Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. London
  4. West End London
  5. Soho
Café Boheme, London,

Café Boheme

4.2
4.2
1481 Reviews
£25 and under
French
In the heart of London’s Soho, Cafe Boheme has been serving French classics for over three decades. Offering an all-day menu centred around French favourites, including confit duck, steak frites and escargots – all dishes are based on traditional recipes.

The brasserie is inspired by the 19th-century poets who used to meet on Old Compton Street and features art-lined walls, a brass bar and mosaic tiled floor.

Head outside and dine al fresco for views across Soho or join us at the bar everyday from 3pm for live jazz.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 37 times today

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    French, Cocktail Bar, Café
  • Hours of operation
    Mon–Thu 8:00 am–1:00 am Fri 8:00 am–3:00 am Sat 9:00 am–3:00 am Sun 9:00 am–12:00 am
  • Phone number
    020 7734 0623
  • Payment options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress code
    Casual Dress
  • Neighborhood
    Soho
  • Cross street
    Greek Street
  • Parking details
    Street Parking
  • Public transit
    Tube: Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, Tottenham Court Road (5 min walk)
  • Entertainment
    Live music everyday from 3:00 pm until 6:30 pm .Cafe Boheme’s corner of Old Compton Street hosts our favourite artists to soundtrack any occasion.
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Late Night, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

What 1,481 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.2
4.2 based on recent ratings
  • 4.1Food
  • 4.1Service
  • 4.3Ambience
  • 4Value

NoiseEnergetic

1,481 Reviews
  1. MarcR

    Greater Boston

    4 reviews

    vip
    1.0

    4 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    COuldnt hear myself think it was so loud. Our server either couldnt hear or didnt listen getting drink orders in correct, missing the salad I ordered. It took us over 3 hours to have dinner. Over 1 hour to get our appetizers from when we sat down. White wine was warm when we got it. Overall a very poor experience and I regret taking friends there.

    Is this helpful?

  2. OpenTable Diner

    Berkshire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    I enjoyed my visit. The staff and atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. The choice on the menu had something for everyone. The location was perfect for my theatre visit. Certainly, will be a place to visit when I am dining in the area.

    Is this helpful?

  3. MaggieC

    London

    11 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    11 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Super little restaurant/bar. Had the. pre-theatre option. For some reason only got the glass of wine free with one dinner, not two, so marked down on value. Also, second glass of wine didn't show so marked down for service too. Husband loved his chicken but I'm not a great lover of barbeque sauce which comes smothered all over it! Terrific onion soup. Definitely be back but will keep an eye on the detail. Very buzzy place (and great if you're off to see MJ the Musical!)

    Is this helpful?

  4. Chezt1

    London

    4 reviews

    1.0

    4 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    Terrible service we arrived at 2 pm and ordered a drink and food - camberley arrived with no bread and when we asked why the waiter said we should have asked for it . Dry chicken, tasteless mussels no one came to ask of food was OK or if we wanted drinks I went and asked the waiter at the bar for the bill - he fought it to the table and another 30 minute wait for someone to come. Terrible service, tasteless food, I’m sure there are better places to go. This used to be nice it’s gone so downhill.

    Is this helpful?

  5. KirstenH

    New York City

    15 reviews

    3.0

    15 reviews

    Dined on May 17, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 2
    Great spot in the center of Soho with kind staff and good food. Only note - It’s incredibly loud inside and not possible to hear from the other side of a table so would not recommend for anyone hearing impaired or a group. Probably easiest 1:1

    Is this helpful?

  6. Melissaben22

    Hertfordshire

    21 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    21 reviews

    Dined on May 12, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Outstanding as usual. Always my go-to eatery in London. Service was better than last time.

    Is this helpful?

  7. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 12, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    3D Time in thé Bohème in 30 years we will come back again

    Is this helpful?

