Wildflower - Tucson

4.6
4412 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Wildflower, the first Fox Restaurant Concept, raised the culinary bar when it opened in Tucson in 1998. To this day, it continues to set the standard for innovative New American Cuisine featuring a melting pot of American classics with European and Asian influences. If that’s not enough, the restaurant offers 80 wines by the bottle and 25 by the glass – an excellent range for both the wine connoisseur and the novice.

Support Wildflower - Tucson during COVID-19

What 4412 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.4
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
IF
vipInFromSF
Phoenix
89 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall1food3service1ambience3

Let me preface this review by saying I've been a loyal diner for 20 years without a major issue and here's why I will never return here for years if ever. Dinner reservations were at 6:30 & we were promptly seated & water was served. So far so good.
Order was taken around 6:45. We were asked ifwe wanted bread with the meal. It never arrived. Four top seated after us were served bread promptly. My thinking why offer something & then not follow through.
Now the time was approaching 7:30, close to a 45 minute wait. Nothing unusual ordered (fish & chips and their "airline " chicken). Both dishes in the past have been eminently adequate. By the time the entrees arrived I lost my appetite and sent it back to the kitchen (I wasn't going to get it boxed & sent home)and they can ponder what to with it. My first thought was crude so I just reiterated to the inept server what went down and he could have cared less. Maybe because I didn't buy a 1/2 priced bottle of wine on the Tuesday special that may have given him credence to ignore me.
I asked at that point to see the manager. I almost went full throttle and about to do my "karen" imitation when I received a half-assed very weak apology. As he walked away the crescendo in my voice began to get louder from the perceived tepid response. I bellowed "I'm not paying for this". Bottom line, dinner got comp'd and he brought over a $25 certificate.
Although the outcome was somewhat satisfactory, the scenario leading up to this was crap, never should have had to escalate & the server should find another line of work.
Since Sam sold the restaurant they seem to be resting on their laurels.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded a day ago

Good Afternoon, We apologize that you did not have a stellar experience last night. We strive for excellence, a great service experience and fresh consistent food, and apologize that you did not receive that when you dined with us. We'd love the opportunity to make it right, please let me know if you'd be willing to come back in soon. We appreciate you being so loyal to Fox over the years.

Report
RJ
ReginaJ
Phoenix
6 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience3

We were seated in the enclosed outside area which was very stuffy with no air movement. Absolutely I mpossible to hear if there was a third or fourth person at your table. Food was fabulous of course and Alex was a great server.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 16 hours ago

Glad to hear you all enjoyed yourselves despite the noise level. We'll be sure to let Alex know as well.

Report
N
vipNancy
Denver
25 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Consistently very good! The food is fresh and well prepared, the ambiance is lively and the service just right (it is loud inside, so choose the covered patio if noise is not your thing).

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 16 hours ago

Thank you Nancy! We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
L
Lavglow
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience3

It was very loud, poor acoustics, hard to have a conversation, and one high ceiling wall which is just begging for artwork. Nothing that will stop us from coming back though as we love the food and service.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate you continuing to choose Wildflower. Glad to hear you all enjoyed the food and service.

Report
W
Wyoming
San Francisco
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

I keep losing my review, so to recap. Service is friendly and professional. The food is exciting with layers of flavor. Be adventurous and a new dish, you will not be disappointed.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 2 days ago

You rock! Thank you for the review! We appreciate you choosing Wildflower.

Report
J
Jeff
Greensboro
16 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Very good food as usual. Service was good and it’s always a consistent experience.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the kind words. We're glad to hear you enjoyed.

Report
JD
JoeDiner
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We came here for the 1st time because of Sonoran Restaurant Week and were very glad we did! Food was delicious and service excellent. Worth the trip across town!

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 2 days ago

Glad to hear you had a nice time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
s
sandras
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were extremely satisfied with all aspects of our dining experience 😀

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded a day ago

Thank you so much for the kind words! We appreciate you choosing Wildflower.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Western NC
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Delicious food. Pleasant atmosphere. Great deal on restaurant week. Can’t wait for next year.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate you joining us for Sonoran Restaurant Week.

