Ekte Nordic Kitchen

4.4
459 Reviews
£26 to £40
Nordic
Ekte, meaning genuine or real in Norwegian, offers a varied Nordic menu, overseen by Swedish-born Head Chef Robin Freeman. The Scandinavian-influenced Restaurant and Café is open daily throughout the day for both eat-in or take away, with changing menus from breakfast through lunch and dinner.
Ekte strives to be sensitive to the environment and to create minimal waste by acting responsibly with its carefully sourced recyclable, bio-degradable and reusable packaging for its take away food and drink offer

Support Ekte Nordic Kitchen during COVID-19

Experiences

  • 3 Course Nordic Menu for £25pp

    £25.00 per person

    Multiple dates available

    Take your taste-buds on a culinary adventure! Join us at Ekte Nordic Kitchen for a 3 course Nordic-inspired feast for just £25pp. Served Tuesday-Sunday all-day from 11:30am until close. (Psst... don't forget you can add on 2 hours of bottomless fizz every weekend!)
  • Weekend Nordic Set Menu (+ bottomless fizz)

    £25.00 per person

    Multiple dates available

    Every weekend, enjoy a Nordic 3 course set menu with 2 hours of bottomless booze at Ekte Nordic Kitchen! Ideally situated along the glossy Bloomberg Arcade, Ekte is the perfect city spot for all-day dining, either inside the open-plan restaurant or outside on the garden-themed terrace (foliage galore!) Weekend Bottomless Menu includes 3 course Nordic Set Menu + 2 hours of bottomless booze Nordic Set Menu only | £25pp + Prosecco | £45pp or Champagne Deutz | £65pp (Bottomless is poured between 11:30am-3pm)

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 459 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
t
tadpole
London
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience2

This was the worst meal I have had. It was my 50th birthday and was absolutely devastated with the quality of the food. The crayfish was dripping with water where evidently kept in ice water served whole with very little meat max 1cm in each. The offer to compensate was to remove the DISCRENTIONARY service charge. Totally unacceptable. We left before the dessert and went to another restaurant caravan who were absolutely lovely

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded 2 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave Ekte a review. I'm so sorry to hear that you were left feeling disappointed following your visit. We take all feedback we receive very seriously and would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss your visit with you in more detail, so we can do all we can to make things right for you and rectify the situation. If you're willing to get in touch with our team and talk further, please contact alex@jessen.co.uk. All the best, The Ekte Team

Report
DW
DianeW
London
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I didn’t give 5 stars but it’s def a 4 and a half.
Everything was lovely. Food service ambiance.
Just wished they’d been some nice desert wine on the menu. To have with my delicious cheese.
But apart from that I can’t wait to go back ASAP.

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded 2 days ago

Good morning Diane, Thank you for leaving us a review of Ekte - great to hear you enjoyed our Nordic-inspired food offering and the ambience lived up to expectations! Other than our Scandi Cold Hand winery products - Feminam Apple Desert Wine, Prunus cherry wine (inspired by port), we also have Sauternes and Taylor’s fine Tawny Port. However, we have taken your comments on board and will be sure to look into some more delicious alternatives for the future! Wishing you all the best, Ekte

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 14, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Amazing food

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded 2 days ago

Hi there, Thrilled to hear you enjoyed our Nordic-inspired food offering at Ekte! Wishing you all the best and we hope to see you back at Ekte very soon!

Report
EM
EleanorM
1 review
Dined on September 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was delicious, I am a fussy eater but cleared my plate and had dessert also. It was the perfect restaurant for our business lunch and I am glad we booked as the tables quickly filled up.

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on September 13, 2021

Good afternoon Eleanor, Thank you for your wonderful review of Ekte Nordic Kitchen - absolutely thrilled to hear our dishes were a hit! Being situated along the Bloomberg Arcade in Bank means we're a top city spot for all kinds of dining. We hope to see you again at Ekte - hopefully soon! Wishing you all the best and a wonderful week. Ekte Team

Report
PJ
PhilipJ
London
6 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2021
Overall4food3service3ambience3

The food is good or very good (portions not very big but fine). Overall, a very nice venue and, if the weather is warm enough, you can sit outside (covered galleria). I recommend it.

