Skip to Main Content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United States
  3. Kansas City / Kansas
  4. Kansas City, MO
  5. Plaza / Brookside

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City

3.8
3.8
2336 Reviews
$31 to $50
Brazilian Steakhouse

Fogo de Chao is the leading Brazilian steakhouse specializing in fire-roasting high-quality meats since 1979 utilizing the centuries-old Southern Brazilian cooking technique of churrasco. Please join us in our dining room and patio, or bring the Fogo Experience to you with Fogo To-Go, Butcher Shop or Catering for Pick-Up or Contactless Delivery. Visit www.fogo.com to make a reservation or place an order.

Make a reservation

2 people

June 2022
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
7:00 PM


Booked 76 times today
Experiences are available.
Private dining

Private dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Casual Elegant

  • Cuisines

    Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

  • Hours of operation

    Mon–Fri 11:00 am–2:00 pm Mon–Fri 5:00 pm–10:00 pm Sat, Sun 11:30 am–2:00 pm Sat 2:00 pm–10:00 pm Sun 2:00 pm–9:00 pm

  • Phone number

    (816) 931-7700

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress code

    Casual Dress

  • Private party facilities

    Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

  • Private party contact

    Rita Strickland: (816) 223-3003

  • Neighborhood

    Plaza / Brookside

  • Cross street

    Wornall Road

  • Parking details

    Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $8.00. There is also a complimentary parking garage behind Fogo de Chao, next to Houston's.

  • Additional

    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gift card

Gift card

Send gift cards instantly by email or print to present in person.

Send a gift card

Experiences

  • South v. North American Bar Fogo Event

    $39.00 per person

    Jul 28, 2022 only
    Join us for a side by side wine event featuring some of the most renowned varietals from North and South America alongside a variety of small plates from the award-winning Bar Fogo menu.

Popular dishes

What 2,336 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

3.8
3.8 based on recent ratings
  • 4.2Food
  • 3.5Service
  • 3.8Ambience
  • 3.5Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • Kansas City / Kansas

    Great for Brunch

  • Kansas City / Kansas

    Good for Groups

  • Kansas City / Kansas

    Most Booked

  • Kansas City, MO

    Great for Brunch

  • Kansas City, MO

    Good for Groups

  • Kansas City, MO

    Notable Wine List

  • Kansas City, MO

    Most Booked

Sort by

Filters

  1. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined today

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    A delayed Father’s Day dinner with my sons who were celebrating their first Father’s Day

  2. K

    Katespadegirl

    Chicago

    12 reviews

    vip
    1.0

    12 reviews

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall1food2service1ambience1

    Very poor service and selection. They somehow have tons of staff roaming the restaurant, selling drinks and making drinks on demand, but very few staff actually cooking food. We were very disappointed that no filet mignon was offered at all (they continued to offer us all the cheap cuts of meat), so we asked. And asked, and asked again....to 4 different people who all kept coming by to ask if we had everything we needed. (We also had to wait and ask multiple times for refills of the cheesy buns and mashed potatoes). They all said, "sure, what temperature would you like the filet" (we requested medium every time) but we waited a total of 45 minutes throughout all of these multiple requests...asked again....and again...getting more and more upset as time went on... Every time, they acted like it was a new request. They finally brought some out and it was completely rare...the guy said, "give me 5 more minutes to finish it off". At this point, I left the table to go outside b/c I was absolutely furious. My husband stayed, only to get our bill so we could just get out of there because we were livid. They finally brought the filet and it was absolutely charred/very well done. He took one bite and just asked for the bill. The manager overheard and did comp our meal that night (minus our alcohol--which we understood and did appreciate) but we were still so disappointed with this dining experience. We frequent upscale eateries very very often and enjoy paying good money for good food and service. We will never return to Fogo.

  3. d

    disappointeddiner

    New England

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall3food3service3ambience3

    I was disappointed by the service, particularly the meat servers. We went there early (4:30) on a Saturday and had to keep asking for the picanha, which most of our table ordered for the “select cut” option. Servers kept bringing around plenty of chicken options for those in our table who opted for the churrasco experience but not enough beef. After being there for close to 1.5 hours, we ran out of time before our next appointment so had to rush out after a few bites. If I had this experience around 6/7pm, then I can understand. But not seeing enough beef go around at a steak place was really disappointing, especially for my out-of-town guests who opted for the churrasco. For a table of 7, I also expected our server to come around more often. It seemed like they were understaffed; I had to flag down other servers to get us more meat & other things. Some of the meats were also pretty dry, which was surprising given that dinner service was just starting. The picanhas that came out near the end of our meal were good.

