Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL

3.5
2512 Reviews
$31 to $50
Japanese
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups, where your personal chef will perform the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana is located on the Intracoastal in Lauderdale by the Sea. Enjoy the view of yachts and boats passing by. Join us for Happy Hour in our bar and lounge Monday through Friday from 4–7 p.m.
Looking to host a get together for friends or colleagues? Our lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner drinks and appetizers. Please call for more details for a private event in the lounge or our private room. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more.

Support Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
Physical Distancing
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 2512 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.5based on recent ratings
4.0
food
3.3
service
3.4
ambience
3.3
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
S
Sharena
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Chef didn't seem to know how to correctly prepare the food. The waitress was not attentive and did not return to table after she took orders. Management did not compensate in any way I literally wasted two hours of my life, I did not even eat the food the chef was cooking without butter or seasoning, the stove was literally burning.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded 22 minutes ago

Dear Sharena On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we sincerely apologize for your experience and understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website so that we can further address this matter. 

Report
L
Ludi
San Francisco
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall1food2service1ambience1

The worst experience in a restaurant that I have ever had. The staff is very unfriendly, and they didn’t explain anything about the plates. The wait time was very long even though I had a reservation and the restaurant was not busy. I don’t recommend to go to this place. It was a waste of time.

JE
JEANETTEM
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Carpet smelled very funny. Had a weird foul smell that I just could not stop smelling even over the food. It kinda smelled like dead rat or something

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded 5 days ago

Dear JEANETTEM On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

Report
LD
LorraineD
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall2food4service1ambience4

Very disappointed in the service they treated us is if we weren’t even there brought one drink didn’t come back for a whole hour we had to clear the table ourselves. Hour and a half before the chef even came over he was nice the food was good he made the whole experience much better but the waitress and the management were really bad. And they said happy birthday to other people and sang a song and they missed us all together.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded 5 days ago

Dear LorraineD On behalf of our team here at Benihana we would like to sincerely apologize for the negative experience you encountered, especially while celebrating a special occasion. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website so we can properly address your concerns.

Report
SC
SariC
1 review
Dined on October 11, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience2

Worst dining experience I have had. Will never, ever go or recommend this place to anyone.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on October 13, 2021

Dear SariC We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Fort Lauderdale
10 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience2

This was my last time going. The food is very mediocre and definitely not worth the price. Service is terrible. I rather eat McDonald’s.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on October 12, 2021

Dear Guest On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

Report
T
Teetee
Miami
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Terrible everything!!! I will NEVER recommend anyone to go to this location!!! Terrible and unhappy. The manager was inconsiderate and unreliable. It took 2 hours for a cook to be sent to the table!! Never again…very unacceptable!!!

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on October 11, 2021

Dear Teetee On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

Report
JT
JoyceT
Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall3food5service3ambience4

The price is still the same but the amount of meat given with meals is noticeably less. The food is still delicious.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on October 12, 2021

Dear JoyceT We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Orlando
2 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was nice very nice. The first time visiting this location sure won’t be the last. My daughter and I enjoyed ourselves.

L
Livia
1 review
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

we made a reservation walked in and got greeted and told to wait waited 25 min when the restaurant was empty and no one gave us updates or anything we got up and stood waiting for a bit still no one said anything hostess only on their phones and we walked out no one said a word. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE !

OT
OpenTable Diner
Miami
3 reviews
Dined on October 4, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience2

The place was dirty. Needs to be cleaned up. The waiter rushed us and it was not busy at all. Never cleared our plates. Won’t ever be back.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on October 5, 2021

Dear Guest We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

Report
VA
VictorA
Naples
21 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Great ambiance, great food. The welcome to Benihana was extremely poor, no joyful greeting AT ALL. Our server seemed to be on a constant rush, missed details of our orders (we were a party of four), and made me feel like if I was in a fast food restaurant rather than an experience restaurant like Benihana claims to be. Our chef though was amazing, the food tasted great, he was courteous, joyful and entertaining. Our server took FOREVER to bring our check and cash us out. Outside of our chef, we had extremely poor service.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on October 6, 2021

Dear VictorA On behalf of the Benihana team we look forward to serving you again!

