Beach House Restaurant + Tap Room

3.8
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
131 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American

The Beach House is a charming, fun and relaxing restaurant concept, for locals and vacationers alike, that sits just yards away for the beach with breathtaking views of the Atlantic. Whether you prefer to dine inside or at the bar, under the spacious wrap around porch or out on our patio, we have the spot for you. Our culinary team takes tremendous pride in creating something for everyone in a family friendly atmosphere. With hand crafted soups, salads and appetizers, to Artisan pizzas and flatbreads, to the stars of the show with fresh local seafood. In addition to our hunger inspired menu we feature a full wrap around bar with one of the largest draft beer selections in Southeast Georgia. From Porters to Ciders, we are able to showcase a variety of regional craft beers on one of our 24 tap handles. So if you are looking for a unique well rounded menu or just a place to hang out and enjoy a game on one of our 7 flat screens we welcome you home to the Beach House.
What 131 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
3.7
food
4.0
service
3.9
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
76% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall2food2service3ambience3

The food was ok, value wise, it was not on par with the price.

KN
vipKimmyN
Atlanta
10 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2food1service3ambience3

Great location. Terrible food. We waited 25 minutes for our server to acknowledge us even though the restaurant was barely full. To be fair, they looked short handed and when our server did show, she was nice and attentive. The food was awful. Nothing we ordered was good. A shame too, given their great location. Wouldn’t go back if the food was free.

BW
BrianW
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on May 24, 2020
Overall2food1service5ambience4

The waitress was great! There were many problems the waitress had to come back to the table 4 times to start after every beer I ordered off of their menus was out. Then we ordered starters they were out of the first three starters that we wanted and then after we ordered dinner she came back 5 minutes later to say they were out of crab legs so I couldn’t get the low country boil. It was only 5 pm. I felt bad for the waitress because the management let her down

DW
DustinW
1 review
Dined on May 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing
Everything was great. Manger runs a great restaurant with timely service. Recommend reservations.

s
scottb
1 review
Dined on May 21, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food & drinks very good for the price. Shrimp pizza was really good and crab cakes were fantastic. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

P
Patty
1 review
Dined on May 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time here and we had a great time. Staff were super! We will return. Thanks

CC
ChrisC
1 review
Dined on May 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Serving staff was awesome. Food was delish. We are on the patio and we’re able to keep social distance from other guests.

JS
JackS
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on March 6, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Great bar food and fun cocktail names. Read the menu for laughs. They don't rush you and are very nice. Roddy does a great job. Open Table said 7 pm was not available but there were a few tables from 7 on. Why tell us 6:15 was the only time available?

RK
RalphK
1 review
Dined on March 2, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Familiar feeling, nice with local beer.
Would like to return.

ND
NeilD
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall1food1service2ambience3

Sadly the vegetable pizza was close to inedible. The entire centre was under cooked and half of the thickness was almost raw. Presumably the amount of topping had kept it cold. We ate maybe a quarter from the outside. The waitress offered to replace it, but we just weren’t interested. Such a shame.

Beach House Restaurant + Tap Room
Responded on February 28, 2020

NeilD- Thank you for your review. I apologize that your meal was inedible. We strive to have the best pizzas on the island but this unfortunately was not one of them. If you are ever on Jekyll Island, I would love to meet you. Vince Johnson Food and Beverage Director

Report
DA
DougA
1 review
Dined on February 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

So I was a little concerned after reading some of the negative reviews. It turns out I was worried about nothing. My experience could not have been better! We were seated promptly, our server was attentive, our food came quickly and was as fresh as can be. It was delicious! This is definitely my wife and I’s favorite place on Jekyll Island so far, and we have been to several restaurants. We will be back every time we are in town.

Beach House Restaurant + Tap Room
Responded on February 28, 2020

DougA- Thank you for giving us the opportunity to make this a favorite place for you and your wife. I am excited that the two of you enjoyed yourselves while here. Next time you are on Jekyll Island I would love to meet you. Vince Johnson Food and Beverage Director

Report
PS
PaulS
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Made reservations for 9:15 on Valentines Day. The staff seemed inconvenienced by us being there. The menu was printed on a sheet of paper as was the wine list. Terrible wedge salad and mediocre food. The staff was already setting up for breakfast before we left at 10pm. So much for s romantic evening.

Beach House Restaurant + Tap Room
Responded on February 18, 2020

PaulS- Thank you for your review. It disheartens to know that you did not enjoy your Valentine dinner. I apologize if you felt your were an inconvenience. We strive to give every guest quality service and the best food. Next time you are on Jekyll Island, I would love to meet you. Vince Johnson Food and Beverage Director

Report
s
vipskip
New Orleans
6 reviews
Dined on February 9, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

They did not have my OpenTable reservation when we arrived. After a short wait we were seated.

