Kona Grill - Troy

4.3
2608 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Welcome to Kona Grill Troy, a top restaurant and sushi bar in Detroit where you can enjoy a local paradise. Fresh, wild caught fish is used to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Happy hour on the beautiful, shaded patio overlooking the plaza fountain is a must. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Troy during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Contactless payment available
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon - Thu 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Fri 8:00PM - 11:45PM
Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 8:00PM - 11:45PM

What 2608 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
m
marys
Detroit
13 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We enjoyed our food and our waitress was efficient and friendly.

GT
GemmaT
Detroit
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love the place and food. The staff were so nice and very pleasant.

CW
CathyW
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Drink was great , food was very good and service exceptional

OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great experience — good food and even better service.

C
Connie
Corpus Christi
19 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It is always nice to go to Kona Grille. The food is consistently good and the wait staff is super attentive. We had a great meal and will be back in the near future!
Thank you!

k
katrinab
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience5

A little hiccup with our order, but they were very accommodating.

A
Allison
Detroit
5 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Our monthly visit was great as usual. Our server Devlin was awesome! One of the best servers we've had!

AG
AGM1947
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Will not go back to this restaurant
Bad experience
Will not recommend it to others

BF
vipBuckeyeFoodie
Detroit
42 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3food3service5ambience3

we started with calamari (slightly over battered), Sushi was good. Service (Alyssa) was great. Value over all very good. Next time I'll skip calamari

OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Moriah was absolutely AMAZING from the time she came to the time she brought the bill. Food was amazing from appetizers to our actual meal!! I don’t think I have ever experienced high quality service in a long time!!! I will definitely be back!

R
Rj123
1 review
Dined on January 13, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Marcus was great. Food was great. Music was a little loud In the back corner but overall. Everything was top notch.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review! We absolutely love it when our team members are recognized for their impeccable service. It really goes a long way, I'm sure you understand how much we value a team member like Marcus! We look forward to making your next visit just as incredible as this one!

Report
T
Thomasp
1 review
Dined on January 11, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Machelle (the manager) came over and was delightful in her relaxed exchanged and conversation. Made our excellent lunch special.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 6 days ago

Thomas, thanks for coming in and going the extra mile to let us know that we did a fantastic job! Come on back soon for another round of those custom Kona vibes we try so hard to bestow on guests like yourself!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on January 10, 2022
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Food was good, but I found a bit expensive. Service was slow at first, but improved later in the meal. They only had two dessert offerings which I thought was weak. The worst part. I misplaced my credit card and realized it late last night. I called before the restaurant was officially open and inquired about it. They said they would call me back when the restaurant opened and they never did…now I have to make a trip back there. Annoying.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for the 4 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
3 reviews
Dined on January 9, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing great food!!! Will definitely come again:)

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 11, 2022

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
PM
PamelaM
Detroit
1 review
Dined on January 9, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Our server was very attentive and friendly. The food we all ordered was great. There were three of us and we all ordered different items. I had the Lobster Benedict which was so good. I could only eat half of it so sent the other home with our son. He ordered the Lobster Avocado Toast which he said was amazing, and my husband ordered the omelet which he enjoyed as well. At first the music was a bit out of line for brunch, but it changed after a couple of songs. The manager came by to check on us too, which was a pleasant touch.
We shall return and do recommend this restaurant.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 11, 2022

Pamela, we really appreciate the 5 star review! We are proud to have such a wonderful team here at Kona Grill! We hope to make another exceptional experience with you again soon!

Report
A
Anonymous
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on January 8, 2022
Overall2food4service3ambience4

Food was good but pricey without the value. $40 worth of sushi on the plate that looked like it wouldn’t feed a small child. Music so loud we couldn’t hear each other at our own table, so distracting.
We were disappointed and won’t go back. It’s too bad because the atmosphere is great!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 11, 2022

We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at your convenience so we can try to make this right 248.519.4993 We look forward to hearing from you.

Report
TT
vipTTfromtheD
Detroit
5 reviews
Dined on January 7, 2022
Overall5food3service5ambience5

We had a great server, the vibe was great and the service was on point.

BB
vipBethB
Detroit
4 reviews
Dined on January 6, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The staff was very nice, food was delicious and it was a great atmosphere to catch up with my girlfriend.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 7, 2022

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
27 reviews
Dined on January 3, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was a great evening to celebrate the start of the new year with my best friend. The food, service and atmosphere was great. It was not crowded and we felt comfortable in the space

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on January 3, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was great .

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 6, 2022

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined on January 2, 2022
Overall1food3service1ambience2

So disappointed. First time visiting - never going back. Not busy - took 30 minutes to order. Rare steak come out medium well. Room heaters must have been set on broil - it was very hot. Noise level was not energetic - it was just loud for no reason. Had to talk loudly over the music (again - it was not busy).

