Char - Jackson

4.6
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1442 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Experience modern Southern cuisine and excellent service in a warm, inviting atmosphere at Char. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, veal and lamb, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. Open for lunch and dinner daily, with weekday lunch specials and brunch every Saturday and Sunday.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details
What 1442 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
Las Vegas
3 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The crab cakes were the best I've ever had. Absolutely no filler. Just all crab without shell.

Char - Jackson
Responded 12 hours ago

Thanks for the five stars! Please join us for the crab cakes again soon!

Report
OT
Mississippi
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Took my boyfriend to char for the first time. He loved it. I did myself. The chop was huge and seasoned to perfection. My chicken was amazing. Will visit again soon !

Char - Jackson
Responded 12 hours ago

Hello there, we love to hear that you enjoyed your recent meal at Char! Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
OT
Miami
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Salmon just OK.

KF
Hawaii
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is the 2nd time that we have been to Char within 2 weeks. We love it. The food is fantastic, flavorful, wide variety of dishes and in our opinion perfect. The service has been great both times. We have felt extremely comfortable there both times. Can not wait to return. It is our new favorite restaurant in town.

Char - Jackson
Responded 12 hours ago

Hi Kathleen, thank you for taking the time to share your comments! Our goal is to provide outstanding food and service to every guest and we're thrilled to learn that both were enjoyed. Please visit us again soon!

Report
DR
Mississippi
13 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food5service5ambience1

Was not seated as requested and literally could not carry on a conversation with my mom, who is hearing impaired. It was so loud where we sat, very much dampened our time at Char. I usually sit in booth 92 or 93 and if we cannot sit there next time we will leave. There were people being served in those booths

Char - Jackson
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Donna, I'm so sorry to hear that we failed to honor your seating request during your recent visit. We always do our best to accommodate these requests, but it sounds like we dropped the ball here and I sincerely apologize for how this impacted your overall experience with us. I have shared your comments with our management team so we can follow up on the importance of these requests with our staff. Thank you for your patronage and feedback; we hope to see you and your mother back again soon.

Report
A
Houston
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our experience was very delightful, we were seated very quickly and service was excellent!

MN
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time at Char with my boyfriend for a late Valentine’s Day dinner and it was AMAZING. We had a reservation at 7:30 and didn’t get seated till about 8, but it was okay. Our waiter was extremely nice and polite, brought bread multiple time while we waited for our food and was very attentive. Our meals were soooo good. My boyfriend got the filet and I got the chicken piccata and they were both absolutely outstanding. In addition to our wine and appetizer, we couldn’t have asked for a bette evening or dining experience. Highly recommend and can’t wait to go back!

Char - Jackson
Responded 6 days ago

Hello Megan, thank you for leaving such a kind review! We are glad to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your recent visit to Char. Our staff will appreciate hearing this positive feedback as well! We hope to see you both back again soon!

Report
CP
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

The one downfall I found was it’s supposed to be upscale and so many ladies had jeans on!! The dress code wasn’t inforced!! It was HORRIBLE being nice dressed and so many sloppy dressed people!!!

Char - Jackson
Responded 7 days ago

Hi Cacee, thank you for your recent visit to Char. I apologize if the lack of dress code enforcement deterred from your experience in any way. We never want anyone feeling uncomfortable in any way, and I regret if this took away from an otherwise pleasant dining experience. I have shared your feedback with our management team for review. Thank you again for your patronage; we hope to see you in again in the near future!

Report
OT
Nashville
3 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Very busy last night but they got us settled and we had a delightful sinner

JF
New Orleans
3 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience3

Only two problems were noted, the waitress’ assistant failed to do his/her job, never seen the whole evening. Noise was the other difficulty. Too many people that want to be heard five tables away.

The food and waitress’ work ethic were excellent.

M
Mississippi
9 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Food was excellent!

WS
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience3

When your server says ,for the third time, that your food is coming out of the kitchen now, and then you notice people seated after you have had their appetizer, entree, and are on their dessert, you begin to realize that there is a problem.

