The Hare and Billett

4.5
534 Reviews
£25 and under
British

Top Tags:

Sunday Lunch

In line with the new government guidelines, we are asking every single customer to register their details with us before entering the premises. This can be done by scanning a QR code which can be found by the entrance. Please note that service will be refused to those who decline to participate in the NHS test and trace.
We welcome dogs into the bar area, please advise us if you would like to bring your four legged friends with you when reserving a table.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 534 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
F
vipclareF
London
7 reviews
Dined on December 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a great experience, shame they've had to close again under Tier 3 rules, we will be back as soon as we can

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi Clare, Thank you for the positive review and nice comments, hopefully we will open our doors as soon as possible. Happy New Year from the Hare and Billet. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
KN
KateN
London
1 review
Dined on December 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Hare & Billett is our favourite local pub and we love going there, whether it's for drinks or a meal (and always both!).

The Hare and Billett
Responded on December 17, 2020

Hi KateN, thank you for your continue support and amazing review. We will see you as soon as we can. In the meantime we all wish you a merry Christmas and a happy New Year. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
SF
SabineF
London
1 review
Dined on December 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal and there’s treats for the dog too.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on December 17, 2020

Hi SabineF, i am glad you had a great experience with us, hope to see you again when we will reopen our doors. I wish you a merry Christmas and a happy New Year. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
EL
EdwardL
London
1 review
Dined on December 14, 2020
Overall3food5service2ambience3

Absolutely delicious food, but service was pretty terrible. Especially one waiter, who made it clear we were an inconvenience in his evening, and at least once stopped us mid-sentence while ordering, and walked away with no explanation. We had also booked, but there was no table available when we arrived, although they did move some things around to find us one.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on December 17, 2020

Hi EdwardL, please accept my apologies on behalf of my staff. As you can tell from other reviews, my staff is always very polite and attentive so it's really disappointing that on this occasion they behaved that way. I hope you will come back in the New Year and you will have a completely different experience. Merry Christmas and happy New Year. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
MB
MarkB
East Sussex
1 review
Dined on December 14, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

We went here when tier 3 was announced and we needed to get out before bars closed. The food was great apart from kids menu burger being too dry and portion size the same as an adult. Our server was efficient but wore his facemark below his nose. well spaced out tables. service was quick

The Hare and Billett
Responded on December 17, 2020

Hi MarkB, thank you for your feedback on the kids burger, i will pass the comment to my chef. Regarding the waiter, we are so focus on our guests safety that this is unacceptable, i will definitely have a long conversation with him. Have a merry Christmas and a happy New Year. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
K
Kaybee
London
1 review
Dined on December 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great Sunday roast, food service continues into the evening. Friendly staff and excellent service.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on December 17, 2020

Hi Kaybee, thank you for the lovely review, have a great Christmas and happy New Year. Looking forward to seeing you as soon as we reopen. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
DJ
DidoJ
London
3 reviews
Dined on December 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Food delicious, staff so welcoming under such difficult circumstances. All measures in place. Amazing

The Hare and Billett
Responded on December 17, 2020

Hi DidoJ, thank you for the positive comments, i am glad you enjoyed your visit. I wish you a merry Christmas and a happy New Year. Hope to see you as soon as we can. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
TM
TracyM
London
18 reviews
Dined on December 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sunday lunch is Delicious absolutely wonderful definitely recommend it

The Hare and Billett
Responded on December 17, 2020

Hi TracyM, a massive thank you for the amazing review!! I am sure i will see you when we will be able to reopen again. We all wish you a merry Christmas and a happy New Year. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
JB
JulieB
1 review
Dined on December 13, 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience4

The Brussels were as hard as rocks the scallops were over cooked
The meal was a disappointment the cherry tart was tasteless.
We have been to Sunday lunch
Which was much better
This meal was basically not acceptable
There were problems with every course. It was not worth the money
And a Major disappointment and
Quite embarrassing as we have always said how wonderful your food is
Please. Can the manager give me a call to discuss this matter

The Hare and Billett
Responded on December 17, 2020

Hi Julie, i am sorry you didn't have a great experience with us. I have checked back after every course and if you just told me what happened on the day, i would have made it right to you. I will call you later today for clarification. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
RC
RichardClarke
London
1 review
Dined on December 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and excellent service

The Hare and Billett
Responded on December 17, 2020

Hi RichardClarke, thank you for taking the time to review your experience, we are so happy you had a great time with us. We all wish you a merry Christmas and a happy New Year. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
FW
FayeW
1 review
Dined on December 11, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

