Vintage Chophouse & Tavern

4.6
1925 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Vintage Chophouse is a classic steakhouse with contemporary flair, offering a compelling menu for the true steak lover combined with internationally diverse choices for those with something else in mind. Our award winning wine list features more than 600 wines from around the world. With five different rooms, Vintage offers something for every occasion, featuring our signature Beringer Room with a hi-top circular table ideal for intimate gatherings of 8 - 12 in a semi-private room. Enjoy our contemporary yet comfortable dining room, or relax in our New York style tavern. Overstuffed leather club chairs, or our intimate leather booths are the perfect place from which to catch the game on two 55" LCD televisions. Every Friday and Saturday evening you can loosen up and listen to live funk, pop, jazz and more. We are the proud recipient of Wine Spectator Awards since 2005. Since 2007 Wine Spectator has honored Vintage Chophouse & Tavern with the Best of Award of Excellence
What 1925 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OT
Calgary
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely dinner to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary. The food was great and our waiter was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
JJ
Hawaii
6 reviews
Dined on April 12, 2019
Overall 2food 4service 4ambience 2

For the second time in a row visiting this restaurant the food and servers were outstanding but the manager and hostess were rude. They definitely could use some courtesy lessons from their staff.

Report
Helpful
DS
Calgary
5 reviews
Dined on April 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

As usual, a great meal at Vintage. Stephen, our server, was fantastic - made great recommendations, was friendly but left us to our date night. Somehow he managed to appear exactly when we wanted him. Worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
W
Calgary
1 review
Dined on April 9, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great experience for lunch. Atmosphere is quiet. Romantic. There’s room for larger tables. Food was great quality and server very attentive but not in your face.
Price was reasonable and expected. Definetly return.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on April 13, 2019

Hello Wally, Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great experience at Vintage and enjoyed our lunch service! We look forward to seeing you again. Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on April 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Hands down on of my favourite restaurants for great Old Fashioneds and steak.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on April 13, 2019

Hello Anna, Thank you for your review. We are happy to see you had a 5 star experience and enjoyed our steak and Old Fashion! If you didn't try it last time you were in, you'll have to try our Smoked Old Fashion next time! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
NF
Vancouver
6 reviews
Dined on April 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Excellent - all around.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on April 13, 2019

Hello Nick, Thank you for your rating. We are so glad you enjoyed the food and service. We strive to deliver a 5star experience every time and I would greatly appreciate if you could share more insight into your 4 stars an what could we have done better. Please feel free to email me directly at julia@vintagechophouse.co m Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
m
Calgary
23 reviews
Dined on April 7, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 3

Sorry we spent money on a 12 Oz filet mignon. It was disappointing due to its gamy flavour. Salad and wine were good. Service was indifferent. Birthday celebration that cost a lot and didn't deliver.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on April 10, 2019

Hello. Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience, especially considering it was your birthday. I would love if you'd be willing to come back and give us a chance to redeem ourselves and I would like to offer you $100 gift card on your next visit. To take me up on this offer please email me directly at julia@vintagechophouse.co m. I hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
Calgary
1 review
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing experience with Richard. Such incredible service and the food is impeccable. I see why it’s the top rated steakhouse in the city! A+++

Report
Helpful
JD
1 review
Dined on April 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Our server was fantastic and was extremely helpful! The food was amazing and we definitely felt that we got a good amount of food for the price.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on April 13, 2019

Hello Jackie. Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a 5 star experience at Vintage while enjoying our food and service. I would greatly appreciate if you could share more insight into your 4 stars an what could we have done better. Please feel free to email me directly at julia@vintagechophouse.co m Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
H
Calgary
1 review
Dined on April 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had a terrific dining experience. Enjoyed both the lounge and the dining room. Will definitely come back for another great fine dining evening.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on April 6, 2019

Thank you for your review Heater. We are glad you enjoyed your fine dining experience at Vintage and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
BS
Calgary
3 reviews
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Stephen was fantastic as always, great to be back for some quality Canada Prime Steak

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on April 6, 2019

Thank you for your review Brent - so happy to hear you enjoyed your steak and Stephen's service! Hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
RA
1 review
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Steve is so nice and accommodating he makes sure that we will have the best experience dining... thank u so much steve😇

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on April 6, 2019

Hi Riza, Thank you for your kind words, I passed your feedback on to Steve. And you're right - he is SO nice! Hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
KG
Las Vegas
8 reviews
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always great food and music!

