The County Cork Wine Pub

4.4
464 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Welcome to The County Cork Wine Pub. The "Cork" as we are known is a classy, but casual restaurant. We have a unique menu using the freshest ingredients available. We offer an extensive wine list, as well as a selection of craft beers and a full bar. Happy Hour is best spent at The Cork where all small plates are $7 and drink specials. The Cork is your neighborhood meeting place, whether you desire a quick bite from our lite fare selection or a night out with friends. Enjoy the evening experiencing our incredible menu and succulent specials at reasonable prices. Our Butcher Block and Cheese Boards are enjoyed by many of our customers with a bottle of wine. We have the best brunch in the "Burg". An extensive a la carte menu featuring benedicts, steak and eggs, omletes anyway, corned beef hash and much more. We also have an all-you-can drink Bloody Mary Bar for $10.00. Come experience the warm atmosphere and exceptional service. You'll come as guests and leave as friends!!
What 464 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
DL
San Francisco
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

The food was pretty good, but the wines by the glass were sub par. These are the kinds of wine that we in California can buy at the supermarket, and the "bottom shelf" (i.e. cheapest) wines at that. But this is supposed to be a "wine pub"! We did not order any of the bottles, but those seem largely in the same category.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 4

Father’s day brunch

Report
Helpful
BC
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

, Has it all! Food ,service, price!Just a awesome place overall

Report
Helpful
c
Baltimore
15 reviews
Dined on June 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Love going to the County Cork!

Report
Helpful
JS
Washington DC
74 reviews
Dined on June 4, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Full of high energy on a Wednesday. Must be wine tasting night. Definitely 1/2 price bottle wine night. Fun for tappas and sitting back with a glass of wine....or two!

Report
Helpful
JT
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on June 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food! Sunday brunch offers an extensive menu from pancakes to omelette to several choices of eggs Benedict. Breakfast potatoes are the BEST! Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
MW
Washington DC
7 reviews
Dined on June 1, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Adria was awesome. The lamb French dip was top notch! I wasn’t a fan of the shrimp & grits, could have been a bit creamier. Can’t wait to try something else.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on June 6, 2019

Thanks Mia for the review and four stars. The Lamb French dip is one of my personal favorites. I appreciate your feedback on the shrimp and grits and will talk to the chef about the grits. We take all reviews to heart and want to make things better so thank you for your comments. We hope you come back soon.

Report
Helpful
GC
Baltimore
4 reviews
Dined on May 25, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

always a great, creative meal with excellent service.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on June 6, 2019

Thank you for the five stars!

Report
Helpful
R
Baltimore
35 reviews
Dined on May 24, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

We enjoyed our evening here, as they had an extensive drink list and food menu. I was also excited that they had some bottles of wine on special for a reasonable price. We were disappointed that a few of their seafood items had not come in so we had to think of a plan B and C. The service was slightly slow given the small crowd, but the music was entertaining to us and waitress very friendly.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on June 6, 2019

Hi Raquel, Thank you for the review and four stars. I'm glad you found a good bottle of wine at a reasonable price. We often run wine specials and glad you were pleased. I want to apologize for the shortage on the seafood selection. Due to the holiday weekend, the deliveries were pushed back and we did not get our order for the weekend. I'm glad you enjoyed the entertainment and service. On your next visit if anything should fall short, please ask for a manager at the time of your visit.

Report
Helpful
W
Baltimore
3 reviews
Dined on May 21, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had a great experience. The food, wine, and service were all excellent. I can’t wait to dine at The Cork again.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on June 6, 2019

So excited to read your review! We can't wait to have you back. Thank you for the five stars!

Report
Helpful
TJ
Baltimore
16 reviews
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 4

My wife and I went here for our 14th anniversary. It was our first time. We were greeted nicely by our server Nicole. She was great. My wife ordered the scallops gluten free and they were made by an artist. I had the Thai Shrimp (much like Bone-fish's rendition) and a Caesar salad. The salad was pretty standard but the shrimp and scallops would bring us back. Arlene, the owner, also stopped by our table. Another reason to return. Lastly we ordered the almonds to go. They were splendid. Would recommend taking the almonds over to the paint place next store to cap off the evening. A great date night. Total cost here ran about $75, no beverages, no desserts (except almonds), using apps as my meal. A bit high but we are already planning on returning.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on June 6, 2019

We remember you well! Nicole and I both enjoyed talking to you and your wife and thank you for celebrating your anniversary here at The Cork! We hope you come back again soon.

Report
Helpful
LR
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Lovely, intimate setting; delicious food; friendly staff. Went for Mother's Day and very pleased with the experience.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on June 6, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit. Warms my heart to hear that you had a very good experience on a special day. We hope you'll be back again soon. We always strive to give excellent service and food, so thank you for the stars!

