The Engineer Pub and Restaurant

4.2
165 Reviews
£25 and under
British
OpenTable bookings are for our RESTAURANT ONLY. For bar or garden pod bookings, please call directly on 01582 460478.
The Engineer is ideally located in Southdown, Harpenden, on the edge of the common, and is a friendly local pub offering great food, craft beers, hearty ales and delicious wines in a relaxed atmosphere.
With friendly staff and great service, there is something for everyone whether you want to meet with friends and family, have a Sunday roast or watch the latest sport.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 165 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.3
service
4.0
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
FL
FabiolaL
London
1 review
Dined on December 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What a lovely place! Both inside and out- they have built little pods outside on the gardens and the staff are super friendly and very welcoming

E
Eagles
London
1 review
Dined on December 11, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

The Engineer is a great locals freehouse serving a good selection of beers and lagers. The pub menu is varied and well priced and the staff are always friendly and helpful. Good to see it back and always worth a visit.

T
Tommy
London
1 review
Dined on December 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great staff, service & food. The setting was great but pub was quiet that afternoon so lacking some atmosphere which was surprising

NS
NickiS
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Dined on December 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful socially distanced lunch in one of the pods! All felt very safe and extremely organised.
Great that there are heaters and speakers. They are done up very nicely.
Food was delicious. We will definitely be heading back for food very soon.

RG
RebeccaG
London
1 review
Dined on December 6, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Do not recommend the Engineer. The food was terrible, service slow, room cold and the toilets filthy.

KF
KimF
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on December 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely food again. Good social distancing. Staff are very friendly. Will return without hesitation.

CB
ClareB
London
2 reviews
Dined on December 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Tasty home cooked pub grub. Excellent table service and great range of drinks. Had a really great time!

AG
AnneG
Hertfordshire
4 reviews
Dined on October 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Every body is so welcoming will visit again after lock down.
Food good.
Ann

CP
ChristineP
1 review
Dined on October 29, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had lunch here recently, the food was outstanding and the service was excellent too, will definitely be going back

PB
PatriciaB
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on October 27, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Attended the quiz... great fun ! Felt COVID safe and will definitely go again. The pub has a great ambience and the staff are really friendly .

S
Southdowner
London
2 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Enjoyed a meal with a friend, pie of the day was delicious. Very well spaced out and clean, service attentive. No complaints at all.

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on October 21, 2020

Thank you for your positive review. We do hope to welcome you back at The Engineer in the future.

Report
CG
CaroleG
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Good food but home made pies not available and might have been our choice.
Good Covid precautions and sat 4 on a table of 6.

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on October 21, 2020

Thank you for your review. We do apologise the homemade pie wasn't available on your visit, it is a very popular dish which sometimes we sell out of. We do hope to welcome you back at The Engineer, and you can enjoy the pie on your next visit.

Report
SH
SarahH
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

2nd visit to The Engineer, the food and service were great! Definitely going back again!

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on October 21, 2020

Thank you for your positive review. We do hope to welcome you back at The Engineer in the future.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 6, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Very nice, food good. Service a bit slow when asked
For the bill

AG
AnneG
Hertfordshire
4 reviews
Dined on September 30, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

I had the fish cakes and they were good but the salad was not as good the previous time when the salad was lovely.

RI
RICHARD
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall3food4service5ambience1

Service absolutely excellent.

Conservatory area is a bit soulless, like being in a canteen.

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on September 24, 2020

Thank you for your review, and we are pleased your received excellent service from our staff. Due to government guidelines, unfortunately we cannot pre-lay the tables with cutlery and glasses, and have to have one use disposable sachets for condiments - we apologise if this made it feel like a canteen for you. Our restaurant is new, and we have added candles and plants to make the atmosphere more pleasant for guests. We do hope to welcome you back at The Engineer.

Report
NS
NickiS
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Dined on September 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great socially distanced lunch. Felt very safe, staff very tentative and adhering to relevant rules.
Food great, service very efficient.
Highly Recommend

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on September 24, 2020

Thank you for your positive review. We do hope to welcome you back at The Engineer in the future.

Report
C
Cheryl
1 review
Dined on September 1, 2020
Overall2food3service3ambience4

Disappointed to be told that there was no chicken, beef or fish on arrival. Fine for me as happy to eat vegetarian but my fellow diners were not happy and had to make do with meals they wouldn’t have chosen.
We got a free round of drinks to compensate.

