Benihana at Fairmont Royal York

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1151 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Benihana is a Japanese steak and seafood house that features teppanyaki style dining spaces, sushi / sashimi bar and a traditional Japanese menu. It’s Japanese décor and experienced staff create an authentic Japanese ambiance. The combination of these aspects results in a unique experience for guests of all ages. Inspired by the culture of Japan and reinvented with contemporary design, our Sushi & Sake Lounge provides the perfect backdrop to sip on premium sake while savouring expertly crafted culinary delights prepared by our skilled sushi chefs.
What 1151 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
CT
CherriT
1 review
Dined on March 13, 2020
Overall3food4service4ambience4

Food was very good, the service was also very good. It was not too busy that night, so we had a lot of attention.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We enjoy our visit very much, food was great and the service was good too, thank you Benihana we are definitely coming back

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on March 13, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you had a a wonderful experience and received great service. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
S
Seamus
1 review
Dined on March 6, 2020
Overall2food3service4ambience2

Lackluster performance combined with mediocre food and high prices - a winning combonation

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on March 13, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to learn you did not have an exceptional experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with our Restaurant Manager for internal review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
CH
CherylH
1 review
Dined on March 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was a great evening. Food was fantastic. Service was excellent.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on March 13, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Cheryl. We are delighted to know you received excellent service and had a fantastic meal! We hope to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on March 4, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Overrated and over priced

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on March 6, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to learn you did not have an exceptional experience with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Birthday celebration and had a spectacular time! Great chef Great waitress and wonderful experience had by our whole party!!!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on March 4, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know the entire party had a wonderful experience! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
G
Gq1313gq
1 review
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience2

Two separate menus
We were not aware of this
We sat in the lounge area
Should he advertised as a sushi restaurant
Disappointed

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on March 4, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to learn of your disappointing experience. As a measure of explanation, the lounge menu is different because teppanyaki style is to be specifically cooked at the teppan tables. While the lounge menu is mostly sushi items we do have some teppanyaki style dishes you can order and enjoy. We are sorry this was not communicated to you and we appreciate your feedback. We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Report
Y
Yslad
1 review
Dined on February 27, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service, enjoyed the food, nice atmosphere

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on March 3, 2020

Thank you for the five-star rating! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
RS
RoxanneS
Atlantic Canada
2 reviews
Dined on February 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome job on my filet mignon and my hubby’s chicken/shrimp! Our chef did a spectacular job on veggies as well and was very entertaining. The onion train was hilarious! 👍🏼🍷

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on March 4, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Roxanne. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your meal and had an entertaining experience. We hope to welcome you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
i
isquare
Toronto
1 review
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Our experience at Benihana was excellent! Highly recommend the Tepinyakki items for a great display of skills and live cooking at your table. Totally worth the price.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on March 4, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you had an excellent experience and enjoyed dinner and a show right at your table! We hope to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
LD
LoriD
1 review
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was not dinner. It was a dining experience. The food was amazing. So much food. Couldn’t eat it all. Highly recommend to anyone. The show was wonderful

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on March 4, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Lori. We are thrilled to know you had a wonderful dining experience and enjoyed an amazing meal! We hope to welcome you again soon. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
PS
PatrickS
New York Area
1 review
Dined on February 21, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very well presented. Food was cooked perfectly and very friendly staff.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on March 4, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Patrick. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed a delicious meal. We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 21, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

our chef was an entertainer and was just so amazing to be around. great and simple food too

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on March 4, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you had a fabulous experience and enjoyed the show from our Chef! We hope to welcome you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
S
Slam
Toronto
1 review
Dined on February 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Was wonderful! Had great time celebrating my bfs birthday!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 21, 2020

Thank you for the five-star rating. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful experience celebrating a special birthday and we hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing experience as always my wife and I have been here twice and each time we are never disappointed you surely get your bang for your buck!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 21, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are thrilled to learn you had a wonderful experience with us once again! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
KM
vipKyleM
New York Area
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic evening! Wonderful seafood and service!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 21, 2020

Thank you for the five-star rating, Kyle! We are delighted to know you had a fantastic evening and we hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
t
tank300000045000005000000
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Very good service the food was excellent my hot table started on time the chef was very entertaining overall excellent experience

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 21, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you had an excellent experience and received entertaining service. We hope to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
BC
BarryC
Toronto
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience4

I enjoyed my time but the biggest issue I have is the lack of training of your wait staff. We had 2 different servers and both of them serve me a bowl of plain rice with their thumbs stuck in the rice while serving to me.

