Kona Grill - San Antonio

4.1
674 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Welcome to Kona Grill San Antonio, located at the Shops at La Cantera. Visitors and locals alike can enjoy our scratch kitchen and award-winning sushi. Stop by for happy hour to taste our delicious handcrafted cocktails. Enjoy a diverse menu featuring a wide variety of contemporary American dishes, as well as a variety of entrées and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Miso-saké Sea Bass in a delicious marinade, filets, almond-crusted Pork-Tenderloin, and Kona Grill’s signature dish – Macadamia Nut Chicken. The restaurant’s contemporary ambience, with its beautiful aquarium and outdoor patio, provides the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - San Antonio during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Contactless payment available
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon - Thu 6:00PM - 8:45PM
Fri 12:00AM - 12:00AM 8:00PM - 11:45PM
Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 8:00PM - 11:45PM

What 674 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.0
service
3.9
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
68% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
I
Isabel
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent! We had made a reservation and they immediately sat us. I
Thought prices had increased in many dishes but it was worth it. Food was delicious! Definitely would go back! Great customer service and everything was wonderful.

LP
LaxmikantP
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall1food3service1ambience1

The dining area was not clean and flies everywhere. Tables were not clean.

AT
vipAprilT
San Antonio
48 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food3service4ambience3

First time at this location. Limited sushi menu compared to other Kona locations visited in the past. Food ok, slightly above average Asian cuisine. Tempura shrimp ok, sushi roll recommended by server was good, chicken stays, fried rice ok. Decent for lunch, probably would not return for dinner or another visit.

A
Angela
1 review
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience2

Over priced for small amounts of food but the margaritas were a hit made me forget about the over priced food

s
safoodie
San Antonio
14 reviews
Dined on July 14, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience3

We arrived early for our reservation and were told there were no tables available. There was a table that needed to be cleaned right behind the hostess stand and when I inquired about it, we were told it was being held for the people who came in before us but they had no reservation. We were offered a bar table which is only meant for 2 people for our party of 3, otherwise we would have to wait an unspecified time. We were sat at this small table and Destiny who sat us said she would see if she could find us a table soon. Thank goodness right after we ordered drinks she came and told us she had a table available. I was very disappointed in the fact that we had a confirmed reservation and were told there were no tables available. Why have a reservation? After we were sat at a real table, the service was slow but the food was good. Not sure I'd go back to this location... The hostess I first spoke with was not empathetic to the fact that I was not happy that we had a reservation and they had no tables available. Thank goodness for the hostess Destiny who actually did the right thing.

N
None
1 review
Dined on July 13, 2021
Overall3food1service2ambience2

Food was horrible , took everything in me to finish it, will not be returning

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a great time at Kona Grill. Wonderful wait staff and very good food!!

DG
vipDoctorGR
San Antonio
55 reviews
Dined on July 11, 2021
Overall2food4service1ambience4

At least one server needs more training. Our previous visits were much better. I’m confident that management will resolve this very limited issue.

V
vipVegetarian
San Antonio
5 reviews
Dined on July 11, 2021
Overall2food3service4ambience5

I’ve been to Kona in the past and really enjoyed it. Unfortunately, this was not one of those times.

We brought guests visiting from out of town for dinner. When we were seated at our table (booth), the table looked dirty and had white paper stuck on it. It was never cleaned off, even once the server came and saw it.

The server was excellent (Christopher), and was quick to bring us our drinks and food. Everyone loved the avocado egg rolls and calamari. It was our entrees that weren’t great.

We ordered the house field salad, 2 sushi rolls (crab crunch and spicy tuna) and 1 salmon sashimi. I’m not too picky when it comes to salads but the croutons were so hard and stale that I couldn’t eat them. There were also way too many cherry tomatoes in the salad. I could hardly taste the rest of the salad over the tomatoes.

Our guests did not enjoy the sushi rolls, saying they didn’t taste fresh at all, and ended up leaving half of their rolls on the plate.

The DJ was giving a good vibe to the place but unfortunately this was not a winning night for us and dinner at Kona.

AA
AAAA
San Antonio
1 review
Dined on July 11, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience1

I was very unpleased on how I was waited there with my family , the girls in front had a lot of attitude was not very welcoming in quote on quote "Oh there's wait " with no smile I told the girl I made reservation online so therefore she needed to check . The front needs to work on consumer services that's not how you greet consumers coming in and my waiter was very unprofessional with no manages . Me and family got there around 4:50pm our waiter never check on us if we needed refills or anything else , he was in back having conversation with other co workers . This is unacceptable I work in medical office we always attend to our patient's make them feel welcome .
Kona Grill may use my feedback and initials for website testimonials.:No

AV
vipAshleeV
San Antonio
27 reviews
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

We went for a date night. It was very busy so thankfully we had reservations. We were sat in the bar area and actually sort of enjoyed it.
We got the surf and turf with the filet and several extra sushi rolls. The coconut shrimp roll was inventive but not quite as good as I’d hope but I did love the crunch. We also got the crunchy crab and it was standard and tasty. Kona grill is an easy date night no mess place.

IR
IsabellaR
1 review
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Good good good good good good good good good good good

R
vipRoxana
San Antonio
14 reviews
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The food is always delicious! We commented today that we've never had a dish we didnt like there. Our compliments to the chef!

J
vipJillian
Washington DC
10 reviews
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I really liked the food and variety of food.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good food, great service. Seemed a little over priced for lunch - $45 for a spider roll and Shrimp Pad Thai and water.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Antonio
1 review
Dined on July 7, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience3

Our waiter was rude and not very good at his job at all

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on July 9, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are sad to hear you did not have our customary 5-star experience. We would love to hear more from you and invite you back out. Please give us a call at the store.

Report
SS
ScottS
1 review
Dined on July 6, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great waitstaff. They went out of their way to make the visit enjoyable.

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on July 7, 2021

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 3, 2021
Overall3food1service4ambience1

Burger was raw. Steak wasn’t cooked to temp ordered. You could tell they are under staffed. Didn’t complain but won’t be going back for dinner.

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on July 7, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are sad to hear your experience was not up to our 5-star standards. We would love to talk more and invite you back out. Please give us a call at the store.

Report
G
Geary
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The service was great and the food was excellent. I debated about ordering the 5-spice Korean ribs but they were so good. My son really enjoyed his prime rib. The calamari was as good as the waiter promised it would be. I will definitely go back.

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on July 7, 2021

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon.

Report
D
Desi
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

I don’t remember them being this bad. While our server was very friendly, he did not seem to have much knowledge of anything going on in the restaurant.
The management seemed very apathetic to any suggestion that we were not pleased.
The food was very overpriced for what it was. We don’t mind spending a little money on good food, but this food did not match the bill. The sushi roll we got tasted fine, but it was a $12 roll for $19. If you are going to charge almost $20 for a roll, it needs to be more than basic. I suggest that the managers go to Sushishima or Goro’s and order a $20 roll. They will be embarrassed at what they are serving for the same price.

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on July 7, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are sad to hear your experience was not up to our 5-star standards. We would love to talk more and invite you back out. Please give us a call at the store.

Report
R
Rabbit127
1 review
Dined on June 27, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience3

My only complaint was how dirty our table and seating was. There were crumbs and plastic straw covers on the seat. The table was also dirty with crumbs, and I was appalled that the hostess still seated us. I proceeded to use the napkins they placed for us to clean the area for my family. Gross. In the midst of a pandemic, I am not confident they are cleaning between customers very well at all!

I have no complaints about the food or our service afterward. The food was excellent and our server was attentive.

But I will not be going back anytime soon. Cleanliness is important during a time like this. The lighting above us (we had a corner booth) was also full of dust and disgusting.

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on July 7, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are sad to hear your experience was not up to our 5-star standards. We would love to talk more and invite you back out. Please give us a call at the store.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Antonio
1 review
Dined on June 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and great food!

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on July 7, 2021

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Antonio
1 review
Dined on June 27, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience2

Demasiado prepotente la que

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on July 7, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are sad to hear your experience was not up to our 5-star standards. We would love to talk more and invite you back out. Please give us a call at the store.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Antonio
1 review
Dined on June 27, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Food and service were great but they were lacking in their beers, out of a lot of options so slightly disappointed.

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on July 7, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are sad to hear your experience was not up to our 5-star standards. We would love to talk more and invite you back out. Please give us a call at the store.

Report
B
Byrd23
Shreveport
1 review
Dined on June 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The waitress was especially professional and provided service. The atmosphere was great as well.

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on July 7, 2021

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon.

Report
K
vipKelly
Austin
8 reviews
Dined on June 22, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Very sports bar feel less of a date night environment. Food was good but some items were like miso soup and edamame we felt were very over priced for the experience given. Server was attentive and very nice!