DW
DavidW
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on August 31, 2020
Overall2food2service4ambience2

Limited menu was not good. Top layer of natchos on top were burned, white bait was overcooked. Halloumi was cold with grill marks, not fully cooked, it was also served with salad with no dressing. My burger was fine, however feel that meals are primarily focused on the ability to be stuck into a deep fryer and heated/ reheated as opposed to being cooked. Didn't overly complain at the time as the servers were so young and pleasant, we had 50% discount and previously we have had various good meals there. However this was not a good quality experience and we will not be rushing back anytime soon. Also whilst I understand that the current situation drives no tablecloths, table decorations nor proper condiment containers but it makes the overall area pretty drab, dull and dark.

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on September 24, 2020

Thank you for your review. Your comments have been passed onto the kitchen team regarding your food. The majority of our menu is prepared and cooked fresh, rather than being reheated. As per government guidelines, we cannot lay the restaurant tables with cutlery and condiments before a guest uses the table. We have added candles and plants to make the décor more pleasant, however not having condiment containers does not make our garden room dull and dark.

Report
JH
JamesH
London
1 review
Dined on August 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Are here during the Eat Out to Help Out and was very busy but the staff were excellent and food as good as on any other day. A great garden, lots of screens for sport, large and varied selection of beers/gin and wine. Highly recommended for a lunch or dinner or just to pop into after a walk on the common.

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on September 24, 2020

Thank you for your positive review. We do hope to welcome you back at The Engineer in the future.

Report
A
Alistair
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on August 26, 2020
Overall4food4service2ambience2

it was a windy day and with the doors open to allow circulation it was quite cold inside. We asked for doors to be closed though the waiting staff needed them open to walk through as opposed to opening closing each time which would have made the experience nicer.

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on September 24, 2020

Thank you for your review. As per government guidelines, we do have doors open to allow for circulation, and minimise touchpoints for customers. As you requested that day, we did actually shut the doors leading outside that day as it wasn't warm. Unfortunately we could not then shut the doors leading into our restaurant also, as staff need them open to serve food in there, as cannot carry plates and open the door at the same time. We do hope to welcome you at The Engineer in the future.

Report
KF
KimF
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Dined on August 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Staff were lovely & friendly. Good selection on the menu. Good portions. Food was hot & well presented. Tables are nicely spaced out.

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on September 24, 2020

Thank you for your positive review. We do hope to welcome you back at The Engineer in the future.

Report
H
Hayleyln
London
2 reviews
Dined on August 25, 2020
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Food is nothing special but the surroundings and the service are lovely.

IC
IanC
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on August 24, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Used the government meal deal but would have been disappointed if paying the full price!
We ordered salad,which is better in wetherspoons and sausage/mash which was floating watery gravy,peas were basic line quality,could have made it at home a lot better!

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on August 27, 2020

Thank you for your review. We will discuss your feedback regarding the sausage and mash with our kitchen team. We regularly receive great feedback about our salads, they are of a much higher quality than Wetherspoons. Taking advantage of the Eat Out Scheme means our main meals average £5.50, however we are always fully booked with regular customers Thursday-Sunday who pay full price for our food.

Report
DJ
DominicJ
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on August 24, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Very good and staff were very helpful Very well laid out staff and customers well distanced

JG
JohnG
London
4 reviews
Dined on August 20, 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience4

Very good and meal,excellent .
Have booked for another meal next week.

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on August 27, 2020

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back at The Engineer.

Report
B
Billo
1 review
Dined on August 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very good food and service. The lady who served us was amazing

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on August 21, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Engineer.

Report
KO
KellyO
London
2 reviews
Dined on August 17, 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience4

We took advantage of the Eat Out to Help Out scheme and found the restaurant staff to be very friendly and welcoming. It was a limited Eat Out to Help Out menu but I had a very pleasant Fish & Chips and my friend enjoyed the Panko Chicken. A lovely place for a casual dinner. Would recommend.

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on August 21, 2020

Thank you for your positive review regarding the Eat Out Scheme. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Engineer.

Report
i
inness
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Dined on August 17, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Very friendly staff food good AND value for money would like to see a choice of jacket potato on menu

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on August 21, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Engineer.

