Craft House at Sky Deck

4.4
57 Reviews
$30 and under
American

Top Tags:

Casual
We have a 15 minute grace period. Please call us if you are running later than 15 minutes after your reservation time.

We may contact you about this reservation, so please ensure your email and phone number are up to date.

Your table will be reserved for 1 hour 30 minutes for parties of up to 2; 2 hours for parties of up to 4; and 2 hours 30 minutes for parties of 5+.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 57 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.1
service
4.4
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
GC
GloriaC
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2food4service1ambience4

Service for drinks & food was delayed.
Poor service.
Noise level high- ambience was good.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Once we arrived to Sky Deck, the restaurant was inside. The decor/ambiance to this whole place was beautiful. I really enjoyed the vibe. The food was great, the drinks were good, and Brian our server was really on top of things despite them being short staffed. We ordered the grilled octopus, elote, steak frites, and the salmon. Our drinks were the Lavender Lemon Drop and Dead Mans Old Fashion. I would definitely come back again. There was mention of Sunday Brunch that happens here and is something we would want to try as well.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

If you don’t enjoy a crowd be sure to ask to sit outside. Really enjoyed the food and drinks.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food4service4ambience5

It was very loud, way too loud to talk

M
Momocita
San Diego
2 reviews
Dined on October 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good food and service. I would recommend this place for casual dining again.

LF
LinF
Seattle
1 review
Dined on October 15, 2021
Overall3food4service5ambience4

Delicious food and service but the music was way too loud to have any conversation.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on October 17, 2021

Hello LinF, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are committed to improvement and making sure we provide a great experience to all of our guests. I am sorry that the music impeded your experience we will be sure to be more cognizant of the music levels. Please come visit us again soon. Best regards, David, AGM

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food is phenomenal. Ambiance is inviting. Always a great time. The smoked old fashion is the best I’ve had in all of San Diego. I’m become a regular. This place never disappoints.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on October 17, 2021

Thank you kindly for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience. Hope to host you again soon in the near future. Best regards, David, AGM

Report
SP
vipSusanP
New York Area
11 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The Craft House is an amazing addition to our area! The food was innovative and delicious… I had the Steak Frites…. Outstanding! Dinner here is a good value, as you can order a pricier entree, or have a lighter dinner; the cocktails are original and fairly priced; the wine has reasonable options, by the glass.
Only possible negative, was the music was too loud, which makes it difficult to converse with other people at the table. They were more than happy to turn it down a bit. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on October 17, 2021

SusanP, What a pleasure it is to read this review. I have shared this review with our staff. We are committed to improvement and want to ensure all of our guests have a wonderful time experiencing our space. We will be more cognizant of the music level going forward. Thank you again for your beaming review. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, David, AGM

Report
GT
GTH2U
San Diego
14 reviews
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Our outside table wasn’t ready so we ended up with one inside instead. The sound levels were a bit high inside, it was distracting, had to talk over it. We liked our server she was good. Seemed like too many tables per servers. The filet was good cooked perfectly and the short rib mole awesome. I liked that the chef checked on our table.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on October 17, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. Hope to host you again soon. Best regards, David, AGM

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience4

1.5 hours minimum at a table?! We were scarfing down our food in a hurry before the hostess came to let us know it was time for us to vacate the table since another party has arrived. What?!?!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Diego
9 reviews
Dined on September 30, 2021
Overall2food5service2ambience3

Pros and cons of our experience…
Cons…
-Ordered a glass of wine. Looked like a small pour and was $12. Turns out they have markers on glasses and is not a full pour. In order to get a standard size glass of wine like at any other restaurant I’ve ever been to, you have to order a double. It’s the restaurants choice of course to do things this way but best to let a customer know upfront so they’re not left feeling disappointed. Perhaps when one orders asking do you want a x ox pour or a xx oz pour. Asked to speak to the manager about it and our server told the manager to come by, and he never came by. He was too busy chatting with the hostess and eating.
-Managers/owners sat at table up front on laptops and eating the entire time we were there. One even stood up to leave table, had food in hand that he placed in his mouth as he walked across the restaurant eating and chomping away, while going to get a plate. Super tacky and something you’d see at a bar restaurant in PB.
Pros…
-Food was delish!

