Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road

3.8
258 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Uncle Julio’s is a Mexican from scratch kitchen serving only the freshest ingredients. Specialties include: chicken & steak fajitas, tender filet mignon, and bacon wrapped shrimp. Other favorites include: seafood fajitas, shrimp al pastor, red snapper, or ahi tuna served with homemade corn tortillas or bibb lettuce.

Uncle Julio’s menu also includes Tex-Mex classics such as tacos, enchiladas & tamales all with a selection of sauces made daily. Insider tip: order the tableside guacamole. It’s prepared for you at your table; if you like it spicy kick it up a notch with fresh chopped jalapenos.

Uncle Julio’s has a vast drink selection. Try our fresh margarita of the day, made to order with fresh fruit. If you prefer a frozen drink then the Swirl is definitely the perfect choice. The Swirl is frozen sangria & frozen margarita layered together dating back to 1987.

avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details
What 258 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
4.0
food
3.8
service
3.8
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
77% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Went for lunch on a weekday with a friend. Service was great and food was tasty. Not expensive at all

Report
Helpful
SB
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent food, I would rate it a $$$ as far as a cost since I can go to other Mexican places for $ to $$. 3 people cost $90 here opposed to $40 anywhere else. But it's sometimes good to splurge.

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on July 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Nice restaurant order a grand swirl drink

Report
Helpful
DF
1 review
Dined on July 6, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

We haven't been to this location in over a year. When we walked up the first thing we noticed was cigarette butts and trash everywhere at the entrance. When we were seated, the table was in a dark excluded room with another unhappy couple. We asked to be relocated twice and were told "it will mess up our rotation" and "no we can't" even though there were other tables available. Even after other people were then seated at these empty tables after us. The unhappy with the dining area couple got up and left without ever receiving service (they arrived before us). We got up and went to the hostess stand. I asked if I would have been able to be reseated if I came back out as a new customer and was told yes. I finally complained to the manager and we left to go to the peremeter location (great experience and food).

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on July 10, 2019

Hello, We sincerely apologize to hear about your experience at the Atlanta location and do not find this acceptable. We have provided this information to the team and it will be addressed immediately. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Perimeter location and we hope to serve you again for a much improved experience. Thank you, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on July 5, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Good food and service!

Report
Helpful
OT
New York Area
11 reviews
Dined on July 3, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Good Food Good Service

Report
Helpful
JM
1 review
Dined on June 25, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Uncle Julio's was delicious! We love Taco Tuesday as a family. The environment is festive and the service is wonderful!

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on July 2, 2019

Jennifer, thank you very much!

Report
Helpful
m
Atlanta
105 reviews
Dined on June 21, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Uncle Julio’s was the choice of my 15 yr old grandson for celebrating his big day. You did not disappoint. We had a fine time. The food and service were exceptional.

Report
Helpful
OT
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on June 19, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 2

Bad food & slow service....

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on June 27, 2019

Hello, We apologize we didn't meet all your expectations. Your concerns have been forwarded to the appropriate parties, please accept our sincere apology for your dissatisfaction with the service and food. We do hope to get the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
DL
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on June 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Uncle Julio’s is one of our go-to places for family gatherings since our family lives all around metro Atlanta. We met for Father’s Day and the food was amazing! The tableside guacamole was the best I’ve had in years! All of us were very pleased and will definitely return as soon as possible!

Report
Helpful
T
Atlanta
4 reviews
Dined on June 15, 2019
Overall 3food 5service 3ambience 3

The food was outstanding once we got it. Our waitress was given 2 large parties and was having a hard time keeping up. It was not her fault. Appetizers came after dinners were delivered.She did get the manager to adjust the bill. She was very accommodating. First impression was mediocre at best but we'll give it another chance because the food was that good!

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on June 20, 2019

Hello Trio, Thank you for your review and we apologize that your service was less than exceptional during your previous visit. We are glad to hear that a manager was able to connect with you and your party to repair the experience as best possible. We look forward to serving you again for a much improved experience in the future. Thank you, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
AC
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on June 11, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Best Tacos we’ve ever had and the salsa is amazing! Also, the three amigos margarita is a must try if you want a sipper or 3!

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on June 17, 2019

Abigail, thank you very much!

Report
Helpful
M
Atlanta
20 reviews
Dined on June 4, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Dinner was delightful & it was festive sitting outside. Server was excellent
in every way.

