The Tea Room - Windsor Arms Hotel

4.3
952 Reviews
CAN$31 to CAN$50
Afternoon Tea

Top Tags:

Afternoon Tea
Since 1927, Tea at the Windsor Arms has been synonymous with elegant, afternoon indulgence. Relax in our French-style lobby tea room or our majestic purple room with its original working fireplace or enjoy your Afternoon Tea behind the red velvet drapes in our Russian Red Tea Room.

Peruse a selection of teas from Russian Caravan to Sencha; our staff will happily guide you through the myriad of tastes and aromas.

Reserve the Tea Room for intimate gatherings such as corporate functions, bridal and baby showers, or get-togethers with friends. All Tea Rooms are available for either full or partial bookings.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 952 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
PG
ParisaG
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great atmosphere, great food with a great selection and presentation. I enjoyed my time there.

J
Joanna
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very enjoyable. Enough social distancing to have a peaceful tea time.

n
nabmeow
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food4service3ambience5

I have had high tea at Windsor Arms for quite a few times, but this was my first time using Groupon. I have no complaints about the food and services while I was having the tea, but when I paid, as I noticed that 18% gratuity had been charged, so I just paid the difference between the Groupon value and what was charged. However, wait staff's attitude suddenly changed, no smile and even when I said "thank you" when I stepped out, he did not even look at me. Was he expecting another tip on the top of the 18% gratuity charged?

PJ
PppJ
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 25, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience5

I booked this for my sisters bridal
Shower. I had been calling regularly since step 2 opened up to request increased number of guests and they were able accommodate up to 10 people which was great. However, when we got there there was more then enough seating to have had more :(.

I had discussed a vegetarian menu with both Basil and Herriot over the phone and they were great at getting back to us. Unfortunately the day of, the initial sandwiches needed to be sent back as they were not vegetarian.

The server was great at putting our tables together so all 10 of us could
Sit together.
The tea is as great as well but it took almost 2 hours to get food.

The decor was great.

Not sure if I would pay as much to come back here.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on July 23, 2021
Overall3food4service4ambience3

We had Tea on the patio which was under an awning. It would be nice if they had flowers or some greenery other than a fence. They gave us a high chair covered in dust that was filthy, I had to use my wipes to clean it and they were black after. The washroom was appalling with paper towels littered on the floor and smelled offensive. I won’t be returning.

DS
DorieS
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on July 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What a great launch to indoor dining! My girlfriends and I loved it - ambiance is perfect, the food is great and the service was wonderful. Highly recommend!

MC
MargritC
1 review
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience3

It was a lovely morning we enjoyed ourselves although we worried about the two hour timeline - when we were told that no one was scheduled after us, we relaxed and enjoyed ourselves even more. I will certainly come again.

S
vipSweetpea
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

A classic venue for high tea. Impeccable and lovely, exceptional service.

F
Foodie29
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on July 14, 2021
Overall1food1service2ambience1

Sadly it did not live up to our expectations. The patio was street side and too loud with all the trucks driving by. The food was not tasty …. Bland.

RJ
theRJ
Montreal
4 reviews
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall3food1service4ambience4

The food seems to not be made on site daily. I would not be surprised if it’s commercially made. The scones are dry and the other elements on the menu really taste like they come from a box or were frozen before.

JB
JenniferB
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 3, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Scones and sweets were amazing, tea and drinks were great, excellent service. Sandwiches were okay. Ended on a sour note as a woman wearing an entire bottle of perfume was seated at the next table - but that is no fault of Windsor Arms!

MV
MahalaV
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The staff went above and beyond for my fiances birthday! Afternoon tea was wonderful, almost like we were back in London <3

s
smoothie
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Haven’t had high tea for more than half a year, so I missed it a lot. The sandwiches was prepped early so it started to dry. Felt like it was leftover from someone’s breakfast. Although the lockdown was into stage 2, the distance between our table and the next table to us was about 1m so I’m not sure if that’s safe, but glad both of us got two shots already…
I still have three stars because the desserts were pretty good.

