This restaurant now offers Takeout

Bring the restaurant to you. Order and pay for food directly on OpenTable.

View Takeout menu

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa

4.3
981 Reviews
$31 to $50
Seafood
At Ostra we proudly present the finest selection of fresh fish, locally sourced produce and organic product flown in from around the world. Uniquely imaginative cuisine delights diners as they stroll in from the River Walk to enjoy fine fare and one of our famous margaritas. Ostra features exclusive river front terrace dining, a dramatic stone and glass oyster bar and two private rooms to accommodate any guest request. Here, you can expect quality ingredients, an extensive wine selection, specialty vintage tequilas and the highest levels of service in a relaxed contemporary atmosphere.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking

Featured specials

Select a special by choosing a date, time and party size

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Dine in
Starting Dec 24, 2021

Join us on Christmas Eve at Ostra at Mokara Hotel and Spa!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Dine in
Starting Dec 25, 2021

Join us for Christmas Dinner! We will be offering our full menu, as well as some Christmas favorites.

What 981 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Antonio
12 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and a wonderful waiter made our evening. The river walk that the restaurant is located on was covered in holiday lights. It was a beautiful setting. Will go again.

W
vipWino
Denver
100 reviews
Dined on November 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Gabi, our server was knowledgeable, friendly and great service. We started with the wedge salad, very flavorful and gumbo; gumbo needed bigger pieces of sausage and shrimp for better flavor. The roasted salmon with duck succotash was fabulous, great flavors. The Halibut special was excellent, served with risotto prepared in an acorn squash, fabulous flavor and presentation. We are in San Antonio 2-3 times each year and we will be back to Ostra. One of the best fine dining experiences in San Antonio.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Wino, Thank you for the review. I appreciate the kind words, and the shout out to Gabbie. I'll pass along your kind words to Gabbie and the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in San Antonio. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
D
Disappointment
San Antonio
2 reviews
Dined on November 26, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Very disappointing experience. Regardless of speaking with staff two times this week to ensure a "typical" experience though there was a city event, we arrived to be told there was ONLY a pri-fixe menu for the evening. Two days prior that was not the case. Having a reservation, making arrangements to avoid the riverwalk closures, and calling ahead about vegan options did us no good. We were visiting from out of town...don't plan on trying this restaurant again. Downtown San Antonio has too many consistently great options to consider.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 6 days ago

Hello, Thank you for the feedback. I apologize for the poor experience. I feel terrible that my service team failed to inform you of the prix fixe offering, which we only have twice a year during River Parades. This year, as always, we ensured that our prix fixe offering consisted of at least one vegan offering for both dinner and dessert. Thank you again for the review and hope you will give us the opportunity to make this right next time you're in San Antonio. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
D
Disappointment
San Antonio
1 review
Dined on November 26, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Very disappointing experience. Regardless of speaking with staff two times this week to ensure a "typical" experience though there was a city event, we arrived to be told there was ONLY a pri-fixe menu for the evening. Two days prior that was not the case. Having a reservation, making arrangements to avoid the riverwalk closures, and calling ahead about vegan options did us no good.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 6 days ago

Hello, Thank you for the feedback. I apologize for the poor experience. I feel terrible that my service team failed to inform you of the prix fixe offering, which we only have twice a year during River Parades. This year, as always, we ensured that our prix fixe offering consisted of at least one vegan offering for both dinner and dessert. Thank you again for the review and hope you will give us the opportunity to make this right next time you're in San Antonio. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Houston
1 review
Dined on November 26, 2021
Overall3food1service5ambience5

Food was not worth the price at all. This was the vibe for most of the food in San Antonio.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the review. I feel terrible that you did not enjoy our menu offerings, and I apologize that we failed to impress. If you find yourself in the area again, please let me know so we can try to make this right. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
SA
SanAntonioFave
San Antonio
18 reviews
Dined on November 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely excellent food, service, ambiance...perfect holiday meal! Will definitely do this again!

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the 5 star review! I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with this great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
MS
vipMimiStarr
Columbus
59 reviews
Dined on November 23, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

First timers. Excellent waiter. Excellent menu. Excellent food. Highly recommend.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago

MimiStarr, Thank you for the review. I appreciate you taking time to provide us with this feedback. If there was anything more we could have done to earn that 5th star, please let me know. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
ML
MikeL
Cleveland
2 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Had 7pm reservations and were seated promptly.