Char - Jackson
Responded 7 days ago

Hi William, thank you for your recent visit to Char. I'm very sorry to learn about the service delays you experienced during your time with us. We'd love to speak with you further about your visit-- would you mind sharing your contact information at your convenience? Thank you in advance for your time!

Report
JW
Mississippi
2 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food3service5ambience5

Seems like they cut back on the potion of the food, maybe to keep from running out of food on Valentine's Day, hadn't experience this in the past. overall everything was Awesome!!

OT
New Orleans
1 review
Dined on February 12, 2020
Overall2food4service2ambience4

Our reservation was for noon, but we were not seated until 12:35. Why even make a reservation?

Char - Jackson
Responded on February 17, 2020

Thank you for your recent visit to Char, though I am so sorry to hear that your experience was underwhelming. We never want our guests leaving with anything shy of a five-star experience, so it is disappointing to hear that we fell short during your visit. I apologize for the wait you encountered when you arrived; we always do our best to seat guests as close to their reservation times as possible, but unfortunately sometimes the volume hinders us from executing precise seating times.

Report
VF
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love this place! Our favorite place to eat! There marinated crab claws are awesome. The chicken piccata is my favorite . My husband loves there filet. If you have never been there you have got to try this restaurant !!!

Char - Jackson
Responded on February 12, 2020

Hi Velda, thank you for taking the time to share your comments! Our goal is to provide outstanding food to every guest and we're thrilled to learn that your selections were highly enjoyed. Please visit us again soon for the chicken piccata!

Report
M
Mississippi
10 reviews
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

There was a problem with kitchen getting food out on a timely basis. Manager explained the problem and made generous compensation for our inconvenience. This shows their commitment to their customers and why I continue to go back time and again. Good Job!

Char - Jackson
Responded on February 12, 2020

Thank you for your recent visit to Char. I am sorry to hear about the delays you experienced in receiving your meal. However, I am glad to know that our management team was able to step in while you dined with us. While we never want guests receiving anything less than a five-star meal, we appreciate the opportunity to make it right. Thank you for your review; we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
P
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server Olive was excellent and of course the steaks were excellent! We had had the great house cut fries and mac&cheese as sides of course both excellent! We had the featured caramel cheesecake and the brownie as dessert both excellent! This all worked out we got an excellent booth sitting! The slight issue I obviously made a reservation for 2pm, we still waited 10-15 minutes! It all worked out great seating and Olive was great! The only improvement is have someone who makes reservations a table upon arrival!

Char - Jackson
Responded on February 12, 2020

Thank you for the review! It's a pleasure to learn that Olive provided expert service throughout your recent meal at Char. We'll be sure to pass along your praises to her! I'm sorry to learn, however, of the wait you incurred upon your arrival. I have shared your comments regarding this issue with our management team for review. Thank you again for your patronage and feedback; we hope you will return again soon!

Report
JD
1 review
Dined on February 7, 2020
Overall3food2service5ambience4

The service was excellent, however the food was mediocre. The quality of steak was good, but it was prepared no better than it would have been at a $20 steakhouse.

Char - Jackson
Responded on February 12, 2020

Hi Jason, thank you for your recent visit to Char. I'm sorry to hear that you only found your meal to be average. Mediocrity is far from what we strive to provide our guests, so it is disappointing to learn that we came up short here. If you have specific feedback that you could share about what you did not care for, we'd love to hear it. We're always open to hearing from our guests as to how we can improve upon the dining experience. Thank you in advance for your time!

Report
OT
Mississippi
4 reviews
Dined on February 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Chad is awesome! Great Experience

Char - Jackson
Responded on February 11, 2020

Thanks for the great feedback! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
CC
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall1food1service4ambience4

I’ve traveled and lived all over the US. I’ve had better quality steaks at Logan’s for a fraction of the price. The service and atmosphere was great. That must be what you pay for at Char because it isn’t the quality of the food.