  8. OpenTable Diner

    Norfolk/Suffolk

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 11, 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 4
    Food was good but service wasn’t great and staff were pretty rude.
    Café BohemeResponded on May 14, 2024
    We're sorry to hear about your experience with our service. Providing excellent service is important to us, and we apologize for any rudeness you encountered. Your feedback is valuable, and we'll address it with our staff to improve. We're glad you enjoyed the food and hope to see you again soon. Please contact us at info@cafeboheme.co.uk if you would like to come back, as we would love the chance to make it up to you.

    Is this helpful?

  9. rosemaryd

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on May 11, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Excellent venue, service and food. Would definitely recommend.

    Is this helpful?

  10. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 11, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Lovely ambience food and service would go back again and again

    Is this helpful?

  11. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 10, 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 1
    This used to be my favourite restaurant, even though the food was good without being brilliant (though there was the occasional amazing dish). I loved it for the ambience, the layout, the view onto the street, the service, the fact that it was just like being somewhere in France or Italy with a mix of England…music was great etc…first and foremost it was a really cool restaurant. I hadn’t been here for ages so I was looking forward to returning. Unfortunately, now it’s just a fancy and extremely noisy wine-bar/pub. It seems you can just book a table to have drinks, just like in a pub, and shout over the noise, just like in a pub. So, if you have gone for a restaurant experience, by the time you start your starter you may feel like starting for the door. Maybe the new clientele are aware that’s it’s a noise den so they go knowing what to expect. What a shame! Regardless of the above, why was my expensive bottle of white wine warm? The waiter’s solution was a mini bucket with a couple of ice cubes. I asked for a big bucket and was offered 2 more ice cubes when I asked for ice. Had to use the ice from my glass to add to the wine glass - not a great solution, but the best option at the time. I don’t normally write reviews, but this was so disappointing that o had to say something. The management won’t care as long as the cash keeps rolling in, which it seems to be. What a great location and layout. What a disappointment….as a dining experience.
    Café BohemeResponded on May 13, 2024
    Hi there We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit to Café Boheme, particularly as you had such fond memories. We understand your frustration regarding the noise levels; it is something that we are aware of and always try to manage with sensitivity. As we are not a formal restaurant there are occasions when some of our patrons get very enthusiastic, and in these circumstances we try to allocate tables appropriately so that those looking for a quieter dinner are not disturbed. We apologise that we did not manage to do this effectively during your visit. We also apologise for the wine temperature and we will attempt to contact you directly. Thank you.

    Is this helpful?

  12. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 10, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    Food wasn’t great - poor taste - not french at all
    Café BohemeResponded on May 14, 2024
    Hi there. We're sorry you didn't enjoy the food. We would be grateful if you could reach out to us to provide a little more detail and perhaps visit us again. Many thanks, info@cafeboheme.co.uk

    Is this helpful?

  13. MANinLONDON

    London

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on May 7, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    The bavette was disappointing dry, tasteless - sliced alongside old frites, ketchup in a bowl served like a kiddies meal. Glass of wine and good service improved the experience but food at lunch really gone downhill.

    Is this helpful?

  14. Hotelier

    London

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on May 6, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 2
    Romantically wanted to finally see where Nicks journey began. Unfortunatley thought I'd booked some days previously and also called ( Please clear you mail box so messages can be left) as I was meeting a guest and with my dog. I always like to check. On arrival not a great start as told could not sit in the restaurant next to the bar and these are the rules, then a manager appeared and said yes these are the rules a double rule dilemma and he had left a message a couple of hours ago which is pretty useless when the comment was in the booking some days ago. I did say I'd called for this very reason so we sat in the bar and it was too noisy for mom liking but ok. Waiting for the gears to kick in for service, clearly not a rule regarding time to engage with customers and when it did and the waiter warmed up, it was a very acceptable experience the food was good, nothing to write home about... think the verdict was good which is good. So the verdict is good from these Hospitality Professionals, none of which had been before.
    Café BohemeResponded on May 13, 2024
    We're sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced during your recent visit. Your feedback is important to us, and we'll address the issues you mentioned to ensure a smoother experience for our guests in the future. We're glad to hear that once service commenced, you found it to be acceptable and that the food met your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more seamless and enjoyable experience.