Report
SB
SunnyBoots
Tucson
5 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Food was absolutely amazing! Generous portions and full of flavor! Great setup, great atmosphere and great for date night! Only drawback was the service, it seemed the servers did not know their sections and we had to wait 10 min before someone approached us. She was delightful otherwise.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for making time to leave us a note here on OpenTable about your experience. We appreciate your patience, and look forward to an improved experience on your next visit.

Report
KK
KKIndyGirl
Tucson
9 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food4service3ambience5

We chose Wildflower for our wedding anniversary dinner based on the Sonoran Week menu and the fact we’d never been to Wildflower. We were pleased to have been greeted and seated immediately upon arrival and we enjoyed the buzz of the restaurant. The restaurant atmosphere is vibrant with a chic interior and cozy patio.

Our server was friendly yet not engaging. She, as well as all the other servers, seemed rushed. We appreciate getting orders to tables as quickly as possible to retain presentation and food temperature however it looked a bit frenzied at times. Given the current shortage of workers, we recognize that could be the reason for the frenzy.

The food was plentiful and well presented. I enjoyed the Wildflower seasonal salad and bolognese pasta, both we’re plentiful and tasty. Personally, I would have enjoyed a bit more bolognese sauce. It was enough to tantalize my taste buds yet not enough to truly savor a full bite. My husband tried the Lebanese hummus and spinach pappardelle. Both of these dishes were delicious and also plentiful. We agreed that the portions were large enough we could have split one or the other.

We will definitely return to enjoy lunch or dinner and the vibrancy of the restaurant.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the valuable feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We encourage pace, but never want our guests to feel rushed. We appreciate you choosing Wildflower, and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon. Cheers.

Report
BJ
BeeJay
Orange County
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

One of my favorite restaurants. Never disappoints. Excellent food and service. Good value for the money.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for the kind words! We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
B
Bouldinsja
Austin
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The service was excellent, as usual. Food is great and servers always help me navigate what is gluten free.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 5 days ago

Glad to hear you had a nice time! Thank you for choosing Wildflower.

Report
UD
vipUnbeatableDeal
Phoenix
80 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went for Sonoran Restaurant Week. Hands down, this was the best restaurant week meal I’ve ever had, and I’ve been to dozens in many different cities. The beef short ribs were the best I’ve had by a mile. At $35 for a 3 course meal plus a glass of wine, this ranks as the best value I’ve received in years.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 6 days ago

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Sonoran Restaurant Week offerings. We appreciate you choosing Wildflower, and look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
JB
vipJeanetteB
Phoenix
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience1

Food and service is always great. However, sitting on the patio with the huge black beetles was not a good thing! I had them crawling up my leg and my date had at least 4 at different times climbing on him! Best to presently sit inside!

PB
PatrickB
Hawaii
2 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Our wait person was very efficient even though she was tasked with serving a lot of people and also tending the bar.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for the kind words Patrick! We are glad to hear you had a nice time, and look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
FL
FredL
1 review
Dined on September 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

I've been there many times over the past 20 years and never had a bad meal. Best spinach salad in town. Outstanding fish&chips

OT
OpenTable Diner
Naples
1 review
Dined on September 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The flow of this restaurant was incredible. Even with our server being triple sat and the rush of dinner we our food brought over quickly. The calamari was incredible and the fig and ginger mule was refreshing. The beautiful Negroni was okay. For star of dinner was the braised short rib with an insanely good squash stuffing. Such a great place.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for the kind words. We're thrilled to hear you had a nice time, and look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
NN
NoName
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on September 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Food interesting and delicious, beautifully presented. Service excellent. Only issue was high noise level.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for leaving us feedback regarding your recent visit. We're glad to hear you all enjoyed yourselves despite the noise level. Afternoons are always best for a quieter time of day (between 2pm and 4pm). Our restaurant fills up quickly, the relative noise levels goes with it. Patio is another option, especially once cooler weather hits. Be sure to let us know you'd like quieter table, or request the patio and we'll always do our absolute best to accommodate. Cheers!

Report
J
Jetlagged
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined on September 15, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience3

This time of year patio seating experiences a large number of Arizona stink bugs which were all over the place, on the ground and in the trees around the enclosed patio area. We typically love to sit outside when visiting Wildflower, but this time we were dismayed by ALL the bugs we saw. This is not typical of Wildflower as we love to come here! Our service was excellent and food during Sonoran Restaurant Week was delicious! We will continue to support Wildflower but wish there could have been something done to eradicate those bugs.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the kind words. The monsoons definitely added some guests to our patio this year. We appreciate you, and are glad to hear you had a nice time.