  4. J

    Jason

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall3food5service2ambience4

    The food was amazing, and the staff was so kind. We simply had some issues with delays waiting for service after being seated and delays with our beverages arriving at the end of our meal due to the number of tables assigned to our Server that made the experience feel a bit more rushed that previous visits and less of a premium experience.

  5. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall2food3service2ambience1

    Understaffed. Unclean. Not a good value. Wont be back.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded 3 days ago

    This is concerning to read, as providing our guests with attentive service and quality cuts is always our goal. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  6. KC

    KCKim

    Kansas City

    18 reviews

    4.0

    18 reviews

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall4food5service4ambience4

    Good food. Fun dining experience.

  7. TS

    TimothyS

    Kansas City

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 6 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    My wife and I dined at Fogo de Chao yesterday during the Lunch period. The Market table included a variety of vegetable, salad, charcuterie and cheeses. There was also a side table with black beans and sausage, rice and bread. The vegetables were a great compliment to the roasted meats that were served. We both had servings of beef, chicken, pork and roasted cheese. The staff were attentive and helpful. This was our "Father's Day" meal. We both enjoyed experience and will do so again.

  8. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Kansas City

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience4

    We came to celebrate Father’s Day. It was crazy busy and considering how busy it was, the wait wasn’t so bad. We did make a reservation and was seated 30 min after. We didn’t get to try all the meat they were offering. If you are wanting a specific meat to try, let your server know and they will have them stop by your table. We definitely have to come again when it’s not a holiday.

  9. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall3food3service2ambience2

    This was my husband’s Father’s Day choice. We made reservations for 4 over a week in advance for 6pm. Our reservations were accepted for the time we chose, and we were prompted to confirm three times in the 24-hour period leading up to our dinner. We arrived 15 minutes early, full party present, and it took a full hour and fifteen minutes to be seated. Once seated, the dining room was mayhem, we wound up with eight place settings for our table for four…there was silverware everywhere! The service was slow..and they were out of everything. Half of the items of the buffet were empty. There were no menus - just a piece of paper with a QR code for access to a menu on a smartphone. Too hard to read. When you are going to present a party with a bill over $400, supply a menu!! We felt like cattle herded through. There was really no service - we felt like our waiter forgot about us at one point. Once seated, our dining experience lasted two and a half hours because we couldn’t get anyone’s attention to clear plates, take a dessert order, or bring a check. The bill was outrageous for what amounted to a plate of vegetable items and a small medallion of meat. Some people just love this place. If this is your thing, enjoy. We won’t be going back. It was OK, but not a good value or experience for the $.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded 4 days ago

    Letting you down during your Father's Day celebration was never our intention, and truly apologize for being extra busy. We hope for a chance to make things right and ask that you reach out to us directly. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  10. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall1food2service1ambience1

    We waited at our table for 30 minutes before anyone took our drink order, and this was after we flagged down a host and 2 different people bussing tables to see if we had a server. We waited 45 minutes before we were ever offered any meat. The sides on the bar were below average. My husband and I both worked in the restaurant industry in college so we are very forgiving and understanding, but this service was not good. I asked 3 different people for a refill on my drink and never did get it. We ordered dessert from 3 different people before finally getting it.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded 4 days ago

    We hold ourselves to incredibly high standards of service, and it is disheartening that we fell short of them for you and your husband. We appreciate your patience and support, but every guest should leave feeling happy with their meals. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Best Regards.