Report
Helpful
F
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 3

Excellent service. Food very good. Took a long time to find a n/a beer for our designated driver. My biggest complaint was the seating. My husband can’t sit at the high tables because of back problems and our friend is petite and her feet don’t reach the foot rest. It turns a great meal into a very uncomfortable dining experience. I would prefer more classical music selections then Led Zeppelin and turn off the TV. They need to decide if they want to be a bar or a restaurant. The place is too small to be both and for $100.00+ for 2 people I’m not going to a bar. Even though the food and service were very very good I’d think twice before going back.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on June 6, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write you review, we try and learn from all our customer's comments and feedback. We do carry St. Pauli's N/A beer. I'm sorry it took awhile to get it to you. As for the seating, we always try and accommodate seating requests, so when you make a reservation, please indicate your preference. We do have several customers that come in for live music and we do keep it at a volume where customers can still enjoy dinner.

Report
Helpful
GB
Baltimore
7 reviews
Dined on May 4, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Always an interesting food experience. Clever menu combinations..

Report
Helpful
OT
Baltimore
7 reviews
Dined on April 20, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was great and staff was very attentive. The place doesn’t look like a place one will go but I was pleasantly surprise!

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on May 5, 2019

Thank you for the five stars. We strive to be consistent with food and service and glad it was noticed! Although being in a strip center doesn't have the curb appeal, we wanted the ambiance to make it inviting and warm.

Report
Helpful
c
Baltimore
15 reviews
Dined on April 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and service - one of my favorite places! A diamond in the rough (Eldersburg), a hidden treasure!

Report
Helpful
OT
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on April 12, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

Fabulous food with fabulous service!

Report
Helpful
JS
Washington DC
75 reviews
Dined on April 2, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 4

This night was full of energy with tables full of wine tasters! The service was attentive and friendly. It's always enjoyable to have the cheese board with half price bottle of wine night! The salmon entrée was different with lentils; but I think that's what made mine to be very dry.

Report
Helpful
H
Baltimore
12 reviews
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

We adore County Cork. It’s our favorite local restaurant. The food is a combination of traditional and innovative but always delicious. Nicole is by far our favorite server. She is attentive but not intrusive, funny, friendly, and professional. Their wine tasting nights are always wonderful. I can’t say enough good things about it. 💗

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on April 14, 2019

Thanks Hayley! Always love to earn five stars and your comments were awesome. Please feel free to request Nicole whenever you make a reservation. I'll be sure to share this review with Nicole as I know how hard she works and cares about the service she gives.

Report
Helpful
KS
Western NC
4 reviews
Dined on March 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always excellent food and service. We recommend to friends coming into the area.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on April 14, 2019

Wow and thank you! Love to earn five stars and read such a nice review. We so appreciate you recommending The Cork to your out of town guests. We hope to always earn five stars on every visit.

Report
Helpful
H
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on March 22, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 5

Very good food and service for a large group of us.

Report
Helpful
OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on March 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Was sad the Irish menu wasn’t all day as I thought I read online but they had integrated Irish options in the brunch menu so we chose those. Otherwise love this restaurant.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on April 14, 2019

Thank you so kindly for the five star review! We always strive to earn five stars on every visit and love that we achieved that with you. Sorry for the fact that we did not offer the Irish Menu all day. It being Sunday brunch was hard to accomodate all the dinner specials. We did, as you noticed, put some Irish specials for brunch, and am glad that you were happy with that. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and awarding us with five stars!

Report
Helpful
JT
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 4

Nice selection on small plates and entrees. Great food! Great service. Freshly prepared
Make reservations especially on the weekend

Report
Helpful
P
1 review
Dined on March 9, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 1

Great food and the only game in Eldersburg for nice non-chain restaurants. Baldwin's Station is better, overall, but even more expensive...more of an anniversary splurge kind of place. The Cork is more accessible. The value is good, but not great. The very good food is worth the steep price. You get what you pay for. It's a good value, but a basically "fair" deal. You won't feel like you paid too much, but you won't be pleasantly surprised when you get the bill.

Take this with a grain of salt, as I'm a life-long musician, but the "townie" musicians with PA systems that are way too loud playing the same material every "townie" musician has been playing in bars for the last 25 years makes sure you don't forget you're in Carroll County. It's a fairly sophisticated menu and space trying to appeal to a clientele that would almost just as soon be line dancing. Pretty successfully, though, I must say. But for me, the music they choose destroys the ambiance.

If you go on a weeknight when there's no music, it's a lovely night out with a decent but not extensive selection of (mostly good quality) wines which sort of belies the "Wine Pub" part of its name. When there's music, it's transforms into an upscale college bar. But in their defense, they probably wouldn't survive here any other way.

Food and service are ALWAYS good, though.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on April 14, 2019

Thank you for the four star review. I'm sorry you weren't fond of the live music that played the night you visited. I try and give local musicians an opportunity to play and most guests are pleasantly surprised. I do keep the music at a volume that respects my dining guests. I'm very happy that you acknowledged the quality of food and service that you have experienced at The Cork. I hope you'll be back soon.

Report
Helpful
PW
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on March 8, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

$78 a couple was a bit pricey for salads and sandwiches. Otherwise, we enjoyed it.

Report
Helpful
y
1 review
Dined on March 2, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 3ambience 3

We continue to try this restaurant, however it always disappoints. Food is weirdly flavored, costly and very small portions. My scallops came out ice cold and barely cooked. I sent them back, but could not stomach them, even when they were warmed. The "Forbidden" rice that was served with the scallops was horrible. We have determined that we are finished trying to like this restaurant and will not go back.