Report
MS
vipMarshaS
Hawaii
2 reviews
Dined on September 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We will be returning soon. One of our favorite places!

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 16, 2021

We're so pleased to hear Marsha! Thank you for choosing Wildflower, we look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
PV
vipPersnicketyVirgo
Tucson
47 reviews
Dined on September 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always top quality food, in beautiful environment. Attentive service, without being intrusive. Open kitchen makes it a bit too noisy however. Visited during Sonoran restaurant week. GREAT MEAL at GREAT PRICE.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 16, 2021

Glad to hear you enjoyed the SRW menu and offerings. Thank you for joining us.

Report
JW
JohnW
Tucson
1 review
Dined on September 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Food (steel head salmon and braised short ribs) and the service were excellent.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 16, 2021

Great to hear John! Thank you so much for your feedback, and for choosing Wildflower.

Report
LN
LauraN
Tucson
2 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2021
Overall4food4service2ambience2

The food was good but the service was horrible……nobody around if we wanted something. The flies in the restaurant were bad too.

BH
BHawkAZ
Tucson
14 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Food was excellent, as were the drinks. The menu appears to be reduced from our last visit and is somewhat limited.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 16, 2021

Thank you for the feedback. We have maintained a limited menu since COVID, and with continuing supplier and sourcing issues we're looking forward to bringing some additions back in the future. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Tucson
1 review
Dined on September 10, 2021
Overall2food4service2ambience1

I’ve tried this restaurante a couple of times and don’t understand why it’s so popular.
Positive:
- the food was good (the hummus, the short rib and the bars of sin were good; the spinach pappardelle had no taste);
- the location is convenient;
- the waiters were nice (although they were always running around like they are in a hurry).
Negatives:
- the tables were so close to each other that you can touch the people that seating next to you. Specially in a pandemic season there is no reason to do this, except to have more people at the same time and make more money. It’s pure greed.
- the noise is so loud (because there’s too much people) that you literally have to shout to the people in your table
- you feel rushed as they keep taking your plates and bringing the next ones without no time to talk or enjoy. At one point the waiter said: “sorry, I’m not rushing you” which was clearly the case. It wasn’t her fault; all the waiters were running around doing it.
All in all I think that if they weren’t trying to fill up the restaurant and make more money they could definitely have a nicer place that would provide a better experience for people.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 11, 2021

Good Afternoon, We're glad to hear you enjoyed the food. As for table spacing, we are back to pre-covid seating, as our demand has skyrocketed since the state's guidelines were lifted earlier this year. We apologize if you felt rushed, that is certainly never how we want our guests to feel. Let me know if you'd be wiling to chat further via email. Should you dine with us in the future, we'd be happy to accommodate an area of the restaurant with better spacing. Thank you for the feedback.

Report
DW
DeniseW
1 review
Dined on September 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The only drawback was the noise. Very noisy, but it was a Friday night at 7pm. The food and service was superb!

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 16, 2021

Thank you for the feedback Denise! Please be sure to let us know when you plan on coming in, and we'll do everything in our power to get you at a table where the noise level may not be so obtrusive. Cheers!

Report
WR
WandaR
1 review
Dined on September 10, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience2

At a recent visit, their usually excellent food was too salty and service was slow. It’s always very noisy but it’s still one of the best restaurants in this area.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 16, 2021

Thank you for the feedback Wanda. We'll be sure to pass the message along to our chef team as well to keep an eye on the consistency of our menu here at Wildflower. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
JG
JeaneG
1 review
Dined on September 8, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

We had a marvelous time. The only negative was the noise level that made it difficult to hold a conversation from one end of the table to the to the other.
Food was delicious, service was excellent. Special kudos to our waitress, who treated us so well and accommodated our needs immediately and with a smile. I don't recall her name, but she has an elegant dragon tattoo on her left arm.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 11, 2021

Thank you for the feedback. We're glad to hear you all enjoyed your time. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
S
Savysu
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined on September 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wildflower is always great except for the noise level inside. I prefer to eat outside, but it was too warm.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 8, 2021

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent visit. We're glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves.