C
Carolynn
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very enjoyable experience having afternoon tea on the patio.

PF
PeterF
Toronto
1 review
Dined on June 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Anniversary Tea
Quiet, elegant, exotic

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on April 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved everything about that tea! The service was so good!

M
vipMekha
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on March 21, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

The place was closed.

V
Vpcia
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on October 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

During these trying times of Covid it was a refreshing get together, our waiter was very accommodating which was wonderful in all we had a great time no complaints and will certainly visit the tea room again👍

The Tea Room - Windsor Arms Hotel
Responded on October 21, 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience and that you will visit again! Looking forward to hosting you here again :) Have a great day!

Report
S
vipSharchin
Toronto
13 reviews
Dined on October 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful setting, extensive choice of teas and excellent service. We’ll be back!

The Tea Room - Windsor Arms Hotel
Responded on October 21, 2020

Hello Sharchin, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the setting, choice of teas, and service! Can't wait to have you back. Have a great day.

Report
S
Sister2
Toronto
1 review
Dined on October 1, 2020
Overall1food1service2ambience1

Even the simple sandwich was so bad. The scone were not warm n v asked them to reheat. The tart was broken n we did not even try. The sweet was so ordinarily n v tasted one not did not touch the rest. V hv three orders n v did not even finish 30%
The table was so low n v have to bend ourself n was so uncomfortable
It was a terrible experience

The Tea Room - Windsor Arms Hotel
Responded on October 6, 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - all feedback is welcome as there is no better way for continuous improvement! We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. We have sent a private message as well. Thank you again for your feedback and hope you have a great day!

Report
S
Sanjha
Toronto
1 review
Dined on September 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic high tea, very similar to the kind you find in England.

g
goldrush
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience4

The service was very good. Disappointed that they do not have a separate children's menu (as many other tea rooms do) and we had to pay $50 for a 5 year old.

m
mimajen
Toronto
1 review
Dined on September 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Even though we were outside because of concerns about COVID-19, the service and food was, as always, gracious and delicious. We particularly enjoyed the fact that such tiny food items each had their own distinctive taste quality. The tea of course was superb. We enjoyed our time greatly! Thank you.

MD
MrDiner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on September 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This afternoon we had another absolutely marvelous afternoon tea at the Windsor Arms. I've been going there since the mid 80's, and it really and truly is the best and the most authentic traditional British afternoon tea in the city. I've had afternoon teas, both posh and humble, countless times in Britain, and contrary to the peculiar comment earlier in this section, the Windsor Arms tea room needs no help from some English people because they have been doing this since 1927, and they do it absolutely perfectly. Right down to the crisp double starched white linen table cloths, the fireplace, the luxurious thick carpeting and the delightful Art Deco pictures on the walls.
I much prefer the jam they make now compared to their previous lower sugar conserves; scones with cream are better with traditional sweetened jam in my opinion. The savories were deliciously fresh and the little pastries melted on our tongues.
Our waiter, whose name I think is Nakul, has served me several times in the past and I was so happy to see him again. He is kind, polite and impeccably professional. He has a sixth sense when to show up to check on everything and we could not have been happier. Please thank him for us. My one and only suggestion would be to change the music; it was delightful but was actually same tune looping over and over for hours. Other than that this tea was completely up to the very high standards we have come to expect from the Windsor Arms. I'm already looking forward to our next visit!

CH
ChristianH
Toronto
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great atmosphere and a beautiful place for high tea that makes you feel your in a different time.
The tea selection is exquisite and the scones are to die for. The rhubarb jam is out of this world and the Devon cream... just fantastic.
The assorted petit fours selection is delectable.
The little savoury sandwiches have interesting ingredients but could use a bit more flavour.

C
Clawclaw
Toronto
6 reviews
Dined on September 17, 2020
Overall2food1service4ambience4

Have been going to WA for afternoon tea for decades. However over the last several years the taste and quality of the food has been going downhill so I have not been back for over a year. With the recent reopening of indoor dining, I decided to try the afternoon Tea to see if food has improved since my last visit. Unfortunately, the food continues to disappoint. The scones arrived cold (used to be served warm), the tea sandwiches were dry and tasteless, the sweets were so-so except the chocolate mocha cake which was good. They no longer give you whipped butter and assortment of mini jars of jams and honey. While I understand the need to cut costs even though they charge $50 which is outrageous for the poor quality of food, they replaced it with "house" jams. Their apple jam and rhubarb jam were awful - one tastes like applesauce straight from a can and the other tasted like cornstarch, water and sugar (did not taste any rhubarb)!
Also, back in the days, the afternoon tea service concluded with a fruit cup topped with fresh cream. This no longer offered unfortunately. The only constant there worth raving about is Nakul (server who has been working at the Tea Room for as long as I remember) whose professionalism has remained intact. I will not be returning for their afternoon tea again unless WA restores the quality of their afternoon tea offerings.

The Tea Room - Windsor Arms Hotel
Responded on October 1, 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We welcome all feedback as it is impossible to improve without this honesty from our guests. We are happy to hear that you received outstanding service from Nakul. We agree - he is wonderful with the guests and we receive many positive comments about him. However, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed your experience otherwise. Please check your private messages and thank you again for your feedback.

Report
M
Mary
Toronto
1 review
Dined on September 13, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience2

The gluten free options are very poor quality and it is overall expensive for dated surroundings and low quality food.

EB
ElizabethB
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

We had a wonderful experience.
I would have liked more sandwiches than sweets.; but, still delicious in general.
All teas were excellent as per my friends.
Jenny was a great server.

MB
MelissaB
Toronto
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great experience, teas were yummy and food was satisfying! Would recommend

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on September 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely incredible place. The teatime foods are all made in-house, and each is fresh and delicious. The service was incredible, one of the best waitresses I’ve ever had.

E
Eatoutfan
Toronto
13 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience3

The place is dated and even though a Tea Room can be, this could have been done in a nicer way. We felt that there wasn’t enough value for the money. Service was good.

NV
NikkiV
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on August 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic and memorable experience! The service has really stepped up. The tea is excellent as always, and the food was fresh and delicious. They followed all health precautions and PPE requirements. I can’t wait to go again!

FD
FotoulaD
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on August 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Had a lovely afternoon treating my mom to a little outing knowing that every precaution was made for our health and safety. Tea was excellent as well as all the nibbles. Highly recommend.

SA
SarenaA
1 review
Dined on August 22, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Some members of my reservation came late but my server was excellent with his patience. The service, the dining experience, and the tea was exceptional. I will definitely recommend this place to others and come another time!

LM
LuelleM
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I had a groupon for high tea and had a great time with my daughter. The service was fabulous and the food was delicious.

a
aamenap
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 20, 2020
Overall2food1service1ambience1

They need some serious help from the English folks on how to do a high tea

P
Paula
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on March 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Service was excellent, as was the tea selection and generally the food. Desserts were exquisite. I would say the weakness was the quality of the scones, which were ‘floury’ and lacked flavour and quality. A nice experience; we weren’t rushed, which was great.

G
Gigi
1 review
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely tea room with great sandwiches. The decor is definitely the right kind of old fashioned.

KM
KikiM
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on March 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I wish I got the name of our server! He was so nice, informative and professional! I guess we chose a slow time cuz we had the purple room all to ourselves! We were treated to one different tea of our choice, each. The hotel was very accommodating to my Vegetarian and Pescatarian friends as well as the 2 omnivores of the table. Nice arrangement of sandwiches and desserts. Was very happy with our experience!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience4

The room was cold and our server wasn’t very attentive. It felt like they moved all of the Asians to the outer, cold room. The tea service at the Windsor Arms used to be the one I would recommend. They no longer serve strawberries and clotted cream. Truly disappointed.

FAQs

The Tea Room - Windsor Arms Hotel offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (416) 971-9666 ext. 2.

The Tea Room - Windsor Arms Hotel is rated 4.3 stars by 952 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.