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on June 7, 2019

Mary, thank you...we are so glad you enjoyed the patio and service!!!

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
2 reviews
Dined on June 1, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 2ambience 4

I waitress sucked, but the food was delicious.

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on June 7, 2019

Hi, We are so sorry we didn't meet your service expectations. We look forward to serving you again with a much improved experience. Thank you, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
3 reviews
Dined on May 29, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Good food. Great service.

Report
Helpful
IL
Atlanta
9 reviews
Dined on May 25, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 4

During my recent travels I visited an Uncle Julio's in Oklahoma and have been bragging to my family how outstanding th filet mignon fajitas were and the awesomely amazing Chocolate Pinata. We had to drive 1 hour and 20 minutes to the Atlanta location, no one liked or finished thier food. The Chocolate Pinata Dessert was fun and only ok tasting no where near as good as the last one. The waiter lousy and we have zero good to say about the service. The restuarant was not clean. Very disappointed.

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on May 30, 2019

Hello ILoveGreatFood, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit and apologize that we missed the mark on providing you with an excellent dining experience. We have taken your feedback and forwarded it to the appropriate teams. We appreciate the opportunity to improve our service standards to the highest quality and hope that we get the chance to provide you with a more than improved experience in the future. Thank you, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
BA
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 3

This was a very disappointing experience. The restaurant was EMPTY, but they would not let other parties join us because “it would confuse the servers”. Finally they let the other party move closer to us but again, we couldn’t join the tables because it would confuse the server. After that, they were bringing out chips and salsa and we caught the server eating a chip out of the basket. Everything was really slow. They were preoccupied with talking and enjoying a baby that I assume one of the workers brought up there. The food was cold and fresh ingredients were not used. This was an awful experience and I would not recommend for anybody to go back to this location.

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on May 20, 2019

Hello Brandi, Thank you for spending your time with us. We are sorry to hear this and will make sure to address this with our staff. We appreciate you letting us know. Please accept our sincere apology. We hope to get the opportunity to serve you again with a much better outcome. Sincerely, Uncle Julio’s

Report
Helpful
M
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 2

Our experience was horrible. We tried to book a large party (15 people), but they told us they couldn't accommodate us. When we arrived, there was hardly any customers there. The restaurant was almost empty the entire time we were there (approximately 2 hours). In other words, they lied to us. One of our party members caught the waiter taking a chip from their basket and eating it prior to placing it on their table. The food was awful as well. I had a shrimp quesadilla. It was a rather large portion, but there were only 4 shrimp on it. Basically, i paid $15 dollars for the the tortilla. My son asked for a refill on his sweet tea several times. The last time I reminded them about the sweet tea, they said that the kitchen had already poured it all out. Needless to say, I would not recommend this restaurant (at least not this particular location) to anyone!!

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on May 20, 2019

Hello Meme, Thank you for your business. We greatly appreciate you sharing this input. We are constantly working to improve, and this information is extremely helpful. Your concerns have been forwarded to the appropriate parties. Please accept our sincere apology for your dissatisfaction. We hope you will return to Uncle Julio’s soon for an improved experience. Thank you, Uncle Julio’s

Report
Helpful
CL
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall 1food 4service 1ambience 1

do not come here if you have a food allergy. the staff does not care.

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on May 20, 2019

Hello, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience. your concerns are being addressed. We strive to provide an exceptional meal for all our guests and we’re sorry we missed the mark for you. We hope to get the opportunity to serve you again with a better outcome. Thank you, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
D
1 review
Dined on May 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great service, Aspen our waitress was terrific, fast and professional. Ambiance was awesome , thought i was in old time mexico from the old spaghetti westerns. I LOVED IT!!!!!!! MY FAMILY LOVED IT !!!!!!
WE LOVED IT !!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
p
Atlanta
9 reviews
Dined on May 5, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 3

I made a reservation thru open table, the restaurant sent an email to make sure I was coming to which I replied yes. When I got to the restaurant they said I didn't have a reservation and they were not taking reservations for that day.

