The Waterway

4.4
1633 Reviews
£26 to £40
European
The Waterway is a stylish bar and restaurant in Maida Vale, West London. Our menu is predominantly French and Modern European and focuses on delivering classic brasserie dishes. We also have a large, south-facing outdoor terrace that is open throughout the summer period. On the terrace, we offer a light grill menu for an alfresco dining experience by the Grand Union Canal. In addition, our wine list focuses on French wines but incorporates some great New World wines.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1633 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
S
vipSami
London
41 reviews
Dined on December 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A great afternoon with friends.
Lovely service & good food.
Nice outdoor heaters.

MR
MalcolmR
1 review
Dined on December 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As a Maida Vale resident The Waterway has been a life saver during Covid and really made every effort to follow guidelines, keep people safe but maintain a fun and friendly atmosphere. It's been decorated beautifully for Christmas with a lot of thought and effort. It's come into its own and has been lucky to have such a large outside space which its utilised well under the circumstances. Staff are great and the food is always of a high standard. It's just not that easy to get into at times but eating at 6pm is the new norm anyway it seems. Well done to the team at The Waterway. You've come into your own where other local places have failed miserably. Thank you.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
5 reviews
Dined on December 10, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

The place is well set, with space on the terraces with heaters so you can enjoy it outside as well as indoors. Good covid measures, clean and very good service. Antonio, the waiter was outstanding.

JU
JUju
London
1 review
Dined on December 10, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Food was good enough for the price. Portion sizes were very fair. Nothing necessarily too new or challenging to eat (i.e slightly boring food choices). Ambience outside was beautiful and enjoyed the high energy levels. Food was presented well enough, but not necessarily outstandingly.

The Waterway
Responded on December 16, 2020

Dear Juju, We were disappointed that you were not entirely satisfied with the dishes you ordered, which has galvanized to work harder to improve our food offering. Hopefully this incident will not deter you from returning again soon where a warm welcome awaits. Best wishes from The Waterway team

Report
JJ
JoJo
London
6 reviews
Dined on December 9, 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Great terrace, good food, lighting very magical... we wrapped up warm but the heaters made it unnecessary to do so. Great lunch. Thank you

The Waterway
Responded on December 16, 2020

Dear Jo, Thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your time. I will share your complimentary feedback, our team will be also pleased to hear your kind comments. We would love to offer a complimentary dessert on your next visit, which we hope will be in the near future. You can contact us directly at info@thewaterway.co.uk for this booking. Kind regards, WW Team

Report
S
Solene
London
1 review
Dined on December 8, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Everything was perfect, very nice atmosphere, only the temperature was a little bit too cold.

The Waterway
Responded on December 10, 2020

Dear Solene, Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write. We are sorry to hear you felt cold, our heaters are always on indoors during winter but unfortunately due to current circumstances we must keep our main door open to guarantee a flow of fresh air. We hope this won't keep you from visiting us again where a warm welcome awaits! Happy holidays from the WW team

Report
V
Vigil
London
64 reviews
Dined on December 7, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience3

Food good as always. Prices hv gone up marginally but noticeably. We were made to sit outside which ws a pretty cold even tho there was room inside, and a couple ws alredy there, we were told we cud not. Service good, ambiance was good (outside is usually very good n desirable) but in spite of the heating it ws cold. We dint remove our jackets! However, it's still a fav of mine as a local.

The Waterway
Responded on December 10, 2020

Dear Vigil, Thank you for bringing this to our attention . We received your feedback regarding a recent visit to The Waterway and were disappointed to hear that your request for a table indoors was not accommodated. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. Please could you contact us at info@thewaterway.co.uk Your feedback is most appreciated and we look forward to hearing from you. Warm regards WW team

Report
B
Britt
London
1 review
Dined on December 5, 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience3

A guest was harassing us. Called my flatmate a “foreigner.” told the hostess and she just apologised and still wanted to sit us by them since that was the only table available. The guys friends was telling him to stop. We were being bullied as we tried to tell him to leave us alone. We asked for the manager which he kindly sat us where we wanted as a table was coming available. The drinks were nice. The food not so much. The rotisserie chicken wasn’t seasoned at all.