The bread served was fresh, warm and delicious. We split a Caesar salad that we both thought was average, nothing special. My friend ordered the special (scallops with risotto and a poblano sauce), I ordered the filet mignon. Presentation of both dishes was beautiful. The filet was slightly undercooked from what I ordered but we both enjoyed both entrees.

The sever was friendly and knowledgeable but could have been more attentive. The salad was initially forgotten and we went without drinks for quite some time.

Overall it was an enjoyable experience and we will likely dine again.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Mike, Thank you for the review and the actionable feedback. All feedback, positive or otherwise, is important to improving the experience we provide our guests. We hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
CB
CliftB
Orlando
5 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

We will return when we are back in the area. Good food! Great atmosphere!

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

CliftB, Thank you for the review. I appreciate the 5 stars and kind words. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to San Antonio. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
AB
vipAlanB
San Antonio
19 reviews
Dined on November 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and delicious seafood...a very rare combination in San Antonio. I can't wait to go back

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Alan, Thank you for the review and the 5 stars! I appreciate it. We'll see you next time! Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
v
vipvickid
San Francisco
28 reviews
Dined on November 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Christmas lights at River

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Vicki, Thank you for the review! I appreciate it! Glad you enjoyed dining on our patio, and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Detroit
4 reviews
Dined on November 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What an incredible dinner with great service. I recommend the grapefruit aperol spritzer and the grilled Ahi tuna with crab rangoon.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the review! Hard to beat the Aperol Spritz and the Tuna, great call! We'll see you next time. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
JB
JamesB
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing Seafood!!!

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

James, Thank you! I appreciate the 5 stars! We'll see you next time. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience5

Food is simply ok. Did not meet expectations.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the review. I appreciate the feedback and hope that we'll have an opportunity in the future to make this right. Thank you for the review. If there was anything we could have done to have earned that 5th star, please let me know. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
SD
SteveD
St. Louis
2 reviews
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome seafood! Great service and nice atmosphere

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Steve, Thank you! I appreciate you taking time out of your day to provide us with 5 stars. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for the review. If there was anything we could have done to have earned that 5th star, please let me know. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience3

I guess too be expected give the location, but really not anything special for the prices

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the review. I appreciate the honest feedback, and understand your disappointment. I will take this feedback into consideration as we update our current menu over the next few weeks before a new roll out in 2022. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
AG
AnthonyG
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Sat outside at the river by choice. Busy night so may have sat inside if I could change anything. Other than that awesome night!

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Anthony, Thank you for the review! I'm glad we were able to place you on the river; our patio tables are usually in high demand. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Austin
5 reviews
Dined on November 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great food and great time with colleagues

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the 5 star review! I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with this great feedback. I'm glad we were able to take care of you and your colleagues.. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
N
Nico
1 review
Dined on November 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Canadian oysters were milder and more palatable to persons who dont eat oysters on a regular basis. But the Louisiana oysters were very good too. FYI when we go back we will definitely order the Seafood Tower appetizer again for 4 approx $200 but it was so good. Great Job Ostra! Keep it up

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Nico, Great review! I'm personally a fan of the Canadian oysters, as well as the seafood tower. Hard to beat fresh lobster while relaxing on the river. We'll see you next time. Thank you for the review. If there was anything we could have done to have earned that 5th star, please let me know. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
F
Foodguy
New York Area
20 reviews
Dined on November 11, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was great. Especially enjoyed the Salmon and scallops over linguini

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the review! I appreciate the kind words, and the 5 stars. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
DD
DaveD
Detroit
5 reviews
Dined on November 10, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience3

In San Antonio for vacation and this is the only bad restaurant experience we have had this week. Server was slow with everything and seemed untrained. Calamari app was chewy and way overcooked. Tuna was supposed to be rare but arrived medium/medium well and was awful too. Whole experience was terrible.