  11. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall4food4service4ambience4

    La comida no muy buena esta ocasión

  12. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall2food3service1ambience3

    Salad bar was very messy and bowls/platters were empty. Gauchos would not offer meats. The place as busy and the problems probably stem from understaffing.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded 4 days ago

    Our Market Table should always be cleaned and stocked with delicious ingredients, so know that your feedback will definitely help us improve. Please consider returning, as we would love the chance to make this up to you. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  13. PF

    PatriciaF

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall3food4service3ambience4

    It is a nice idea but not worth the value. It is too expensive .. service was fine. I would recommend this for the uniqueness of the experience to those I think could afford it but that's not many.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded 4 days ago

    We are saddened to read your feedback, as we always want our guests to find value in our delicious and quality cuts. Your feedback will help us to improve, and we hope you will give us another chance to ensure your satisfaction, Patricia. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  14. T

    Troutb3md

    Kansas City

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on June 19, 2022

    overall4food4service2ambience3

    Very busy, staff was overwhelmed. Food was good, but due to the nature of the restaurant, with the food making its way through the tables, options were more limited than normal, and delays were frequent. At a flat rate per meal, this reduced the usual value.

  15. DD

    DanD

    Kansas City

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 17, 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience1

    (4) of us we seated waited 15 minutes no water with salad sides were cold 30 minutes no meat or any one came by I mentioned it to our waiter that we did not receive any drinks or meat 40 minutes later still nothing So we got up and left

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded 6 days ago

    We'd like to gather more details about your visit, Dan, as we strive to provide our guests with prompt and attentive service. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  16. J

    Jessica

    Tulsa

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on June 17, 2022

    overall3food1service5ambience4

    We drive into Kansas for an anniversary (12 years) get away with our kiddo. We made the RSVP because we also had it for our 1st anniversary and thought it would be just as great. Our server was great, so my complaints are not on him. After being there for over 30 minutes we had 2 meat selections come by… the table next to us said that was how their evening had been as well and none of the good cuts had made a stop. The meats honestly had no flavor at all, after about an hour we were just ready to go and didn’t want to try to wait any longer for more meats, I think I got 5 small pieces (partly my fault as I said small when they were cutting so I could make sure to try all I wanted) In the end spending $180 for a meal that was mediocre at best was not ideal! We could have easily had a great steakhouse dinner for that and not be crammed next to every table hearing everyone’s conversations. Sadly I do not think we will return to any Fogos (or Brazilian steakhouses) after this one.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded 6 days ago

    We can assure you that we take your feedback very seriously, Jessica, as you and your party should have been able to try all of the various cuts. Our team would be grateful for another chance to impress you. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  17. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Kansas City

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 11, 2022

    overall3food4service3ambience4

    Server was very pushy trying to upsell everything prior to even taking drink orders. Food rotations were mostly chicken legs and pork chops. However, salad bar was very good. The beef and veal was very good as well.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded on June 13, 2022

    Not meeting your expectations is upsetting to hear, as this is never our hope. Your feedback will be reviewed, and please consider giving us another chance in the future. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  18. HF

    HawaiianFlavor

    Kansas City

    27 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    27 reviews

    Dined on June 10, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    We attended the Prisoner Wine Dinner on 6/9/22, and it was fabulous! We enjoyed a 4-course meal with wine pairings. We learned so much we never knew about Prisoner wines, and we also were treated to menu items we'd never before experienced at Fogo. All of the staff were extremely attentive and welcoming. If they offer another wine dinner in the future, we will definitely be there. I highly recommend the experience!

  19. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Denver

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 1, 2022

    overall5food4service2ambience4

    I have been to Fogo several times before and this was just an off night. The servers were very slow on everything. Drinks, meat, sides, it was painfully slow. They had plenty of staff but were too busy standing around and talking than hustling. It was disappointing.

  20. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Kansas City

    1 review

    vip
    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 31, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Very friendly staff. Restaurant is very clean. Salad bar is always stocked and very tasty. I only eat the salad bar but the person I was with had the full experience and he said all of it was very good.

