Wilfrid's Restaurant - Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Le restaurant Wilfrid's offres à ses clients un menu vibrant et de saison mettant en vedette des ingrédients locaux. Les saveurs sont riches, la présentation est nette et le service est exceptionnel. Une sélection complète de vins est disponible pour compléter les créations du chef. Ouvert pour le petit-déjeuner, déjeuner, le dîner et le brunch du dimanche, ce magnifique restaurant n'est pas juste un restaurant; c'est une expérience culinaire en soi.
Un service formidable, le repas était excellent.
Tout était parfait, je recommande vivement ce superbe restaurant
What a wonderful atmosphere. We had such a lovely time at the Mother's Day Brunch. Would love to revisit for another brunch sometime.
Dear Alexandria, Ottawa’s ‘castle’ is the perfect venue for those special celebrations. We are so pleased that your Mother’s Day was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back one day soon. Sincerely, Marion te Winkel Director of Operations
We have gone for the special buffet at Wilfred’s for many years for various special occasions and always enjoyed it very much. However things have changed recently and not for the better. Firstly, after making our reservation for Mother’s Day, we were contacted and advised that we needed to pre-pay the entire meal in order to hold our reservation. Since we had booked a month in advance, that’s a long time to require payment in full. Secondly, the day before our reservation, we were called and advised that there was now a two hour time limit on our table reservation. This was never mentioned before when making our reservation, when we received confirmation nor when we were asked to pre-pay. Also, the cost per person has increased significantly so it’s a splurge for a brunch buffet and we didn’t appreciate being rushed. We were in fact asked to vacate the table after two hours had elapsed as the next sitting had arrived, despite my having requested additional time the day before given that we had family visiting from out of the country and wanted some time together. Lastly, the main buffet and salad buffet were still very good but the deserts have noticeably declined in variety and in quality. I don’t think we will be returning again.
As a loyal patron, we regret the poor impression you received as you reserved Mother’s Day Brunch, followed by your disappointing dining experience. Please rest assured that we take feedback from our valued guests to heart as they are the best judges of our service. We will take your comments into consideration during the planning process for future events. Hopefully, you will reconsider and return to join us again one day in the future. Sincerely, Marion te Winkel Director of Operations
This was a special occasion, which I mention at the time of reservation. We were offered a window table. When we arrived, we were not given a window table. When I mentioned that we had asked for a window table, the hostess was rude in her response. “It isn’t guaranteed”, was all she said - No apology and no attempt to try to accommodate. Thankfully, our waitress was exceptional, which helped to temper our disappointment with not getting the window table and with the rudeness of the hostess.
Our mission is to turn moments into memories and I regret that we failed to do so on this occasion. While we are delighted that overall, your visit to Wilfrid’s was enjoyable, we do apologize for the poor welcome you received. This is certainly not acceptable to us nor is it typical of our usual high standards. We hope to welcome you again one day soon, where we will work hard to show you the service excellence that we are known for! Sincerely, Marion te Winkel Director of Operations
Excellent food! Enjoyed our waiter, great sense of humour:) Alex
Our mission is to turn moments into memories and I regret that we failed to do so on this occasion. Dear Belinda, We are so pleased that your visit to Wilfrid's was memorable. Alex is certainly a wonderful colleague and he will be happy that you took the time to recognize him. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Marion te Winkel Director of Operations
My meal was excellent and service was outstanding. I will return. Parking is a huge issue. I was with someone who needed to use a walker and will not return because of this reason. The piped in music was very pleasant but rather loud so that we had to speak up to be heard during conversations at our table.
Dear Sandra, Thank you for your compliments regarding your experience in Wilfrid’s. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We are also anxiously awaiting the construction of our new garage facility and we do regret the inconveniences this situation causes. We do hope you return to visit us again soon. Sincerely, Marion te Winkel Director of Operations
Love the food the service great place
This was my first try at Wilfrid’s for a business lunch. The service was very good - attentive but not annoying, quick and professional. My lunch partner and I chose from the set $30 menu with a starter and a main. My starter was an avocado salad which was very nice apart from the roasted radish which frankly added nothing; neither taste, nor texture. The main of ravioli was well made and nice but the butter sauce was uninteresting (eg melted butter). My lunch partner’s whole trout burger looked good but it was hard for him to eat. The coffee was also good (no mean feat). It’s a good restaurant if you want to be able to talk and have some level of privacy, with reliably timed service so you can get back to work.
Dear Pat, We value comprehensive reviews such as yours as we are continually looking for way to improve the service and products which we provide to our guests and clients each and every day. We look forward to your next visit to Wilfrid’s. Sincerely, Marion te Winkel Director of Operations
We both enjoyed our meals but I felt mine was somewhat bland - better after I asked for salt and pepper. The strip loin and duck breast we're both cooked to perfection. We had foie gras as a starter. It was good but there was too much going on with the dish - the flavour of the foie gras was drowned.
