Eldridge House Grille
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Waitstaff wear masks
It was incredibly loud, service was slow and lacking energy. Food was cold and not as good as I was expecting. Overall, very disappointed. It had been a few years since we've been here, and definitely not as good as we remembered.
Anjie, we apologize you didn't get to experience the exceptional service that we strive to provide at the Eldridge, there is no excuse as to why you didn't receive the service you were expecting. We definitely appreciate your feedback, and hope that you will give us another chance to exhibit the exemplary service that our staff is trained to give. Let one of the managers know if you have another visit at the Historic Eldridge, and we will guarantee the fine dining experience we're known for.
it was a great experience! Initially, only expected 2 people to come but some friends joined and they were so accommodating! Really great place for good food and awesome cocktails
Great food and service... perfect steak.
Awesome pretzel board...
The food was fabulous and the service was as amazing!
The waitress came by and collected our dirty plates and put them on her server tray that contained another tables desert order. She then proceeded to their table, with our dirty dishes, and served them the desert. So ya, we don’t plan to return. Food was fine, mediocre, but not good enough to give us a reason to return.
Drew was an amazing server. Friendly, funny & attentive. Very nice young man. Food was amazing.
We had a wonderful experience!!!. Amazing steaks the ribeye was one of the best ribeyes I've ever had. My wife enjoyed the Salmon. Definitely recommend!
Went there for our 36th Anniversary. Everything was fantastic. Happy Hour drinks were excellent, Hosts and our server, Jake were attentive and made the entire evening a memorable celebration. All the dinners were cooked to order and appetizers were delicious. We definitely plan on eating there again. Thank you!
Terrible experience. We were told after we were seated that our dinner would be 35 minutes late and an hour and 20 minutes later our food finally came. We were told it was a shortage of staff. Server was mortified but there was little she could do. Not up to the Eldridge’s standards. Food was average too. They were out of mashed potatoes, we were told an hour after ordering and instead of sausage, we were brought ham.
Beautiful space- seemed short staffed. They did seat us right away even though we were a bit early. Above average hotel fare. The menu has something for everyone.
Changed some menu items and recipes.( Brussel sprouts changed) Sides were not hot (I. E. Mashed potatoes were cold)
DREW was a great server. He was super!!
Parents weekend at KU. We’ve been to Eldridge House before, always good food, great cocktails, love the ambiance, but loud in the bar area last night.
We have really enjoyed Eldridge Grill in the past but have not been there in the last month. It has a really nice atmosphere since the renovation. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. We invited friends from KC to join us. It was disappointing to see the changes in the menu. It’s pared down significantly with serving size reduced and prices seemed higher. The only sandwich options are 2 different burgers. The pork chop was fine but not exceptional. The Brussel sprouts appetizer was good but more the size of a side dish. I hope they will consider adding to the menu. Perhaps some of the popular items from before…. There are lots of choices when eating out in Lawrence . The changes don’t seem to be for the better.
Thank you for letting us know of your experience you had on your last visit. We have changed a few things on the menu based on item availability at this time, and frequency of the items ordered. We're sorry to hear that you may have missed a few of the dishes that were originally on the menu, but we'd love to invite you to come back and try some of the new specials that our Chef has to offer. Please feel free to respond about coming back for a visit, and thanks for your feedback!
Went to the Eldridge House Grille for date night and it did NOT disappoint. The food, service, ambiance was perfect. We had the best time and Lawrence was alive with all the good vibes of a college town.
Service and food prep was very slow. Some of the dishes weren’t prepared as well as you’d expect.
Food was bland. Drinks were good. Service was mediocre.
Great meal for our group and our waitress was fantastic!
Father’s Day Dinner
Masks are not required if you have been vaccinated for Covid. Service is good and martini special is great Sunday through Thursday.
Food was a bit disappointing. Portions were very small. Fish was over cooked. Vegetables and potatoes were cold. Others in our party felt same. Server was pleasant but overall service a bit slow at times.
Really disappointed in this restaurant. It was KU graduation weekend, and they turned what can be an elegant restaurant into a banquet hall. They placed tables in a room with no carpet or window treatments, so you couldn't hear anyone. We had to scream across the table - and we were only a table of 5. Plus, they had greatly limited their menu, which we weren't told ahead of time, and had eliminated many of their specialties. Lastly, we had to send food back because potatoes and vegetables were cold. For over $300, we expect a better experience. The server really tried to improve the situation, and we appreciated his effort. However, we wouldn't go here again.
Had reservation for 8 for 2 months. Got put in corner table/booth in bar. Was disappointing for a nice spect occasion. Also limited menu.