    Is this helpful?

  15. OpenTable Diner

    London

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on May 4, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 2
    Unfortunately the very loud live music in the middle of the afternoon ruined our lunch.

    Is this helpful?

  16. TimF

    Kent

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on May 3, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great to come back here, looked after very well as always.

    Is this helpful?

  17. OpenTable Diner

    London

    7 reviews

    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on May 1, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    As always in my 33rd year of being a regular visitor to this grand establishment- A1. See you soon x Michael

    Is this helpful?

  18. Saskia

    London

    6 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on April 29, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 4
    Always loved this place, but the food and service were not up to its usual standard. Regardless we’ll be back sometime

    Is this helpful?

  19. OpenTable Diner

    Exclusive

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 28, 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 5
    Service was average at best. Ignored most the time. They forgot our mains, was sitting there for about 1 hr, trying to flag down staff to ask them where our food was took 10 mins. When they asked how our steak was and we mentioned it was so chewy and over cooked to how we ordered it their response was “oh better luck next time then”.

    Is this helpful?

  20. RachelD

    Philadelphia

    43 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    43 reviews

    Dined on April 28, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Had a nice meal before we headed to a show. Good service and good food. Would go back for sure.

    Is this helpful?

  21. Melissaben22

    Hertfordshire

    21 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    21 reviews

    Dined on April 27, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 4
    My regular go to cafe when I’m in London. Love the menu and the food. Slightly less attentive service than normal but will definitely go again.

    Is this helpful?

  22. Clarey

    Northampton

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on April 24, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Have been to Cafe Boheme a number of times. The food was as expected, this time I ordered salmon which was exceptionally cooked and thoroughly enjoyable. With an added portion of pomme purée. The service was attentive considering how busy it was.

    Is this helpful?

  23. PeterN

    Sydney

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on April 21, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Thoroughly enjoyed returning to an old favourite. Service, food and a fantastic environment- we won’t leave it so long to return to this classic establishment

    Is this helpful?

  24. SimonB

    London

    10 reviews

    5.0

    10 reviews

    Dined on April 20, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    As ever, exceptional value and nice to have some live music to further enhance the convivial experience

    Is this helpful?

  25. sarahc

    London

    4 reviews

    4.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on April 20, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    We booked. They were busy. The service was a little addhoc and seemed confused Food was ok ..club sandwich and croque Monsieur Both ok but nothing special I would go back for convenience but not for the overall experience sadly

    Is this helpful?

  26. Redders

    Hungary

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on April 20, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Perfect portion size, service and price; albeit the food was fairly standard for the full English.

    Is this helpful?

  27. EmmaW

    London

    9 reviews

    4.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on April 17, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Atmosphere and service were fabulous as usual. However on this occasion we were very disappointed with two of our starters. The large charcuterie board at £16 had about 8 slices of very average meat and the baked Camembert had been cut in half widthways so the portion was tiny for £11. We felt both were very poor value. Mains were good.

    Is this helpful?

  28. MikeN

    Hertfordshire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 17, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    A real spot of Paris in the heart of Soho. We went to the afternoon jazz session. The music was fantastic. The staff were attentive and efficient, offering advice and suggestions. The quality of food was delightful, portions are large. The only issue was a group of 3 who insisted on holding a business meeting, at loud volume, despite sitting in the performance part of the cafe.

    Is this helpful?

  29. NatalieA

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 14, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    Nice restaurant with a great atmosphere. Service wasn't great, took a while to get our order taken. I requested a single G&T with slimline tonic and got served a double with indian tonic, I had to go up to the bar myself to change the tonic and the waiter told me had to charge me for a double gin despite asking for a single tonic. Had to request the bill several times, the first time it was received it was incorrect so had to send it back for a new one. Food was tasty although not presented particularly well but the biggest issue was the service.