Report
Helpful
L
1 review
Dined on March 1, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Several items were slightly on the overdone side of perfection, but the flavors were wonderful and the originality of the compositions was excellent. Great cocktails, good wine list, and fantastic desserts. We generally try to avoid the live entertainments due to noise issues, but the volume of this band was correct for the room.

Report
Helpful
BB
Baltimore
9 reviews
Dined on February 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Food was great always! A very tasty local treasure with lots of regulars. Definitely make reservations for a Friday.

Report
Helpful
DR
1 review
Dined on February 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Party of 5 ladies for a nice Sunday brunch and we were all VERY pleased with the food and service - and we can be a little high maintenance. Would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
CC
West Virginia
2 reviews
Dined on February 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Enjoyed our 1st visit . Brunch was enjoyable. The hostess. Possibly the owner , made us feel very welcome & we were not rushed

Report
Helpful
P
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food was fantastic and was not rushed.
Was able to have a wonderful dinner out with my wife and talk and enjoy each other.

Report
Helpful
GH
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Made reservations an hour in advance and table wasn't ready when we arrived but the wqit wasn't too long. Ambiance is nice and service was personable. The Mole dish was not good and the Filet is over-priced. The french fries are delicious with garlic and rosemary. I like to go here when I'm tired of the norm but it is very pricey.

Report
Helpful
L
Baltimore
8 reviews
Dined on February 9, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Great food, great service. Kind of noisy.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on March 5, 2019

Hi Larry, Thanks for the four stars on the food and service! Sorry it was a noisy night. Next time you make reservations, you can note if you'd like to sit in the back of the restaurant away from the music. We always do our best to accommodate customers seating preferences if possible. Thank you again for the feedback and four stars!

Report
Helpful
LE
1 review
Dined on February 3, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

The food tasted good and it was a decent value. It was very busy for brunch and not much attention from the servers. When they did come by, they were very nice and quickly gave what we needed.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on February 8, 2019

Hi Liz, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and giving us 4 stars. I need to apologize for the lack of attention by the server, but glad to hear when they came by your needs were taken care of. I never like to make an excuse for service or food, but we did have someone call out that morning in an emergency and that is why the server was not able to be by as often as we normally provide service. Thank you for understanding and giving us a very appreciated 4 star review!

Report
Helpful
CH
Washington DC
14 reviews
Dined on February 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our experience on Saturday far exceeded our expectations! The service was terrific and the food spectacular. I will definitely return.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on February 8, 2019

Thanks Cheryl for the five star review! Exceeding your expectations is the best news I can receive in a review. Very happy to hear you had an all around excellent evening with us.

Report
Helpful
PE
1 review
Dined on February 2, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 3

I have been to the restaurant twice, the food is good bt the service is slow and forgetful.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on February 8, 2019

Thank you for the kind remarks on the food you received when you visited last Saturday night. Slow and forgetful service is totally unacceptable. I would strongly urge you to always ask for a manager to rectify any problem at the time of your dining experience. You deserve to have the utmost service when you dine at The Cork. I would love to discuss this more with you, please feel free to call the restaurant at (410) 970-8110 and ask for Arlene. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report
Helpful
OT
Washington DC
6 reviews
Dined on February 2, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Went for restaurant week. Great 4 course menu-great choices and 4 good size portion courses for $39. Really enjoyed our meal.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on February 8, 2019

So happy you were pleased with our Howard County Restaurant Week menu. The chef worked hard to make some interesting dishes, with good portion sizes and at a decent price. We partake in Carroll County Restaurant Week as well, so hopefully you'll visit again. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report
Helpful
LK
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

The food and wine are always great. I appreciate healthy, gluten free, and paleo-friendly options on their menu. Exciting options that aren’t available anywhere else nearby. The owner is also extremely accommodating!

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on February 8, 2019

Thank you Lori for the five star review. So happy to hear that our menu selection accommodates your dietary preferences. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report
Helpful
MG
Baltimore
2 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 3

I was not impressed by restaurant week food and our servicer acted like we were bothering her. I asked about music when we first came in and the hostess said they were having it. They did not have music which is why we wanted to give the place another try. I have eaten there before and not impressed with the portions and very pricey for what you get.

Also, I ordered a drink at the bar with soda water. The machine was not working and they were trying to fix it. She asked if I wanted something else but did not offer to comp the drink. I waited for about 25 minutes.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on February 8, 2019

Hi Mary, the night of your visit was the day it snowed and the music that was scheduled cancelled. They cancelled that evening, as they were in hopes of making it there, but upon attempting to, turned around. I apologize for that, but it was out of our control. As for service, I can only apologize if it fell short. We are known for excellent service at The Cork and strive to never fall short. I will most definitely address this with the server.

Report
Helpful
MA
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on January 26, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Food was great. Cocktails on point. Service outstanding.

The County Cork Wine Pub
Responded on February 8, 2019

Thanks Mark! Totally appreciate the positive comments and the 4 star review! We look forward to hearing back when you visit again!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12
null