Char - Jackson
Responded on February 4, 2020

Hi Chris, I'm sorry to hear that you weren't blown away by your recent meal! We take pride in serving excellent cuisine with service to match, but it sounds like we came up short here. If you have specific details from your visit on what you did not care for that you could share, that would be helpful for our team to improve. Thank you for your feedback; I am hopeful we can talk soon to determine what went awry with your meal.

Report
C
Mississippi
12 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A great birthday celebration 😊

Char - Jackson
Responded on February 3, 2020

Thanks for celebrating with us at Char! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
Mississippi
1 review
Dined on January 31, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

The crab cakes are the best thing ever

Char - Jackson
Responded on February 3, 2020

Thanks for the wonderful feedback! We hope to see you for the crab cakes again soon!

Report
MS
Tallahassee
23 reviews
Dined on January 27, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Celebrated my daughter’s 19th birthday....Excellent food and service!

Char - Jackson
Responded on January 31, 2020

Thanks for celebrating your daughter's birthday with us, Marcie! We hope to see you & your family again soon!

Report
TH
1 review
Dined on January 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Steaks were excellent, scallops were good. Only feed back is I was somewhat surprised they seated us at a table that only had three chairs. The promptly brought the fourth, but a restaurant at this price point with a prior reservation making a mistake like this is disappointing. It’s a really petty thing, but an oversight I would not expect a restaurant of this caliber to make!

OI
Charlotte
15 reviews
Dined on January 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Was in Jackson for a business trip and stayed over the weekend. Heard about Char’s pecan pie from a local on the flight.

We stopped by for lunch on Friday. Recommend reservations. The food and the service were fantastic. The pie is out of this world. The slices are big enough to share.

Highly recommend if you’re in town.

Char - Jackson
Responded on January 27, 2020

Hi there, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! It’s wonderful to learn that it was a positive one. The pecan pie is one of our most popular items—we love to hear that you enjoyed it! Thanks again for the five stars; we hope you’ll return again soon!

Report
OT
New England
3 reviews
Dined on January 21, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I love Char! I live in Boston, MA, and visit family often in Jackson. Every time I’m here, I like to eat at Char! The food is amazing; the service is stellar; and the ambiance is quiet enough for great conversation. I cannot give Char high enough marks! I will continue to visit every chance I get!!❤️🎉

Char - Jackson
Responded on January 24, 2020

Hi there, thank you for leaving such a kind review! We are glad to hear that you and your family constantly enjoy your visits to Char. Our staff will appreciate hearing this positive feedback as well! We hope to see you all back again soon!

Report
OT
Mississippi
1 review
Dined on January 17, 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience3

Out of 3 items we tried to order

Char - Jackson
Responded on January 20, 2020

Thank you for your recent visit to Char. I am sorry to have fallen short of expectations and regret how this negatively impacted your overall experience with us. While we do our best to plan accordingly for busy weekend nights, we do sometimes run out of product towards the end of a Friday night. Please know this is not the norm here, and I have shared this with our culinary team for review. Thank you again for your patronage; we hope you will consider visiting us again in the near future.

Report
m
1 review
Dined on January 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Char is always consistently good. The steaks are always tender, and the wait staff is very attentive without being intrusive.

Char - Jackson
Responded on January 19, 2020

Thanks for the five stars! We're pleased to learn that your experiences are always wonderful ones. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report
GE
Mississippi
22 reviews
Dined on January 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent as always!

OT
Mississippi
1 review
Dined on January 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Outing was exceptional! Waitress Julia was phenomenal! I only ask that management bring a flavored lemonade, strawberry for example. 5 out of 5 stars!

OT
1 review
Dined on January 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our waitress was top notch and very professional. Food was great. Atmosphere was very personal. Loved our dinner date

IC
1 review
Dined on January 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food and service were excellent! The wait time was less than five minutes.

OT
Mobile
1 review
Dined on January 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Brunch before movie day trip. BBQ shrimp and tomato mozzarella for appetizers. Right amount of spice for shrimp and nice tomato for this time of year. Wife has chicken BLT, off menu but her favorite. I had ahi tuna melt, nice portion cooked perfect.
Great service!