Both times I told them about my issue and they apologized. The first server took my rice away promising he would get me a new bowl but never showed up. The second server said she would get me a new bowl but I refused.

I make this point because I think for such a high end restaurant that an explanation of properly serving food and making sure of not allowing any cross contamination that this would be something in the culture of any restaurant. Especially Benihana's.

I was very hesitant to giving any tip but my daughters said I should.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 21, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Barry. We are truly sorry to learn of the reported concerns on your recent visit. We can assure you this is certainly not indicative of the level of service we are known to provide. We would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further and I have sent a direct message to connect you with the Restaurant Manager. We look forward to hearing from you, Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
MD
MarkD
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and the chef puts on a great show as he cooks your food right in front of you. Great for Birthday or Anniversary but too expensive for a everyday dinner.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 21, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Mark. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful experience and delicious meal! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
JS
vipJacqulineS
Toronto
17 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

The price is reasonable Compared with other JP restaurants . Food was not good as we expected.
And a little bit heavy, and too much to finish them all .

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 21, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review Jacquline. We are sorry to learn it was not an exceptional experience. We appreciate your detailed feedback and have shared your comments with the Director of Food and Beverage for internal review on our offering. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Valentine’s Day

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 21, 2020

Thank you for the four-star rating! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
N
Nettie
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2020
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Came here for winterlicious. Reminds me of Korean grill. If you like asian flavours they’re not really present here. It’s more like hoisin sauce and ginger and maybe soy. Seems like more of an experience if you haven’t already been to a grill spot of any kind

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 21, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Nettie. We are sorry to learn you did not have an exceptional experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and have shared you comments with our Management Team for internal review. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
KS
KimS
Toronto
1 review
Dined on February 12, 2020
Overall1food1service2ambience2

Completely underwhelming! I was expecting a delicious, fresh meal cooked by an entertaining chef. Instead we were served all our food by a waiter - with the exception of one dish - a bland onion, zucchini and steak stir fry, that the chef prepared in front of us. The food was tasteless and the the chef wasn't remotely entertaining or engaging.
I have been to this type of restaraunt in other cities and the experience was fantastic. This is not the case at the Benihana at the Royal York Toronto. Skip this place.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 21, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Kim. We are sorry to learn of your disappointing experience. We can assure you this is certainly not indicative of the quality or service we are known to provide. We appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with our Management Team for internal review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
K
Karebear
Orlando
13 reviews
Dined on February 11, 2020
Overall3food4service4ambience3

Took this opportunity during Toronto’s Winterlisious to try the restaurant.
We were promptly seated, drink orders were taken and our chief came over and began the dinner prep.
It felt very rushed, soup, salad and or appetizer were not even finished when the chief starting cooking.
The food was good, but over all I was disappointed with the entire experience and then when the bill came for what we got I’ll take my hard earned money elsewhere next time. I’d also like to point out that paying $18 for a cocktail is over the top, expensive.
So I’ll not be back... thanks for the experience!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on March 4, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. While we are pleased to know you were satisfied with your meal, we are sorry to learn of the overall disappointing visit you had with us. We can assure you this is certainly not indicative of the quality experience we are known to provide. We appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with the Director of Food and Beverage for internal review. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience

Report
D
Delaney
Toronto
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall2food1service5ambience2

The main course which involved the actual teppanyaki preparation was outstanding. However, the appetizers, desserts, and side dishes were wanting. Not enough flavour or spices. Mixed drinks were also fantastic.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 14, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Delaney. While we are pleased to know you enjoyed the main course and cocktails, we are sorry to learn you were disappointed with the other menu items. We appreciate this feedback and have shared your comments with the Executive Chef for internal review on these dishes. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
QQ
QuickQuoteinc
Toronto
5 reviews
Dined on February 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Been coming here for 30 years. Always an epic night.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 14, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review and for your continued support. It is always a pleasure to have you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
JH
JoyH
Toronto
1 review
Dined on February 7, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Great food! Chicken and steak are cooked perfectly! I will say some of the veggies ended up a bit charred, but your really can’t taste it too much. The teppanyaki was really fun and exciting to watch—dinner and a show! Our chef had a great personality. The wait staff were also very efficient and frequently came by to make sure everything was okay. My only complaint is the portion size. It was quite evident that some steak pieces were vastly larger than others. One steak was so big it had overflown the plate, the one we got was barely enough to cover half. We all ordered the same thing, so it was sort of disappointing.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 14, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Joy. We are pleased to know you received friendly and efficient service from our team and was most impressed by the show at the teppan tables. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding the prix fixe menu and have shared with the Executive Chef your favourite parts and where we could look to improve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
CO
vipCarouseleO
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on February 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Cook was great and frienddly
Excellent and quick service