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on May 10, 2019

Hello Patriciaj, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us and apologize that your reservation experience was not at the standard we expect for our Guests. We appreciate the opportunity to connect with you and have forwarded your review and feedback to the appropriate parties. We hope that we will get the chance to provide you with a future experience that is improved and a seamless reservation experience. Thank you, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
ST
1 review
Dined on May 4, 2019
Overall 1food 4service 4ambience 4

We had a reservation for 8:15. We arrived at the restaurant and was told there was a 20 minute wait on reservations. However we noticed several people waiting were being sat before us even after the 20 minute delay (8:35pm). After checking in with the hostess, we were told “just one second” several times after asking how much longer the wait would be. The hostess then began to individually walk up to people at the bar and seat them, although they did not have a “buzzer” that we had to mark our place in line. We eventually were sat an HOUR after our reservation after persistently demanding that we get seated because we were being skipped over. Pretty much the same time if not a little longer than we would have waited if we just walked in. All that to say, my overall rating of 1 star is due to the fact that I had a reservation that the restaurant did not honor.

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on May 7, 2019

Hello, Thank you for your business. We are so sorry you had to wait and completely understand your frustrations. We greatly appreciate you sharing this input. We are constantly working to improve, and this information is extremely helpful. Your concerns have been forwarded to the appropriate parties. Please accept our sincere apology for your dissatisfaction. We hope you will return to Uncle Julio’s soon for an improved experience. Thank you, Uncle Julio’s

Report
Helpful
W
Atlanta
3 reviews
Dined on May 4, 2019
Overall 1food 4service 5ambience 5

We arrived 5 minutes late to our reservation at 7:45pm, Saturday night. The hostess said "we understand you have a reservation, but there are guests who still haven't arrived for their reservations and here's a beeper". I asked how long she holds reservations for and she replied 20 minutes.
So help me understand...I'm late to my own reservation and I have to wait an additional 15 minutes to be seated...SMH! We waited for 10 minutes and found a spot at the bar, so we returned the beeper. The bartenders Jonas and Aspen made this night special. We had a great time getting to know them and received incredible service, as well. Will never make a reservation for this restaurant again.

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on May 7, 2019

Hello Will, Thank you for your business. We deeply apologize for the reception you received. We appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention. We hope to get the opportunity to serve you again with a great experience you expect from us from start to finish. Thank you, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
g
Atlanta
12 reviews
Dined on May 4, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It was my table guests first time at this establishment. They kept commenting about the food is sooooo good during and after feasting. I agree!

Report
Helpful
KT
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on May 3, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 4ambience 3

Food was not the quality Im use to for Uncle Julios. And they removed the plato gordo off the menu which was upsetting. And the swirl mug seems to be getting smaller and smaller

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on May 10, 2019

Hello KenyaT, Thank you for your review, we apologize that a menu favorite was not available to you and the food was not at the highest quality. We do appreciate your feedback and have taken this to our team to address as your concerns provide us with the opportunity to improve. We hope to serve you in the future for an improved experience that exceeds expectations. Sincerely, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
DC
1 review
Dined on May 3, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 3ambience 5

Loved the fajitas and patio dining. Our waiter went AWOL halfway through the meal, leaving us with empty drink glasses.

Report
Helpful
G
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on April 30, 2019
Overall 5food 3service 5ambience 5

Your review should help other diners decide if this restaurant is a good choice for them.

Report
Helpful
C
Atlanta
6 reviews
Dined on April 20, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 2

We wanted a quick, late night meal so we chose Uncle Julio’s. We’ve been here plenty of times before, so we usually know what to expect. I guess since we came so close to closing, we didn’t deserve decent service. Opentable mentioned that they close at 1130, however the hostess quickly let us know that they close at 11. We got there at 1030. Luckily, since we’ve dined here many times before we already knew what we wanted. We were sat at a dirty table that needed to be wiped off all the way in the back. I didn’t even bother mentioning it to the hostess because at this point I already knew she didn’t care about the quality of service we were receiving. After a few minutes our waitress (Alexis) came over with a bowl of broken chips and salsa for us. She was actually very nice...just not very attentive. To wrap this up, the food wasn’t as good as it usually is....our steaks were over cooked and it just didn’t seem fresh. Everything about this visit was off. Please let your staff know that even though you may be “closed” it’s rude to have loud personal conversations when you still have patrons in the restaurant, especially when you’ll be throwing around a bunch of profanity.