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on April 6, 2019

Hi Katie, Thank you for taking time to submit your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Vintage. Hope to see you soon for the live music on Friday or Saturday! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 1ambience 5

Really nice place, value for your meal I would say is a little much

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on April 6, 2019

Thank you for your rating. We strive to deliver 5star experience every time and I would really appreciate if you could share more insight into your 1 star for service. Hope to hear from you soon, please feel free to email me directly at julia@vintagechophouse.co m. Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
MM
Calgary
1 review
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

For the price definitely wasn't worth it. The steak was fatty, and mediocre.
The classic sides you actually did get quite a bit for the value but still 11$ for an extra side is a bit steep.
And being charged for water was outrageous. 8$ for two glasses of water really left me with nothing but disappointment.
Sorry to say overrated just like their prices.
Cattle Baron I went and got the same and more and the steak was done perfectly and ended up being way cheaper.
Good first date type of thing but that's about it.

Report
Helpful
JB
Calgary
1 review
Dined on March 25, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

All the dishes are relatively basic, plain staples executed well enough. We ordered the porterhouse with the sides of onion rings, brussel sprouts, and carrots. The prices seemed high considering these dishes don't deviate from food that's easy to prepare correctly. The atmosphere is average, but doesn't call out to me as anything particularly exceptional. I was glad I tried it but I don't have a burning desire to go back, either.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 27, 2019

Thank you for taking time to post your review Jenn. I'm sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations on your last visit. Our menu is focused around good quality Canada Prime beef and the accompanying dishes are classic and uncomplicated. If you do decide to give us another try in the future, please do not hesitate to email me directly to make a reservation and I will make sure that you're especially well looked after. Kind regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager julia@vintagechophouse.co m

Report
Helpful
OT
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on March 25, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

I’d like to shout out our waiter, he was great. Provided us free Prosecco, explained the menu, made dessert special.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 26, 2019

Thank you for your review, so happy to see you had a great meal. Do you remember who your waiter was? I would like to pass on your thanks! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
ZF
Edmonton
2 reviews
Dined on March 25, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Came for a business meal before going to the Flames game. We were notified of the option to take a shuttle to the game as we arrived, which was a great option we hadn't thought of! There was a loud table sitting right beside us that were swearing quite a bit, but they only stayed for a few minutes, so it wasn't a huge bother. Game day meal options were also provided, which were great options that the majority of our group had. Food came out promptly, we were attended to by friendly, attentive wait staff, and the meal was delicious. The fries that came with the steak were small and crunchy and difficult to eat, so I left the majority of mine on the plate. Wine selection was great and paired nicely with the food.

First time to Vintage, would definitely come back again!

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 27, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Zach. I have passed on your comment about the fries to our Chef and he is working on rectifying the issue. We cut the fries in house so we will re-train our prep cooks. Our pre-game menu is available before every home game and the shuttle can also bring you back for some after game drinks! Hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
TO
1 review
Dined on March 24, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent food and service - very classy - would strongly recommend.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 26, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a 5 star, classy experience at Vintage and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
B
Calgary
1 review
Dined on March 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A fantastic place with amazing food, atmosphere and service! A treat for sure!

