True Food Kitchen - Austin

4.6
1780 Reviews
$30 and under
American

Top Tags:

Good Vegetarian Options
True Food Kitchen in Austin is currently open with dine-in and carry-out service. As always, we will continue to prioritize the health and safety of our guests by following the guidance of the CDC and local health officials. We appreciate your patience and understanding as we navigate this new normal together.

Support True Food Kitchen - Austin during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1780 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
JH
JenHammy
Atlanta
7 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love True Food Kitchen and this location was no different! Delicious food and great service!!

JB
JoyB
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

We’ve been wanting to visit True Food Kitchen for a while and were Happy with her experience. Our server Was friendly, knowledgeable, and personable. She checked on us several times. We love the ambience and decor and that we were able to sit outside and bring our little doggie!! The noise level is fine, except for that awful train (which I know you can’t do anything about). The food was interesting and flavorful but a little bit too spicy for us, Even though we thought we were getting non-spicy dishes. (The chicken Panini, Ancient grains) The portions were generous. Thank you for a great experience; we will be back.

M
Mike
San Francisco
7 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Everyone’s so nice and the food is delicious. Big shoutout to Jolene for taking such great care of us and our dietary needs.

JJ
JuliaJ
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious butternut squash soup and risotto. Healthy, clean food. Attentive wait staff on a Saturday night. So pleased with our experience.

KH
KrisH
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food3service5ambience5

The service was excellent but my burger was overcooked.

M
Mike
San Francisco
8 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Alex took such good care of us with our special needs diet. Good and drinks were tasty.

WN
vipWineNdine
Austin
3 reviews
Dined on October 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food. Healthy and fresh! Love it! The GM is the nicest guy around!

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded 7 days ago

Treating our guests like family is simply what we do here, as we are honored to have you as a guest, and we want to make that clear. Thanks for visiting and please come back again soon!

Report
s
schuylerk
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on October 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious and healthy. Loved it.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded 7 days ago

We strive to offer our guests the best, so we're happy that you appreciate our quality ingredients and plate construction. Thanks for offering your praise, and for choosing True Food Kitchen Austin, TX (Seaholm)!

Report
LS
LisaS
Austin
1 review
Dined on October 15, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great atmosphere, food choices healthy but limited hearty entrees, all of the fish was over cooked

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded 7 days ago

I am happy to hear the good outweighs the bad, but I am so sorry we overcooked your fish. I hope we were able to make it right for you when you were in and you received fish that was cooked correctly. Please know we always want you to be happy with your experience and never leave hungry. We appreciate the feedback.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
Dined on October 15, 2021
Overall2food1service5ambience5

Food was terrible and overpriced. Service was great.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded 4 days ago

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your meal. I hope we were able to fix the issues for you when you were in because we never want anyone to leave hungry or unhappy. I am to hear the service was great though, that makes me extremely happy! Thank you for the feedback all around, both good and bad!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Austin
1 review
Dined on October 15, 2021
Overall2food3service3ambience3

Chef made the night. He came out and talked about his selections and favorite entrees. Wait staff was overwhelmed and service was very slow.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded 7 days ago

I am so glad to hear the chef came out and was able to talk about his favorite entrees! Its always great to hear the chef's opinion on food items! I am very sorry though the service was slow, that is never something we want to hear. I would love to be able to follow up with your server, so if you are able to give me a call here at the restaurant, I would love some more details so I can fix this for future tables. Thank you, Vanessa Johnson

Report
S
Stuart
Charleston
1 review
Dined on October 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent. Service, food, cocktails all good

OT
OpenTable Diner
Austin
2 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience4

I’ve eaten here before and had good food but that was not my experience this time. In my opinion, the food has never been great but this time it wasn’t even good. I would say okay at best.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on October 14, 2021

I am sorry we missed the mark with your food on your visit recently. Please know that we always want to make sure you leave happy and not hungry, so we are always wanting to fix whatever is wrong so its exactly what you would like. I hope you give us another shot again soon. Thank you for the feedback.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Austin
16 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Family in town for a festival and this healthy meal made overindulging at the festival not so bad! Always delicious at this restaurant. On another note it Seemed the portions were slightly smaller than normal but still delicious.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks for the feedback, we are glad to see the good outweighs the bad! I will definitely follow up with the line cooks to make sure we are doing the correct portions moving forward and they will be more consistent. Thanks again!