  21. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    San Francisco

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 30, 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience1

    100% serious, worst dinner of my life time. Sides? Never came (except the bread), meat tasted like pure rubber. I asked for picanha when I sat down, didn’t come for 40 min but dozens of chicken offers. When it came, it had no fat on it. I asked if I can get it with the fat like every Fogo or texas de Brazil across the nation. Waiter said no the meat comes this way, no other options. I have been there many times so I knew that wasn’t true as I was always able to get a better cut before. Still no sides. Ribeye came, I said I’d try it. Was decent to be fair but I went there for the picanha. Another waiter is asking me then if I’m waiting for something. I said yes, still the picanha. A few min later the guy with the ribeye came back and threw (without asking) more ribeye on my plate. I had not asked or wanted more ribeye. My relatives from texas came in, who know texas de Brazil in Fort Worth very well. I had been trying to keep a straight face until then. But even they started to say, this is the worst experience and worst meat they had tasted. I was embarrassed at that point. As a former regular customer I wanted to enjoy the picanha with them like it should be served and is served at other locations. After another waiter said they threw more picanha on the grill, I thought ok let’s try it again. At this point, we were there 1 hour, still no sides like mashed potatoes or bananas arrived. Picanha came… no fat… tasting like rubber. I asked for who the manager on duty was and the waiter literally shrugged his shoulders. I asked if that meant they don’t even know who the manager that evening was. He said something like I don’t know/don’t have one, something like that. I asked for the check and will never return. I have never left a negative review on anything before but this was so bad and embarrassing. There are more details but not enough space for everything. I will never even attempt to go back to this Fogo location.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded on June 1, 2022

    We are disappointed to read your review, as our team works hard to ensure our guests experience the quality service they deserve. Please know that we care deeply for the opinion of our guests and hope to have another chance to make things right. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  22. JG

    JimG

    Kansas City

    20 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    20 reviews

    Dined on May 30, 2022

    overall5food5service4ambience5

    Took the wife to use a gift card we had for 6 years!

  23. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Kansas City

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 28, 2022

    overall4food5service3ambience5

    The food was fantastic as usual, though for the past few years, it seems like the level of service has flagged. This particular time, we had to flag someone down for water three times, the waiter didn't really know anything about wine, and there didn't seem to be many guys bringing around the meat. There was at least one of them that was friendly and he made up for the experience a lot, and he made sure that we had offerings after the initial trip past our table. I wish I had his name so I could build it up here.

  24. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Fayetteville

    8 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on May 28, 2022

    overall2food4service2ambience3

    A big show of service and class, but when it came to bringing things we asked for, even asking 4 different people for them, things failed to arrive, or finally arrived when they'd obviously been available for a long while, and no one bothered to bring them around to us (overdone and dried out meats). Salad bar is still delicious. But even that had several empty trays. If that was the only problem, I'd be more understanding, but service was just a hot mess (except the bussers, who were working hard and being conscientious). And charging another $4 for a refill on a small cup of decaf drip coffee is just tacky.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded on June 2, 2022

    It is disappointing to learn we didn't earn your complete satisfaction, Catherine. We hope to exceed your expectations during your next visit. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  25. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Kansas City

    2 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on May 26, 2022

    overall2food3service1ambience3

    Goodness. Had to give myself some time to cool down before I wrote this review. We went on 5/25/22 to celebrate my boyfriend’s birthday with our good friends. Fogo has historically been a place we go to celebrate special occasions because we know the food will be tasty, plentiful, and the service will be outstanding. Unfortunately, our latest visit there was anything but this. We were seated promptly at our reservation time at 7, we noticed the dining room was not busy at all. It took 15 minutes for someone to ask us “have you been helped yet”? We ordered our drinks, food, and a side of fries. The drinks showed up half way through dinner, the fries showed up after we turned our meat indicator to red because we were full by that point. We never got our waters refilled. There were multiple times we were looking around for the servers with the meat to find no one on the dinning room floor. At one point we timed it and it was 8 minutes without a worker serving up the meat. The servers that did come out cycled the same cheaper cuts of meat and only at the end brought out the nicer cuts of beef. This experience was in stark contrast to the other experiences we have had at Fogo and frankly was a huge disappointment that we chose this place to celebrate a milestone birthday. The service was horrible. Not sure if it was just an off night, if we never had a server assigned to us, or what the issue was that night. Will definitely think twice before paying for such a pricey meal for such terrible service in the future.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded on June 3, 2022

    We always love celebrating special occasions here at Fogo and are disappointed to learn we fell short during your boyfriend's birthday. Please know that we take your comments seriously, and we encourage you to give us another chance. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  26. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Kansas City

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 22, 2022

    overall1food4service1ambience3

    Second time in a row there that service has went downhill and gotten worse both times. First time was a very rude hostess. This last time it was the overall service. Meats were few and far between first hour we had maybe 4 meats that stopped by our table. Yet the table to right of us in 30 minutes a server stopped by them 7 times and over the course of the hour they were served 11 times to our 4. The waiter if he did not give all the meat he had to that table of 4 he skipped our table and went straight to another table to the right of us. It took us nearly 20 minutes to get someone to refill our glasses. We complained to some gentleman about the lack of service and he said that would be corrected immediately. While they have ear pieces he spent the next 20 minutes taking to other tables. About a hour and a half in we had a total of 7 meats come our way. By this time my party was done they are more of the very limited salad bar and then we left. Overall we paid 200 dollars to eat a salad bar. Not worth the money and staff didn’t seem to care we were unhappy with the service. As much as we loved fogo I doubt we will be back now. For the price we paid for essentially a salad bar with a few slices of mixed meat thrown in we could have had great steak dinners elsewhere in KC for the same price. If you think my complaint is one off, take a look at their reviews over the past 9-12 months. It is full of bad reviews for poor service.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded on May 24, 2022

    We are sorry to read that you had to wait longer than usual for your cuts and your drinks. We always aim to give every guest an exceptional experience and we apologize that you did not receive that. We hope you will give us another chance to make it up to you. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Best.

  27. CN

    CNDAStJ

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 22, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Made reservation but had to wait a tad bite longer to be seated. Food was good, loved atmosphere, service was good, nothing bad to say.

  28. SC

    SamuelC

    Central Coast

    5 reviews

    4.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on May 22, 2022

    overall4food5service4ambience4

    Staff had some trouble dealing with the Saturday night crowd. Overall though it was still a good experience.

  29. SM

    SilkeM

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 21, 2022

    overall1food3service1ambience1

    So disappointed, had reservations for 1915 took 30 min to get a table. No waiter to serve us. Drinks never came , Mahi Mahi never showed. Our hostess/waitress was busy with the other tables. No refills on drinks( water). Had to flag someone else down to get our bill. $200 for food with zero service. Will not be back and will not recommend to others.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded on May 23, 2022

    We apologize for the delay, as we take reservations seriously. Our team should always be circulating to ensure you have everything you need. Your feedback will be reviewed, and please consider giving us another chance in the future. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  30. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Kansas City

    2 reviews

    1.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on May 15, 2022

    overall1food3service1ambience2

    Went with party of 5 for graduation dinner. Bathrooms filthy Salad bar not stocked and way less gourmet than it used to be. Asked 5 times to get some beef filet… got it 10 minutes before we wanted to leave. You can look around the restaurant and not see a single guacho server in the entire dining room. Had a server with two weeks experience as a server. Sorry but last time I will be going. I give the KC Fogo about a year left. Very sad. It was my go to celebration place.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded on May 17, 2022

    We are saddened to learn we may no longer be your go-to place for celebrations. Our guests deserve nothing short of attentive service and a wonderful atmosphere. Your feedback will help us to make improvements where needed. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  31. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Kansas City

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 15, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Buen servicio en especial agradeciendo a Sergio que hace que sea mucho mejor el servicio.

  32. TG

    TGully

    St. Louis

    9 reviews

    3.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on May 15, 2022

    overall3food2service2ambience3

    Made reservations for daughter’s college graduation dinner several days before event through Open Table. Even showed up (from out of town) 2 hours before scheduled reservation to ensure all was well and no hiccups. Returned to the restaurant 15 min before scheduled time, was told our tables were being set up, but were not seated until 30 min after our scheduled time. No server approached our table for at least 20 minutes and when someone finally did, she shared that she was not assigned to us but would help us anyway 😳. Went without water, straws and other table needs for well over 45 minutes. Our first time eating there and the explanation as to how the menu and food options were set up was minimal and confusing despite our repeated questions. Spoke to manager who worked to improve our experience and while she was helpful, 2 people still did not receive their meals. We were somewhat compensated but still ended up paying for an experience we did not enjoy. It may have been memorable but not enjoyable.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded on May 17, 2022