The Waterway
Responded on December 8, 2020

Dear Britt, We were disappointed that you were not entirely satisfied with the dishes you ordered, which has galvanized to work harder to improve our food offering. Hopefully this incident will not deter you from returning again soon where a warm welcome awaits. Best wishes & Happy holidays The Waterway team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on December 5, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Thanks for providing a great place for us to still be able to meet friends during this pandemic. It was a great safe place to meet friends not in our household

The Waterway
Responded on December 8, 2020

On behalf of us all here at The Waterway, we were delighted to have you dine with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes and Happy holidays

Report
S
Sissi
1 review
Dined on December 4, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Nice food (especially desserts) with a great atmosphere. Issues with exterior heating but staff handled graciously. I am a regular customer.

The Waterway
Responded on December 8, 2020

Dear Sissi, Thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your time and that we handled the situation well. I will share your complimentary feedback, our team will be also pleased to hear your kind comments. We want to wish you Happy Xmas and all the best for the year to come, hopefully with many visits to The Waterway :)

Report
SW
SusanW
1 review
Dined on December 4, 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience4

All credit to the team who have created a great Covid friendly eating environment. The outdoor space is covered and heated. Tables are quite close but that didn't bother me. Food is functional - basically this is an attractively located pub serving a burger and chips with everything menu. There are a small number of alternatives at double the price.
The service is friendly and accessible.
Only niggle for us is that because it is outdoors they allow smoking - in my view the fact that the tables are close and it is essentially an eating area, this option should be removed.

The Waterway
Responded on December 8, 2020

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Happy holidays and best wishes for 2021 from all of us at The Waterway

Report
EM
EdMo
London
1 review
Dined on December 3, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Fantastic atmosphere, tasty food, lively and clean.

The Waterway
Responded on December 8, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to write of your recent experience. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time with us and look forward welcoming you back. Happy holidays & Best wishes for the new year The Waterway team

Report
A
Alistair
1 review
Dined on November 4, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

A lovely little restaurant situated in a peaceful spot near Little Venice

The Waterway
Responded on December 5, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review, Alistair. We hope to see you again very soon. Happy holidays! The Waterway team

Report
M
Mary
Greece
2 reviews
Dined on November 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious brunch - definitely recommend the poached egg with smoked salmon.
It is a very pretty cafe, with lovely decoration and a good atmosphere, right by Regent's Canal. It is especially lovely on a sunny day!

The Waterway
Responded on December 5, 2020

Thank you for your kind words, it means a lot to the team. Delighted you enjoyed your brunch with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Please contact us directly at info@thewaterway.co.uk for your next booking and enjoy a glass of Prosecco for you and your guest on us  Kindest regards & Happy holidays The Waterway team

Report
AM
AdrianneM
London
4 reviews
Dined on November 3, 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience5

A wonderful setting for the last lunch with girlfriends before lockdown 2!

The way they have the terrace set up, we could sit outside, covered by the biggest umbrella I've ever seen, and close to the heaters.

I mistakenly ordered deep fried fish, thinking it was pan-fried. When it came, I was disappointed so changed my order to some plain fish. The waitress intimated that I would be charged but I was pleased to say when the bill came, the fried fish wasn't on it.

The burger my friend ordered was just ok and the sweet potato fries overdone - but having said all that, if drinks are more important than food quality, this had brilliant ambience.

The Waterway
Responded on December 5, 2020

Dear Adrianne, Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to leave your review. We are very sorry to hear your disappointment with your dish, we will address this accordingly and work hard to better communicate the descriptions with our guests in the future. We are glad everything worked out at the end and we hope to see you again in the near future! Please join us for a complimentary dessert on your next visit, you can contact us directly for this. Kind regards, WW team

Report
e
vipeeee
London
29 reviews
Dined on November 2, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Really friendly and great service from Alicia (think that’s her name-the lady that was looking after the tressell table area)

The Waterway
Responded on November 4, 2020

Dear guest, Thank you taking the time to write this lovely review. We will happily pass your comments on to Alicia. We hope to see you soon! Best wishes, The Waterway team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on November 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service, lovely atmosphere in the outdoor dining area with the fire heaters going

JJ
JJKnow
London
1 review
Dined on November 2, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Should have been more diligent with COVID measures. Our waiter was not wearing his mask correctly and the restaurant got too busy and crowded. Not much distancing at all.

FL
FoodLover
London
92 reviews
Dined on November 1, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Love coming here, always a great atmosphere and good food.

The Waterway
Responded on November 4, 2020

On behalf of us all here at The Waterway, we were delighted to have you dine with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. :)

Report
SF
vipSofiaF
London
13 reviews
Dined on October 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing place to eat inside, outside, just drinks! You get to see the canal, the setting is rustic and cozy, food is delicious and arrived very fast. Amazing service from Paolo!

EP
ElisaP
London
1 review
Dined on October 30, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Lovely ambience, good food and good service, would definitely recommend it!

The Waterway
Responded on November 2, 2020

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on October 29, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

All great - always a enjoy 😉

The Waterway
Responded on November 2, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to write of your recent experience. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time with us and look forward welcoming you back.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on October 26, 2020
Overall1food3service1ambience1

I am extremely disappointed at the service at your restaurant. I booked a table with the discount and they said the discount is only available indoors which is ridiculous. The outdoors of your restaurant is part of your restaurant so it is extremely silly to only be able to apply the discount if you’re sitting indoors. The service was absolutely terrible and I most definitely will not be coming back ever again

The Waterway
Responded on October 27, 2020

Dear Aayushi, Offers exist as a way to promote. As we are still recovering from being closed for months we have decided to join this offer to try and promote our indoors tables. Since Tier 2 restrictions in London, we are in very high demand for tables outdoors. This is all stated before you book. You requested to seat outside instead which we gladly accomodated. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed and hope in time you will forgive us and join us again where a warm welcome awaits.

Report
G
Gabrielle
London
1 review
Dined on October 25, 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience5

lovely!will come back! worth the money! near the riverside!!

The Waterway
Responded on November 2, 2020

Dear Gabrielle, Thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your time. I will share your complimentary feedback, our team will be also pleased to hear your kind comments. We hope to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, The Waterway team

Report
CF
CFRF
London
6 reviews
Dined on October 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Thank you to the staff for all their hard work creating a Covid safe venue. I am a single person household so must meet friends outside only and it’s difficult to find venues in London Despite the heavy rain, we were dry and warm on the terrace. Did not even need a coat. Food as always was outstanding and atmosphere buzzing. Life felt normal for a few hours at least.

The Waterway
Responded on October 26, 2020

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to read your words of appreciation for The Waterway. The rain was really heavy on Saturday although we did the best we could to keep everyone dry and warm, so we are very happy to read this feedback. We would love to welcome you again soon and to offer a glass of Prosecco on your arrival. You can contact us directly at info@thewaterway.co.uk for this booking. Warm regards, The Waterway team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on October 24, 2020
Overall2food4service1ambience2

Nice place but we had rather unpleasant experience - we were seated in the garden however the awning was broken, then we got moved to the smoking part when it started raining. Asked to move to the middle part with the heaters, which was not accommodated. There were several tables freeing up but somehow it was impossible for us to move. The explanations from the staff made no sense. Overall the attitude really ruined our experience.

The Waterway
Responded on October 26, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write. I was naturally disappointed to see that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately last Saturday because of circumstances out of our control we had to reset our canopy and reallocate all guests. Thank you again for your feedback and in the meantime I truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back, so we can provide you with the exceptional experience that our guests have come to expect from us. Warm regards

Report
JL
JenniferL
1 review
Dined on October 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great meal and a really nice setting. It was our first visit and we have already been back! The service was excellent and the staff are really friendly. Everything is very well organised for the current situation and it felt safe. The heaters are very effective and we were able to eat lunch with our coats off even though the weather was not great.

The Waterway
Responded on November 2, 2020

Dear Jennifer, This is the type of experience we strive to create for each and every guest and it’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed your meal at The Waterway. We will see you soon Warm regards, The Waterway team

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Chicago
1 review
Dined on October 23, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Food came out cold, burgers came out over done.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on October 23, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

All great by location, our waitress and the food. They let my friends and I enjoy our time together as we had not seen each other properly since lockdown so lots of catching-up. Perfect time.

YN
YanaN
London
1 review
Dined on October 22, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Great outdoor space, lovely service and consistent food quality through the years!

The Waterway
Responded on October 26, 2020

This is the type of experience we strive to create for each and every guest and it’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed your meal at The Waterway. Best wishes TWW Team

Report
BY
BenjaminYay
London
1 review
Dined on October 21, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The place looks nice and the squid is very good, great service

The Waterway
Responded on October 26, 2020

On behalf of us all here at The Waterway, we were delighted to have you dine with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report
R
Rosies
London
1 review
Dined on October 19, 2020
Overall5food4service3ambience5

Perfect pandemic spot. Outdoor area is really well heated and covered. Some food really good and cocktails pretty good. I really like the vibe outdoors.

The Waterway
Responded on October 23, 2020

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to read your words of appreciation for The Waterway. We would love to welcome you back and to offer a glass of fizz for you and a guest on your next visit, you can contact us directly for this booking at info@thewaterway.co.uk We look forward to hearing from you. Warm regards, The Waterway Team

Report
MB
MarietaB
London
1 review
Dined on October 19, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, service (ask for Antonio) and a winter garden, where you can enjoy without being worried you are in a closed venue.

The Waterway
Responded on October 23, 2020

Dear Marieta, Thank you for your kind words, it means a lot to the team. We will share this feedback with Antonio who will be very happy to hear it. Delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon, where we would like to offer you a dessert on the house. You can contact us directly for this at info@thewaterway.co.uk Kind regards, The Waterway Team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on October 19, 2020
Overall2food4service1ambience1

Food was good and the outdoor terrace is pretty. Unfortunately the whole experience was soured for us by bad service and a thoroughly unpleasant manager who made us feel unwelcome merely for having booked on the opentable 30% off food offer. Beware that the opentable offer will only be honoured if you sit indoors rather than on the terrace (for no apparent reason), even when there is plenty of room outside and even despite the lockdown rules encouraging people to be outside rather than inside. It is also almost impossible to get the attention of the staff when you need them during the meal. We ended up choosing to eat outside and not getting the discount, but in retrospect wish we had just gone elsewhere because the issue was handled so badly by the manager.

The Waterway
Responded on October 27, 2020

Dear Jack, Offers exist as a way to promote. As you mentioned, guidelines encourage to dine outdoors, so we are now in very high demand outside and do not need to promote this tables. This is all explained prior booking. We tried to offer desserts on the house as a gesture of good will which you promptly declined and claimed drinks instead, which we acomodated. We are sorry to hear that you still felt your experience was unpleasant and we hope to see you again where a warm welcome awaits.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
3 reviews
Dined on October 19, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place, Antonio and Biancawere wonderful to me and my guests nd the duck burger is extraordinary

The Waterway
Responded on October 23, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to write of your recent experience. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time with us and look forward welcoming you back!

Report
CP
CharlotteP
London
4 reviews
Dined on October 18, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Nice heated terrace with a view on the canal. Great cocktails and ambience!

C
Charmaine
London
6 reviews
Dined on October 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a great relaxing time and delicious food. All covid safe.

The Waterway
Responded on October 23, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review, Charmaine. Come join us again soon and have a dessert on us :) You can contact us at info@thewaterway.co.uk for this Warm regards, TWW Team

Report
o
ourchef
1 review
Dined on October 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Cozy night out with friends. Weekly spot for sure!!

The Waterway
Responded on October 23, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We hope to see you soon!

Report
DJ
DJAtallah
London
6 reviews
Dined on October 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The 2 gentlemen who were serving us ( Brazilian & Italian(maybe) ) were fantastic and very helpful.

The Waterway
Responded on October 23, 2020

On behalf of us all here at The Waterway, we were delighted to have you dine with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report
E
Eddie
London
22 reviews
Dined on October 15, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Another enjoyable meal at the Waterway. Very well organised re Covid. Our waiter, Antonio, was very good--efficient and friendly. I started with the goats cheese croquettes followed by the duck burger both of which were very tasty. Lots of delicious meat in the burger.

The Waterway
Responded on October 23, 2020

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report

FAQs

The Waterway does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo and Just Eat.

The Waterway is rated 4.4 stars by 1633 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.