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on April 23, 2019

Hello Cjos, Thank you for your business and loyalty. We appreciate and value comments and concerns. We deeply apologize for the concern this has caused you. We appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention, so we can investigate this and take whatever steps necessary to improve. This is certainly not our standard. We hope to get the opportunity to serve you again with an improved experience you expect from us. Thank you, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on April 20, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I’ve been to Uncle Julio’s a handful of times and it’s always been good. But tonight it was exceptional all our entrees tasted extremely fresh and our waitress was very attentive

Report
Helpful
S
New York Area
74 reviews
Dined on April 15, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 4

Love that everything is so fresh! The margaritas are amazing. Just one suggestion: the chips are very greasy. Can you drain them better somehow make them less greasy?

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on April 12, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Horrible service

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on April 17, 2019

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us and apologize that your service was not at the standard we expect for our Guests. We appreciate the opportunity to connect with you and have forwarded your review and feedback to the appropriate parties. We hope that we will get the chance to provide you with a future experience that is improved and exceeds expectations. Sincerely, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
LC
1 review
Dined on April 11, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wonderful place for lunch... by yourself or with friends. Great food, service, price and parking.

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on April 15, 2019

Laura, thank you!

Report
Helpful
AL
1 review
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Exactly as advertised. Solid Tex-mex. Good prices, especially considering that it’s in Buckhead. Communicative, helpful and accommodating. My group of 10 had a great time. Thanks Uncle Julio’s.

Report
Helpful
LH
1 review
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 2food 4service 1ambience 3

This was my third visit to the restaurant. The first two times were wonderful with attentive staff. However this time, we waited over 25 minutes for the waiter to acknowledge us. Our first interaction was him asking what we wanted to drink and eat. We ordered fajitas for 2. When they were delivered they were not sizzling and rice/beans was only delivered for one person instead of two. The waiter promised he would be right back with other.. we had to remind him 10 minutes later. We also had to remind him to bring tortillas along with chips and salsa. He had a large party prior to our table...and I really think he was done for the night. Food was awesome as always...service was disappointing though.

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on April 12, 2019

Hello LHarris811, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us and apologize that your service was not at the standard we expect for our Guests. We appreciate the opportunity to connect with you and have forwarded your review and feedback to the appropriate parties. We hope that we will get the chance to provide you with a future experience that is improved and exceeds expectations. Sincerely, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
AR
Atlanta
28 reviews
Dined on April 5, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 4

The food was no better than standard Mexican food at any run of the mill place. In addition, they have pared down the menu & eliminated lots of good things like cerviche & garlic shrimp & other non standard entrees. Disappointed. Will not be back. Patio is awesome. Service was very good & server was pleasant.

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on April 8, 2019

Hello Alfonso, Thank you for spending your time with us. We are so sorry we missed the mark on this visit. We appreciate your feedback to develop and enhance the experience. We look forward to serving you again in the standard you'd expect from Uncle Julio's. All the best, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
3 reviews
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 1ambience 3

The server wasn’t the best, she messed up my order and then argued that what I received was similar to my order. In addition to receiving food I didn’t order, she couldn’t remember to bring us eating utensils, napkins, chips, or salsa.

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on April 1, 2019

Hello, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for all our guests and we’re sorry we missed the mark for you. We'd like to properly coach. Do you have your ticket number? That will have all the information we need to correctly address. We look forward to your reply. Thank you, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
2 reviews
Dined on March 23, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

The kitchen got our food wrong several times and our waitress was good, but slammed, so service was SLOW

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on April 1, 2019

Hello, We appreciate your business and value your feedback. We apologize we didn’t meet your overall food and service expectations. We hope that you return and let us make up for your experience. Thank you, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
JM
1 review
Dined on March 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

I had a reservation for 6:15, but didn’t get seated until 6:35. It was okay though because they were slammed and the service and food was excellent! It was loud, but it was a Friday night in Buckhead! I would eat there again if I was in the area.

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on March 26, 2019

Josh, thank you for your business! We are so glad you had a great time once you were seated. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
Helpful
SH
1 review
Dined on March 18, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

Not worth the prices. If I'm dropping that amount of money on Mexican, I'll stick to Chuy's, Pappasito's, and El Azteca.

Report
Helpful
SW
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on March 17, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 2

This is definitely not the same Uncle Julio's! Food was not great, bar service was okay, hostess was okay, overall I was disappointed and will not be going back. Sorry Uncle Julio's.

Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road
Responded on March 21, 2019

Hello Sonja, Thank you for your loyalty. We are so sorry we missed the mark on this visit. We look forward to serving you again in the standard you'd expect from Uncle Julio's. All the best, Uncle Julio's

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7

Tweets by Uncle Julio's - Atlanta Peachtree Road