This a lovely, family & dog friendly pub. We are missing our regular visits at the moment & were very happy to enjoy a family dinner on Friday.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi FayeW, thank you for the high stars reviews, we will miss you too. Hopefully we will be able to seeing you as soon as possible. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
g
gdub76
London
4 reviews
Dined on December 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A lovely experience. The staff were so friendly and organised, food and drinks were exceptional, and the atmosphere was super relaxed. A really good evening out.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi Gdub76, thank you for giving us a 5 star review, we really appreciate the kind words. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, Chris

Report
TY
TheYeti
Essex
1 review
Dined on December 11, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

It’s always been a classic pub and in a perfect spot. It’s never lost it’s charm in the 20 years we’ve been going.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi TheYeti, thank you for the kind words about our pub, we always to keep our charm! Hope to see you again soon, Chris

Report
LW
LukeW
London
1 review
Dined on December 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely pub. Lovely staff. Lovely food. Great beer selection.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi LukeW, thank you for the 5 star review and your compliments about the staff. We really appreciate it and are looking forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Chris

Report
J
Jjay
London
2 reviews
Dined on December 9, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Amazing christmasy location, full of Christmas decorations and cheer! the food and drinks were good but the most notable thing by far was the staff, amazing, friendly, chatty and full of Christmas merriment. honestly can't fault them they made the evening. definitely an asset to this brilliant little find.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi Jjay, thank you for this glowing review! We pride ourselves on offering great table service to make anyone's visit memorable. I'll pass on your feedback. Kind regards and Merry Christmas, Chris

Report
J
Jamie
London
1 review
Dined on December 9, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great local pub, staff are amazing. By far the best local in the area

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi Jamie, thank you for this wonderful review. We're so happy you enjoyed your time with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Chris

Report
d
deniso
1 review
Dined on December 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We were not rushed and had first class service. Would definitely recommend a visit

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi Deniso, thank you for the great review, we hope to seeing you as soon as we will be able to open again. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
AS
AndyS
London
1 review
Dined on December 6, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Our table was right opposite the entrance door. Arriving customers need to be booked in by staff meaning the door was open each time this happened. V draughty on a cold night. Otherwise , a v enjoyable experience.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi AndyS, thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. Thank you for the feedback on the table you were sat on, we completely understand. We try to keep this table unreserved, and my apologies that you weren't told about its placement in advance when making the booking, i'll speak to the staff to ensure this doesn't happen again. We hope to see you again! Kind regards, Chris

Report
BM
BenM
1 review
Dined on December 6, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience4

A sunday roast that can always be relied upon. Comes quicker than your pint.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi BenM, thank you for the 4 star review. We pride ourselves on being fast and reliable, but how could we improve on our service? If you'd like to let us know please feel free to drop us a call or an email. Kind regards, Chris

Report
T
Tina
London
8 reviews
Dined on December 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food! And Ella took great care of us, as always!

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi Tina! Ella is a great member of the team and we really appreciate the kind words; i'll be sure to pass this on. We hope to see you again soon, Kind regards, Chris

Report
S
Serena
1 review
Dined on December 6, 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience2

My partner and I were looking forward to a Sunday roast, it was our first meal out since the lockdown in March and I was especially looking forward to the sticky toffee pudding! On booking we were advised that we had the table for an hour and a half due to COVID-19.

On seating we ordered starters and mains. Our starters came out relatively quickly however, there was a long wait for our mains. The host apologised for the delay and I ordered a mulled wine and tucked into my meal.

However, just half way into my meal a different sever asked whether I was finished and shortly after we were advised that we had just 15 minutes left before the next booking.

As there had been a long delay in bringing out our main I asked if they could extend our time, we were happy to sit elsewhere. We were advised that all tables were booked and so I had to quickly down my mulled wine, the rest of my roast was packed in a doggy bag and I didn’t have any dessert.

As a result our experience at the pub was unfortunately disappointing. It was clear that an hour and a half does not account for delays in the kitchen and doesn’t provide sufficient time for a two/three course meal to be enjoyed without indigestion and being rushed out the door.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi Serena, thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I apologise for the shortened table time, we are just trying to follow the government restrictions as closely as we can. Nevertheless I understand that there should have not have been a wait longer than 20 minutes for your mains. I'll speak to the staff to ensure a speedier service time, as we cannot change the 90 minutes table time. Thanks again and kind regards, Chris

Report
k
kimf82
London
17 reviews
Dined on December 6, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience3