Report
j
vipjohnc
Philadelphia
7 reviews
Dined on October 5, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Had to wait 10 minutes after seated before a server showed up to serve water. Ordered the Neapolitan pie - was undercooked and way too much cheese for this type of pizza. For my entrée, I ordered faroe island salmon - was so salty could not finish the meal. However, once we started ordering, the service picked up nicely.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on October 8, 2021

Thanks for your review John. I have followed up with your server from the evening to ensure she is greeting tables more efficiently in the future and no one is waiting like you did! If there is ever any food items you are not happy with, please let us know immediately so we are able to fix them and you do not leave unhappy or hungry! Thank you again for your feedback.

Report
SA
SusanA
Austin
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2021
Overall3food5service4ambience3

Love this restaurant hate the parking. Won’t go back. $16 to park in their garage for lunch!

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on October 8, 2021

Hi Susan, I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. I apologize with the charge for the parking garage, those prices and the 1 hour validation is set by the company who runs the garage, so unfortunately we are not able to adjust that at all. I hope you choose to give us another chance in the future.

Report
T
Torr
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2021
Overall3food2service3ambience4

We watched our drinks die on the bar top while waiting for the server to deliver them. The drinks were stacked at least 10 deep and it wasn’t that busy. Food came out cold and inconsistent portions. Normally that wouldn’t matter but this is a place that does calorie counts on all of their meals so consistency matters. We had them bring back warm versions and my friend’s eggs were overdone but we just dealt with it.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on October 9, 2021

I am so sorry Torr you had a less than favorable experience when you were in recently. I have followed up with the chef regarding the portion sizes as you are absolutely correct on the consistency. Please always let us know if something is not to your liking so we can get it fixed and you do not leave hungry, that would be terrible. We always want to make sure people leave happy. Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate it.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 2, 2021
Overall1food1service3ambience5

Overcooked chicken parm

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on October 10, 2021

I am so sorry your chicken parmesan was overcooked when you were in recently. Anytime you receive something that is wrong or you just don't like, please let us know so we can make it right. We do not want you leaving hungry or unhappy, that is why we want to make sure you enjoy what you order! Thank you for the feedback, I will follow up with the chef on this as well.

Report
JM
JohnM
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was delicious!!!

Loved the decor and atmosphere!

Highly recommend!

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on October 2, 2021

Thank you so much John, I am happy to hear you enjoyed everything! Hope you are able to make it back in again soon!

Report
L
Leigh
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I have been to true food kitchen several times, both locations. I have enjoyed the food, the service and the ambiance every time. I would definitely recommend for reasonably priced great food in a casual environment.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on October 2, 2021

Thank you so much Leigh! I am so happy to hear we hit all the marks on your visits to both locations! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review!

Report
CR
vipCherylRae
New York Area
15 reviews
Dined on September 26, 2021
Overall1food4service1ambience4

2 1/2 hours to get a salad and 2 cocktails, after being told 3 things we wanted to order they were out of and they were having “chef issues”. Something was extremely off today and I can’t recommend going back until it’s resolved.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on October 2, 2021

Hi Cheryl, I am so sorry it was such a terrible experience on Sunday. Unfortunately we did run out of a few things on Sunday due to an extremely busy weekend and I apologize for that. We have made adjustments to our prep lists due to last weekend so that does not happen again in the future. We do appreciate your feedback though and apologize again for last weekend.

Report
j
vipjennih
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on September 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server was fabulous

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 29, 2021

Thank you Jenni for the 5 star review! We appreciate it!

Report
RM
vipRogerM
Austin
27 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience4

Came and forgot to NOT order the Brussels sprouts. Under cooked and not tasty but chewy. Noticed other tables had ordered them too and they were virtually untouched. Fortunately the waitperson took it off our bill. The Spaghetti squash casserole was plentiful and delicious.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on October 2, 2021

Hi Roger, Thanks for letting us know about the brussels. I will definitely follow up with the chef to make sure we are cooking the brussels a bit more in the future. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your spaghetti squash casserole though! If you have not done it yet, try it with the bolognese sauce, its delicious!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Denver
4 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience4

Took an hour to get our food. It was not warm, and some dishes were mistaken, eg, Asked for medium rare burger and got it well done.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 29, 2021

I apologize for the long time food on Saturday evening. I have followed up with the chef regarding this and the burger being cooked incorrectly so they can make sure these issues don't happen again in the future. We appreciate the feedback.

Report
GS
vipGregS
Austin
3 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Banana pancakes were cold! Service was very efficient!

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 29, 2021

HI Greg, I am so sorry the pancakes were cold when they came out. Please always let us know if anything is wrong in the future so we can fix it for you on the spot. I am so happy to hear service was efficient though, that is definitely something we strive for!

Report
KB
KBTX
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined on September 24, 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience2

Dog if patio barking the whole time. Had to ask for simple things like water. Salmon was to be medium rare and came out well done.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 29, 2021

Thank you for the feedback. I am definitely going to follow up with the chef on your salmon being overcooked. If there is anything in the future you are unhappy with, we are happy to replace it and make sure you receive what you would like. Please don't ever be afraid to let us know, we want to make sure you leave happy!

Report
S
Sally
Austin
1 review
Dined on September 23, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience4

I keep going back because of their terrific menu choices - all are really good. My only challenge with the whole experience was the parking in the Seahold garage, as I had never used QR code, and I wasn't told how to check out. I don't know if I will get charged or not!

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 29, 2021

Hi Sally! Thanks for the kind words about our menu! If you have any issues with the garage in the future, the company that runs it is Premier Parking if you need to reach out. Next time you are in though, just ask any staff members and we can walk you through the validation!

Report
CP
CherylP
Salt Lake City
4 reviews
Dined on September 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The butternut squash pizza (with gluten free crust) was delicious!

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 29, 2021

Thank you Cheryl! That pizza is definitely a fan favorite!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on September 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious and healthy menu, great service, clean and safe environment, dinning tables socially distanced, contactless payment.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 29, 2021

Thank you for the awesome feedback! We are glad you had great service and were able to enjoy the distanced tables!

Report
JG
JohnnyG
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had an excellent family birthday meal. High quality fresh ingredients.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 29, 2021

Thanks for visiting for a family birthday, we are so happy everyone enjoyed everything!

Report
MW
MarianW
Austin
10 reviews
Dined on September 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and food - always a good experience!

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 20, 2021

Thank you Marian, we appreciate the review!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New Mexico
2 reviews
Dined on September 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Thank you Morgan

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 20, 2021

Thank you! I will show Morgan this review, I know she will be so happy! Glad to hear you enjoyed everything.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Austin
1 review
Dined on September 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing, took my grandparents here for our first time and now I’m taking the whole family

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 20, 2021

Wow! Thanks so much for your awesome review! I am so happy to hear everyone enjoyed themselves on your first visit in, we can't wait to see you again!

Report
PC
PickyCustomer
Austin
1 review
Dined on September 14, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

True Food Kitchen never disappoints! In these pandemic times it is hard to find a restaurant that has been able to maintain its great customer service, food quality and menu diversity, but True Food Kitchen pulls it off! This is one of the best restaurants in Austin.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 20, 2021

Thank you for this amazing review! I am so happy you enjoy everything on your visits in, it means so much to us, especially now! Hope you are able to make it in again soon!

Report
a
atxfoodie
Austin
3 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Waiter was not knowledgeable about kids menu.
Staff did not pay attention to food allergies.
Meal was not prepared correctly for one diner.
Nothing special offered for birthday.
Raw vegetables looked dry.


Won’t be back until pandemic abates.
Tables were too closely packed outside. Made us feel uncomfortable.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 14, 2021

Hi ATXFoodie, I am so sorry that the server was not knowledgeable about the kids menu and he did not recognize your birthday. I would love to chat to see who it was so I can follow up with them to ensure this does not happen again. If you are are comfortable doing so, please contact me here at the restaurant so we can chat about some details. Thank you, Vanessa Johnson Restaurant Manager

Report
KC
vipKColl
Austin
11 reviews
Dined on September 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food, service and vibe. Looking forward to coming back.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 12, 2021

Thank you so much! Hope to see you back in again soon!

Report
GA
GASMAN
San Antonio
8 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time to visit. Excellent service and food. Restaurant was very quiet and easy to converse.
Servers were attentive and polite but not interfering.
We will be back!

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 12, 2021

I am so glad you had such an enjoyable experience! Thank you for your feedback and we can't wait to see you back in soon!

Report
L
Lili
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall1food4service2ambience4

The parking situation is bad news. A meal in this place plus the parking cost is way beyond the worth of the food. The service was mediocre at best.

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 12, 2021

Hi Lili, I am so sorry your service was not up to par recently. I would love to chat about it so I can follow up with the staff so we can fix whatever the issues are moving forward. If you are comfortable doing so, please contact me at the restaurant to chat. Thanks, Vanessa Johnson Restaurant Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chihuahua
4 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was superb!!

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 12, 2021

Thank you for your feedback!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Austin
3 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Very good service. Food was solid

True Food Kitchen - Austin
Responded on September 14, 2021

Thank you so much, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience!

Report

FAQs

True Food Kitchen - Austin offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (512) 777-2430.

True Food Kitchen - Austin is rated 4.6 stars by 1780 OpenTable diners.

True Food Kitchen - Austin does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://truefoodkitchen.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.