    Is this helpful?

  30. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on April 13, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great all round, food and service was great. Booked last minute as wanted to be close to the theatre and it was perfect, meant we could enjoy our food and drink and join the queue at the right time.

    Is this helpful?

  31. OpenTable Diner

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on April 4, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great atmosphere, lovely food and excellent service, a very authentic French bistro , we loved it .

    Is this helpful?

  32. Claireabelle

    North Wales

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on April 2, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    First time experiencing a French restaurant with my daughter on a trip to London. I had to try the snails, and they were stunning, and I managed not to recreate the Pretty Woman scene!! The food was delicious and the atmosphere was so chilled out. It’s not cheap but you definitely get what you pay for. I would recommend it for a lovely evening out.

    Is this helpful?

  33. AlexH

    London

    10 reviews

    5.0

    10 reviews

    Dined on March 30, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    A great buzzy Soho restaurant. Food was great! Had the poulet frites, which was excellent. House sparkling and mezcal cocktail also a winner

    Is this helpful?

  34. MinasM

    London

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on March 29, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Really enjoyed my night there. Great service and above average food

    Is this helpful?

  35. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on March 29, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Absolutely great lovely little table I. The back room we were totally spoilt

    Is this helpful?

  36. VincentB

    London

    52 reviews

    4.0

    52 reviews

    Dined on March 29, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 5
    Busy, buzzing, fun with great value classic French bistro cuisine. Live music and lively atmosphere

    Is this helpful?

  37. Christian

    London

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on March 26, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Always a great, lively, fun destination. Food was good, not great this time though but the service made up for it.

    Is this helpful?

  38. pk32

    London

    12 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    12 reviews

    Dined on March 25, 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Hadn’t dined at Café Boheme in years. Felt good to be back. The atmosphere, even on a Monday night is great. I asked for a quieter table and this was not an issue. Great service all round. The food was ok and reasonably priced.

    Is this helpful?

  39. OpenTable Diner

    London

    3 reviews

    2.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on March 23, 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 3
    Brunch was a bit of a miss. Hardboiled ‘poached’ eggs and mostly-raw microwaved bacon set the not-so-great tone.
    Café BohemeResponded on April 11, 2024
    Thank you for your feedback. We apologise for the disappointment with your brunch experience at Cafe Boheme. We'll address these issues to ensure better quality in the future.

    Is this helpful?

  40. MichaelW

    London

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on March 21, 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great food, love the busy atmosphere in the restaurant and staff first class

    Is this helpful?

FAQs

Café Boheme is rated 4.2 stars by 1481 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 37 times today
Google Map for Café Boheme

13 Old Compton Street, London, W1D 4AG

Additional information

  • Cross street
    Greek Street
  • Neighborhood
    Soho
  • Hours of operation
    Mon–Thu 8:00 am–1:00 am Fri 8:00 am–3:00 am Sat 9:00 am–3:00 am Sun 9:00 am–12:00 am
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    French, Cocktail Bar, Café
  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Dress code
    Casual Dress
  • Parking details
    Street Parking
  • Public transit
    Tube: Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, Tottenham Court Road (5 min walk)
  • Payment options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Entertainment
    Live music everyday from 3:00 pm until 6:30 pm .Cafe Boheme’s corner of Old Compton Street hosts our favourite artists to soundtrack any occasion.
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Late Night, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine
OpenTable
  • About Us
  • Blog
  • Careers
  • Press
More
Businesses
  • Restaurant reservation software
  • Industry insights
  • Hospitality resources
  • Marketing resources
  • Operation resources
  • How to open a restaurant
  • For restaurants
  • For restaurant groups
Join us on
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
OpenTable Logo