Coms ruined it for us and we won’t be coming back anytime soon. This place better step up their game or they will not make it. Plenty of places near by with great service and good food. 10 years in the service industry myself and was shocked by the cons during our experience!

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on October 1, 2021

Greetings & Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback. I do apologize if our service staff did not meet your expectations. We are amidst training new personnel and if there were any issues I am deeply you had a negative experience. We would like to invite you back for a round of wine on the house including a share plate. Again, thank you for your feedback we would love to make this right. Best Regards, Craft House Mgmt.

Report
JD
JoannaD
1 review
Dined on September 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, great drinks and great service! We would definitely come back again!

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on September 28, 2021

JoannaD, Thank you for taking the time to review Craft House. I am very happy to hear that Gabby took great care of you. She is a huge asset to our team and we are lucky to have her aboard. We would love to host you again soon. Thank you again for the fabulous review. Best regards, David, Assistant General Manager

Report
SA
SantiagoA
1 review
Dined on September 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great ambient, good music, they were playing J balvin for a long period and I was loving it, the service was great, we got a really friendly Brazilian waiter, decoration is gorgeous, last but not least, the quality of the food, 5 starts!

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on September 28, 2021

SantiagoA, Thank you for taking the time to review Craft House. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us, from the ambiance to the food. Glad to hear our service staff did a great job taking care of you. We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, David, Assistant General Manager

Report
J
Joel
San Diego
12 reviews
Dined on September 22, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Food here is great. Definitely try the braised short ribs in mole. The muscles are awesome.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on September 23, 2021

Joel, Thank you for your feedback. It is a pleasure to see your review. The short ribs are incredible, definitely a staff favorite. We are starting brunch this Sunday. Come by and try some of our new offerings. Thanks again and have an awesome week. Best regards, David, AGM

Report
s
sheilaf
San Diego
1 review
Dined on September 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I had an amazing experience at Craft House. We went for my husband’s birthday and this place did not disappoint. We had brussel sprouts, octopus and the best burgers we’re ever had. The lavendar lemon drop cocktail is a must, I had too many to admit. Try this place, you won’t regret it!

AV
vipAquaV
San Diego
183 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best new restaurant we have tried in a while.
Loved everything.
The Tamarind Painkiller is award winning.
The burgers are out of this world.
Best Brussels on the planet.
Will definitely be back!

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on September 23, 2021

AquaV, WOW! What a review. On behalf of the Craft House Sky Deck team we would like to thank you for taking the time to post this awesome review. I am overjoyed to hear we met your expectations and executed a great service for you. Hope to host you again soon! Best regards, David, AGM

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall3food5service2ambience3

We arrived on time for our reservation and when we checked in, we were informed by the hostess that there was no table available for us. Apparently they had a glitch in their system that caused them to overbook their tables for 5 that evening. They had told us they could move us up to the waitlist to get our own table but that would be a 1.5 hour wait, which was disappointing as I had made the reservation a week in advance. The other option was to sit at the other end of a larger table, which already had a party seated there. We decided to do that instead of wait 1.5 hours. The hostess had seated us at the end of that table and there weren’t enough actual chairs for the 5 of us so one of us had to go back to the front and have a chair brought to the table. I thought the situation was poorly handled. It seemed as if the two hostesses had no experience and poor communication skills. Then I received an email later that evening stating that the restaurant said I never made it to my reservation, which I found very odd and rude as we definitely made it on time. Not only did we make it on time for our reservation but the restaurant didn’t have a table for us and then they had the audacity to mark that we did not show up was what I found to be very rude.