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 26, 2019

Thank you for your visit and review Bergie. Great to see you had an amazing time. Hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
RM
Calgary
1 review
Dined on March 19, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This place has the best food just you gotta pay for it ... worth it ? Yes.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 22, 2019

Thank you for your review Ron. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal at Vintage and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
LW
Phoenix
10 reviews
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Always a great place but getting way to expensive for our liking. 54 + for a steak is ridiculous. Great wine menu but again to high a mark up.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 22, 2019

Hi Lissa, Thank you for your visit and review. While we do have few of our larger steaks priced over $50, we do also offer less expensive cuts starting at $35. All our beef (except the tenderloin) is Canada Prime graded - the highest grade awarded to only 2% off all beef in Canada - meaning the highest quality and - what comes hand in hand with it - the price we pay for it. We do hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
M
Calgary
8 reviews
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We ordered the butchers block and it was very tasty. The seating and the service were awesome too despite the crowd in the evening.
Completely worth the money!

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 27, 2019

Thank you for your review Mariam - we are so glad that you had an awesome evening! The Tajima Wagyu ribeye currently on the Butcher's block is a definite must-have, I'm happy you enjoyed it! Hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
KG
Las Vegas
9 reviews
Dined on March 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always a good time and great meal!

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 22, 2019

Thank you for your rating Katie - glad to hear you had a good time! See you again soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on March 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent food, excellent service (as always).

We prefer the tavern side.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 22, 2019

Thank you for your rating - we are happy to see you had a great time. The tavern is great for a little bit more relaxed atmosphere, glad you enjoyed it! Please be sure to make a note for any future visits so we can allocate your table in the preferred area. Hope to see you soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
Montreal
1 review
Dined on March 11, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 5

The steak was cooked perfectly but the cut had a little too much fat in my opinion. I should have gone with the tenderloin as the other person’s steak was perfect.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 22, 2019

Thank you for your visit and review. The tenderloin is definitely the least fatty of all the cuts we offer. We also offer the meat board presentation where you can pick your very own steak. I see you have rated the service at 3 stars - I would greatly appreciate if you would be willing to share some more insight into this. Please feel free to email me directly at julia@vintagechophouse.co m. I hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
Calgary
1 review
Dined on March 9, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We were impressed with the Vintage Chophouse & Tavern from the moment of our arrival until we left! The décor is very nice. We were greeted in a warm friendly manner by the front end staff. Once seated, our wait staff were friendly and very professional in all our interactions. Although we found the menu a bit on the pricey side for our usual budget, we were able to find an appetizer salad to share and suitable main dishes for us both. All of the entrees do come with one side dish from an extensive list at the bottom of the page. Food was delivered in a timely manner but we never felt we were being rushed in any way. We topped it off with a delicious dessert from the list provided. We would definitely recommend Vintage Chophouse and Tavern for a nice, high end special dinner to anyone.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 22, 2019

Hello John - thank you so much for taking time to share details about your experience. I am so happy to see you enjoyed your dinner with us and hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
GF
Calgary
1 review
Dined on March 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

One of the best steaks in town...old school knowledgeable service. Great wine selection as well.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 22, 2019

Thank you for your rating Greg! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Vintage. Hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
NS
1 review
Dined on March 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Went for a special meal on an anniversary, got a fantastic booth. The service was exceptional, the steak was outstanding. That comes at a cost, but if it's a memorable event you're after, this is the place.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 17, 2019

Hi Neil, Thank you for sharing your feedback, we are so glad you had a memorable experience with us. Happy anniversary! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
RG
1 review
Dined on March 5, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 5

We were quite pleased with the restaurants presentation and decor. The noise level was perfect and the staff wonderfully attentive. My steak was perfectly cooked but was presented w/0 so much as a sprig of parsley or a dollop of garlic butter to dress the plate. The lamb shank fell off the bone but the red wine jus had no flavor at all. That was a disappointment. I dont think we will go back

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 10, 2019

Dear Ray. Thank you for taking time to post your review. I'm sorry that you didn't like the presentation of the steak and the lamb jus flavor. Our Chef is looking into both issues. As a token of gratitude for helping us get better I would like to offer you a gift certificate on your next visit should you decide to give us another chance. To take me up on this offer please email me directly at julia@vintagechophouse.co m. I look forward to hearing from you. Regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
c
Calgary
3 reviews
Dined on March 4, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Vintage Chophouse is one of the consistently great steak places in Calgary. The meat grade and cut selection are always excellent and the preparation and service is always perfect.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 6, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a 5 star experience at Vintage and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
DJ
Calgary
1 review
Dined on March 2, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 4