Lovely to be back, but it was pretty quiet when we got there for lunch at 11.00. Im sure things picked up later in the day. Burgers were very good.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi kimf82! Thank you for the feedback regarding our food and service. We are so pleased to be open again! With the new government restrictions it tends to be a little quieter before 12pm, and indeed very busy after 1. Once gain thank you for the 5 star review and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Chris

Report
CR
ColinR
London
1 review
Dined on December 5, 2020
Overall3food2service5ambience4

Only one vegetarian option available. Had to have 2 starters instead.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi Colin, thank you for taking the time to document your experience with us. Our new December menu is streamlined; but unfortunately a byproduct of that means there are less options available in almost every section. I will pass your feedback on. Thank you for the 5 star service and great beer; we pride ourselves on this. Kind regards, Chris

Report
EM
EMec
1 review
Dined on December 5, 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience3

The food was slightly disappointing although it was lovely to be back after the lockdown. Particularly would suggest adding a dipping sauce for the calamari dish and the boiled egg was extremely cold. But lovely atmosphere and looking forward to our next visit.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi EMec, thank you for taking the time to review us, and thank you for the compliment on the atmosphere, we work to hard to make the pub a nice environment to be in. I am sorry to hear about your below average dining experience; if you'd like to give us some more details feel free to give us a call or drop us an email. We appreciate that you are willing to give us another chance to wow you with our food, so we hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Chris

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on December 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent lunch

The Hare and Billett
Responded on December 7, 2020

Hi, thank you for the 5 stars reviews. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
WC
WalC
London
1 review
Dined on December 4, 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Average food, a bit too expensive for what it is. Good beer selection. Nice place for a drink.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi WalC, thank you for the 4 stars review and compliment on beer selection; we pride ourselves on that as the staff are passionate about beer. However, I am sorry to hear that the food wasn't up to your expectation. If you'd like to discuss it further, feel free to give us a call or drop us an email. We hope to see you again, Kind regards, Chris

Report
EK
EdwardK
London
38 reviews
Dined on December 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Tip top! As always. 100% excellent. The team work so hard and always manage to be pleasant and extremely welcoming.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi Edward K, thank you for the 5 star review; we really appreciate the kind words, especially about the staff. We're all looking forward to welcome you again! Hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Chris

Report
AW
AnneW
London
2 reviews
Dined on December 3, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

This was the first time we have been here. The staff are polite, helpful and efficient and the food was excellent. We especially liked the whitebait and octopus starter and the brownie dessert. Main courses were nice and generous helpings. The wine is good value too. Recommend the Cotes de Rhone.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi AnneW, thank you for the 4 star review. We are glad to hear we made a good impression on your first visit. Hope to see you again! Kind regards, Chris

Report
C
Charlotte
London
1 review
Dined on December 3, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Was a completely shocking experience, the service was bad, the food never came. Not the first time we went and were disappointed. Shall not be going back again.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Hi Charlotte, I am disheartened to hear about your experience on Thursday. Unfortunately as we'd just opened and were extremely busy a mistake like this has occurred, but this is no excuse for your food not arriving to the table. We do strive to give everyone the best service we can, and we hope you may give us another chance to change your mind in the future. If you'd like to discuss this further, feel free to give me a call. Kind regards, Chris

Report
EK
EdwardK
London
39 reviews
Dined on November 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

If I could, I would, run away with this pub and marry it! Unfortunately it keeps turning me down. Persistence is a virtue and my virtue is easy...

Looking forward to the end of lockdown and the return to the pub.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on November 6, 2020

Hi EdwardK, your review left me speechless, thank you so much for your kind words. I promise we will do as much as we can to reopen as soon as we can and i am sure we will see you soon again! Kind regards, Natalia

Report
RS
RebeccaS
1 review
Dined on November 4, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Extremely disappointing service received.
Booked this for a a special birthday lunch, booked about 4-5 days before.
We turned up to the pub to be rudely greeted, and to be told they ‘didn’t have much food’ when we asked what did they have - the member of staff replied quite agressively saying he was looking, however he then quickly added ‘we have no food.’
It was all a bit bizarre, as it was all very matter of fact. I questioned as we’d booked the table why did they not contact us to advise us to save us the journey/the parking fee and out of sheer common sense and manners to which he shouted at us ‘ive just been told.’
We then had another member of staff who I believe to be the manager come over and quite literally shouted at us ‘kitchen closed.’
It was the rudest experience I’ve ever had in a pub/restaurant.
Aside from the lack of notice to advise us that they wouldn’t be able to fulfil our reservation, there was not even an offer of an apology for the inconvenience. If anything we were inconveniencing them.
It was the day before lockdown so we could appreciate that they wouldn’t be fully stocked due to waste management, but it would have been nice if they could explain that and apologise.
It would have made business sense for them to either ensure they have enough stock to fulfil their reservations or contact us to let us know.
Unfortunately now they have lost very good customers for life.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on November 13, 2020