Aside from the poorly managed check in and that follow up email, the rest of the experience at the restaurant wasn’t too bad. The food tasted great, but we had to wait quite a while for the food.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on September 23, 2021

Thank you for leaving your review. First and foremost, I want to sincerely apologize for any issues you faced at check-in. There are no excuses for poorly receiving our guests. It is our priority to ensure you have a wonderful visit with us and I apologize if we fell short. We certainly have a younger host team behind the podium many of which it is their first job. In light of issue, I would like to invite you back to give us another try. Please let me know if you care to join! David, AGM

Report
S
Susan
San Diego
7 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience2

We were happy to have an outside table but no real ambiance. Lighting after dark was poor. Sad kitchen ran out of brussel sprouts. Servers could have been more attentive and communicative. Menu by QR code was difficult to see, maybe paper menu for table to share would be helpful. Would like to see more options for entrees on menu

JN
vipJohnNSanDiego
San Diego
38 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience3

I walked out of this place. I won’t be back. I’ve only done that one other time in my life at a restaurant. Unfortunately, I didn’t look at the reviews ahead of time to see that this is common here.

We sat there at an outdoor patio table for 25 minutes before we were finally able to get someone to come to the table. Not our server, but he reluctantly responded. That drink order we placed came at 45 minutes in but was incorrect. The correct order never came. The staff were not that busy, if they were, we would understand. The staff just had no interest in caring, as many walked by multiple times and looked right at our empty table. An hour in, we gave up and walked out.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined on September 17, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience5

The ambiance is was amazing.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Diego
5 reviews
Dined on September 17, 2021
Overall4food4service1ambience2

Food was a bit salty. Drinks took forever!! So much so that I was hoping for one to be comped, but they didn't do anything. It was super loud so hard to have a conversation. Might go back

S
Sara
San Diego
3 reviews
Dined on September 15, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience5

Food was ok - prices are high for what you get. Loved the cheddar jalapeño rolls, but would have loved them more if they were included. I get that places need to make up for Covid losses but still burns me a little to pay anything (let alone $2/small roll) for bread at a med/high priced restaurant. Got the grilled corn which my husband loved and I liked. We also shared the steak frites. Asked for it cooked medium well, came out closer to medium and was an ok steak. Fries and mixed greens that it came with were great. I don’t get why this place is called “craft house” - I assumed it was a reference to craft beer but they only had maybe 5 beer options so it’s not that. There are heaters outside, but if you sit at the table on the south end you won’t get any heat (no biggie for us but just something to consider). Inside was nice ambiance. Don’t think they have dessert as we weren’t offered any. Did love that they have “pay at the table”, as it was very efficient. Our server started out a bit cold but warmed up to us. I’d eat here again if someone else wanted to go but it wouldn’t be at the top of my list.

IW
IsraW
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Enjoyed the Octopus and Steak Frites, the outdoor seating is lovely and quiet but not "dead". Would definitely come here again.

TD
TrungD
San Diego
26 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Service was a little slow, but otherwise great. The food was excellent. Coming back.

N
Nanz
1 review
Dined on September 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Brianna our server was outstanding
Sweet kind and so helpful !
She was checking on us regularly and got us a table indoors promptly once it started raining
Will be coming back soon !

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on September 14, 2021

Amazing!!! Very happy to hear that Brianna was able to execute some awesome service for you and your friends. Thank you for being understanding with the circumstances. We would love to host you again soon. Hope to see you in the near future. Best regards, David, Assistant General Manager

Report
L
Lindsey
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on September 9, 2021
Overall3food5service2ambience3

Food and drinks were amazing but the service was incredibly slow and the music was loud like a raging club.

SD
vipSDCreole
San Diego
64 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

I’m sure it will improve but the Crafthouse should not be you’re go to… server was very pleasant but clueless - at least she showed up for work , more training needed . Food was fair and pricey and took a long time to come out . Four gals - brats salad , ceviche . All just fair . Cocktails were very lean on alcohol , heavy on the mixers . Sky deck is cool so will try other restaurants within it - just not this one again .