    We apologize for the extended wait time, as we never want to inconvenience our guests. Our team strives to provide prompt service and we will be addressing this we our staff to ensure your next visit exceeds your expectations. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  33. SJ

    SandraJ

    Kansas City

    8 reviews

    3.0

    8 reviews

    Dined on May 15, 2022

    overall3food4service2ambience2

    We have been to this location on the plaza many times, but this time did not meet our expectations of our previous visits. Our server, Natalia greeted us and took our drink orders. While we received part of the drink order; we did not receive the remaining. We asked several times about the order, including the involvement of other servers. Finally after about 5 times (re-ordering our drink with another server), another partial drink order came. One member in our party never did receive his drink order. (None of our drink orders included alcohol). Unfortunately we never saw our server Natalia again. We pray that all things were well with her, but we never found out what happened to her. In the end another server, Simone took charge in serving us and rendering the bill. She was very kind and nice to us. The food was good, although there wasn't a lot of choices on the 'market place salad bar'.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded on May 17, 2022

    Sandra, we are disappointed to learn we did not meet your expectations, as we take pride in serving meals that leave our guests completely satisfied. We would appreciate the chance to address your dissatisfaction, as your opinion of us means everything. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  34. OT

    OpenTableDiner

    Kansas City

    15 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    15 reviews

    Dined on May 15, 2022

    overall2food2service1ambience2

    Our first time here last October was less than stellar - food was okay, service slow and inattentive. We decided today to try again today (Sun. for lunch for four people. When we arrived at 12:30, there were very few diners. But shortly after that, the place filled quickly. Our waiter checked in with us initially while we were waiting for the other two diners to arrive. However, after the others arrived at 12:30, and after waiting/trying to capture his attention across the room for about 15 minutes to place our drink and food orders, we had to flag him down. We said we all wanted to order the lunch bar plus one meat side, which, although the website said that order was permitted, he said no, it was "only the brunch menu or the full experience" today. Dismayed at the web misinformation, two of us decided on brunch, and the other two for the full experience. The brunch bar was really disappointing. Really not more than a std lunch bar yet more than twice the published web price. When we first visited the hot bar, there was one wait staff preparing waffles and a line. No omelets. By the time we gathered our salads, the omelet/waffle table was abandoned. The rest of the hot bar promised as part of the brunch was out of sausage and candied bacon. The soup was missing a ladle! The potato/rib hash(?) looked like it had been on the warmer too long. While the salads on the bar overall were varied and fresh, it could have used more frequent re-stocking. We ordered four cocktails, but only got two and had to once again chase down wait staff to get two more, which took another 10 minutes after we already had our food. The meats offered did not contain any lamb and only pork sausage, a bit of sirloin and chicken. Nothing spectacular. We did not know, until checking their online menu after we left, that the "experience" AND "the brunch" were stated to offer us cheese bread, polenta, mashed potatoes and carmelized bananas. We got NONE of that! Total: $210! We won't be back.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded on May 17, 2022

    It's disappointing to learn we didn't earn your complete satisfaction, especially after the wonderful experience you received last time. We appreciate you taking a moment to share your feedback, as our team always wants to improve for our guests. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  35. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Kansas City

    3 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on May 15, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Fantastic service, incredible food. Things were a little slow due to staffing and high volume, but we had an incredible time regardless.

  36. J

    Jake

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 15, 2022

    overall3food5service2ambience4

    Food and the server were great. We made a reservation for 7:30pm and weren’t seated until 8pm. We had to ask the hostess who was by herself two separate times if our reservation was ready. I realize this isn’t the hostess problem but where was the management/support? Our server was great and the food improved the experience. I Would probably come back but not on a weekend, because it was organized chaos.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded on May 17, 2022

    Jake, we appreciate you taking a moment to share your honest feedback with us, as this allows us to better serve our guests moving forward. We look forward to earning your five-stars during your next visit with us. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  37. AA

    AdrianA

    Tulsa

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 14, 2022

    overall3food4service1ambience2

    Kansas City location: Worst service we have ever received at this location. It was as if they considered us irrelevant from the beginning. The first out of the maybe 3 waiters/waitresses we had didn’t even bring us water. Ordered drinks took a good 20+ minutes to get to us. Every time we were waited on was due to me flagging someone down, not the staff doing their job. As custom, my family always tips minimum 15 percent, which I did but was very hesitant to. 15% today was incredibly generous.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded on May 16, 2022

