Shortly after the construction of the Jefferson Street Bridge in 1912, Chris Anwonder built the first tavern to grace our building. During the era that followed industry and commerce built upon the banks of the river.
Our building has a history that somewhat parallels the economic ups and downs of this area. It has been a porcelain works, tombstone factory, and sign company. Fifteen years prior to the October 1, 1980 opening of our restaurant, it was an empty warehouse.
The reconstruction of our building uses artifacts collected from the area, and most of the restored oak pieces have been uniquely located to provide the atmosphere that is the Emporium. The grand staircase, the Deacon"s bench, and the oak doors used as paneling are all from an old church. The antique light fixtures, railings, spindles, and oak columns are authentic and add to the beautiful ambiance and dining experience.