Report
T
Trisha
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Wildflower is one of our favorite restaurants if not the favorite restaurant the food is always wonderful the service is usually wonderful great ambience not a lot of noise just a great place to go

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 9, 2021

Thank you for the kind words! We're glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
CF
CherylF
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2021
Overall3food1service5ambience3

We were able to sit outside and the fan above helped with this Tucson heat. Our service was impeccable (I think his name was Johnathan)? Totally enjoyed the half price bottle of wine. Our artichoke appetizer was delicious and we appreciated the bread that was served along with the flavored butter. I ordered the Asian chicken salad and was disappointed in the fact that the chicken in it was sliced lunch meat. Not appetizing at all. I think it had been about a year since I last dined there and the chicken that was in the salad then was actual grilled chicken breast. I would definitely come back but would not order the Asian salad.....

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 10, 2021

Hi Cheryl, Thank you so much for the valuable feedback on your recent visit. We sure do hope to see you again soon, and be sure to let us know if you'd like the Asian Chicken Salad again, we are using a roasted and thin-sliced chicken breast as we feel it eats a little better, but it'd be our pleasure to use our marinated and grilled chicken breast as a sub for you instead.

Report
c
vipcindiesue
Houston
42 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I love this restaurant. The service providers do not rush yuu through your meal. very relaxed.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 9, 2021

Thank you Cindie for the kind words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
BY
BertY
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We ate out in the lobby due to Covid concerns. That made it a little noisier for us. Otherwise it was a perfect night out

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 8, 2021

Thank you so much for choosing Wildflower. We appreciate you, and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Report
f
francopile
San Francisco
14 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Birthday
Great service, great food, and we loved the place, we have been here many times and it always seems fresh and up to date glad we came
The complimentary dessert was outstanding

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 8, 2021

We appreciate the kind words. Thank you so much for choosing Wildflower.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Phoenix
31 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2021
Overall3food5service5ambience3

We were there for spaghetti

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 8, 2021

Thank you for choosing Wildflower. Until next time...

Report
WR
WilliamR
Columbus
10 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food and service were outstanding, as always. I would not describe the noise level as energetic, I would call it very loud instead.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 5, 2021

Thank you for the feedback William! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your food and service. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
H
vipHaardrock1141
Phoenix
150 reviews
Dined on September 3, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Service was outstanding from the hostesses to the wait staff. The Asian Chicken salad was very good and the Short Rib Ravioli was good. We sat outside on the patio which was quieter than inside and socially distant to be comfortable.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 5, 2021

Glad to hear you all had a nice time. Thank you for continuing to choose Wildflower! We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
BR
vipBRSprouls
Tucson
33 reviews
Dined on August 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

There is a good reason why Wildflower is so popular—it’s consistently good. The kitchen always does a very nice job with food, and the service matches. The staff really does act like they are happy to see you and to meet your expectations of a good night out in a fine restaurant.

Tuesday night is always half-priced wine night, for the ENTIRE list. We like to try bottles to find out if we like them at that time. The food is good. Five out of seven all had the seared sea scallops, which we have all ordered previously. Once again we were all enthusiastic about our entrees. Then there’s dessert. Bars of Sin anyone? Just yum.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 1, 2021

We love the review! We're so glad to hear you had a nice time, and look forward to your return (maybe next Tuesday?) Cheers!

Report
AN
AimeeN
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on August 31, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Food and ambience is always great. I was disappointed that I had made a reservation for 1pm an yet we had to stand in the doorway for nearly 10 minutes for the empty table to be bused and set for us.

Wildflower - Tucson
Responded on September 1, 2021

Good Afternoon Aimee, Thank you for choosing Wildflower. We appreciate your feedback on your recent visit. Our apologies for any wait, we get hit hard and fast during Tuesday lunches, which was the case yesterday when you arrived. We do our best to stay staffed appropriately for busier shifts and apologize for any impact our lunch business had on your reservation. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the food and service, and look forward to serving you again soon.

Report

FAQs

Wildflower - Tucson offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (520) 219-4230.

Wildflower - Tucson is rated 4.6 stars by 4412 OpenTable diners.

Wildflower - Tucson does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.foxrc.com/gift-cards/.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.