Report
PM
PhyliciaM
1 review
Dined on September 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food great location great service . Our chef Enrique was funny , entertaining and great cook .

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on October 5, 2021

Dear PhyliciaM Your feedback is appreciated. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team.

Report
SH
StevenH
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
Dined on September 29, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

They made it a great Birthday experience. Waitress was very attentive and upbeat.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on October 5, 2021

Dear StevenH Thank you for celebrating your special occasion with the Benihana team!

Report
CK
CynthiaK
1 review
Dined on September 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were celebrating 2 birthdays mine and my daughter in law. We each had a birthday free $30.00 meal certificate which we signed up for 10 days before. We enjoyed coctails in the bar while waiting for our party. When we were seated our waiter was very attentative. We sat in a nice cool spot, (which is awsome, bcz the grill can be very warm). The chef was amazing, funny, entertaining, quite a showman! Our food was the caviate, we all loved our meals! PS .... I ate the leftovers for 2 days!!

Thank you Benihana!!

SS
SteaknSushi
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Dined on September 28, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience2

Love benihana, was excited to go to a new location on vacation. Horrible customer service, very disorganized! Food was okay. Send help to this location!

View was great!

M
Miasfl
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Terrific meal! Food fresh and prepared table side. Wait staff very attentive. Observed COVID safety measures. Only issue was at times guests at other tables were very, very loud.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on September 30, 2021

Dear Miasfl We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the dining experience!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was delicious. Bathroom was clean on point.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on September 29, 2021

Dear Guest We are happy you enjoyed the Benihana experience! Come back soon!

Report
DC
DonnisC
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience2

It was ok bhgf hhhggv hjjjj how hjjjgfy huh hhhh nbg

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Miami
2 reviews
Dined on September 20, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

We waiting over 30 mins to be seated even with reservations, service to be waited was very very slow and it more than hour and half that we just sat there with no chef to cook for us and told us we would have to wait for a chef to finish cooking at the other tables in and then we would have a chef it was little after 10:30 pm so I just made a decision to leave because by the rate it was going I don’t think would’ve ate by midnight and the staff was very unapologetic as well no type of apologies or any kind of comp cards given for the inconvenience that was caused to us .

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on September 22, 2021

Dear Guest on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

Report
N
Nancy
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2021
Overall2food4service3ambience3

We, party of 5 were put at the table for 6 with a party of 3 that we didn’t know. We sat literally shoulder to shoulder. Woman next to me couldn’t have her drink without hitting me with her elbow, We waited for chef for over an hour. Place was extremely loud , staff except for few exceptions , rather unfriendly.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on September 23, 2021

Dear Nancy We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

Report
CC
CierraC
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

The waiter did not put my order in correct. I asked for Habachi chicken with two fried rice and he only put in two fried rice. The chef had to run to the back to get chicken to cook for me which caused me to wait another 20 minutes for my full meal.

PT
PaulaT
1 review
Dined on September 16, 2021
Overall3food5service5ambience4

Me and my husband went with a reservation for 2:45pm. Hungry and ready to eat and we had to wait 45min to an hour to eat. I do not see the point of a reservation if is not going to be full-filled in 20min max. This is very discouraging to ever go back, because there is no point If the treatment is the same as if you walk in.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on September 20, 2021

Dear PaulaT Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Fort Lauderdale
4 reviews
Dined on September 15, 2021
Overall1food4service1ambience1

The hostess was extremely rude, very unprofessional. We shared our experience with her direct manager, which was promptly addressed. After a while, the hostess began pointing at our group and then her coworker passed by making snide comments. It made for an uncomfortable environment. We considered leaving, but decided to make the best of it. WRONG IDEA! The server was slow, failed to communicate with us on delays, and nonchalant when we asked about status of our order. This location has gone downhill.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on September 17, 2021

Dear Guest On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

Report
FR
FREDERICKM
Miami
1 review
Dined on September 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

not a big talker lol not a big talker lol not a big talker lol not a big talker lol

U
Unknown
1 review
Dined on September 10, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

