide you with an even more delightful culinary experience. Thank you for choosing Hemingway's, and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  18. SaraH

    E. Tennessee

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on January 14, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Beautiful location inside and out. Mountains in the distance. Our service was great. Food was great. Not overly salty like most restaurants, but perfectly seasoned. Will go back anytime we’re are in the area.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 19, 2024
    Hello SaraH, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Hemingway's Cuba! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much! We look forward to welcoming you back anytime you're in the area. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management

    Is this helpful?

  19. LateiaS

    Charleston

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on January 8, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Excellent service and outstanding food. Cocktails were perfect.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 11, 2024
    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything during your visit. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  20. OpenTable Diner

    Louisville

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on January 4, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    They were out of plantains. It’s a Cuban restaurant!
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit, specifically regarding the unavailability of plantains. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to have the chance to serve you better in the future. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  21. Steve

    Western NC

    8 reviews

    4.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on January 1, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Taste great but the corn taco shells are to thin to be picked up an eaten like a taco. They came to the table already split on the bottom. In the other dish we had the steak and fries were perfect.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello Steve, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the great taste of your dishes, particularly the bistec. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the thin corn taco shells that were difficult to pick up and eat. Your feedback is valuable, and we will review our preparation methods to ensure a more enjoyable taco experience for our guests. We appreciate your positive comments about the steak and fries, and we're glad to know that they were perfect. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again, providing an even more satisfying dining experience. Best regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  22. RoryJ

    Western NC

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on January 1, 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 2
    This was a NYE party and it was disgraceful that there were no finger food, like a vege tray or chips and dip etc. Spent $70 on four drinks...too expensive. With the cover charge, Hemingway should at least provide a food spread. Its a party!!!
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello RoryJ, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your New Year's Eve experience at Hemingway. We sincerely apologize for any disappointment you may have felt, and we appreciate your input as it helps us improve our services. Your feedback is valid, and we recognize the importance of providing a well-rounded experience for our guests during special events. We will review our offerings for such occasions to ensure that we provide a more comprehensive and enjoyable experience in the future. Your comments are instrumental in helping us make necessary improvements, and we appreciate your understanding. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  23. Diner1

    Western NC

    15 reviews

    3.0

    15 reviews

    Dined on December 31, 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 4
    The restaurant clearly needed more wait staff…. The food was nicely prepared and overall delicious…but the wait for everything from being seated to getting drinks, to being served, to getting our check was seemingly interminable. Our waiter Caesar was very cordial, but was MIA throughout the meal. This in-attention basically degraded what would have been a very pleasant experience to a not so happy meal. Will try again at sunset during warmer weather to take advantage of the view. Perhaps it was just an off night with wait staff calling out (early New Year’s eve).
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're delighted to hear that you found the food nicely prepared and overall delicious. However, we sincerely regret that the service did not meet your expectations. Your insights are crucial, and we will investigate the issues with wait times and attentiveness to ensure we provide a more seamless experience in the future. We appreciate your understanding and recognize that your server, though cordial, was not as present as you would have liked. Rest assured; we will address this matter with our team to enhance the overall guest experience. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you better in the future. Best regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  24. OpenTable Diner

    Orlando

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on December 31, 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 2
    We decided to give it a try to this place on the last day of the year. We made reservations as we knew finding a place would be difficult! Overall it was good/ok! But sincerely not impressed. The food was lacking of a few things! Some of the things that we ordered needed more flavor! The mojo for the mariquitas felt like oil, the dipping for the yuca frita had more flavor even though that one is a mayo base sauces. The black beans for the biftec the palomilla where just blend and it looked more like a paste. My Guava salad was just plain salad with only three ingredients avocado, pineapple, red onions and yuca frita as croutons the dressing was a guava based vinaigrette which needed more punch to it. You can barely taste de guava. I added some chicken which helped a little but it would have been nice to add more things like some other ingredients to the salad. Cubans like puertorricans love to get creative in our cooking flavor is key. It felt more like an American salad than a Caribbean salad. The masas de cerdo where ok. Oh! The service first the hostess was not welcoming at all. Not welcoming barely talked to us. We had a reservation which we had to put a $25 hold you should at least be more friendlier. Ask the basics how are you today and welcome!! Once seated, the server again no communication no recommendations just went straight to what you want so I can put the order. It would have been nice to ask is this your first time I could recommend a few drinks if that’s what you like same as the food. But no, we felt rushed, like let’s get to business kinda thing so we can get you out. We even had to tell the waiter to give us a few minutes to eat our appetizers and not to rush with the food since we wouldn’t be able to enjoy it. Once the food came it was we ate it and might as well go. She didn’t even asked if we wanted dessert we just went ahead and asked for the check. I was excited about the place but like I said not impressed, disappointe
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello, Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback regarding your recent visit. We sincerely apologize for the aspects of your experience that did not meet your expectations. Your comments are valuable to us as we continuously strive to improve our offerings. We are truly sorry to hear that the flavors of the dishes didn't live up to your expectations. Additionally, we regret the lack of warmth and communication from our hostess and server. Hospitality is a priority for us, and your experience falls short of the standards we set. We will address this with our team to ensure a more welcoming and engaging experience for our guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to have the chance to serve you better in the future. Best regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  25. OpenTable Diner