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on September 14, 2021

Thank you for your response! We opened our restaurant with a fresh staff as the hiring market is very challenging amidst the pandemic. I do apologize you did not receive the service you had hoped for but I can assure you that we are doing everything we can to improve our staff and overall experience. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us to further examine opportunities for improvement. Appreciate you coming in and giving us a try!

Report
J
Joel
San Diego
13 reviews
Dined on September 3, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The oaxacan braised short ribs are awesome.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on September 7, 2021

Thank you very much for your response. Chef Caesar is passionate about sourcing quality ingredients and preparing them in a unique way to give you an unforgettable dining experience. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback!

Report
VM
vipValerieM
San Diego
4 reviews
Dined on September 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food is amazing, the drinks were delicious and the owners are awesome. Great atmosphere and the service was great, Paradise is the sweetest server! Give them a try, you won’t regret it.

CB
ChristinaB
San Diego
4 reviews
Dined on August 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was date night and found this place because I wanted to make reservations. Thought we'd check it out and there are no regrets. We had the best waiter waiting on us, recommended the best foods and drinks.. It was a very pleasant date night indeed.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on August 31, 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback. Chef Caesar is passionate about sourcing quality ingredients and bringing you an elevated take on New American cuisine with a Hispanic twist. Overjoyed to hear that our service staff and bar took great care of you. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, David, Assistant General Manager

Report
MD
vipMicheleD
San Diego
1 review
Dined on August 28, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience1

Very poor service.

C
Cynthia
San Diego
2 reviews
Dined on August 28, 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience5

Felt rushed even though there were empty tables and closing time was over an hr away they started cleaning around us. Server was over it and not friendly.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined on August 25, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Birthday dinner

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on September 4, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize if our service staff did not meet your expectations. I would like to invite you back to personally serve you and ensure that you have a great, timely experience. Please reach me so we can take care of you. Best wishes, David, Assistant General Manager

Report
DD
DDCar
1 review
Dined on August 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was delicious and very well prepared. We will happily return.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on August 31, 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, David, Assistant General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined on August 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Super loud but good food

GF
GregF
San Diego
2 reviews
Dined on August 19, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Food and drink were very good. Value for the money is poor. Beer way over priced. Entries probably priced 25% over comparable. Service was courteous/help but slow

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Dallas
7 reviews
Dined on August 19, 2021
Overall3food4service1ambience4

the service is too slow

V
Valerie
Central Coast
1 review
Dined on August 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was my first time here. My neighbor said they tried it and enjoyed the food. We ordered the Steak Frites. This was delicious. The steak and chimichuri was made well and the salad dressing was light and tasteful. Our waiter was very good. Definitely will come back.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on August 21, 2021

Valerie, Thank you for taking the time you write us a review. We genuinely appreciate you describing the dishes you enjoyed. Chef Caesar is passionate about creating a unique dining experience. Glad to hear our service staff was able to take good care of you. Hope to see you again soon. Best regards, David, Assistant General Manager

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Orange County
10 reviews
Dined on August 15, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

The food is fantastic! Everything we ordered was beyond our expectations and I would eat here again. The only thing that could be better was the service… wait staff was very friendly but we had to remind servers about our orders and they forgot our food but it did come out eventually!

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on August 21, 2021

Thank you for your feedback! We genuinely appreciate you taking the time to describe your experience. We are on our 4th week since opening and I am overjoyed to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Trust that we are doing everything we can to ensure service time improves. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, David, Assistant General Manager

Report
M
Mike
1 review
Dined on August 14, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience4

Very slow service. Server did not have much knowledge about the menu. Server brought drink orders out individually for a party of four. Ran out of burgers at 7PM. Burgers are the staple of their menu. We left and went to another restaurant.

FAQs

Craft House at Sky Deck offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (858) 925-7067.

Craft House at Sky Deck is rated 4.4 stars by 57 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.