Really disappointed.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Dave, Thank you for the review. I feel terrible that you had such a poor experience, and I apologize that we failed to provide you with the experience you deserved. I'll speak to my service and culinary teams to see why we were unable to address this feedback before you left. Again, my sincerest apologies for the poor experience, and hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
M
Mirasaki
San Antonio
16 reviews
Dined on November 10, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

The gumbo had no seafood as advertised, but my replacement pasta was delicious

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Mirasaki, Thank you for the review. I apologize for the gumbo, and have passed along this information to our chefs to address. I'm glad that the pasta rescued the evening though. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
F
Flaco
San Antonio
4 reviews
Dined on November 8, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

The overall experience was pleasant but I felt that the restaurant lacked ambience.
No background music which would have made for some atmosphere. Our server
was prompt, attentive, and I felt a little distracted and perhaps this is due to the fact
that she was working two different sections (outside/inside).
The food presentation was very appealing but the portions were small based on the
menu prices. I had the ahi tuna which was probably no more than 2 oz with a meager serving of vegetables.
Why do you not sell wine in the 750 instead of 187 and 375 size? My previous
background was F&B for 30 years and I have spent the last 21 years working in the
wine department at Central Market. I know that what you offer in the above mentioned sizes are available in the 750's .
It was a pleasant experience but will I ever return I seriously doubt it. My bill including tip was $302.00 and I have to admit that it was not the best experience
that I've had. We learn by trial and error!

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Flaco, Thank you for the review. I appreciate the feedback. Unfortunately, the City of San Antonio has limitation and restrictions on music on the river, so I certainly can commiserate on atmosphere. I did want to mention that the Ahi Tuna is an 8oz portion, served with sesame rice, 3 crispy, handmade, crab dumplings, and sweet and sour vegetables. Additionally, we offer 187 bottles on our wine list, 180 of which are offered in 750ml formats. Thank you again for the feedback, Mike Nahat

Report
VC
VickiC
New England
3 reviews
Dined on November 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very friendly nice service. Nice variety of food and beverages.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago

Vicki, Thank you for the review. I appreciate the 5 stars, and the time you took to provide us with some feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
MP
MichaelP
Dallas
2 reviews
Dined on October 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Catch atmosphere sitting on the river walk. Excellent service in an area for quick turnover and a poor service. The redfish was excellent and one of the better dishes I had in a while. Recommend this place during your stay in San Antonio.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on November 2, 2021

Thank you! I appreciate it! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
DE
DawnE
San Antonio
2 reviews
Dined on October 30, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

We were there for a friend's birthday and they greated us with a Happy birthday which was very nice. The service was very good. I ordered the salmon and it was good, but had a few too many flavors for me. It was cooked very well. Our server was very nice and not too many questions. Answered questions about specials. My friend had the halibut and was pleasantly surprised. The wine sauce was a little strong for him because he doesn't drink, but I thought it was really good. We had the calamari for appetizer and it was really different in the presentation, but it was delicious. We had the cheesecake for his birthday and it was delicious with the berry compote. Great flavors together and the Happy birthday chocolate bar sign was super cute. I am a teacher and this was a special occassion so for me it was kind of pricey because for two dinners, calamari and cheesecake was $120 plus tip was $150 which is a lot of money for me. I would highly recommend this place for a special occassion but would not come here on a regular basis because of the prices. We really did have a nice time and it was nice to valet our car so we could take a quick walk around the riverwalk within our 2 hour time after dinner.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on November 2, 2021

Dawn, Thank you for the review, I appreciate the 5 stars. I'll pass along your feedback to my team to build on. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
AK
vipAK87
Minneapolis
5 reviews
Dined on October 29, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience4

Swordfish special was nothing good.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on November 2, 2021

Thank you for the feedback. I will pass along your feedback to my culinary team to address. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
10 reviews
Dined on October 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was fabulous. Large portions. They were happy to split a plate. Red fish and calamari so tasty. Bar inside is nice and relaxing. A must on the riverwalk.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on November 2, 2021

Thank you for the review! I appreciate the 5 stars. If I can recognize anyone on my team for the 5 star service, please let me know. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Antonio
1 review
Dined on October 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was great, staff was very friendly.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on October 25, 2021