OT
OpenTable Diner
Miami
3 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was amazing! Staff was amazing!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 6, 2022

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
AD
AustinD
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience5

Food and drinks were all fantastic, but maybe a hair on the high side of price. My wife and I went for NYE dinner and had a very nice time.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 6, 2022

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
KS
KarenS
Detroit
5 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

When changing the vegetable with your meal my thought is you let the customer know, there may be reasons they can’t eat the new choice. I have been to this restaurant many times I enjoy my food, but the first time I went a change of vegetables was not mentioned they replace it with mushrooms which I am allergic to.
But still came back again and enjoyed it every time, then last night again change of veg to brussel sprouts which I do enjoy but was not told of this change as luck has it I was pleased with the change. So just think the staff need to communicate these minor changes it does not affect the rest of the evening and enjoyment we had, but could have been a repeat of my first visit and then would have ruined my evening.

d
vipdeebee
Detroit
26 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Good food and great service. Table was ready on time

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 6, 2022

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
CO
CarrieO
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Daniel was fantastic. Menu was limited which I was not expecting. But overall a good dinner

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 6, 2022

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
CD
CDJ24
Detroit
3 reviews
Dined on December 30, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

There were several food items that had sold out for the day. It was disappointing to try to order something only to be told, “sorry, we sold out of that”. It was to the point where we had to ask, “what do you have available?”

b
biggmarty
Detroit
7 reviews
Dined on December 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server Lisa was outstanding. Food is always great. Drinks superb.

J
Jules
1 review
Dined on December 29, 2021
Overall2food2service4ambience5

Food portions very small. Spent $100 and felt like we didn’t get a full portions.

VR
VictorR
1 review
Dined on December 26, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Good except I thought the birthday dessert was going to be comped

O
vipOtuka
Detroit
62 reviews
Dined on December 26, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

As if on cue, when I put a slice of the salmon on my sister’s plate, she said it’s too rare for her the Manager came to our table to check on us. I mentioned about the salmon being rare she offered to replace it. A little later the server came and asked how we were doing. I told her that my sister is waiting on the salmon. Pointing to the salmon she said there it is. So I told her how the Manager came to our table earlier. The salmon came, smaller in size and a little well done. But we are grateful to the Manager. May I suggest next time, the server should ask how they want the salmon cooked just like they ask you how you want your steak.

EJ
EmilyJ
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Due to holiday, our reservation was not available and we had t o wait. But, the manager and her staff were wonderful! We will go again.

NN
NoelN
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2021
Overall3food5service5ambience5

The staff was cheerful and as fast as they could considering they we way short staffed. I would have been excellent is not for the wait times.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Very mediocre food and service.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Antonio
9 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2021
Overall3food4service5ambience2

It was Christmas Day so you would expect things to be challenging. The kitchen was very very very slow. The waitress told us that they were down 3 cooks and 2 managers were filling in to help. Our waitress was spectacular and handled the situation well. I don’t know what the restaurant’s overtime policy is but for a big holiday with larger that usual crowds expected, perhaps, they should consider triple-time or something. I’m sure that most people would be tipping well for the holiday as well.

As for the DJ, what the hell was that? It was very loud and none of the music was even close to being appropriate for the holiday. That made it difficult to catch up with the family that was right next to me.

LD
LisaD
Detroit
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2021
Overall1food3service5ambience1

I am struggling to find the words to express my horror at what turned out to be my family Christmas Dinner. A bit of background, my step father recently passed away, so we girls decided to take my Mom out instead of having her feel the need to cook. We chose Kona Grill, entering the facility as 1st time guests and 1st time Christmas diners in general.
Upon entering, stress was the 1st thing we noticed. On every single employees faces. We were sat promptly, and then came Justin (5*) who was an absolute joy, albeit overworked ON HIS CHRISTMAS TOO. We were a 4 top(3 of us career industry people) and were horrified to learn that carryout and Door Dash were open? It's BOH's Christmas too, and whoever made that call needs to be fired. Immediately. Sushi was fine. Steaks were all cooked wrong,but I REFUSE to blame the kitchen for that. They were clearly overwhelmed. Enter Emily (5*) who was so abused by guests on HER CHRISTMAS by this recipe for a disaster corporate created my heart went out to her. All in all it ceased to be a family dinner but rather us trying to rally your staff and show them how appreciative we were for them giving up THEIR CHRISTMAS for a company that clearly could not care less about them, that I am still, now, at home, shaking my head at the lack of civility and empathy you showed for your entire staff at the Troy location. Corporate- you owe each and every one of your employees an apology and a bonus for ruining THEIR CHRISTMAS while you all had the (presumably) day off.
Because of Kona Grill we will literally never eat out on Christmas again. I refuse to ever be part of the corporate greed that subjects restaurant employees to such little respect.
THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART TO EVERY ONE WHO CARED FOR MY FAMILY THIS EVENING.
Screw corporate
Again, thank you Justin and Emily and everyone else.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Columbus
2 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Perfect for Christmas lunch!

BR
BRIANE
1 review
Dined on December 24, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Overall great food and excellent service. Only thing I wasn’t aware of was a smaller menu.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on December 24, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Too loud, food was outstanding, DJ blaring music ridiculous

OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on December 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We came in for Christmas Eve dinner. The food was wonderful and our server was excellent. Macadamia nut chicken and the salmon were both delicious. We’ll be back!

FAQs

Kona Grill - Troy is rated 4.3 stars by 2608 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Troy does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.konagrill.com/more/gift-cards.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.