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 14, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you received great friendly service! We hope to welcome you again! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
G
Great
Toronto
5 reviews
Dined on February 5, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

The food quality was great, and service was very friendly and also superb. However, the food quality could use a little improvement in relation to its price point. For that price, I expected slightly better quality of ceviche, and more sashimi options.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 14, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are pleased to know you received friendly service and overall enjoyed your meal. We appreciate your feedback on the menu items and we have shared your comments with the Executive Chef for internal review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
SP
SandraP
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on February 5, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience2

Decided to try Benihana for Winterlicious. Very disappointing. Overpriced, food was not that great - appetizer squid was served greasy and cold - and service, although pleasant, was very rushed. I hadn't even put my utensils down yet and they whisked it all away. Don't recommend this place.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 14, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Sandra. We are sorry to learn of the disappointing experience you had with us. We can assure you this is certainly not indicative of the level of service we strive to provide. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we have shared your comments with the Executive Chef for internal review. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
PY
PaulineY
Toronto
1 review
Dined on February 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I went here for Winterlicious with my girlfriends and it was the perfect experience! The food and service was amazing. I will definitely come back.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 7, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Pauline. We are delighted to know you had a perfect experience and enjoyed the Winterlicious menu. We hope to welcome you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
CM
ChesiaMP
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The chef,Jerry,he is super awesome! We had a great time and celebrated our anniversary in there. Really recommended!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 7, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you had an awesome anniversary celebration with us. We appreciate your kind words and have shared your comments with the Management Team to recognize this individual. We hope to welcome you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
MS
MaisaS
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Our reservation was at 6:30 and we didn’t even get drinks till 7:00. Our waitress was very slow. The food was sub-par. The actual cooking {experience} was ok and lasted for roughly 12 minutes. We were seated for an hour before the chef came out. Soup and apps were not of good quality. We didn’t eat them. I don’t mind spending money but give me quality. We rushed out at 7:45 before the dessert came.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 7, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Maisa. We are sorry to learn of the disappointing experience you had with us. We can assure you this certainly not indicative of the level of service or quality offering we strive to provide. We would like to connect with you directly and will be sending a private message to put you in touch with our Restaurant Manager. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
MM
MoeMiss
Toronto
20 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience4

I was here with my girlfriend for the winterlicous. Over all it was good and food tasted good. Service was good as well.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 14, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you had a fabulous Winterlicious experience and received wonderful service. We hope to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
AB
AnneB
Toronto
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I will definitely come back to Benihana! The food was delicious and the service was great. We ordered from the Winterlicious menu and really enjoyed each course. The chicken and vegetables were tasty and we enjoyed the tableside show!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 7, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Anne. We are thrilled to learn you had a wonderful experience enjoying the Winterlicious menu. We hope to welcome you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
KH
KennethH
Toronto
1 review
Dined on January 31, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Food was quite good and the service was amazing! Servers were courteous and actually cared. The chef was very nice and created a fun atmosphere. I do wish there were a little bit more tricks and interaction, but solid showing still. Would definitely recommend if you've never had the hibachi experience!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 7, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Kenneth. We are delighted to know you had a fun experience and received amazing service. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
B
Babouli
Toronto
1 review
Dined on January 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had an amazing time. The chef was so energetic and entertaining. It was wonderful.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 7, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful and entertaining experience! We hope to welcome you again soon. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
ML
vipMayL
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on January 31, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Very good for the family, I would highly recommend it. Get the fried rice so you get to see the egg trick. The hibachi steak was awesome.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 7, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful family experience. We appreciate your recommendation and we hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on January 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great experience. Definitely make reservations as it was very busy. Wonderful atmosphere with the best staff you can get. Look forward to coming again soon

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 7, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are pleased to know you had a wonderful experience and received great service! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
AB
AstridB
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We loved our experience although it’s not the type of restaurant where you can relax and enjoy your drink before ordering. The servers come immediately to take your dinner order.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on February 7, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review, Astrid. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful experience overall. We would suggest in the future joining us in the lounge for one of our signature cocktails before heading over to enjoy the show. We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report