Hi Rebecca, i am sorry for the inconvenient, on Wednesday we got literally slammed and we finished all food way before estimated. I personally came at the door, i didn't shout that kitchen was closed, i actually apologised straight away and let you know before entering that unfortunately kitchen was closed as food was finished. I did try to explain that due to closing the pub we couldn't place any order and that i didn't expect to finish all food so soon during the day. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
LC
LydiaC
London
1 review
Dined on November 4, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great last meal before lockdown. Our crab starter was delicious, loved the unusual combinations, much better than average pub grub.

GB
GeorgiaB
London
1 review
Dined on November 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Always a great visit. Staff are amazing. Great variety of food and drink

The Hare and Billett
Responded on November 6, 2020

Hi GeorgiaB, thank you for the 5 stars review! Hope to see you as soon as we will reopen our doors. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
SP
SuperPiglet
London
2 reviews
Dined on November 3, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

The staff in here are second to none and totally taking Covid seriously. Shame they've cut down the vegan options but great to see them still going in such tricky times.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on November 6, 2020

Hi SuperPiglet, thank you for your kind words. The whole staff did an amazing job during this difficult time and i am proud of all of them. I will pass your comments along. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
AC
AnthonyC
London
1 review
Dined on November 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great atmosphere and great service.
Got the lunchtime offer of a Burger and Drink for 12 pounds, which was very good value or money.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on November 6, 2020

Hi Anthony, i am so glad you had a good experience and you like the pub. We are still monitoring our email, so please feel free to send us an email at enquiries@hareandbillet.co m if you would like to book a table for the Christmas set menu in December. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
HL
HandeL
London
1 review
Dined on November 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food, location and service is excellent. It is dog and baby friendly.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on November 6, 2020

Hi HandeL, thank you for your lovely review. Hopefully we will see you soon enough. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
DH
DarrylH
London
4 reviews
Dined on November 2, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Last meal before lock down and were looked after really well. Excellent service and very good food, we ordered pub classics, my burger was excellent and my fiancée's fish and chips were good but would have befitted from 1 minute less in the fryer. But still ate well. We will definitely be back in December.
Thanks
D

The Hare and Billett
Responded on November 13, 2020

Hi DarrylH. Thank you for your feedback. If you would like to book a table for a Christmas meal, please send us and email and we will reply within 72 hours. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
c
corkamork
London
1 review
Dined on November 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our favourite, dog friendly pub in the area! Staff are lovely and attentive, food is always great and always a good ambiance.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on January 3, 2021

Thanks for the lovely review. We all love dogs here and we pride ourselves on having a great atmosphere. Looking forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Chris

Report
CS
ChipSu
London
17 reviews
Dined on November 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Considering it was the last chance Sunday before lockdown again and they had a lot of bookings, the usual high quality of service and exceptional food did not slip at all. By far the best roast dinners we have had in a very long time and the tofu sharing starter was wonderful. All the staff were friendly, chatty and great to be around- will miss not being able to return for a while but as soon as we can, we most definitely will! Thank you all for a lovely afternoon

The Hare and Billett
Responded on November 4, 2020

Hi ChipSu, thank you so much for the amazing review. Sadly we have to close our doors again, but we will be back as soon as we can and keep working hard. I am glad you love our pub, i will pass your comments along my staff and hopefully we will see you soon again. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
DR
DaisyR
1 review
Dined on November 1, 2020
Overall3food1service4ambience4

Lovely pub in a great location. Staff were friendly and service was always quick. We were really looking forward to a roast as the photos and reviews online made it look amazing but sadly it was horrible. It was cold, slimy and obviously warmed up. The pigs in blankets were pale grey, dry around the edges and cold. I did email the venue directly asking for a refund for the food (not the drinks) and they offered a free meal but considering pubs are closing for the foreseeable and my complaint was about food I declined. Would def recommend however and hope you catch the chef on a good day.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on November 3, 2020

Hi Daisy, thank you for the feedback. As explained in the email, we checked back on the food on the day and it seemed that everything was good, i understand you didn't want to place a complain as the staff was working very hard and the service was very good, but unfortunately a refund was possible just if the issue was raised on the day of the purchase. As you stated, we did offer a free meal/ voucher to spend on a different day, however you declined the offer. Kind regards, Natalia

Report

FAQs

The Hare and Billett is rated 4.5 stars by 534 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.