    Naples

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 31, 2023

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 4
    Had a terrible experience with my family. I called them three times left messages. No one has called me back. Wanted to speak to someone in management to explain my experience to them. What happened was terrible send it back several times the waitresses were fighting for Manager. No one was there was ruined for us in the 31st one worked seven years ago tried she did her best. It did make a difference, but there was only so much she could do but somebody would call me back.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello, We deeply regret hearing about your terrible experience during your visit with your family, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. Your feedback is crucial to us, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. It's disheartening to hear about the challenges you faced with the food and service. We want to make things right and would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly about your experience. Thank you for your understanding, and we hope to have the chance to make amends for your disappointing experience. Best regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  26. OpenTable Diner

    Western NC

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 31, 2023

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    Holy cow unorganized, slow, and overall terrible. The saving grace was the exceptional hostess who was doing WAY more than her job and kept the place afloat (meanwhile was probably the youngest employee in the restaurant). Bravo to her, the rest of the place needs to get their act together.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent experience at our restaurant. We sincerely apologize for the unorganized and slow service that you encountered during your visit. We appreciate your recognition of our exceptional hostess who went above and beyond her duties to ensure a positive experience. We will certainly commend her for her efforts and dedication. We appreciate your candid feedback, and we are committed to making the necessary changes to ensure a better experience for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the exceptional service that you deserve. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your visit. Best regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  27. Accomodating

    Atlanta Metro

    38 reviews

    1.0

    38 reviews

    Dined on December 30, 2023

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 2
    This was a disaster. The waiter kept telling us the kitchen staffing was not right and that she was seeing folks in the kitchen that had been fired weeks ago. The beans were crunchy, the croquettes were half hollow, etc.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello, We sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you had during your recent visit to Hemingway's Cuba. Your feedback is extremely valuable, and we are truly sorry for the subpar service and the issues with the food. The information shared about the kitchen staffing and the quality of the dishes is concerning, and it does not reflect the standards we aim to uphold. We appreciate your patience and understanding, and we assure you that we are taking immediate steps to address these issues internally. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the exceptional dining experience you deserve. Best regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  28. OpenTable Diner

    Coastal Georgia

    11 reviews

    4.0

    11 reviews

    Dined on December 29, 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    We came here for a quick dinner. We were seated right away and the server was attentive. We both had the Cuban sandwich, which was good. The atmosphere is a bit like a club/sports bar.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are thrilled you enjoyed your dining experience with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  29. BrandiM

    Western NC

    10 reviews

    5.0

    10 reviews

    Dined on December 29, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Amazing views and service. It was very quiet at lunch and the ambiance was very quaint. Always good food, we expected a lunch menu but found what we needed on their Brunch menu instead.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello BrandiM, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our view of the Blue Ridge Mountains and service during your visit. Thank you for choosing Hemingway's Cuba, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another delightful experience. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  30. KerriK

    Alabama

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 29, 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 5
    Great food and atmosphere but the service did. Not match!!
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello KerriK, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the great food and the atmosphere during your visit. However, we're disappointed to learn that our service didn't reach your expectations. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment you may have experienced. Providing excellent service is a priority for us, and we regret falling short in this instance. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your input in helping us enhance our overall guest experience. Thank you for choosing Hemingway's, and we hope to have another chance to serve you in the future. Best regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  31. OpenTable Diner

    Houston

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on December 28, 2023

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Food ans drinks were good, nothing great just good
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us. I regret we were unable to meet your expectations. I hope in the future if your return, we can provide you with a better experience. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  32. VeronicaV

    Western NC

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 28, 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 4
    We found the food to be very tasty, though not authentic Cuban. You need to change to Jasmin rice…your rice is not very good! We went two days in a row and ate different meals each day. The tostones were delicious and very crispy as were the mariquitas. The pork with tostones was excellent. The camarones al ajillo were good. Arroz con pollo not authentic but the chicken was tasty. The service was VERY slow and the first day the server forgot my Diet Coke until almost the end of the meal. The place is very nice and had it not been so cold we would have loved to eat outside.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello VeronicaV, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. We appreciate your compliments on the taste of our food and your insights from your dining experience. We will pass your feedback along to your kitchen team so we can continue to refine our menu. We're glad you found the place very nice, and we're sorry to hear about the cold weather affecting your ability to dine outside. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and providing an even better experience on your next visit. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  33. BrianM

    Western NC

    10 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    10 reviews

    Dined on December 28, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    We went for breakfast/brunch. The restaurant was not busy and that helped a lot. Food and service were both excellent. And of course, the mountain and skyline views are always perfect.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello BrianM, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your brunch visit with us. We appreciate your kind words about the excellence of both our food and service. And of course, we're thrilled that you appreciated the mountain and skyline views. Thank you for choosing Hemingway's Cuba, and we look forward to the pleasure of serving you again. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  34. ElizabethT