PI
PrInceClan
San Antonio
3 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Too loud. Waitress didn't even offer dessert as it seems she was trying to rush us out.

MB
MicheleB
San Antonio
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall3food5service4ambience2

The food was fantastic but the music was so loud we couldn't even converse across the table with each other. Felt like I was at a club.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Hawaii
2 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall1food2service2ambience1

When we got our table; table, seats and floor were so dirty. Dirty chopsticks on the floor and it wasn't picked up the whole time we were there. Food was very underwhelming. The miso seabass had no miso flavor. The poke bowl was so small for the price and very mediocre. It was quite laughable since I am from Hawaii. Not sure where the owner is from but if they are from Hawaii, shame on them.

SK
SKCCCH
Dallas
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall1food1service2ambience3

$150 for 5 people. One meal came 10 mins after the others. Our pad Thai was not good & small had very portion size considering it was $22. Also had very little protein. Won’t go back.

IT
IlishaT
San Antonio
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great customer service every time! I love the fact that they have true reservations and not that call ahead crap! We always get seated as soon as we arrive. The food is amazing and the atmosphere is great! The music is often a little on the loud side but otherwise I have zero complaints and highly recommend! Make sure you try the rum cake, it’s the best dessert I’ve ever eaten!

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on July 7, 2021

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon.

Report
HO
HeatherO
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Made a reservation, still waited 45 minutes until actually seated. Many tables were empty but had not been cleaned off for about 15 minutes. I asked how the reservation system worked because what is the point of making a reservation, if there is going to be a long wait, never got a clear answer. The waitress rushed through ordering our food and walked away before we finished ordering. I completely understand that it was Fathers Day, but I feel they could have had a better system especially when that location is only a reservation required restaurant.

SG
SoylentGreen
San Antonio
3 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall3food2service5ambience4

Service was outstanding. Downside? The food was all served cold. My wife's food was so cold it was redone by the kitchen, and was still partly cold (the potatoes). Sad, usually get great food, but this Father's Day trip was a disappointment.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on June 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best meal I have had in quite sometime. Everything cooked and seasoned to perfection and served while hot.

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on June 21, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had such a good time with us. We cannot wait to have you join us again.

Report
DI
vipDIron
San Antonio
18 reviews
Dined on June 19, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

The food here is delicious. We started with the avocado egg rolls which came out piping hot with a fabulous honey cilantro dipping sauce. It was really unique. I had the Miso Sea bass and the flavor was fantastic. They accommodated my seafood allergy and switched out the shrimp fried rice for Jasmine rice as well. My husband had the shrimp and lobster sushi rolls and the chopped salad and really enjoyed it as well. The ambiance is really fun and if you like an outdoor patio instead it's great for people-watching at the mall.

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on June 21, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had such a good time with us. We cannot wait to have you join us again.

Report
JB
JackB
San Antonio
1 review
Dined on June 19, 2021
Overall1food3service2ambience1

Although we Do Like the other cities under this brand. Management fails at La Cantera. Table smelled. Could hear everyone’s order being yelled out.
Even the aquarium at the entrance was empty. That was a good sign of things to come.

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on June 21, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with us and would love to talk about it further with you. Please give us a call at the store.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Antonio
3 reviews
Dined on June 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing! Food was good as always

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on June 21, 2021

Thank you so much for your review!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 18, 2021
Overall3food3service1ambience2

Went to eat with a couple of friends, food runner was extremely rude. I know the difference between that and a server. I get friends were asking her for things but a quick, “I’m not your server” with a blunt face is not the way to go. Probably will not be back at that location. Should have spoken to a manager about that the moment it happened.

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on June 21, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience with us and would love to talk about it further with you. Please give us a call at the store.

Report
LJ
LizJ
1 review
Dined on June 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We just hoped the nba playoffs played in the TV screen.

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on June 17, 2021

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon.

Report
J
vipJohnr
Mississippi
84 reviews
Dined on June 13, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Patrick the manager was awesome. He took care of getting us a nice table away from most of the other as we requested. He was very welcoming to us and our service dog. The food was all very good for all 6 of us. The prices were very reasonable.

Kona Grill - San Antonio
Responded on June 17, 2021

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon.

Report

FAQs

Kona Grill - San Antonio offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (210) 877-5355.

Kona Grill - San Antonio is rated 4.1 stars by 674 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - San Antonio does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.