Char - Jackson
Responded on January 6, 2020

Hello there, we love to hear that you enjoyed your brunch at Char! Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
S
Mississippi
1 review
Dined on January 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food and service is always great at Char every time I visit.

Char - Jackson
Responded on January 3, 2020

Thanks for the wonderful feedback, Stephanie! We're pleased to learn your experiences are always wonderful ones. Please join us again soon!

Report
JF
New Orleans
4 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall1food2service5ambience2

Understand, I have shared at least 100 5-star meals here. Not tonight. With a 7 pm reservation, we arrived 15 minutes early but were not seated until 7:20 pm. There were about 20 people with reservations in the lobby. The knew then the experience might not be excellent. Either the back of the house was have problems or was understaffed or management had overbooked the seating. On the way to our seats, I noted five empty tables (maybe they were also short staffed in the front of the house. My wife rarely drinks an alcoholic beverage but requested a glass of Prosecco tonight. She was served some syrupy sweet something, when she sent back to the bar. The second time the bar got it right. My wife and I decided to have filets, one small and one large. We received one small and one ribeye. It took about 15 minutes to receive the replacement. My wife's filet was warm and mine was a little warmer, both cooked to medium rare as requested. The baked potato and asparagus with mushrooms were both warm. The hottest thing served was the spinach au gratin which was almost too hot to eat. My wife pronounced the butter crunch cake fair, a little raw in the center. We know Char can do better but they apparently had some challenges tonight. Throughout the meal we noted that may parents with small children were doing a poor job of controlling their offspring, it was very noisy. This is not Char's problem but they need to figure out how to congregate those with small children in one of the two areas that can be noise-secured.

Char - Jackson
Responded on January 3, 2020

Hi Joe, I apologize for falling short of providing you with a five-star experience on this particular visit. It sounds like we had a few snafus on our end and I regret how this affected your celebration. And while I am glad to know that we were able to get your order rectified, I am sorry for not getting it right the first time. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Thank you again for your patronage.

Report
L
Mississippi
7 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall5food5service3ambience4

We haven’t been to Char in a while so on New Year’s Eve we decided to give it another try. First of all, the food was very delicious and cooked to perfection this time. Crab cakes were great! My husband had a steak and he loved it. I got the Chargrilled Mahi and that dish was superb! Kudos to the cook that night!
We had a waiter that was fairly new that kept returning to the table so often that it was hard to have a conversation. He never asked if we were done eating but start clearing the table before we were done. We felt a bit rushed. My husband had worked as a waiter when he was younger so he and I know what it’s like getting started so we had more patience. Other than that, we enjoyed our meal.

TD
Memphis
35 reviews
Dined on December 27, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always great food and great service.

OT
Mississippi
5 reviews
Dined on December 26, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was great

M
Mississippi
38 reviews
Dined on December 26, 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Food and service were great, but I do not want to sit in the back room again. It was a bit noisy and the ambiance was poor compared to eating in the front of the restaurant.

Char - Jackson
Responded on December 30, 2019

Hi there, thank you for your recent visit to Char! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal but I apologize that the ambiance was lacking. We are happy to seat you in a specified area upon request, so please let us know if you have a preference on your next visit! Thank you again for your patronage; we look forward to seeing you in again soon!

Report
TS
New Orleans
2 reviews
Dined on December 24, 2019
Overall4food4service3ambience5

The waitress was nice but i got up from the table and she had taken my food away when i came back. She didn’t ask if we needed anything when the food came back but said “everything looks good!” I needed something the entire meal and she never came back.

Char - Jackson
Responded on December 26, 2019

Hi Tiffany, thank you for your recent visit to Char. I am sorry to learn that the service fell short and for the inconvenience this caused throughout your meal. We'd love to speak with you to learn a little more about your experience; would you mind sharing your contact information with us at your convenience? Thank you in advance for your time!

Report

Tweets by Char - Jackson