Their website advertised an "Elegant" Restaurant with an "Extensive" Menu' The menu on the website was indeed extensive and had many enticing choices. The menu we received at the restaurant was far less extensive' As far as elegance, the décor was lovely and the setting was very nice HOWEVER, the acoustics were such that it was uncomfortably noisy. It was like being in a grade school cafeteria. You could hear and understand conversations on the other side of the dining room. Additionally, the wait staff was dressed in checkered shirts and denim pants. When I think of "elegance" and a bill of over $100' I expect a little more formal setting.
As far as the food, the menu was very limited. The main dishes were excellent but the sides and my wife's coffee were less than stellar
It was a wonderful time! Everyone was very pleased.
Nice venue, really attentive service. Great place on Mass to have a family gathering.
We had reservations at 12:30 and the gracious hostess seated us on time in a room off the regular dining area. We were greeted by our waitress, who brought 2 menus for 4 people. We ordered coffee which was delivered promptly. After that, things went drastically downhill. The waitress did not return so I went to get her. We order from the brunch menu, which was more limited than the regular lunch menu. Three of us ordered veggie eggs Benedict which was described as having spinach, avocado, mushroom, tomato and green peppers as the included vegetables. The fourth person ordered pancakes. We had not received our food, it was close to 2 pm, which was a full hour and a half from our arrival time. I again went to find our waitress, and she said the kitchen was about an hour behind. She then brought our food out soon after our talk. The pancake dish was cold and rubbery, the veggie egg Benedict dishes were lukewarm and did not have avocado, or tomato. They had only a small amount of spinach and one mushroom. When we mentioned the lack of items to the waitress, she said those vegetables were no longer included on the entrees. She had never refilled our coffees and only once brought water to the table. This was our first in restaurant outing since the beginning of the pandemic over a year ago. We were very disappointed as we chose the Eldridge House Grill thinking it was a reputable restaurant. The food was less than mediocre and the service poor.
Despite the fact we made reservations for Saturday brunch, the hostess seemed frazzled with steady influx of customers and we were not seated until 30 minutes after our time. Food was very good, and once seated, our waitstaff was very attentive. However, the combination of bad acoustics (no sound absorbing materials, marble floors), the din of other diners being amplified, and then the additional feature of music played overhead loudly diminished greatly from what could have been a fine experience in a lovely setting.
It was a pleasant experience. Overall good experience.
Good was great. Service was so-so. One of our parties didn't ever get his food. We talked to the server and he made some excuses. Our server never came again until he had to collect our money. We spoke to an Asst. manager and he comp'd the food we didn't receive and we left. I still like the food, I think they were so short-handed and it was a very busy night. We will go back again, just not with the party who got no food as he will never go back. Please serve more fish Items. Halibut and Salmon are not enough! You use to have daily specials and we would always call to see what specials you had. As a result, we used to eat much more at this restaurant than now. Learn from your mistakes.
There was one server for our dining area and she had four tables when we arrived at lunch time, so service was slow. The hostess was also tended the bar. She also bussed tables which was nice to see.
The adult beverages were very good and the food was very good also with nice portions. We haven't visited the Eldrigde since before Covid and were pleasantly suprized. We will be back soon.
Great place to meet with friends for lunch and have a conversation. It was not noisy but also not busy at the time. Food is very good and reasonably priced; a little sparse on choices but a variety of burgers and salads are available. Service was excellent.
Really delish chicken marsala and caesar salad. Service was very professional and attentive.
Great date night
Valentines Day. Not thrilled with the temporary dining room we were sat in but understood the restaurants necessity for the additional space. Overall okay experience but nothing special.
Service was great. Food outstanding. Made an enjoyable environment to celebrate my son’s 22nd birthday!
Terrible service and the brunch was cold once we received our order.
While we were very excited upon arrival to have such a great table, we were quickly disappointed. Our waiter was not happy to be serving us. The drinks took over 20 minutes to come. Once they did, we were informed that the two beers we wanted on tap were "tapped out" so we ordered bottles. Then when they took another 10 minutes to come, we were told they ran out and had to go downstairs to restock! On Valentine's weekend you think they would have been more prepared. Our food came about 1 minute after our appetizers were cleared. Food was acceptable but not great for $$$. Then took forever to get our check. Overall, will not return and they really need to ask when you leave if your service was acceptable, as we would have shared this with them in person. Now I have to do this online.
My wife's steak wad over cooked but the manager was quick to get her another one. Then they gave us a free desert, and in today's world, that is huge.
We love brunch here but were 4 minutes late for the 2 pm cut off so had to get lunch instead. Food was good but they do brunch better. And I was a little surprised they wouldn't let us get brunch since it was not crowded and we were so close to cut off.
Eldridge House Grille offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (785) 749-1005.
Eldridge House Grille is rated 4.3 stars by 171 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.