The Port - St. James Hotel

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
256 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
The Port is a fine dining restaurant located on the lower level of the historic St. James Hotel built in 1875. There are many original treasures to be found in the restaurant. Among them is the iron-gated wine cellar, once used as the hotel's bank vault. At the Port restaurant we serve Contemporary American and Midwestern food, from regional favorites to reinterpretations of classical dishes; all of our seafood is flown in fresh primarily from Alaska and the west coast. The Port is best known for sourcing the best quality seasonal ingredients available. Our menu changes frequently to reflect the current offerings from our region, delivering the best of our local bounty.

The Port is a Winner of Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2014.This is the 11th year that The Port has earned this prestigious honor. We are also listed as one of the few restaurants in Minnesota with very reasonable wine prices. www.winespectator.com


What 256 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.7
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
R
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The service, food, and aomdanc were all great!

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded 13 hours ago

Thank you Ringo for your review! Well wishes,

Report
LT
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience5

This is an absolutely lovely place. So unique. The food was great. We went over Valentine’s Day weekend so it was a set menu and pricier as you had to order an app and well as a dessert.

AM
Minneapolis
17 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience5

We had dinner at The Port on Valentines Day so our expectations were high. We knew they would have a prix fix menu but were disappointed with their limited choices. For 59.00 I had a Caesar salad that was missing one of the ingredients, spaghetti with black bean meatballs (the sauce was good), and strawberry shortcake with dry, inedible biscuits and chopped strawberries. It just wasn’t worth it.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded 13 hours ago

Hi Angela - thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're saddened to read that you were disappointed with our menu choices on Valentine's Day. Your feedback was shared with the chefs to incorporate your feedback into future experiences. We encourage you to give us another chance in the future. Sincerely,

Report
OT
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2food1service4ambience3

We didn’t realize that on Valentine’s Day,that there was a limited menu....the steak was burnt and overdone and the dessert had no flavor.. terrible for having to pay 59.00 a person..

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded 13 hours ago

Hi diner - thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're so sorry that you did not know that we were offering a limited menu for Valentine's Day and you were disappointed with your experience. The chefs were informed about your comments on the food. We encourage you to visit our restaurant another time so you can try a dish from our everyday menu. Warm regards,

Report
PS
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Our evening experience turned out better that could have been expected. After dessert we found two seats at the bar. Lori is a fabulous example of a wonderfully friendly professional Mixologist.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded 13 hours ago

Thank you for your review, Paul! We appreciate the compliments! Best,

Report
RP
Yosemite
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Special Valentine's Day Menu offered good choices, nicely prepared and presented with tasty wine pairings in a lovely setting. Very pleasant evant.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded 13 hours ago

Thank you for the feedback, Roger! Thank you for celebrating the holiday with us. Cheers!

Report
OT
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food4service5ambience4

The St James was fantastic. Open Table not so much. I had made the reservation through open table and had even confirmed the reservation. I received a confirmation. We arrived ahead of our scheduled reservation only to find they did not have our reservation. It’s Valentines Day of course they are fully booked. I am in tears. I have been very ill recently and it’s the first time that I am well enough to go out. Thank goodness for Nicki the Manager. She asked if we would be willing to have a table in the lounge that it shouldn’t be a long wait and that she would purchase our drinks while we waited. Not only was she empathetic but truly made us feel special. The food and service was fantastic. I will call the St James directly from now on to book my reservation. I am very disappointed in Open Table. But I am so very happy with our experience at the St James. Troy -Tammy

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded 13 hours ago

Hi diner - thank you for sharing your experience. We're so sorry to read about your arrival. We will look into OpenTable to see what happened with your reservation and why it wasn't on the books. We're happy the issue was resolved. Thank you for your flexibility. We appreciate you celebrating the holiday with us. We hope you continue to feel better in the upcoming weeks. Sending you well wishes. Come again soon! Best,

Report
HE
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The staff went above and beyond for me and my fiancee! 10 out of 10 for service!

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Heather - we appreciate your review! Thank you for the warm comments. Come again soon! Best,

Report
BK
Minneapolis
14 reviews
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience5

As much as I would like to, I can't quite recommend The Port. For $40 steak I would definitely be looking for something of considerable thickness (1.5 - 2") and more flavor character. This was clearly a bulk choice steak and not work $20. Portion size was considerable, as I ate half of it but then did not get my to go box back. I chose not to ask for it as we were staying at a local inn anyway. I also tried the salmon ravioli (special) and was glad I only had to eat one bite. The menu lacked creativity and depth for entrees. The appetizers where quite good (Fries, Cheese plate and crab cake). I think there are better values in the area for just as good or better tasting food.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded 13 hours ago

Hi Brian - thank you for sharing your feedback! Your comments were shared with the Chefs to ensure better future dining experiences. We encourage you to try us again in the future. Sincerely,

Report
AL
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Dined on February 7, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Had dinner there friday. Showed up early for our 7 pm resevation, got right in. Menu is limited to about 6 entres. Sides are extra for most. I had ceasar salad and crab cake appetizer as my meal. It was good. Boyfriend had gnocchi and added head on shrimp. He liked his fine, bit didn't rave about it. Cool bar in the basement. Ambiance is nice. Drinks are $10+/ea. Also had brunch buffet there sunday morning. A bit overpriced for the offerings but food was good. Good place to visit, but not dying to go back asap.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Angie - thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback. We hope you can visit us again for a special occasion. Well wishes,

Report
OT
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great experience! Friendly staff- if in Red Wing- this should be a required stop!

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on February 7, 2020

Thank you for your kind feedback! We're happy to read you had a great experience at our restaurant. Hope you can stop by again in the future. Happy dining!

Report
TG
Minneapolis
16 reviews
Dined on January 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary, which we noted in our reservation, and the hostess & server were both nice enough to congratulate us, etc. We love staying at The St James Hotel and a nice meal and martinis at The Port makes it even better!

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on February 7, 2020

Hi Teresa - thank you for writing about your experience with us. Happy Anniversary! We appreciate the compliments. Come again soon! Cheers,

Report
CH
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on January 19, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Been to The Port 4 times in two separate night stays at the the St. James. Every experience I've had has been consistent and amazing! The food leaves you craving more, the atmosphere is quite, comfortable and cozy and the service is top notch! Left feeling completely satisfied with the entire experience.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on January 24, 2020

Thank you so much for your warm review, Courtney! We really appreciate your comments. We hope you can dine with us again in the future. Well wishes,

Report
MD
New Orleans
4 reviews
Dined on January 11, 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience5

It's a great vibe in this historic building! Very nice setting. My wife and I had dinner and drinks. She had the scallops and mushroom risotto. I had the filet. Both of our meals were excellent! We've dined in the best restaurants in the Twin Cities and the food quality compared favorably. Service was a little slow the night we were there, as they seemed to be short handed but the staff handled themselves exceptionally well and they even comp'd our soup without us even asking. Overall, it was a very good experience and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for something upscale while still feeling friendly and casual at a price that beats the bigger city restaurants by quite a bit.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on January 17, 2020

Hi traveler - thank you for your review! We're happy you enjoyed your experience. We're sorry to hear that service was slower on the day you visited, but we appreciate the compliment on how you thought our staff handled the evening. Thank you for the recommendation. We do hope you can visit us again in the future. Happy dining,

Report
OT
Minneapolis
5 reviews
Dined on January 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a late Christmas lunch with my family. Loved the ambiance and service. The place was not super busy, so it felt as though we had our own private room and server. Food was great. Will definitely return.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on January 13, 2020

Hi diner - thank you for celebrating with us! We're happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for sharing your experience. Well wishes,

Report
GG
Minneapolis
45 reviews
Dined on January 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our ‘Go-To’ place in Red Wing!!

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on January 31, 2020

Hi friend - thank you for your comment! We are honored The Port is your go-to restaurant in Red Wing. Cheers!

Report
OT
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great bar, decor, service, food, ambiance- the prix fixe menu with wine pairings was great

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on January 10, 2020

We appreciate your comments, friend! Thank you for the compliments. Come again soon! Happy dining,

Report
TZ
Minneapolis
3 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went for dinner for New Years, and everything was yummy, well prepared and great presentation.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on January 10, 2020

Thank you for the kind feedback, Terri! Cheers to 2020!

Report
OT
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on December 27, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

We spent the night at the hotel and had a romantic dinner. Very casual dress. My wife and I had steaks which were perfectly done and delicious. The sides and sauces were OK. Very nice overall.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on January 2, 2020

Hi diner - thank you for staying at the St. James and trying out The Port. The restaurant is perfect for special occasions. Hope you can visit us again in the future for a birthday or an anniversary! Cheers,

Report
MT
1 review
Dined on December 20, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good food, quiet music, great night. We'll be going back again.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on December 23, 2019

Thank you for the review, Matthew. We're happy you were able to experience The Port. Come again soon. Cheers to the New Year!

Report
D
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Dined on November 22, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Port is great. Food is creative and the bar staff know how to make the standard drinks righjt and have creative suggestions for those in the mood for something new.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on November 26, 2019

Hi Daniel - thank you for your kind words! We truly appreciate your feedback of your recent visit to The Port. Happy Holidays. Cheers!

Report
AP
1 review
Dined on November 9, 2019
Overall3food4service5ambience4

The price was too high for the small portions. If the price was about 1/2 I feel that would be fair.

C
Minneapolis
4 reviews
Dined on November 8, 2019
Overall3food4service2ambience5

Truthfully, the service isn’t great. The bar area is nice, drinks are made perfect and bartender is very friendly. The serving sizes are a bit small for the price. I do really like their French onion soup, not sure why people don’t like it. The host was super friendly and did more then he had to( he did most of the stuff our waitress should have) our waitress wasn’t very attentive, had to ask the host where she was twice because we didn’t see her after we got our food. Tried to email the st James about our evening but no reply.
Id recommend this restaurant but I think it all depends on who’s your server because in the past we’ve always had good service.

RW
1 review
Dined on October 31, 2019
Overall3food2service3ambience4

To be honest, We thought the food we were served was not as palatable as hoped, especially for the
price. My steak had to be returned for additional grilling. My wife's salmon was tasty but what was served with it was not. The chef's soup had a real bite to it which our server forgot to mention. Although she was
very accommodating. We would have to hesitate to recommend Port to friends after this our first visit.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on November 4, 2019

Hi Ronald - thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I shared your comments with the chefs to ensure better future experiences at our restaurant. We appreciate the compliment on our servers. We encourage you to give us another try in the future. Sincerely,

Report
j
Des Moines
1 review
Dined on October 26, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My wife and I celebrated our Anniversary staying in a Suite at the hotel and booked a table
for dinner. Service and food was awesome definitely coming back here again.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on November 1, 2019

Hi Jeff - thank you for your review! Happy Anniversary! We appreciate the compliments. Come again soon. Best,

Report
DH
1 review
Dined on October 23, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Took a friend from Colorado who is interested in history and antiques. The place was great. While the menu is not large, the food is excellently prepared and we all found our meals to be great. the side dishes are large, each best shared with at least one and likely two other people at the table. Our friend indicated he had the best filet he had ever tasted!

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on October 28, 2019

Hi Dwight - thank you for your review! We appreciate the kind words. Hope you can visit us again in the future. Happy dining! Best,

Report
W
1 review
Dined on October 18, 2019
Overall3food2service4ambience4

Service was excellent. Overpriced for the quality of food. We had the French onion soup. It was not anything to write home about but definitely the best part of the meal. We also had pasta with shrimp. The shrimp was good but the past had zero flavor and was swimming in water on the plate. Buttered noodles would have been an upgrade. we had the sliders and ordered them to be prepared medium. They were between raw and rare. I would have been disappointed with having paid $25 for everything instead of the $75 we ended up spending with only water to drink.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on October 25, 2019

Good Morning - thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your culinary experience. Your comments were shared with our chefs to ensure better future experiences. We appreciate the compliment on the service. We encourage you to give us another try. Warm regards,

Report
AL
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience5

The French Onion Soup is excellent! I'd consider coming back just for that. Russet potato puree was okay, but it wasn't anything special; I probably wouldn't order it again. Pork tenderloin entree and NY Strip steak were both very good. Housemade ice cream was a good way to finish the meal.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on October 25, 2019

Hi Andrew - thank you for sharing your experience! The house-made ice cream is perfect to finish the night off at The Port. Come again soon. Cheers!

Report
LS
Minneapolis
5 reviews
Dined on October 15, 2019
Overall4food2service5ambience5

Great service and atmosphere but don’t recommend the slider burgers.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on October 18, 2019

Hi Lance - thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your meal at The Port. I shared your comments with our chefs to highlight where improvements can be made. We appreciate the compliments on the service and staff! Well wishes,

Report
JR
Minneapolis
3 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Room temperature was quite cool. Medium-well requested steaks were more medium. Very unique room made for an interesting experience. Service was excellent.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on October 7, 2019

Hi Jim - we appreciate your feedback! Thank you for the compliments. The Port is a one-of-a-kind experience. Happy dining,

Report
DK
1 review
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a wonderful night! Dinner was perfect. Food was delicious!

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on October 4, 2019

Hi Darran - thank you for your comments and visiting The Port. Cheers!

Report
MM
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

service was great, dinner was great, the place is charming. A greta evening

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on September 16, 2019

Hi Mike - thank you for sharing your experience! Glad you had a great evening at The Port. Cheers,

Report
OT
Milwaukee
2 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My husband and I were in the area celebrating our 20th anniversary. We wanted to try something special so we went to the St. James and to the port restaurant. The food was delicious, the waitstaff was paced just right and the drinks were delicious.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on September 23, 2019

Hi friend - thank you for the kind words! We are honored that you celebrated your 20th anniversary at the St. James. The Port was a great choice. We appreciate the compliments. Hope you can join us again soon. Happy Anniversary! Cheers,

Report
DS
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience5

It was good to be able to eat in the Port again. Gabby did a great job taking care of us and it was good to see Rita.
The food is as good as it always has been!

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on September 9, 2019

Hi Dennis - thank you for the warm feedback! We appreciate the highlights on our staff. They are some of the best. Hope you can dine with us again soon. Cheers!

Report
M
Chicago
84 reviews
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Outstanding meal with a varied menu to make everyone happy. Nice atmosphere and terrific service.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on September 3, 2019

Hi Marsha - thank you for the review! We appreciate the kind words. Come again soon. Happy dining,

Report
FF
1 review
Dined on August 23, 2019
Overall3food2service4ambience5

Service was very good. Halibut was overcooked and dry. Vegetables were overcooked and mushy. Portions were on the small side for the price. Probably won't go back, but if we do, I'll stick the steak. However, my wife's salmon was very good. Not much else to recommend it.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on September 3, 2019

Good Morning - thank you for sharing your feedback! We appreciate the compliments on the service and ambience. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your food. Your culinary comments were shared with the appropriate department to ensure better future experiences. We encourage you to give us another try if you are in Red Wing. Safe travels,

Report
DJ
Minneapolis
3 reviews
Dined on August 13, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Went for our anniversary and had a great time! Food was great, server was attentive but not overly so. Drinks were done well

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on August 16, 2019

Thank you for the review, friend. Happy Anniversary! Come again soon. Cheers,

Report
OT
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Dined on July 26, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Anniversary dinner. Scallops are amazing. Service was superb!

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on July 29, 2019

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for the review. Cheers,

Report
MT
Chicago
8 reviews
Dined on July 20, 2019
Overall3food4service3ambience5

I took my fiancé to the hotel for a quick getaway and booked a table for Saturday night at The Port. The space is amazing and the hotel in general is very cool and historic. The men’s room was closed so I had to go upstairs and through the lobby, which wasn’t a huge deal but inconvenient. Our server was friendly although she was an order taker and the service felt very transactional instead of engaging and service focused which is what I expected. I stressed to our server that we were not in a rush and that we would be having a drink before dinner, wine with dinner and that we would be sharing multiple menu items so we did not want to be rushed, we wanted to take our time and enjoy the experience. We started with the Caesar salad and the French onion soup which were both quite good, ordered the crab cakes and we split a ribeye. The crab cakes came out and our entree came out at the same time. The food was good but we felt rushed and didn’t see our server for a while once these 2 courses came out at the same time to let her know that this was not what we discussed. We ordered cheesecake and profiteroles for dessert and asked to have them boxed up to take to our room, which they did, although the profiteroles were over cooked and slightly burnt. The server just didn’t seem to know the menu and was not trained in any up-selling techniques which is disappointing for a restaurant of this caliber. I’ve been in hotel f&b for over 20 years and currently I am the GM of a Doubletree hotel in MN. I guess i expected more. The overall service in the entire hotel was very casual and lacked customer service focus. This is too bad for such a cool and historic hotel.

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on July 26, 2019

Good Morning Mike – thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize that you were disappointed in the service you had at our restaurant. Your comments have been shared with the F&B department to make sure that our service standards are being met and are continuously improving from guest communication. We encourage you to visit us again. Warm regards,

Report
JK
Milwaukee
1 review
Dined on July 13, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely restaurant, good food and excellent cocktails
Great for a date night

The Port - St. James Hotel
Responded on July 19, 2019

Thank you for the review Jackie! Happy dining,

Report