We found the staff to be very good and quite congenial.
We had read that there was a "business casual" dress code. I would say that is incorrect. There were people wearing jeans at the next table. I'm glad I didn't wear a suit.
Dear Peter, Thank you for your comprehensive review of Wilfrid’s. Rest assured that our Executive Chef and his team will take your comments to heart. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
The food was not outstanding. Way too pricey. Portions are tiny.
Dear Murielle, We regret your disappointing experience. We hope you return one day and allow us the chance to regain your faith in us! Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
The food was wonderful and exactly as we expected, and the service was top notch. As it was Saturday of Easter weekend it wasn’t very busy, so it was quiet and no waits at the buffet. They expected to be much busier Sunday, with plenty of children, so I’m glad we went Saturday. The brunch was pricey, but so nice for a special occasion.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your Easter Brunch with us. We hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
We always enjoy going to Wilfrid's. The breakfast buffet is one of our favourites! The food is always very good and the service is top class!
Dear Richard, We work hard to ensure that our guests have memorable experiences with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your compliments and we hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
The variety and quality of food was excellent. I expressed my personal thanks to the chef for the prime rib. It was cooked to perfection.
We were there for a birthday celebration. We were seated promptly, a great seat along the windows. We were a group of 6 women who love to laugh and we laughed a lot throughout the 4 hours we were there.
The buffet was great - food was fresh and most of it labelled - there were a few missing, but easily fixed once the missing labels were pointed out to staff.
Everything was cooked, prepared, presented to perfection and not a negative at all on any of the food. Rave reviews for the blood orange meringues and the mandarin jellies.
It is always so nice to hear compliments from our valued guests and clients, as it is our mission to create memorable moments. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
Nous avons apprécié notre dîner et l'ambiance
était très bien. Ce serait bien si le logiciel était disponible en français.
The Sunday Brunch is as good as I have had anywhere. The service was good, the ambience just right. I cannot recommend it highly enough
Dear Richard, We are delighted that your experience at Sunday Brunch was a memorable one and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
I love Wilfrid's. Any time I have an excuse to go out to celebrate, we go here. The service is outstanding - it feels like I am being pampered. We usually go for the prime rib which is mouth-watering. The chairs are comfy, the restaurant quiet and atmosphere relaxing. Highly recommended.
Dear Heather, We are honoured that you choose to celebrate those special occasions with us in Wilfrid’s. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
We chose Wilfred's because my Mom loves the hotel and it is conveniently located across the street from the National Arts Centre, where we were headed to see a production. We had limited time to sit for our meal, so appreciated the staff's consideration with regard to this both in timing of service and their advice re: the best items to order, given our limitations. The food was good and the atmosphere perfect for catching up over a glass of wine. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and were able to get to the theatre with minutes to spare! ;)
We are delighted that you chose Wilfrid’s for your pre-show meal and hope you enjoyed the show. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
Everything was excellent, they could have had a better wine selection.
Dear Mark, Thank you for your valuable feedback. Rest assured that we take your comments to heart! We hope to welcome you again one day soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
Very nice place. Food was excellent.
Price is what you expect.
Dear Stephen, We are so pleased to hear that your experience in Wilfrid’s was enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
Will be returning. Outstanding experience. The restaurant and hotel are provide and great venue for our routine Ottawa weekends. Thank you.
Dear Bruce, We value your loyal patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Wilfrid’s one day soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
The food and service were excellent!! I would definitely recommend Wilfrid's for a special lunch!
Dear Pat, We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in Wilfrid’s. We strive to provide the highest level of hospitality and it is always nice to hear when we have been successful. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
It was a great evening, an anniversary to remember.
Dear Robert, We are honoured that you chose to spend your anniversary with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
I ordered prime rib MR. it came out very well done and hard. Sent it back. New one was good but my daughter was almost through eating at that point so ordered a dessert for her. Two things on my bill were incorrect. They overcharged for one thing and completely left off another. I would’ve been better off had I not pointed it out but I have to be honest. Ambiance was very nice as was the server.
Dear Teresa, Thank you for your compliments with respect to the ambiance and your server in Wilfrid’s. Ho9wever, we do regret the fact that your prime rib was overdone and the billing issues you encountered. Please rest assured that your experience is not typical of our usual high standards. We do hope you return one day soon, allowing us the opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
After telling the reservations booker and our waitress is was our first year anniversary they did nothing to acknowledge it (even after we told them we got engaged at Wilfrid's). We waited an hour for our food and the server forgot my drink. We then waited an hour after finishing for the bill to arrive.
There were many managerial types wandering around but doing nothing while one server scrambled to serve all the tables.
If you want to waste five hours for mediocre overpriced food and to be treated with total disregard, eat here!