Report
EH
EllenH
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on August 17, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Would highly recommend this restaurant/bar. Food and service very good.

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on August 21, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Engineer.

Report
PB
PaulB
1 review
Dined on August 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had the Sunday roast beef and it was excellent. My wife and I thought it was the best meal we have ever had at the engineer.

I downloaded loaded the app that you can use to order food and drink and it worked really. Our bottle of wine appeared like magic.

We will be back.

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on August 21, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Engineer.

Report
E
Elljay
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on August 12, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Table was booked for 7-30, still had not received any food by 8-50 and was told that the food would still be a while so we decided to leave as we were told the kitchen was closing at 9. Manager apologised and waived our drinks. Also the menu given was reduced as advertised on the website.

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on August 21, 2020

Thank you for your review. Due to your booking being on a Wednesday, we were running the Eat Out Scheme. Every table was booked for this, meaning there was a delay on food, due to every table ordering within an hour and a half of each other. Our chefs and staff are working tirelessly to keep the scheme running. We currently run a limited menu due to Covid regulations and the Eat Out Scheme, apologies this menu is not on the website, We hope to welcome yo back at The Engineer soon.

Report
W
Will
Bedfordshire
1 review
Dined on August 12, 2020
Overall2food1service1ambience1

slow service. Bad food. Horrible restaurant area.

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on August 21, 2020

Due to your visit being on a Wednesday, we were running the Eat Out Scheme, meaning we were fully booked with people taking advantage of this. There was a delay on food due to every table ordering within an hour and a half of each other, which we tell guests on arrival. Our chefs and staff are working tirelessly to keep the scheme running, even with complaints and negative reviews. Our food is freshly prepared and cooked. Our restaurant area is newly built, being booked 90% of the time.

Report
AG
AnneG
Hertfordshire
4 reviews
Dined on August 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

All went very well it was very ,very hot and the staff were very cheerful.Well done to all.we shall return

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on August 21, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Engineer.

Report
AB
AlanB
1 review
Dined on August 11, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience2

The food was good and the value reasonable. All in all a good experience, with the exception of the ambience. We sat in the restaurant, which was stinking hot and had all the windows closed on one of the hottest days of the year. We asked for the windows to be opened but got some negative attitude from the guy we asked and he only ended up opening one. I had to get up and ask again and one of the waitresses then came and opened them all.

D
Diana
London
1 review
Dined on August 11, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Really slow and rude service, food took 1 hour.. and when it arrived the quality was poor, mostly frozen type food.
The venue was not even busy!
The staff is untrained.
The restaurant standards are not Harpenden standards.
Will not be back again

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on August 21, 2020

Due to your visit being on a Tuesday, we were running the Eat Out Scheme, meaning we were fully booked with people taking advantage of this. There was a delay on food due to every table ordering within an hour of each other, which we tell guests on arrival. Our chefs and staff are working tirelessly to keep the scheme running, even with complaints and negative reviews. All our food is freshly prepared and cooked. All our staff are highly trained and we pride ourselves on their service.

Report
l
lizj
2 reviews
Dined on August 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The menu was smaller than usual, but managed to retain 80% of my favourites. It was a really hot day so the garden seating, which had been extended to accomadate an extra 8 or 10 table was quite full. That meant that indoors was quieter than usual, but that was a good thing as all the tables were nicely distanced. The place was spotless. The food when it arrived had been cooked while we were waiting - about 30 minutes and was delicious. The government offer meant that we both had a brilliant meal for a small sum - here's hoping they extend it. We will be back before it ends, although as you have gathered I have eaten here before and have never been disappointed

EH
EmmaH
1 review
Dined on August 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a lovely visit to the Engineer. Service was fantastic as alway and there is a great range of drinks. The food was delicious and came out quickly and with no issues. The ice cream dessert is amazing.

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant
Responded on August 21, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Engineer.

Report
SR
SallyR
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on August 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Staff were very attentive, friendly and helpful. Food was very good. Would definitely ity recommend it.

NO
NeilO
London
1 review
Dined on August 1, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Very helpful staff and great outside dining area. Food was fresh and great selection.

FAQs

The Engineer Pub and Restaurant is rated 4.2 stars by 165 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.