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on September 13, 2021

Hey there Philip, We really appreciate you taking the time to leave Ekte a shining review. I will be sure to share your comments with our kitchen. Situated along the Bloomberg Arcade, our street-side terrace is a top spot for watching the world go by and can be enjoyed both during the summer months and winter - as we're always fully equipped with snug blankets and toasty heaters! We hope to see you again very soon :) All the best, Ekte Team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Going there often in the last months and the service is absolutely amazing, the food is delicious and I will go again and again

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on September 13, 2021

Hello there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review! We are over the moon to hear you enjoyed both the food and the service provided by our hardworking team. I'll be sure to share these comments with our team at Ekte. We can't wait to see you again at our Nordic restaurant for a bite to eat and tipple or two! All the best, Ekte Team

Report
AA
AmandaA
Dubai
1 review
Dined on September 2, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

The service was fantastic and the food is amazing, probably the best meatballs I have had in London. The restaurant itself has a great ambiance, highly recommend

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on September 13, 2021

Hello Amanda, Thrilled to hear our Danish Frikadeller meatballs with pickled cucumber, lingonberries and creamy buttery mash were a hit and that they were the best meatballs you've had in London! I will share your comments with our wonderful chefs. We hope to see you at Ekte again. All the best! Ekte Team

Report
T
Twisha
1 review
Dined on September 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Excellent food and wine, reasonably priced. We had to move from the very nice outside seating area to inside due to the noise of the bar opposite (Burlington Arcade) but this was not the fault of Ekte and the staff were helpful and responsive.

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on September 13, 2021

Good afternoon Twisha, Thank you for your review of Ekte Nordic Kitchen - so happy to hear that you enjoyed our seasonal Nordic-inspired dishes and carefully selected wine list! The Bloomberg Arcade is a great spot to be situated as we welcome by the hustle and bustle of city-life. I am sorry to hear the restaurant opposite was noisy for you, so I do hope relocating inside our snug restaurant made a positive difference. We hope to see you back at Ekte very soon - all the best! Ekte

Report
S
Stephen
London
3 reviews
Dined on August 31, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Service was not impressive. My guest had to ask three times for the black Americano he had ordered. The food was in fact fine.

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on September 13, 2021

Hi Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review - I'm so sorry to hear that service was not up to our usual standard. Our team do their utmost best to ensure our guests are happy ones, so I shall report your comments back to the Restaurant to ensure this does not happen again going forward. Again, I am very sorry to hear this happened during your visit. We greatly hope to see you again at Ekte as we'd love to make sure your next visit is a fantastic one. All the best, Ekte Team

Report
VM
VioM
1 review
Dined on August 26, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

From previous research and exploring the Instagram pages, I expect more from this restaurant.
The venue is good has a good ambiance but the food was disappointing.
40£ for a cold lobster that was boiled in water and put on the table with mayonnaise, no seasoning no salt no flavor.
If by any chance you still get to be in this place just order 5 salmon starters you will be better served.

A
Anita
1 review
Dined on August 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and service, would come for a business lunch again.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on August 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing place, food was excellent and staff could not be improved on despite being overworked!

j
jenjen
Norfolk
103 reviews
Dined on August 20, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Been before and loved it great location and the food was super .had the £25 three course menu good value

S
Sargon
London
4 reviews
Dined on August 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The food for lunch must be the best in the City. Our grandchildren lovet it.

D
Diner23
1 review
Dined on August 15, 2021
Overall3food4service4ambience2

It was not clear on Open Table that a la carte menu was not available on Sunday even though this was an option at booking. Consequently one of our party only had bread and a coffee and their bill came to over £10.

The food was delicious but the lack of clarity when booking meant that it did not meet expectations.

NK
vipNatalieK
London
2 reviews
Dined on August 7, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We had Menu crayfish it was good , but one minus you can’t order crayfish if you want ... just one plate

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on July 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service! Meatballs are a must try 😊

U
Ulrika
London
1 review
Dined on July 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went for a girls weekend lunch and we chose their 3 course lunch menu and it did not disappoint. Super tasty smörrebröd with a generous helping of smoked salmon. The main, Danish frikadeller ( meatballs) generous super tasty mash, gravy, lingonberries and pickled fresh cucumber. Heavenly!
Prompt and friendly service. Definitely would come back.

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on August 3, 2021

Hi Ulrika, Great to hear you enjoyed your girlie brunch with us! Frikadeller is one of our favourite dishes and we're so glad you enjoyed it too. We look forward to hosting you again soon! All the best, The Ekte Team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
3 reviews
Dined on July 27, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

The service was friendly and efficient as well as being unobtrusive. The food menu was limited if you wanted a small veggie meal. The food itself was good and well presented if slightly pricey for some items.
The inside of the restaurant ( we sat outside) was really tatty and the toilets weren’t clean and are in serious need of refurbishment - given they’ve been closed for months, couldn’t this have been done in preparation for reopening, it would make such a difference.