Beach House Restaurant + Tap Room
Responded on February 28, 2020

Skip- Thank you for taking the time and rating us four-star. We hope you come back soon!!! Vince Johnson Food and Beverage Director

Report
RS
RonaldS
Savannah
4 reviews
Dined on January 19, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The seafood was fresh and well prepared. The service was friendly and attentive. We will be going back.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on January 18, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience3

Anniversary

RB
RayB
1 review
Dined on November 28, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

I got there early before my reservation and they got me right on in to a table. I went for the thanksgiving buffet. There were plenty of selections and everything that i ate was very tasty. Almost as good as grandma

KS
vipKellyS
Jacksonville
19 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

On the island for the weekend, we have dined here before and wanted to try again. Food and service was good , restaurant just has a different feel in off season . We Missed live music outside , made for a quite evening .

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Atlanta
30 reviews
Dined on September 17, 2019
Overall3food3service2ambience3

Sitting outside was very nice, but service and food were both mediocre.

JS
JaisonS
1 review
Dined on August 8, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience4

wasn't allowed to get a main course for the kids menu and add mac and cheese , had to order TWO kids meals.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Louisville
22 reviews
Dined on August 7, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Takeithia (our server) made our experience perfect! And the food is really good too. Order the Seafood Capellini, it's as good as it gets... but tough to find the pasta with ALL the seafood in it!!!

MW
vipMWM3
Savannah
15 reviews
Dined on July 27, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Good casual dining restaurant. Lots of families and a menu with enough variety to please most tastes.

HB
HeatherB
Atlanta
9 reviews
Dined on July 1, 2019
Overall3food3service2ambience3

Food was mediocre. Service took forever! We waited 10 mins before a waitress greeted us. They were out of a few items on the menu. I would pass on this one- much better options on the island.

J
Jbc31
1 review
Dined on June 27, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Service was terrible, kids meals came out ten minutes before adult meals. They were out of several sides and deserts. We also had to ask twice for the frozen treat that comes with kids meals. Food was terrible, brunt, vegetables mushy, small portions. Food over priced for the quality and quantity.

Beach House Restaurant + Tap Room
Responded on July 1, 2019

Dear Jbc31, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am sad to see it was not a good one and we did not meet your expectations. First I would like to apologize as we did not meet your expectations. We take these matters very seriously and will look into this immediately. I would like to hear more detail about your experience, please feel free to call me @ 912-319-0033

Report
RM
RMCK
Palm Springs
4 reviews
Dined on June 22, 2019
Overall2food2service3ambience3

We had to send the oysters back because something was off... service was OK but this is part of the Holiday Inn and you kind of feel that going into the place. Not near as nice as it appears from the pictures. Good, casual outdoor scene. Our service was fine but overall was disappointed.

Beach House Restaurant + Tap Room
Responded on June 30, 2019

Hi RMCK, Thank you so much for your review and feedback! We truly appreciate your comments as it helps us train our staff and provide a better experience for our guests. We are sad to hear you did not enjoy your experience completely and would like hear more from you. Please feel free to reach out to me at any time. We want to make sure your next experience is one to remember. Thank you again and hope you can join us soon. Please ask for Edson

Report
HT
HeatherT
1 review
Dined on June 17, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience4

I have mixed feelings about this place. It’s cute inside and has a nice view of the beach. We had reservations but our shuttle was late picking us up so we were about 6 minutes late for our reservation. They had “given away” our high top reserved table even though the restaurant wasn’t full. But they ended up seating us by a window to make up for it. My husband’s steak was very delicious! Unfortunately, my crab cake was the worst I’ve ever had and I couldn’t even eat it. It was lukewarm and soggy. The buerre bland sauce was horribly watered down. I ate my fries and some of my husband’s steak. The rum punch was delicious!

Beach House Restaurant + Tap Room
Responded on June 30, 2019

Hi Heather T , Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I am happy to see you enjoyed your beverage and your husband had a great meal, but sad to hear you did not enjoy yours. Please know that we take these matters very seriously and will look into our Crab cake. We consistently hear great comments about it so its surprising and concerning to hear otherwise. I hope you can join us in the near future and enjoy that delicious punch again! All the best, Edson

Report
NL
NikkiL
1 review
Dined on June 14, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server and food were amazing!!! The only thing that would have made it better was more outside seating so we could have heard the live music. The calamari was the best I have had in a long time.

Beach House Restaurant + Tap Room
Responded on June 30, 2019

Hi NikkiL, thank you so much for your 5 star review! we are so happy to see you had a great time at beach house. Looking forward to your next visit! Thanks again

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Phoenix
5 reviews
Dined on June 8, 2019
Overall1food1service4ambience5

Horrible food, view isn’t worth it. Only go for drinks

Beach House Restaurant + Tap Room
Responded on June 30, 2019

Hi Anonumous, Thank you for your review. I would love to hear more about your experience. Please feel free to reach out as I would love to discuss your rating. We take these matters very seriously and want to make sure we make it right for you and our guests. Thank you again

Report
A
Anonymous
1 review
Dined on May 31, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience1

The food and price were fine. Even with the restaurant half full, it was extremely loud because there is nothing to absorb the noise.