These ppl are very rude and during booking reservation it does not state shared table I have been there before to another location not during COVID time and did not have to share no table you would thing now do to COVID they would be more caring about social distance and separating parties makes absolutely no sense. Enjoyed dinner at the cheese cake factory so they didn’t ruin our dinner.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Key West
3 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2021
Overall1food4service1ambience1

9 pm reservation had no chef until 10:30

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved the experience.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Miami
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

I got there at 3:40 and Waited an hour and a half and didn't get a cook so we left

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on September 16, 2021

Dear Guest We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall3food5service3ambience5

Birthday celebration for our son. The chef was very quiet. Unusual for this place. He even forgot the mushrooms and had to be reminded by guests.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on September 9, 2021

Dear Guest On behalf of our team here at Benihana we would like to sincerely apologize for the negative experience you encountered, especially while celebrating a special occasion. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website so we can properly address your concerns.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience3

We got there at 2:05, waited 10 minutes to be seated. After 20 minutes thirsty, we decided to call a waiter- is like we were invisible, - and she finally took our order. The chef got to our table at 2:45. It was an acceptable meal, but for sure not to go there hungry. Lack of service😳.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on September 9, 2021

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

Report
S
Salm
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wow. From the moment we walked in. Great food. Fun and entertaining experience.

OB
OpalB
1 review
Dined on September 3, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

I made a reservation with specific instructions for a table close to the water. Got there had to wait, then the person seating us tried to stick us in a booth. They did not seem too happy when we refused, so we had to wait additional time. The server was slow with all her serving which caused the entire course to go wrong. The chef was good. Waited a long time for only 2 ppl to sing happy birthday to my mom, when all the other tables before and after had 4 to 5 servers singing. Been to 3 other locations and this was the worst.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Miami
1 review
Dined on August 30, 2021
Overall3food5service3ambience3

Was the last seated at the table around 7:45. Cook did not come to table until 9:15.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on September 1, 2021

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

Report
DW
DonyaW
1 review
Dined on August 29, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Everything was perfect the food the time the waitress was okay the front desk was perfect thank you

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on September 1, 2021

Dear DonyaW We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the dining experience!

Report
M
Morgan
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on August 26, 2021
Overall2food5service2ambience3

The table in front of us was yelling and cursing at the servers and chef. It was extremely uncomfortable. I understand they were short staffed, and wait times being a bit longer, however, I feel like the way they handled the unruly guests could have been done better.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 27, 2021

Dear Morgan On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website

Report
B
Barb
Miami
1 review
Dined on August 24, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

We had a 6:30 reservation for a birthday, and we were just 5 minutes late, we were sat with a great couple and their little girl. It was close to 7 by this point, we didn't have our cook come until close to 8. They are shorthanded so if anyone needs a job! Go for it.
For the hour we talked, drank, and had our soups, the hour flew. Once the chef came to our table he was funny, a really great cook and did a nice show for us. The over all dinner was excellent. I just think they were short staffed due to the current workforce. Over all GREAT dinner, we are excited to finish off our leftovers tonight! Thank you

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 26, 2021

Dear Barb On behalf of the Benihana team we look forward to serving you again!

Report
Z
Zola
1 review
Dined on August 23, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience1

The hostess was not friendly. My notes for the reservation mention a birthday, but no acknowledgement of the birthday during the entire dinner. The overall location was extremely dusty and dirty.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 25, 2021

Dear Zola On behalf of our team here at Benihana we would like to sincerely apologize for the negative experience you encountered, especially while celebrating a special occasion. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website so we can properly address your concerns.

Report
JL
JasonL
Fort Lauderdale
6 reviews
Dined on August 22, 2021
Overall5food2service5ambience5

We go to the Restaurant often, we felt that the cooking experience wasn’t as good as before, the cook forgot the sauces, adding ingredients and cooking our steak the way we wanted, the waitress forgot what we ordered. We ordered brown rice not white.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Chile
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience1

Pésimo servicio. Lento. Ruidoso. Quedamos pasados a comida en la ropa. La comida buen sabor

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL
Responded on August 23, 2021

Dear Guest We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

Report

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL using the Order Online button. Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL also offers delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (954) 776-0111.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL is rated 3.5 stars by 2512 OpenTable diners.

Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.benihana.com/gift-cards/.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Benihana - Fort Lauderdale, FL