L
Lucy
Brighton
1 review
Dined on July 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We absolutely loved everything about Ekte. The food was beautiful - simple and damn good, with a true sense of Scandinavian cuisine - and the service was exceptional (especially Joe). Really good value for money. We’ll be back again for the bottomless crayfish brunch, no question

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on July 27, 2021

Hi Lucy, We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us! We will pass on your great feedback to Joe and we look forward to welcoming you back for brunch in the near future! All the best, The Ekte team

Report
JL
JakeLondon
London
16 reviews
Dined on July 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, friendly staff.

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on July 27, 2021

Hi Jake, Thanks for the great feedback! Our team do their best to provide the best service and we are glad that was reflected during your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon! All the best, The Ekte Team

Report
BS
BethanS
London
3 reviews
Dined on July 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Nice covered outdoor seating area. Interesting choice of food and tasty (if quite a small choice). Friendly and efficient service. Would happily go again.

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on July 27, 2021

Hi Bethan, Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your experience here at Ekte! We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. All the best, The Ekte Team

Report
DA
vipDrAC
London
33 reviews
Dined on July 22, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Good food and nice to be able to sit outside but under the canopy of the walkway.

M
Munchtastic
London
6 reviews
Dined on July 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Delicious food. Top quality.

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on July 28, 2021

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to share a review of your experience at Ekte. We’re so glad you enjoyed your meal and the quality of our food. Do visit again soon! All the best, The Ekte Team

Report
X
Xanthe
London
1 review
Dined on July 19, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

We went on a Monday afternoon so it was quiet. The women serving us were lovely but could have been slightly more attentive especially towards the end as I had to go inside to ask for the bill. The food was flavourful and hearty and the cocktails were fairly good. I would go back for a casual lunch.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
4 reviews
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience5

My husband and I went to Ekte on the London restaurant festival experience. Although the food was lovely and the staff where very nice and polite we got served our 3 course menu in 45 minutes! As we placed our order one member of staff left our table and our started where served by a server at the same moment! We hadn’t even got our drinks yet. Plates where cleared as I still had food in my mouth and the next course was served within 5 minutes! We go out to restaurants a lot and this was very unpleasant as we felt rushed and couldn’t enjoy our evening out. I don’t think I would go back again as I felt like they just wanted to get rid of us.

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on July 19, 2021

Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to share a review about your experience at Ekte. I am so sorry to hear you felt your visit with us was rushed - the last thing we want is for our guests to feel this way. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to explore your visit in greater detail so we can better understand what went wrong and do our very best to make things better. If possible, are you able to please email alex@jessen.co.uk. Wishing you a great day, The Ekte team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Service took hours, food was average, they messed up bringing the courses (mains and starters came together, sides 20 min later), drinks overpriced

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on July 21, 2021

Dear guest, I'm really sorry to hear about your experience with us on your last visit. I would like to hear more from you to work on this and correct any problems with management and team, as also invite you back to the venue with a special offer, and hopefully this time have the best experience with us. Could you please send us an email to welcome@ektelondon.co.uk with your details so we can sort out and speak directly about it? Thank you Fernanda Vargas Restaurant Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food and service was great!

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on July 19, 2021

Hi there, We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed both our offering of food and the service. Our team do a smashing job ensuring our guests are happy ones! Wishing you all the best and hope to see you again soon, The Ekte team!

Report
a
alex
London
2 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Ekte is one of my favourite restaurants in the entire city! Before I visited, I had never tried much Nordic food and now I would say it's one of my favourite cuisines. Ekte's offering is all very light, fresh, full of flavour and not heavy at all. The set menu offer is great at £25 per person, but I went for the a la carte menu. The team were amazing and offered us a selection of smorrebrod (Danish open sandwiches on rye bread) chosen by the chef as we couldn't choose. They were perfect bite-sized pieces - my favourite was the chicken and tarragon. We also had crispy prawns with a lemon mayo. For main, I had the kroppkakor (swedish dumplings) which were stuffed with peas, mint and goats cheese and were absolutely delicious.

My friend was also a vegan and they had so many delicious options I would have happily had myself :)

I can't wait to come back here!!!