Beach House Restaurant + Tap Room
Responded on June 30, 2019

HI, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to see you had a good experience with us, but we want to make sure you have a GREAT one next time. I would like to apologize for the noise. We were working on our music system at the time. We are happy to say that is it back and running! Hope you can join us again in the future. Thank you again Edson

Report
M
vipMargie
Atlanta
5 reviews
Dined on May 30, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience3

We had the absolute best service at Beach House tonight.

EJ
vipEatingJT
Tampa
19 reviews
Dined on May 26, 2019
Overall3food3service1ambience2

This restaurant needs to reconfigure the space. There is a lot of wasted space in the entrance room. Two of us were sitting at a booth for 6. This wasn't a problem because we had open table reservations, but there was a long wait list. We are not sure if the waitress was new or overworked, but the service was not that great.

R
Roma
Charleston
3 reviews
Dined on May 25, 2019
Overall3food2service3ambience5

Went there with my 2 grandchildren 3 and 8. They ordered grill cheese that they said was "yucky"
My daughters steak was fine but they added this gravy with mushrooms that was cold and congealed. My crab cake was also cold and I tasted little crab.Barely ate any of it and thank goodness for the fries that were great.The kids menu had ice cream for dessert so at least they had something in their stomache. Save your money and try somewhere else.

n
vipnorth
Atlanta
61 reviews
Dined on May 20, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Just average, noting special. Wine list minimal, forgettable menu. Service was just ok.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Jacksonville
4 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience3

I would avoid this restaurant at all cost. You’re able to make a reservation anytime between operating hours however, while on our way to the restaurant at 240 for our 3 pm reservation they called to say they don’t take people between 3-4. I was offered no apology, but was told to be there by 3 if I wanted to be seated or I’d have to wait until 4.

The restaurant was dead, and it took forty five mins to get food for my family of five. I asked to speak to the manager and was again offered no apology, just that it would be out when it’s done.

I asked for a side salad and was given and charged for a full size $10 salad on top of my meal. The burger my husband had was mediocre and over cooked, and my filet was terrible.


Don’t go. Trust me. Total waste of $100.

I will be advising everyone I know NOT to dine here.

AB
AlexisB
Richmond
1 review
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall2food4service1ambience4

The hostess was rude once again but we actually got service this time. This is the third time trying to eat here with only the second actually eating the food. Calamari was excellent and the waitress delightful.

JR
JackR
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on May 10, 2019
Overall2food2service3ambience3

my BLT sandwich did not include the bacon because the cook forgot to put it on and when I asked what they were going to do about that, our waitress said it was too late to do anything. they had to change a beer keg and then it took forever to receive our beers.

LS
LisaS
1 review
Dined on April 25, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Margaritas were great, food was delicious, ask for Duncan - the best waiter!

CH
vipCynthiaH
Washington DC
15 reviews
Dined on April 20, 2019
Overall5food4service4ambience5

We had a good dinner at Beach House. We sat outside and listened to music while we ate viewing the ocean. It doesn’t get much better than that. The pasta primavera is a must have! We will definitely return.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Savannah
1 review
Dined on April 20, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience3

Upon arrival got seated promptly, but they had no menus available even though only 10 tables were occupied. Looked at the menu on my phone and placed the order as soon as our waitress came to take out drink order noticing the other tables had been waiting a long time to even have their orders taken. After waiting 1hr for our food and seeing the other tables ahead of us still missing meals we gave up and left. Manager had no desire to make it right. Only nice thing is they allow dogs in the outside patio which is why we chose to go there, but a few other restaurant do as well.

RK
RobK
1 review
Dined on April 15, 2019
Overall2food3service3ambience4

First there were 11 tables open outside but there was groups of people standing outside waiting, luckily I made a reservation on this website. Second the food was good but the portion you got for your money is poor, after my fiancée ate his pasta, he ordered a pizza. Third my son's fried shrimp tasted like cigarettes butt, but our waitress did make it good and got my son a new batch of grilled shrimp. Fourth, our ceiling fan was stuck on high in which made it chilly & made our food cold quicker. Lastly our waitress was nice but not real attentive, our tea glasses were empty twice and we had to ask for refills. I love seafood and was looking forward to eating here But it was a let down. Alot of improvement needed.

LR
LindaR
1 review
Dined on April 14, 2019
Overall1food1service4ambience4

I would only recommend for dinner. All of us got sick from eating breakfast. The bacon and sausage were very under cooked. Buffett was only thing offered. Short handed.

FAQs

Beach House Restaurant + Tap Room offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (912) 319-0033.

Beach House Restaurant + Tap Room is rated 3.8 stars by 131 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.