    Attentive service is important, Adrian, and we deeply apologize for falling short of your expectations. We hope to restore your confidence in our location, so please consider returning in the near future. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  38. MM

    MarlinM

    Kansas City

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 13, 2022

    overall2food1service2ambience2

    This was the first time that I have ever left a Brazilian Steakhouse still hungry. At first, all they brought out was over cooked meat. Beef was all very well done. Chicken was also over cooked as was the pork. We asked for the servers to bring some stuff that was in the medium rare range. We waited nearly 30 minutes before anyone brought anything out, let alone anything properly cooked. The stuff that was brought out had little to no taste. We had one server get us a piece of beef finally that was not over done. We each got one sliver and then we never saw anyone bring anything out again. I stuck my green flag to my forehead for about 10 minutes just to see if anyone would try to bring us anything at all. They did not. We eventually gave up on being served anymore meat.

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded on May 16, 2022

    Marlin, we love to deliver our guests consistently great experiences, so we're sorry we missed the mark. We would appreciate the chance to invite you back for the quality experience you deserve. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

  39. S

    Shanhun

    Kansas City

    11 reviews

    4.0

    11 reviews

    Dined on May 13, 2022

    overall4food5service4ambience5

    Fogo had their summer dishes on the market table and it was the best I’ve had there in years. I only had the market table and they had so many vegetables, salads, and other Cuban dishes, there was barely enough room to put them all. Excellent! Hubby had the full experience and although the meat was also excellent, he had to wait a long time for the meat to come around. They asked at the beginning of our meal what he preferred and he said he really wanted lamb chops. They passed around mostly chicken. Not a lot of red meat and no lamb. We were ready to go when they finally brought them out. He didn’t complain because it’s such good quality.

  40. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Kansas City

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 11, 2022

    overall1food5service1ambience4

    Service was very slow we were not offered all the meats that were on the menu. The ticket was all wrong - our server was nice I just don’t think the restaurant is run well!

    Fogo de Chao - Kansas CityResponded on May 13, 2022

    We apologize for the extended wait time, as we never want to inconvenience our guests. Our team strives to provide prompt service and should always be circulating to ensure you have everything you need. Since we cannot include our direct contact information in our replies per OpenTable policies, please feel free to get in touch with the management team by calling the restaurant directly to discuss your experience further. Thank you.

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitizing

    • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
    • Contactless payment available
  • Physical distancing

    • Limited number of seated diners
    • Distancing maintained in common areas
    • Extra space between tables
  • Protective equipment

    • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
    • Staff temperature check required

FAQs

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (816) 931-7700.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City is rated 3.8 stars by 2336 OpenTable diners.

Fogo de Chao - Kansas City does offer gift cards which you can purchase here.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

June 2022
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
7:00 PM


Booked 76 times today
Experiences are available.
Google Map for Fogo de Chao - Kansas City

222 W. 47th Street Kansas City, MO 64112

Additional information

  • Cross street

    Wornall Road

  • Neighborhood

    Plaza / Brookside

  • Hours of operation

    Mon–Fri 11:00 am–2:00 pm Mon–Fri 5:00 pm–10:00 pm Sat, Sun 11:30 am–2:00 pm Sat 2:00 pm–10:00 pm Sun 2:00 pm–9:00 pm

  • Cuisines

    Brazilian Steakhouse, Steakhouse, South American

  • Dining style

    Casual Elegant

  • Dress code

    Casual Dress

  • Parking details

    Valet parking is available during dinner hours for $8.00. There is also a complimentary parking garage behind Fogo de Chao, next to Houston's.

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

  • Additional

    Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

  • Phone number

    (816) 931-7700

  • Private party facilities

    Invite your guests to a truly unique group dining experience! Whether for private dining rooms, or to interact in our main dining areas, Fogo de Chão® is the perfect location for parties of 15 to 110

  • Private party contact

    Rita Strickland: (816) 223-3003

Gift card

Gift card

Send gift cards instantly by email or print to present in person.

Send a gift card
Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo