The Inn at Erlowest

4.5
302 Reviews
$31 to $50
Contemporary French / American
A unique dining opportunity on Lake George.

Located in a stone mansion built in 1898, The Inn at Erlowest menu draws from the local farms and fresh seafood to create a unique and changing menu for our guests. Outside dining is offered year round included our popular igloo dining during the winter.

Featured specials

Select a special by choosing a date, time and party size

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Dine in
Starting Dec 31, 2021

Join us at the Inn at Erlowest from 5-8 PM on New Year's Eve and enjoy our 4-course prix fixe menu! Cost is $100.00 per person, $150.00 per person with wine pairing. For menu details, please visit our website: https://www.theinnaterlowest.com/new-years-eve/

What 302 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
D
vipDux168
New England
14 reviews
Dined on October 14, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience2

One of the reasons we decided to stay at the Inn was the reviews about the food. I do not believe that the restaurant has lived up to the reviews. The portions were modest and the presentation on the plates were fair. I had the halibut and it was dry and lacked flavor. The entrees were overpriced for the food served. Our waiter was great but there was no effort to make the dining experience nice. They could have put a tablecloth on the table and a candle would have added to the ambiance. Even if all those things were done, the food does not meet up to the reviews. I would not recommend this restaurant.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
3 reviews
Dined on October 14, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

The food was delicious and the service was great. The inn is lovely though the dining room facing the lake was not open. The only complaint was that the meal was very expensive.

LW
LynnW
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on October 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful food. The staff was friendly and professional. Food came out in a timely way. Wine was great. Margarita was a bit weak.

AS
AllenS
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

I was pleasantly surprised the food was so outstanding! Celebrated my wife's Birthday there.
The Website does not give the food the credit it deserves, the food looks like the portions are small and the food tasteless. We took a chance anyway because of reviews. Our waitress was super friendly and attentive to all of us in the restaurant. Very Glad we went.

MT
MichaelT
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on September 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My wife and I celebrated her birthday at the Erlowest restaurant. Everything about the dining experience was exceptional. The scallops appetizer was perfectly seared and the spinach salad ordered by my wife was one of the best she has had. We both ordered the fish of the day special which was Red Snapper which was very moist and tender and beautifully presented. Our server Alexis was friendly and attentive.

The perfect finish was the vanilla bean Creme brûlée. It is one of our favorites and was outstanding.

PM
PatriciaM
1 review
Dined on September 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was perfect!! Food was absolutely delicious, our server was amazing and the Inn itself is spectacular!!!

F
Fussyfoodie
New York Area
12 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Beautiful venue, very classy but a little too stuffy for our taste. All the food was delicious ,my husband had the elk,I had the short ribs and we both had the Artisian salad as apps. Alexis was our server and she was very attentive.

MO
MarissaOBrien
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our food was amazing, the flavor profiles put together were on point and speaks to the creativity and knowledge of the chef. The restaurant was quiet and allowed for a quaint romantic night. Our waiter was attentive without hovering.

c
chuck
Philadelphia
33 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our 3rd visit to the “Inn”…….another great food experience !!! Everything was great, including
The service, which seems to suffer at most restaurants today.

C
Claudia
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on September 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Phenomenal service! Gourmet deliciousness!! Looking forward to returning!

CM
CindyM
Atlantic City
7 reviews
Dined on August 29, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Vacation in Lake George. Beautiful restaurant, ordered the short ribs which were so so. My husband had the chicken breast which was surprisingly better than the short rib. Smaller sized portions for the price. The service was excellent as were the views. Their was a wedding going on in the reception room so the noise level was much louder than an average night. We did not mind but this might bother some for an upscale restaurant. Overall Nice experience but I don’t think I would visit again.

MK
MariaK
1 review
Dined on August 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I had high expectations for eating at the Inn at Erlowest and they did not disappoint. Everything we ate was delicious. We were staying at the Inn for the weekend so I made these reservations the first night. Nothing we ate that weekend in Lake George came close to comparing. Will definitely make sure to have dinner here again even if we don't book the Inn for our lodging.

e
vipeatsoutalot
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on August 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

View was magnificent!! Server was great!! Dinner was delicious!!!

DE
DianeE
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined on August 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food and service was exceptional. Everything is pricey but top notch.

AS
vipArleneS
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on August 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Dinner was terrific and our server, Adam, was great too! Will definitely be back!

m
vipmaryannw
Atlantic City
9 reviews
Dined on August 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing as always

JL
JeffL
1 review
Dined on August 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food is always excellent as is the service thanks to Josh and Adam.

BL
BernardL
Philadelphia
10 reviews
Dined on August 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The setting was magnificent. Perfect for a romantic evening dinner.
The food was outstanding.

J
Janm
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on August 8, 2021
Overall5food3service5ambience5

Beautiful and romantic , food was very good , and only say this because fish and short ribs were a little dry.

JW
JeremyW
Baltimore
5 reviews
Dined on July 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great meal.

LJ
vipLJENYC
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on July 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service and impeccable cuisine. The attention to detail in the chef’s creations are phenomenal. The food was superior!

D
Dano
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall1food1service2ambience4

Food and drinks were poor . Drink tasted like it was made in a dirty shaker. Shrimp was uncooked, fish had a strange taste.

DL
vipDanL
New York Area
13 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

very charming layout, decor, building. Service & food were not perfect, but good enough to rate overall 5 stars. We were very amused by the amuse bouche - an olive tapenade which presented a heckuva lot like a cat hairball.

KF
KellyF
1 review
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

We had a lovely anniversary dinner at the Inn. Our only complaint was that our desserts were overdone. We ordered chocolate lava cake however, when it arrived there was no lava. It was a decent chocolate cake but it was not lava cake. Otherwise, it was a great experience.

B
Brian
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Food was great, service was excellent, parking was difficult

LH
LeslieH
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on July 15, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience5

This is a beautiful Inn known for fabulous weddings. The dinners we enjoyed were first rate. I had their special crab cake as an appetizer and the special fish entree, shark! Seasonal vegetables were delicious. Others loved their salads and scallop appetizers, short ribs and risotto.
The staff were lovely. The gentleman who greeted us even gave us a tour of a private dining room with stained glass that can be used for about 14 people.
Our waiter was new and made a few errors. He took my empty plate and asked if we would like coffee. We all said yes. He left with three empty plates just sitting there. He returned with the coffee quickly and then lifted the entree plates.
We were all on vacation and having a great time. I live in NYC and think the prices were fair. I would go again.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on July 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing. Amazing. Amazing! Food. View. Service.

LM
vipLMH14
New York Area
30 reviews
Dined on July 11, 2021
Overall2food4service3ambience1

We had made reservations well in advance and were staying at the inn. The inn has two dining rooms. The hostess brought us into the smaller of the two. The room was dark and freezing cold. We asked if we could be seated in the other room, which was half empty. She checked with the manager, and told us it wasn't possible, but offered to bring us blankets. Blankets!? Really!? My husband had to go back up to our room to get me a jacket. The empty tables in the other room remained empty well into our meal. The food was delicious, but this whole unnecessary, ridiculous experience left a bad taste in my mouth!

DC
DonnaC
Tampa
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We couldn’t eat outside due to rain, but the food was excellent

SH
StevenH
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on June 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

I had the special of the day - Sockeye Salmon, with wild rice and corn (cut off the cob). It was very tasty. It was presented well, and looked good. I would definitely have it again. The dining room is small and the tables are well spaced. The waiter, Adam was well versed in the specials of the day.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
7 reviews
Dined on June 7, 2021
Overall3food2service3ambience4

For a restaurant rated as “fine gourmet dining”, this restaurant was a big disappointment in both price and quality. I am shocked that it was awarded 4 diamonds. The prices are high and the quantity and quality low. Seasonal vegetables consisted of 2 small sprigs of asparagus and 2 small sprigs of split carrots. The “Grilled Oscar’s Smoked Pork Chop” was about an inch thick, dry and tough, more like a dense, overcooked ham steak. The alleged mango glaze was imperceptible. The aged cheddar polenta was tasteless. My wife’s Snapper filet and rice pilaf was unseasoned and bland as well. No wine, no dessert-$104. The Inn is truly beautiful and has a wonderful lakeside view but stay away from the dinners there.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a wonderful meal for our anniversary. The whole package was perfect and romantic. The service was attentive and friendly. The food was out of this world good. And the meal was appropriately priced, if not a little undervalued, in my humble opinion. 10/10 would recommend and we will be back in the future!

MK
MatthewK
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing place! Great food, great ambiance, terrific service. Took the wife here for our 20th wedding anniversary because a friend at work recommended it. This place did not disappoint! We will be back for sure!

NA
NicholasA
New York Area
1 review
Dined on May 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great meal, excellent ambiance. Would go back again for sure.

BH
BarbaraH
1 review
Dined on May 28, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience3

Erlowest is not what it used to be. Hope they get back to being a favorite destination.

The Inn at Erlowest
Responded on June 1, 2021

We are sorry that we disappointed you. Since our guests typically enjoy our food, service ambience and value, we would like to better understand your experience so we can improve in the areas where we failed on the standards that you have come to expect. If you would like to discuss, we would appreciate it. Frank Dittrich, GM The Inn at Erlowest (W) 518-668-5928

Report
AS
AnthonyS
Toronto
5 reviews
Dined on May 22, 2021
Overall2food1service4ambience4

Priced for gourmet, quality lower than a Denny’s. If you have multiple steaks on the menu as well as the specials, you should know how to cook one.

Ordered a filet to be prepared rare. Served a filet that was well done. The server and manager were exceptionally nice and apologetic for the food, but they should not have the burden of such poor quality.

Wife’s filet was also overcooked, but hers was still edible.

Not worth the price.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Montreal
7 reviews
Dined on May 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food and service. Wow. I have not had such a wonderful experience in years. We went for my birthday dinner and then returned again the next night because it was THAT good!

The Inn at Erlowest
Responded on May 21, 2021

Thank you for the kind review, as well as for giving us the opportunity to accommodate you on consecutive nights. We are very hopeful for a return visit soon! Cheers, Josh, Restaurant Manager

Report
SW
SarahW
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on May 17, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Really lovely and excellent service! Thanks Adam for making our dinner so enjoyable. We sat outside and it was beautiful. Plus my kids thought it was cool to eat at a “mansion”!

The Inn at Erlowest
Responded on May 21, 2021

Thank you for the review, Sarah! We truly enjoyed hosting you and your family for dinner, and it was Adam's pleasure to personally see to your accommodation. We look forward to your next visit! Cheers, Josh, Restaurant Manager

Report
KH
KevinH
1 review
Dined on May 13, 2021
Overall3food4service4ambience2

I guess my expectations were too high. The food was very good, but honestly it just wasn't exceptional.

The Inn at Erlowest
Responded on May 21, 2021

Dear Kevin, it is the mission of the Erlowest team to give our guests a truly memorable and unique experience, and we work hard to meet those expectations. We appreciate your taking the time to offer feedback and, should you wish to discuss your experience with us, we are always pleased to accept your call. Thank you, Josh, Restaurant Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on May 7, 2021
Overall1food1service5ambience4

I was in Bolton area in September and was upset that I couldn’t get reservations at the Inn for dinner during my stay because I hadn’t booked enough in advance. So for Mother’s Day weekend i made sure to book in advance. I had reservations for Friday evening at 6. On Thursday they called to ask if i could adjust my seating to 630 due to an event (a wedding) they had on the patio. I said sure. They set an igloo up about ten min prior to my arrival and it was right at the front door of the mansion on the patio... minimal view. They were very accommodating with my 4 yo niece on giving her chicken fingers. However my mother, sister and i all ordered the filet which came with “sweet mashed potatoes “ on the menu. Low and behold groomsmen come running out to call to their friends “dinners ready” shortly after our filets came out with regular mashed potato (wedding venue food). II’ve never had such a bad filet. It was like rubber but we were starving from our travels, ate it and felt sick for the remainder. Extremely disappointed in this place to say the least. Wont return. Not worth the dollar. And if u go make sure if there’s a wedding going on you order something that’s not generic wedding food

The Inn at Erlowest
Responded on May 10, 2021

Dear Anonymous, The Erlowest team is truly dismayed by your dissatisfaction; we take pains to offer an exceptional experience for all our guests whatever their purpose for being on property. In fact, our request to seat you at 6:30PM was made in an effort to provide you with outdoor dining minimally impacted by the wedding in our adjacent ballroom. We also wish you gave us the opportunity to rectify your culinary trouble by communicating the issue. We sincerely apologize for your experience!

Report

FAQs

The Inn at Erlowest is rated 4.5 stars by 302 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by The Inn at Erlowest