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on July 19, 2021

Hi Alex, Thank you for your review - We're so happy you enjoyed your time at Ekte and our offering of Scandi-inspired dishes! Our Swedish dumplings are one of our favourite dishes too and we are always happy when they make an appearance during the spring/summer season! Our menus change with the seasons to make the most of produce, so the next time you visit there will be lots of new dishes to try. Once again, we're thrilled you enjoyed dining with us. Wishing you all the best, the Ekte team

Report
EP
ElPni
Essex
1 review
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was superb - couldn’t fault it and the service was spot on. Would 100% recommend this restaurant to anyone. Authentic, tasty food!

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on July 13, 2021

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave Ekte Nordic Kitchen such a shining five star review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit. Our team do a great job of ensuring our guests leave with a big smile on their faces! We hope to see you dining at Ekte Nordic Kitchen very soon for a bite to eat and tipple or two! Wishing you a great rest of your week, The Ekte team

Report
M
Matchstickwoman
1 review
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Great food, different from the usual City offerings.

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on July 13, 2021

Hello there, We're so happy you enjoyed our Scandi-inspired selection of dishes! Our favourite thing is when guests appreciate our Nordic menus and take a little bit of Ekte away with them! We hope to see you again very soon - have a wonderful rest of your week. All the best, the Ekte Team

Report
SG
SuzanneG
London
1 review
Dined on July 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sat outside but undercover of the arcade - blankets at the table - usual great food, would recommend

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on July 8, 2021

Hi Suzanne, Many thanks for the lovely review! Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back very soon. All the best, The Ekte Team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
4 reviews
Dined on July 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was fantastic, price reasonable, ambience and service lovely. Would highly recommend!

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on July 8, 2021

Hi there, Thank you for leaving Ekte such a fantastic review - we are so happy when our guests leave with a smile on their face! We hope to see you wining and dining at Ekte Nordic Kitchen very soon! All the best, the Ekte team.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
7 reviews
Dined on July 3, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience1

Excellent food, fabulous and friebdly staff but let down by the couple at the next table chain smoking thir way through the whole evening and it blowing in our faces. Why on earth do you let people smoke at a restaurant is beyond me. Will not return unless you change the policy.

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on July 8, 2021

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a fantastic review about our Nordic dishes and friendly team. However, we're so sorry to hear that your experience on the terrace was let down by heavy smokers. Whilst we're unable to predict which of our guests will be smokers, should this happen again please mention to our team and we shall relocate you somewhere where you feel more comfortable. Again, we must apologise on behalf on the guests beside you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report
L
vipLtsp
London
4 reviews
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious food and cocktails

SM
SusanneM
London
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Lovely food and good ambiance, but music rather loud for a Friday afternoon

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on July 8, 2021

Hi Susanne, Thank you for leaving us such a positive review. I will make sure to mention to a member of our team that they will need to monitor the volume of music to ensure the happiness of our guests is maintained. We hope to see you again very, very soon! Have a great day! The Ekte team

Report
W
Will
London
3 reviews
Dined on June 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic food from the set menu, friendly staff and a really cosy vibe!

Ekte Nordic Kitchen
Responded on June 28, 2021

Hi Will - thank you for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us positive feedback. We're thrilled you enjoyed our Set Menu offering of Nordic dishes and the experience of dining at Ekte Nordic Kitchen. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report
SC
SteveC
1 review
Dined on June 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Went here for lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary, the food was delicious and the service absolutely first class, really friendly and went out of their way to make our day extra special! Highly recommended.

M
Manuela
London
2 reviews
Dined on June 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The service was impeccable very unlike London. Everyone was very friendly and attentive. For example I am having a hard time when there is loud background noise and they offered to put the music down. At intervals our waiter checked in and refilled our free water and there was a very good time between the different courses.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our bottom-less brunch at Ekte was superb. Our waiter was amazing and made our experience much more enjoyable. He attended to our every need and was constantly topping up our glasses. Extremely friendly and welcoming.
The food was delicious and we’re good portion sizes.
A 2 hour brunch turned into a whole evening as we were enjoying ourselves so much. Our waiter kindly moved us to another part of the restaurant where we could continue our chat.
Would definitely return and recommend.

FAQs

Ekte Nordic Kitchen does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo, Supper London and Uber Eats. Ekte Nordic Kitchen also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at 020 3814 8330.

Ekte Nordic Kitchen is rated 4.4 stars by 459 OpenTable diners.

Ekte Nordic Kitchen does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://ektelondon.giftpro.co.uk/vouchers/ekte-welcome-back-voucher/.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.