Thank you! I appreciate the 5 stars! If there is anyone on my team that I can personally recognize for the 5 star service, please let me know. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
JK
JeffK
Phoenix
16 reviews
Dined on October 24, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Location was very good overlooking the riverwalk. My wife loved her cappuccino, but our breakfast was good, but nothing special about it.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on November 2, 2021

JeffK, Thank you for the review. I'm sorry you had such a poor experience, and will provide your feedback to my team so they can address. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
MT
MarielT
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on October 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were in from out of town hoping to find great seafood and we were able to do just that! Our server was friendly and great at providing recommendations.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on October 25, 2021

Thank you! I appreciate the 5 stars! If there is anyone on my team that I can personally recognize for the 5 star service, please let me know. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
G
Girlsweekend
1 review
Dined on October 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a lovely experience at Ostra. The food and service were wonderful. Ostra is a hidden gem on the River Walk.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on November 2, 2021

Thank you for the review. If there is anyone that I can personally recognize for the 5 star service, please let me know. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
GM
GlennM
1 review
Dined on October 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our favorite San Antonio restaurant by far!! The food is delicious

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on October 25, 2021

Thank you! I appreciate the 5 stars! If there is anyone on my team that I can personally recognize for the 5 star service, please let me know. We hope to see you again soon! Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Dallas
1 review
Dined on October 16, 2021
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Very nice evening and great food! Calamari came out a little cool but everything else was great!

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on October 18, 2021

Thank you! I appreciate the 5 stars! I'll follow up with my culinary team regarding the calamari, thank you for the feedback., We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Austin
2 reviews
Dined on October 16, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Really bad food, bad service, and bad decor

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on October 18, 2021

Thank you for the review. I feel terrible that you have such a poor experience. If you have a moment, any feedback you can provide would be appreciated. Again, thank you for the feedback, and I look forward to your response. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Houston
5 reviews
Dined on October 16, 2021
Overall3food2service5ambience5

I had a steak which was probably not the best option at a seafood spot. Wasn’t great. Also had muscles and calamari appetizers which I didn’t love either. My guests weren’t impressed with their entrees either.

But service was great and ambiance was a nice relief from busy river walk.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on October 25, 2021

Thank you for the review. I appreciate the feedback. I've passed along your comments to my culinary team to address. Again, thank you for the review and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and excellent service!

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on October 18, 2021

Thank you! I appreciate the 5 stars! If there is anyone on my team that I can recognize for the 5 star service, please let me know. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
J
Jaume
Mexico City
4 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Pasamos una excelente velada y el servicio, a pesar del reto en el idioma, fue muy bueno. Las porciones muy bien servidas y en general un trato muy amable y cordial.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on October 18, 2021

Thank you for the review! I appreciate the 5 stars, and we hope to see you again soon. I'm very glad that, even with a small language barrier, you enjoyed yourself. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
ML
MaryLovesseafood
1 review
Dined on October 1, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

The menu was wonderful with a nice selection. We were there for the seafood. My husband had the Pasta Del Mar and I had the Ahi Tuna. Generous plates that were beautiful and delicious. My Only complaint was the extreme saltiness of the Calamari appetizer — which could have been lovely except for the heavy hand on the salt shaker.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on October 5, 2021

MaryLovesseafood, Thank you for the review. I appreciate the 4 stars, and an area in which we can approve. All feedback is important and appreciated. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
LK
LauraK
Houston
13 reviews
Dined on September 30, 2021
Overall3food1service4ambience5

I thought this was going to be a " 5' star restaurant but it was very disappointing. The presentation of our first course, Ahi Tuna Carpaccio was nice but the tuna didn't taste very fresh. The Caesar salad was bland and boring. However, the freshly shaved parmesan on top was nice. Now for the truly sad part, the Fruits De Mer Pasta. The shrimp are smaller than a dime, the scallops are the size of a pea, not kidding, and it came with 3 mussels. There was no pancetta and the sauce was spaghetti sauce. This was basically spaghetti with cheap frozen seafood and 3 mussels for $36. Please understand, $$$ is NOT an issue for me but quality is. However, great service and ambiance.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on October 5, 2021

LauraK, Thank you for the review. I feel terrible that we failed to provide you with a wonderful experience. I've passed along your comments to our culinary team to address. Thank you, Mike Nahat

Report

FAQs

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa is rated 4.3 stars by 981 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa