Kona Grill - Troy

4.3
2613 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Welcome to Kona Grill Troy, a top restaurant and sushi bar in Detroit where you can enjoy a local paradise. Fresh, wild caught fish is used to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Happy hour on the beautiful, shaded patio overlooking the plaza fountain is a must. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Troy during COVID-19

Experiences

  • Kona Grill Date Night

    $39.00 per person

    Multiple dates available

    The search is over for the PERFECT DATE NIGHT! Make your reservation for DATE NIGHT at Kona Grill, offered every Sunday through Wednesday for $39 per person. This special menu features your choice of 1 of the 3 listed signature starters, Ribeye Meatballs or Lobster Toast or Ribeye Sliders. Followed by your choice of 2 of the 4 listed entrees, Sweet-Chili Glazed Salmon or Big Island Ribeye or Korean 5-Spiced Ribs or Assorted Sushi Board. Finishing your night off with Coffee Bread Pudding & a shot of Bailey’s. Add a bottle of Lunetta Prosecco, Chateau St. Michelle Chardonnay, or Two Vines Cabernet for $25.

Offers

  • Collect 1,000 bonus points

    Sun 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM, 2:15 PM - 2:45 PM, 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM, Mon - Thu 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM, Fri 8:00 PM - 11:45 PM, Sat 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM, 2:15 PM - 2:45 PM, 8:00 PM - 11:45 PM

    Receive points for dining rewards, KAYAK hotel savings and more.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Contactless payment available
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 2613 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
S
vipShar
Detroit
77 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server was attentive and courteous. Gave us time to chat and look at menu, provided feedback and recommendations on food. Food was superb, especiall the sea bass. Had a great time.

B
Bubbles
Detroit
3 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Excellent food and service. Prices are a tad high in my opinion for what you get.

LD
LDBhamNative
Detroit
12 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We were looking for a meal with interesting fish options. We found it and enjoyed the food. We had not been to Kona Grill in a long time and the food and service did not disappoint. The server was attentive and made some great recommendations. We were celebrating a birthday so she kindly brought the dessert to the table with a candle and sang with us. I absolutely would recommend this restaurant to others.

That being said, the restaurant looked a little worn around the edges. I am just glad they are still here to serve their unique brand of tastes and textures. Hoping they can upgrade when the moment is right.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
3 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything taste great and many options for people dairy allergy.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Great kids menu, apps and the sea bass and sushi were fantastic!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
AC
AndreaC
Western NC
9 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food4service3ambience2

I made the reservation based on hunger and what was available for almost immediate seating so I did not scan any reviews prior to coming here. Kona was a little more bar atmosphere than what we had hoped for.

The good:
- great selection room of menu items
- ton of seating, including for larger parties

The not so good:
- I ordered poke bowl with salmon and tuna with the sauce on the side. I was nearly done with it before somebody came by with the sauce. The bowl came out with only tuna and I asked the server about it. He came back a few minutes later with some explanation from chef but I have no idea what he said because…
- it was freaking loud in the restaurant, the music was blaring and everybody was very loud to try to talk over the music
- poke bowl was very good but small, it should really be considered an appetizer and not entree
- the bbq rib dinner was good but the serving was just six ribs, with a lot of veggies and potatoes to fill up the plate

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 3 days ago

Kona Grill is committed to providing the best value in each of our markets, with a continued focus on elevating the guest experience. Your feedback is very important to us, and all of your points are well taken, that is the only way to improve. We apologize that this has impacted you in a not so favorable way. We hope to see you soon!

Report
DC
DCrashbot
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall3food3service2ambience3

The server had the personality of a shoe. The food was good but more catered to a POSH crowd. They could use noise dampers, since the ambiance had that of a quiet atmosphere.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 3 days ago

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us your rating. We would love to hear from you to hopefully win two extra stars on your next visit! Please contact us at 248.519.4993

Report
FR
FanarR
Detroit
1 review
Dined on January 20, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food! Great service!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Detroit
10 reviews
Dined on January 20, 2022
Overall3food3service5ambience4

Service was EXCELLENT. I didn’t catch our servers name. Apps were better than mains for me and my two guests. Prices have gone up and the value is not what is used to be. I know suppliers quality has gone down as well since the pandemic so it’s no fault to the restaurant. Just not a top spot for me anymore

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for the review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
m
marys
Detroit
13 reviews
Dined on January 19, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We enjoyed our food and our waitress was efficient and friendly.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
GT
GemmaT
Detroit
1 review
Dined on January 18, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love the place and food. The staff were so nice and very pleasant.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
CW
CathyW
1 review
Dined on January 18, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Drink was great , food was very good and service exceptional

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on January 17, 2022
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great experience — good food and even better service.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 6 days ago

Thanks for coming in and going the extra mile to let us know that we did a fantastic job! Come on back soon for another round of those custom Kona vibes we try so hard to bestow on guests like yourself!

Report
C
Connie
Corpus Christi
19 reviews
Dined on January 17, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It is always nice to go to Kona Grille. The food is consistently good and the wait staff is super attentive. We had a great meal and will be back in the near future!
Thank you!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 6 days ago

Thanks for coming in and going the extra mile to let us know that we did a fantastic job! Come on back soon for another round of those custom Kona vibes we try so hard to bestow on guests like yourself!

Report
k
katrinab
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined on January 16, 2022
Overall4food5service4ambience5

A little hiccup with our order, but they were very accommodating.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for the review! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
A
Allison
Detroit
5 reviews
Dined on January 16, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Our monthly visit was great as usual. Our server Devlin was awesome! One of the best servers we've had!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 6 days ago

Thanks for coming in and going the extra mile to let us know that we did a fantastic job! Come on back soon for another round of those custom Kona vibes we try so hard to bestow on guests like yourself!

Report
AG
AGM1947
1 review
Dined on January 15, 2022
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Will not go back to this restaurant
Bad experience
Will not recommend it to others

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 6 days ago

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us your rating. We would love to hear from you to hopefully win three extra stars on your next visit! Please contact us at 248.519.4993 & speak with a manager.

Report
BF
vipBuckeyeFoodie
Detroit
44 reviews
Dined on January 15, 2022
Overall3food3service5ambience3

we started with calamari (slightly over battered), Sushi was good. Service (Alyssa) was great. Value over all very good. Next time I'll skip calamari

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for the review! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on January 14, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Moriah was absolutely AMAZING from the time she came to the time she brought the bill. Food was amazing from appetizers to our actual meal!! I don’t think I have ever experienced high quality service in a long time!!! I will definitely be back!

R
Rj123
1 review
Dined on January 13, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Marcus was great. Food was great. Music was a little loud In the back corner but overall. Everything was top notch.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 15, 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review! We absolutely love it when our team members are recognized for their impeccable service. It really goes a long way, I'm sure you understand how much we value a team member like Marcus! We look forward to making your next visit just as incredible as this one!

Report
T
Thomasp
1 review
Dined on January 11, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Machelle (the manager) came over and was delightful in her relaxed exchanged and conversation. Made our excellent lunch special.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 15, 2022

Thomas, thanks for coming in and going the extra mile to let us know that we did a fantastic job! Come on back soon for another round of those custom Kona vibes we try so hard to bestow on guests like yourself!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on January 10, 2022
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Food was good, but I found a bit expensive. Service was slow at first, but improved later in the meal. They only had two dessert offerings which I thought was weak. The worst part. I misplaced my credit card and realized it late last night. I called before the restaurant was officially open and inquired about it. They said they would call me back when the restaurant opened and they never did…now I have to make a trip back there. Annoying.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 16, 2022

Thank you for the 4 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
3 reviews
Dined on January 9, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing great food!!! Will definitely come again:)

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 11, 2022

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
PM
PamelaM
Detroit
1 review
Dined on January 9, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Our server was very attentive and friendly. The food we all ordered was great. There were three of us and we all ordered different items. I had the Lobster Benedict which was so good. I could only eat half of it so sent the other home with our son. He ordered the Lobster Avocado Toast which he said was amazing, and my husband ordered the omelet which he enjoyed as well. At first the music was a bit out of line for brunch, but it changed after a couple of songs. The manager came by to check on us too, which was a pleasant touch.
We shall return and do recommend this restaurant.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 11, 2022

Pamela, we really appreciate the 5 star review! We are proud to have such a wonderful team here at Kona Grill! We hope to make another exceptional experience with you again soon!

Report
A
Anonymous
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on January 8, 2022
Overall2food4service3ambience4

Food was good but pricey without the value. $40 worth of sushi on the plate that looked like it wouldn’t feed a small child. Music so loud we couldn’t hear each other at our own table, so distracting.
We were disappointed and won’t go back. It’s too bad because the atmosphere is great!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 11, 2022

We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at your convenience so we can try to make this right 248.519.4993 We look forward to hearing from you.

Report
TT
vipTTfromtheD
Detroit
5 reviews
Dined on January 7, 2022
Overall5food3service5ambience5

We had a great server, the vibe was great and the service was on point.

BB
vipBethB
Detroit
4 reviews
Dined on January 6, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The staff was very nice, food was delicious and it was a great atmosphere to catch up with my girlfriend.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 7, 2022

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
27 reviews
Dined on January 3, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was a great evening to celebrate the start of the new year with my best friend. The food, service and atmosphere was great. It was not crowded and we felt comfortable in the space

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 16, 2022

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on January 3, 2022
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was great .

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 6, 2022

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined on January 2, 2022
Overall1food3service1ambience2

So disappointed. First time visiting - never going back. Not busy - took 30 minutes to order. Rare steak come out medium well. Room heaters must have been set on broil - it was very hot. Noise level was not energetic - it was just loud for no reason. Had to talk loudly over the music (again - it was not busy).

OT
OpenTable Diner
Miami
3 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was amazing! Staff was amazing!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 6, 2022

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
AD
AustinD
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience5

Food and drinks were all fantastic, but maybe a hair on the high side of price. My wife and I went for NYE dinner and had a very nice time.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 6, 2022

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
KS
KarenS
Detroit
5 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

When changing the vegetable with your meal my thought is you let the customer know, there may be reasons they can’t eat the new choice. I have been to this restaurant many times I enjoy my food, but the first time I went a change of vegetables was not mentioned they replace it with mushrooms which I am allergic to.
But still came back again and enjoyed it every time, then last night again change of veg to brussel sprouts which I do enjoy but was not told of this change as luck has it I was pleased with the change. So just think the staff need to communicate these minor changes it does not affect the rest of the evening and enjoyment we had, but could have been a repeat of my first visit and then would have ruined my evening.

d
vipdeebee
Detroit
28 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Good food and great service. Table was ready on time

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 6, 2022

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
CO
CarrieO
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Daniel was fantastic. Menu was limited which I was not expecting. But overall a good dinner

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on January 6, 2022

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
CD
CDJ24
Detroit
3 reviews
Dined on December 30, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

There were several food items that had sold out for the day. It was disappointing to try to order something only to be told, “sorry, we sold out of that”. It was to the point where we had to ask, “what do you have available?”

b
biggmarty
Detroit
7 reviews
Dined on December 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server Lisa was outstanding. Food is always great. Drinks superb.

J
Jules
1 review
Dined on December 29, 2021
Overall2food2service4ambience5

Food portions very small. Spent $100 and felt like we didn’t get a full portions.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 3 days ago

We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention, and we are listening and addressing them; your feedback helps us strive for excellence. Please check for a private message to connect further. Thank you

Report
VR
VictorR
1 review
Dined on December 26, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Good except I thought the birthday dessert was going to be comped

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Kona Grill - Troy using the Order Online button.

Kona Grill - Troy is rated 4.3 stars by 2613 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Troy does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.konagrill.com/more/gift-cards.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.