Dear Matthew, As a loyal patron, you are aware of our mission to turn moments into memories and I sincerely regret your disappointing experience, particularly on this special occasion. We do hope you give us another chance to regain your loyalty by returning one day soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
This is an excellent restaurant. The service is everything you could ask for and the physical space is very attractive. The menu has very nice choices and the food is excellent.
If you are not staying at the hotel you should be aware that there is no on site parking available.
It is not clear when the parking issue will be resolved.
Thank you for your compliments. We too, are anxiously awaiting the construction of our new parking garage. However, as you can well imagine, such a project will take many months to complete. We do hope you return one day soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
We had been there a few years ago and had a phenomenal experience. We were hoping for the same, but we’re disappointed. My soup had a skin on it and then we waited over an hour for our food and when it arrive, it was luke warm.
We heard the people at the table next to us complaining to the manger, so we know we were not alone.
We regret that your return visit to Wilfrid’s was a disappointing one. As you know, this is certainly not a usual occurrence and we hope you return one day, giving us the chance to regain your trust. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
An excellent meal with great service and a very pleasant ambiance.
We enjoyed our dinner at Wilfrid's restaurant while visiting Ottawa. I have no complaints about the food but it could have been better for the price and level of dining that should be expected at the Chateau Laurier.
Dear Donna, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Rest assured that we take your comments to heart. We hope to welcome you back one day soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
Food was very good, nice staff and very nice location. Only thing is they portions are quite small.
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
We did arrive late and they held our reservation, so that was nice. However the initial menu we got was only vegetarian, we had to ask for the regular menu. They were also late bringing the drinks. The food was pretty good for a table d'hote, but not great. It was also quite pricey for want we got, and we didn't even order an alcoholic drinks.
The food was good. However the à la carte options seemed much better than the buffet despite the later being more expensive.
Overpriced, restaurant of that caliber should have a table cloth no real difference in food offered in Zoe’s lounge, overall disappointed in this experience
Dear John, We regret your poor impression. However, we do hope you give us another change, by returning to Wilfrid’s one day soon. We are confident you will not be disappointed. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
Food was excellent and servers were skilled, friendly, and attentive. I had the endive salad, duck, and creme brule and all were excellent.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the food, service and ambiance of Wilfrid’s. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
Went there for the breakfast buffet. It was a typical spread of food and found it severely overpriced considering how underwhelming the food was. The only thing I would like to mention was that the service was indeed outstanding and the chef Johnny? Or Jimmy? Was so amazing. What a spirit and a joy to talk to. I wish more people could have his spirit and enthusiasm.
We regret not meeting your expectations during your recent visit to Wilfrid’s for breakfast. We were pleased, however, to read your compliments with respect to our wonderful colleagues, in particular Chef Jimmy, who has been charming our guests for years! They will be pleased that you took the time to recognize their service. We hope you give us another chance and return one day. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
Went for the brunch buffet and was pleasantly surprised with the variety available. Very delicious food!
Dear Chris, Thank you for taking the time to share your compliments with respect to your recent visit to enjoy our Wilfrid’s Brunch. It is always good to hear when we have been successful. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
It’s all about chef Jimmy!
We agree that Chef Jimmy is a wonderful Ambassador. Rest assured that we will share your compliments with him and we know that Jimmy will be delighted to have been recognized! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal that was prepared, served and tasted fabulous. Definitely if you want to enjoy an intimate evening with someone special, or friends you highly value, then I would recommend Wilfrid's Restaurant.
Dear Michael, Wilfrid’s is the perfect spot for a quiet and intimate dinner, overlooking Parliament Hill! We are delighted you enjoyed your evening and hope to welcome you and your wife again soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
Great Food but Poor Service this time. We have been there many times and always loved it. But this time was a real let down. The quality and selection of the food was terrific as always.
The service there has always been exemplary, but this time is was horribly slow. After being seated we waited almost 10 minutes before we saw our waitress and ordered a coffee. A lady at the next table was so tired of waiting she got up and went to the server's station to get herself a clean spoon. Our juice and coffee order was mixed up twice.
Our waitress was very hard to find. After waiting 20 minutes for our check I had to ask another member of the staff for it.
I explained when booking this was our 42nd anniversary (and requested a table by the windows.) We got a table on the window side but a wall beside us, not the window view I requested.
There was a very loud table of about 15 next to us. So loud my wife and I couldn't hear each other at times. None of the staff asked them to keep it down.
Sunday Brunch about $44 per person. Great food, but a bad experience this time. We will continue to go to Wilfred's but if we get similar service again it will be the last time.
Dear Robin, We regret not meeting your expectations and your poor impression on this very special occasion. As a loyal patron, you are aware that your experience is certainly not typical of our usual high standards for service excellence. We hope you return one day soon, thereby allowing us the opportunity to regain your trust and loyalty. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager
Everything for the main part was perfect. A couple items in the hot bar were a little bland, but other than that fantastic. Recommend to try once.
Dear Tashin, We are pleased that overall, your visit to Wilfrid’s was enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager