Kona Grill - Carmel

4.4
1616 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Welcome to Kona Grill Carmel at Clay Terrace, steps away from The Lawn. Enjoy your local paradise after work, a day of shopping, or before an event. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Happy hour on the beautiful, shaded patio is a must. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambiance provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Carmel during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

Featured specials

Select a special by choosing a date, time and party size

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Dine in
Starting May 9, 2021

Earn favorite child status and book your Mother’s Day Brunch reservation TODAY! MOMosas!

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 6:00PM - 8:45PM
Mon - Fri 6:00PM - 8:45PM
Sat 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 6:00PM - 8:45PM

What 1616 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
R
vipRegulars
Indiana
10 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience5

We really enjoy Kona Grill and come here often. The sushi and main dishes were excellent but the rum cake we took to go must have had a mix up, as one of the sauces included tasted like salad dressing but unfortunately we poured it all over the cake before trying.

EC
EricaC
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Perfect spot to dine, loved the dj! Will definitely return if I’m in Carmel IN again. Great food and service.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Indiana
3 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food4service2ambience3

The server may have been new or inexperienced, but didn’t share that. She wasn’t familiar with the bar; martinis were served with olive juice on the side (wtf), sushi was incorrect and one entree was late and instructions were missed on another. The food all tasted good, but the overall experience wasn’t.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded 3 days ago

We apologize about your experience. When I read your review I became extremely disheartened. I am also disappointed that a manager was not involved according to your review. When you have time can you please contact me at 317-566-1400 or please reply to my private message. I want to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
MH
vipMatthewH
Indiana
11 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Everything was very nice. We had a great meal and a great time. The food was very good, especially the Sea Bass!

M
vipMissy
Indiana
16 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Never disappoints!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for the great feedback MissyS. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Make sure you ask for me on your next visit. I want to meet you and buy you dessert. Stay safe and we will see you soon. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on April 11, 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience5

Food was great from the happy hour menu. However the bar tender was unfriendly.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on April 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I took my girlfriend out for our anniversary and we had a great experience. They were out of angry orchard and out of watermelon flavoring for margaritas which is our favorite but no worries we just ordered something else. The service definitely made the experience great. And we went after 9pm for happy hour on the weekend and got GREAT food for a great price. Our server was awesome.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on April 13, 2021

Thank you for the amazing feedback! We are glad you had a great time dining with us especially on your anniversary. However, we do apologize about running out of angry orchard & our watermelon flavoring. Please ask for me on you next visit to Kona Grill. I want to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
MJ
MelJ
Indiana
7 reviews
Dined on April 10, 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience3

Sushi was good ribeye I had wasn’t, I’ve had better steaks at a lot cheaper places, won’t be back

MI
MikeIndy
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined on April 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I love this place. Great vibe for Friday night drinks and dinner.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on April 9, 2021
Overall5food3service5ambience4

Service was amazing but some food came out cold others wald

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on April 12, 2021

We are glad you had a great time dining with us. We do apologize about the issues with your food. If you ever issues with any item at our location please inform our staff or ask for a manager. We will gladly remake or replace the item for you. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I want to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
SW Indiana
3 reviews
Dined on April 5, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience2

Be Careful management- starting to feel very Applebee’s. Kitchen and managers walking around without masks behind the scenes. Disappointing to see.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on April 4, 2021
Overall3food1service1ambience4

Food was awful

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on April 7, 2021

We apologize about your experience. When you have time can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. I want to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
KT
KristineT
Indiana
1 review
Dined on April 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Loster avacado toast is a winner! Great cocktail too

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on April 7, 2021

Thank you for the great feedback KristineT. We are glad you had a great time dining with us along with loving our Lobster Avocado Toast. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I want to meet you and buy you dessert. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on April 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful waiter - food was great!!! Overall, perfect!!!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Indiana
23 reviews
Dined on April 3, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had the the Seabass with fried Brussels sprouts and it was Wonderful!!

ID
IrishDannyb
Las Vegas
8 reviews
Dined on April 3, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Good visit to the area to see family. Food tasted good; my wife didn’t care for the cucumber salad, but the rest of us were very pleased. Cucumber salad needs a more thorough description. Protocols were well observed for everyone’s safety.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on April 10, 2021

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Please ask for me on your next visit. I want to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
e
elhoblit
Indiana
12 reviews
Dined on April 3, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a great experience. Wait staff is attentive, but never intruding. Food is always top shelf. And ambiance is perfect.for.families, and couples alike. Pricing is a little higher, but you get what you pay for.
Great job Kona!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on April 4, 2021

Thank you for the amazing review. I will pass along your comments to our staff. Please ask for me on your next visit to our establishment. I want to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
HC
HappyCust
Indiana
9 reviews
Dined on April 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server was very informative and attentive. Care was taken throughout our meal. The food was excellent. We had an enjoyable evening!!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on April 4, 2021

Thank you for the great review HappyCust. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. I will pass along your comments to our staff. Please ask for me on your next visit to our location. I want to meet you and buy you dessert. Take care and stay safe. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Indiana
4 reviews
Dined on March 31, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

The food and service were wonderful! Only reason for 4 stars is that it took a while to get food. Other than that it was great!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on April 1, 2021

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us, however we apologize for the speed of service. We will always strive to do better. Please ask for me on your next visit. I want to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
JS
JoshuaS
1 review
Dined on March 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely love Kona Grill. Food and service are always great. This time we waited about 5-10 minutes for our waitress to take our drink order. It was no big deal to us but she apologized more than once and even took $38 off of our bill.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 31, 2021

Thank you for the great feedback JoshuaS. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. We do apologize about the long greet time. Make sure you ask for me on your next visit. I want to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
S
Srwx2
Indiana
19 reviews
Dined on March 28, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Everything was except that we discovered,after the meal, that the slaw included with the chicken satay is made with dairy ... evens though we asked. Oops. Typically slaw is made with Mayo but not this one.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 31, 2021

Thank you for the feedback. We do apologize about the confusion with our cabbage slaw. The sauce is mayonnaise based, but it does contain cheese. Please ask for me on your next visit. I would like to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
E
Elvira
Indiana
22 reviews
Dined on March 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

So good to return to one of our favorite restaurants!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 31, 2021

Thank you for the positive review Elvira! We are glad we are one of your favorite restaurants. Please ask for me on your next visit. I want to meet you and buy you an appetizer. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
CS
CSueP
Indiana
4 reviews
Dined on March 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sat outside in the tent, and the waiter was superb. The food was awesome as usual. Great evening with friends!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 28, 2021

Thank you for the amazing 5 star review! We are glad you had a great time dining with us CSueP. Please ask for me on your next visit. I want to meet you and buy you an appetizer. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on March 27, 2021
Overall2food1service5ambience5

We took my in laws here for brunch since in the past we have LOVED our experiences here. We were very disappointed in the brunch menu. The food was cold and nothing savory like what we normally get off the main menu.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 31, 2021

We apologize about your experience. When you have time can you please contact us at 317-566-1400. We would like to find out more information about your visit and make the situation right. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
K
Kayfindsfood
Indiana
6 reviews
Dined on March 26, 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience4

First time visiting. The kitchen was super busy, took an hour for my sushi; however, my server did warn me. He seemed rushed and matter of fact, but friendly enough. Food was fantastic!!!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 29, 2021

Thank you for the great feedback. We apologize about the length of time on your sushi rolls. The sushi bar becomes extremely busy on Friday this time of year, because of Lent. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
JV
JeffV
Indiana
1 review
Dined on March 26, 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience4

Family was there for a Birthday,Waiter did a good job, but food was extremely slow, and two of our meals that had sushi took way longer to come out, steaks were cold, everyone was finished before the sushi came out, and to top it off the sent the wrong sushi roll.....wasn’t going to wait for the replacement, so they adjusted the bill one kids meal and only took $6 dollars off of my surf and turf meal as compensations for the sushi roll being wrong....overall disappointed and think they should have done a little better considering this was a $39 surf and turf and a $175 ticket.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 29, 2021

We apologize about your experience JeffV. That is not our standard level of service. When you have time can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. I want to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
GD
GailD
Indiana
7 reviews
Dined on March 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great. Expensive tho

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 31, 2021

Thank you for the great feedback GailD. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Make sure you ask for me on your next visit. I want to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
j
vipjean
Indiana
4 reviews
Dined on March 24, 2021
Overall3food3service1ambience3

We were seated for 30 minutes before we received our drink order. Also, she cautioned us there would be a 60-75 minute wait on any sushi order. Not a good night!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 27, 2021

We apologize about your experience Jean. What happened to you that even is not our normal standard of service. When you have time can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. I want to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
JB
JenniferB
Indiana
1 review
Dined on March 24, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience3

I was so disappointed in our service yesterday and lack of communication from the staff about the service. This is my most favorite restaurant and after yesterday, I may not be back. The restaurant was practically empty and our sushi orders took about an hour and 10 minutes from order time to delivery. During that time we didn't see our server very much at all, and I had to seek them out to ask about the food. The manager offered to comp a dessert for our wait, but there were four different parties at our table and she comped one to go dessert for all four of us??? seems like not enough. Finally i need to go back and check, but seems like ALLL prices have increased. My check for two was over $100 for lunch. Typically my family of four eats there for less than that so I was really surprised by the total bill and I ordered exactly the same thing I always order.
Some thing has changed. None of the manager or servers were people that I recognized. And as much as the food still was consistent and delicious the rest of the day left a bad taste in my mouth. I'm likely not to return anytime soon.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 25, 2021

We apologize about your experience Jennifer. When I read your review I became extremely disheartened. This is unacceptable and not how we should treat our guest. When you have time can you please contact me at 317-566-1400 at your convivence. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
HB
HeatherB
1 review
Dined on March 24, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

We made reservations at Kona Grill for my birthday lunch. The service was great. I had the chicken stir fry and my only suggestion would be to cook the broccoli just a little longer or cut off the large stem. I do prefer crisp vegetables over soggy and overcooked, but the broccoli was almost raw. I enjoyed a peach margarita and an order of potstickers. My husband asked the waiter for a lunch suggestion and he was happy with the Bass and bokchoy he ordered. We go to Kona Grill a few times a year and we've always been happy with the food & service.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 26, 2021

Thank you for the amazing feedback HeatherB. We really appreciated the feedback. Please ask for me on your next visit to our location. I want to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Indiana
1 review
Dined on March 22, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

The overall experience was okay. Not in a rush to go back.
We all ordered the halibut special. I asked how it was cooked and waitress said grilled, great! When food arrived it had a chili sauce that I would have asked to not have had I known. It was incredibly spicy for me. My husband I both had to get up at 3 am with upset stomachs and my father was not feeling great the next morning either. The bar area is nice and the waitstaff were friendly.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 24, 2021

We apologize about your experience. It sounds like the fresh fish was made angry style. Next time please inform our staff of the issue and we will gladly replace it for you. I'm sorry about your upset stomach. The angry butter can have a bit of a kick. When you have time can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience and win you back as a guest. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
MM
vipMaryMc
Indiana
8 reviews
Dined on March 21, 2021
Overall3food2service5ambience3

Food was ok, but not great.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 22, 2021

We are sorry about your experience MaryMc. I would like to find out more information about the issues on your visit and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
I
Isabella
1 review
Dined on March 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was amazing, and the service immaculate. Will go again.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 22, 2021

Thank you for the amazing review. We appreciate your kind words Isabella. We are glad you had a wonderful time dining with us. Please ask for me on your next visit to our location. I want to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
GH
GingerH
Indiana
2 reviews
Dined on March 20, 2021
Overall1food1service2ambience1

This was poorest experience I've had at Kona Grill. The music was blaringly loud in the bar.
My filet was cold and I had to send my potatoes back because they were cold and tasted very instant. You could tell it had sat under a heater for a while.
My date's Long Island was watered down.
Our waitress was pretty non-existent.
I have had good experiences here before, but this time was awful!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 22, 2021

We apologize about your visit GingerH. Reading your review made me extremely disheartened. I'm also concerned that a manager was not involved concerning the issues your experience on Saturday. When you have time can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. I want to learn more about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
LF
LisaF
1 review
Dined on March 20, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Staff was nice, food was very late, not great, and cold. Manager was very accommodating, but not sure we will return.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 22, 2021

We apologize about your experience Lisa. Our goal is always to exceed our guest's expectations. We apologize this did not occur on your visit. We would like to make the situation right. Can you please contact me at 317-566-1400 at your earliest convenience. Thanks, Christian Kilgard

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on March 20, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Not bad, good spot for a family bday celebration. Service was pleasant but slow - probably still slim staffing post COVID.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 22, 2021

Thank you for the feedback. We do apologize about your service on your most recent visit. I would like to talk more in depth with you about your experience. I want to find out what went wrong and how we can improve. Can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
MC
MonicaC
1 review
Dined on March 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was good, but it seemed like the portions were smaller than in our last visits. I was glad to share a dessert...was not quite satisfied. I was impressed with the safety measures for COVID. I wam happy Kona was still open when many places in Clay Terrace were closed! Thx

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 22, 2021

Thank you for your feedback MonicaC. I apologize that you were not satisfied on your visit. Can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. I want to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Indiana
1 review
Dined on March 19, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Great service!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 31, 2021

Thank you for the great feedback. Hopefully we can turn you 4 star review into a 5 star review! Make sure you ask for me on your next visit. I want to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
RK
vipRobertK
Indiana
29 reviews
Dined on March 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What a wonderful dinner and really good service - Paloma was our server and they have two different types of Chicken skewers and my wife ordered one and was brought out the other .... Paloma apologized for the mixup and offered to bring the other one but my wife loved the one she had so it worked out fine.
Which is a sign of how good the food is there, I had the Chili glazed Salmon and it was delicious!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 19, 2021

Thank you for your kind words an amazing 5 star review RobertK. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. We are a made from scratch kitchen that cuts our fish fresh in house daily. Next time you are in please try to Miso Sake Seabass. It's my personal favorite. Please ask for me when you stop in. I want to meet you and buy you an appetizer and dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
KB
KimB
Indiana
2 reviews
Dined on March 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Kona will always be our fav go to!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on March 22, 2021

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad we are your favorite spot! Please ask for me on your next visit. I want to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report

FAQs

Kona Grill - Carmel is rated 4.4 stars by 1616 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Carmel does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.