    Western NC

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 27, 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great view and wonderful service. Wheelchair accessible.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello ElizabethT, Thank you for your kind words and support. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit with us so much. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  35. LillianaB

    New York City

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 27, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Was a very last minute booking. We can all honestly say this was the best food we have had so far on our journey. If you’re wondering if you should, DO IT!
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello LillianaB, Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic experience with us! Your enthusiastic recommendation means a lot to us, and we're delighted that you took the chance to give our restaurant a try. We strive to provide memorable dining experiences, and we're thrilled that we could exceed your expectations. We hope you visit us again soon! Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  36. OpenTable Diner

    Fort Lauderdale

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 25, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    We ate on Christmas Day and this restaurant was one of the few open that day. The place and the food are amazing. The Lady from Russia who attended us was nice and very attentive, sorry but I forgot her name. I recommend this restaurant
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello, Thank you for choosing our restaurant for your Christmas Day meal, and for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We are delighted our server was able to provide you with such a wonderful experience. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we're honored to have been a part of your Christmas Day. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for another delightful dining experience. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management

    Is this helpful?

  37. AliceM

    Charleston

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on December 25, 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Had not been there for awhile, and so enjoyed our dinner and time there. We had a terrific server, Chamblee C. She was attentive and not overbearing, and patient. We just wanted to relax on Christmas and enjoy our time, she "got that". Food was good, the shrimp dish was a bit spicier than anticipated for the tummy, but flavorful. We loved the churro dessert!!!!
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello AliceM, We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful dining experience with us for Christmas. It's heartening to know that Chamblee provided you with excellent service. We take pride in our team, and we're glad she was attentive. Thank you for choosing to spend your Christmas with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for more delightful experiences in the future. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  38. OpenTable Diner

    Western NC

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on December 25, 2023

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    They didn't let the customer know they already charged 20% of the tips. We tip 20%, so we gave $70 total for a tip for lunch. I can't entirely agree with their system. They should let customers know from the beginning about tips. I'm not going to go back to this place ever again.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello, Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, and we sincerely apologize for any confusion regarding the tipping process during your recent visit. Your feedback is important to us, and we regret that you had an unsatisfactory experience in this regard. We understand the importance of transparency, and we apologize for any oversight in communicating the tipping policy to you. It is not our intention to create any discomfort for our valued guests, and we appreciate your understanding of the matter. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in the future. Best regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  39. JoanB

    Charlotte

    12 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    12 reviews

    Dined on December 25, 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 3
    Food is really good. We had several menu items and all were good. Nice view. Service was slow. Slow. Kitchen was slow. Seated at a picnic table so no backs on chairs for almost two hours. Not comfortable. I’d go back only if seated somewhere else.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello JoanB, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us! Your positive comments about the flavors are greatly appreciated. However, we sincerely apologize for the challenges you experienced with the service and seating during your visit. We understand that a slow service and uncomfortable seating can significantly impact your overall dining experience, and we regret any inconvenience caused. Thank you for your understanding, and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

  40. RobertS

    Western NC

    7 reviews

    4.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on December 25, 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    A very enjoyable holiday meal! The great view from our table was well appreciated and the food was nicely prepared and pleasantly served. But, our vegan diner had the veggie burger but longed for other options.
    Hemingway's CubaResponded on January 7, 2024
    Hello RobertS, Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We appreciate your kind words about our food and service. However, we understand that our vegan diner wished for more options beyond the veggie burger. Providing a diverse and satisfying menu for all dietary preferences is important to us, and your feedback is invaluable in helping us enhance our offerings. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your holiday meal with us, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Best Regards, Hemingway's Management.

    Is this helpful?

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitizing

    • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
    • Contactless payment available
  • Physical distancing

    • Limited number of seated diners
    • Distancing maintained in common areas
    • Extra space between tables
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

FAQs

Hemingway's Cuba is rated 4.1 stars by 2613 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 4 times today
Google Map for Hemingway's Cuba

15 Page Ave, Asheville, NC 28801

Additional information

  • Cross street
    Grove Arcade
  • Neighborhood
    Asheville
  • Hours of operation
    Breakfast Mon–Thu 7:00 am–10:00 am Brunch Fri–Sun 7:00 am–1:00 pm Bar Fri–Sun 1:00 pm–4:30 pm Dinner Mon–Thu 4:30 pm–9:00 pm Fri, Sat 4:30 pm–10:00 pm Sun 4:30 pm–8:00 pm
  • Price
    $30 and under
  • Cuisines
    Cuban
  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Dress code
    Casual Dress
  • Parking details
    Valet parking available, $5 for guest of Restaurant
  • Payment options
    AMEX, Discover, Mastercard, Visa
  • Executive chef
    Kareem Ross
  • Additional
    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Indoor Fireplace, Late Night, Outdoor Firepit, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
OpenTable
  • About Us
  • Blog
  • Careers
  • Press
More
Businesses
  • Restaurant reservation software
  • Industry insights
  • Hospitality resources
  • Marketing resources
  • Operation resources
  • How to open a restaurant
  • For restaurants
  • For restaurant groups
Join us on
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
Rentalcars Logo
OpenTable Logo