Service was outstanding. Was very disappointed and still in dis-belief that on a Saturday evening with a hockey game in town they had no Prime Rib to serve.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 5, 2019

Hello David, I'm sorry to hear about your disappointment. We did sell an unusual number of Prime Rib that night and it was all sold out by 6.45pm. I apologize there wasn't any left for you! To make up for it I would like to offer you and your guest and round of cocktails on your next visit as well as a $50 Gift Certificate. To take me up on this offer please email me directly at julia@vintagechophouse.co m Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
JB
Calgary
9 reviews
Dined on March 1, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Love this place, but drinks are expensive.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 5, 2019

Hello Justin! Thank you for your visit and review. While we do feature our cocktail list, our bartenders are happy to prepare any drink you'd like during a future visit. We also feature an incredible Social Hour from Monday-Friday where we offer some of the best pricing available on scotch and wine! We we hope to see you soon. Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
W
Calgary
1 review
Dined on March 1, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere! Great service
Only one small complaint a little too much salt on steak!

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 5, 2019

Hi Justice, I'm glad you enjoyed your overall experience but I apologize for the steak being too salty. We have recently changed the brand of salt and it appears to be saltier than our old one! After seeing your feedback the Chef had ordered samples of different salts and we will rectify the situation. As a thank you for helping us get better - I would like to offer you a GC on your next visit. Please email me directly to take me up on my offer at julia@vintagechophouse.co m. Julia Darnes - GM

Report
Helpful
PB
1 review
Dined on February 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Service was spectacular, Jeremy was amazing. Steak and wine where perfectly paired and delicious! We will definately be back.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 6, 2019

Hi Paddy Thank you for your review - we are so glad you enjoyed your dinner with us. Jeremy is a superstar, he had just celebrated his 6th year anniversary of working at Vintage! I have passed on your kind words to him, thank you again! Hope to see you soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
L
Calgary
1 review
Dined on February 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Food was delicious! The customer service was top-notch. The staff always made sure we were taken care of and enjoying the evening! Highly recommend it.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 5, 2019

Dear Luke, I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Would you be able to provide more detail of what dishes you had on your visit so we can look into it and rectify? Hope to hear from you soon. Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager julia@vintagechophouse.co m

Report
Helpful
EK
1 review
Dined on February 27, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 3ambience 3

Was very disappointed with the food.. ordered medium rare stake it came extremely rare.. was disappointed with the food over all

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 6, 2019

Hello Elvis, I am sorry to hear about your recent experience at Vintage and your under-cooked steak. I would really appreciate if you could share some more information about the other issues you had that night, so we can investigate and rectify them. I look forward to hearing back from you. Kind regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager julia@vintagechophouse.co m

Report
Helpful
JW
Calgary
1 review
Dined on February 26, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Prime rib...need I say more? I guess I do, at least 50 characters.

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 1, 2019

Thank you for your rating Justin. And you're right - our prime rib speaks for itself! That's because we use highest grade of beef - Canada Prime. Hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
Calgary
15 reviews
Dined on February 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food was great and huge wine selection, something for everyone. Late night reservation is great to enjoy the live music. Our server Linden was very prompt and personable. Will be back!

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 6, 2019

Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your evening with us and I will be passing your kind words to Linden. We have a different live band in our Tavern every Friday and Saturday from 10pm to 1am! The band schedule can be found on our website. Hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on February 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Awesome place for dinner

Vintage Chophouse & Tavern
Responded on March 6, 2019

Thank you for taking time to give us your rating - we are happy to see you had a 5 star experience at Vintage. Hope to see you soon! Warm regards, Julia Darnes - General Manager

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
49

Tweets by Vintage Chophouse & Tavern