The Clam

4.8
1172 Reviews
$31 to $50
American
Currently offering both fully heated patio dining, as well as indoor dining at 35%, The Clam is a neighborhood restaurant drawing its inspiration from one of our favorite ingredients, the clam. Mike Price, Chef and co-owner, offers a menu that celebrates seasonal, market driven ingredients as well as showcases the bounty of the Atlantic seaboard. The menu boasts a variety of clam dishes, some classic, some with a new twist and fun originals. The menu is rounded out with iced shellfish, salads, appetizers as well as meat and local seafood entrées. Desserts follow suit, inspired by seasonal and local market offerings. All made in-house, the approach is simple and straightforward with something for everyone. Our shared vision and common goal is to offer genuine hospitality to our guests, garner relationships and establish ourselves not only as a neighborhood gem but also a Greenwich Village destination where our guests can be confident that their experiences are sure to be exceptional.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
  • Diner temperature check required
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 1172 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
GB
vipGaryB
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Delicious food, strong service, a little pricey (a sense that wasn't helped by charging for a refill on club soda).

AW
AmyW
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food2service2ambience3

The food was disappointing and the service was scattered.

JC
JenniferC
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on May 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious- and wonderful service. Everything from the crab dip and spring rolls, fish entrées, beautiful dessert, and gorgeous martinis.

MC
vipMadelineC
New York Area
9 reviews
Dined on May 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on April 25, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Amazing deals for happy hour! Service was stellar even though we came during a change-up time—seamless.

RW
vipRWhite
New York Area
10 reviews
Dined on April 24, 2021
Overall4food2service5ambience4

Great service, really good outdoor dining ambience (with the exception of the 90s/early 00s pop music, which felt out of place & time). Food is just so-so.

f
vipfinediner
New York Area
73 reviews
Dined on April 21, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

This is always one of my favorite restaurants, a top choice of mine. Things were slightly off this time, they were out of my favorite item, the whole fish, which our server neglected to mention until after he came back to take our order, they didn’t offer a second round of drinks, had to find the server...nothing bad, just not as enjoyable as always. The salmon w leeks was very good, the beet salad delicious. My friend seemed to enjoy her sliders (after noting the portion seemed small). The fries were excellent. I will be back, I assume lots of Covid challenges. Also, there’s a Covid surcharge which probably should be noted. But again, not a big issue. It’s still one of my favorites!

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on April 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very good as always. So glad the Clam is n our neighborhood. Any neighborhood would be lucky t have a place like the Clam nearby. Always top notch food and service, and their set up outside is great.

DB
DaniB
New York Area
1 review
Dined on April 17, 2021
Overall5food4service4ambience5

The Clam was a great spot for my friends birthday dinner! I wish they had had a little more seafood on the menu though.

GM
vipGrantM
New York Area
20 reviews
Dined on April 11, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Seafood items were tasty. Desserts were comprised of individual components that were nice, but didn't jive together functionally. Coffee was terrible. Cocktails and wine sectional were great.

m
vipmck25
New York Area
24 reviews
Dined on April 10, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Covid set up great, food delicious. Our order came out perfectly. Fun night!

TS
vipTonyS
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on April 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love the Clam! 4th time back. Food is delicious. Service is great. the outdoor seating is very nice w heat lamps. We hope the outdoor dining stays post pandemic. The corn fritters were delicious. Lobsters sliders & steak were popular.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
3 reviews
Dined on April 9, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Portions were a little small for the price but overall amazing! The staff was very pleasant and attentive.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on April 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Few restaurants surprise me anymore, this was one of them. Great from start to finish.

AH
vipAdamH
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on April 8, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience3

Overall not a great experience here despite being very excited to try the restaurant.

I brought my company here for a work dinner, we arrived around 4:30 and started with the happy hour menu - 2 for $12 cocktails and small bites. The cocktails weren't great, premade for happy hour and too sweet. The bites were okay, the fritters and tuna were very good, the eggs not great.

We also ordered oysters, jumbo shrimp, fries, and a few other things to start. The seafood was amazing, the fries were cut in little chips essentially so not great. My martini had way too much vermouth in it and after we finished that first course they told us we needed to leave because they had the table booked? Understandable given we were there for a couple hours but at that point we had spent $500+ and hadn't even ordered a main course yet so very strange given that we were continuously ordering and spending money.

At the end of the meal when we were paying the check we noticed that they charged us for 3 clam sliders ($21) which we ordered but never arrived at the table. We suggested they just bring something that is of equivalent pricing to the table instead of going through the hassle of refunding us and the manager comes to the table and tells us that it did come to the table ....? so unprofessional to basically tell a customer they are lying. What gain would we have from lying about $21 clam sliders!! The manager ended up refunding us but overall I was shocked that a manager would come try to tell a table that they were lying about something never arriving to the table.

Food was fine but the manager killed it for us. Will never come back after that experience.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on April 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love this place !

T
vipTmoney
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on March 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

All I can say about both the food and the staff... WOW!!! I will be definitely coming back. Delicious food that exceeded expectations, absolutely polite and attentive staff. Must try!

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on March 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was amazing and the service too.

SD
SuzanneD
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on March 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing service , food was amazing , if you like seafood , this is your place !

OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
3 reviews
Dined on March 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent happy hour offerings. Drinks were delicious.

D
vipDave
New York Area
50 reviews
Dined on March 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We have not eaten out often but needed to get out of our apartment. We made last minute reservations Tuesday afternoon for 7:30. We had a very nice table outside that was comfortable. I started with oysters, fresh and juicy and my wife started with the Shrimp spring rolls. Very tasty without being heavy or soaked in oil. For my main I had the bouillabaisse but did not include the scallops because I am highly allergic. They assured me each order was made to order. It was wonderful. Clams, muscles, shrimp, white fish in a delightful broth (with two nice pieces of bread to soak up the broth.) My wife had the fish tacos (I have had those before) and liked them very much. I had a glass of burgundy which was very good. We shared the lemon tart with meringue. Price was good (we had a $50 gift card) and overall a successful night out in Covid.

G
Geri2020
New York Area
1 review
Dined on March 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love The Clam! Stopped by on this lovely weekend to enjoy our favorite chowder and sliders, and were very pleased with the safety protocol and kindness of the staff. (Especially appreciated the manager who brought our pup water just as we sat!) The Parker House rolls are a golden standard as are the fries. Yum!. So Grateful one of my favorite West Village staples is still rocking.

K
vipKatieg
New York Area
16 reviews
Dined on March 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

love the clam! they've got a really nice outdoor set up right now and the food is always delicious and fresh. cocktail specials for the win

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on March 19, 2021
Overall1food1service2ambience4

Supremely disappointing experience, especially considering that it in celebration of a birthday. Their arrival policy is a joke, given that we arrived ten minutes prior to our reservation, but weren’t seated until 9:27– 12 minutes behind the instituted grace period afforded to us if we happened to be running late.The manager (Lauren) simply just made us stand outside, without even offering us a concrete idea as to when to return to the hostess stand nor typically how long would we ‘d have to remain waiting outside in general. Upon hailing down other staff to inquire on behalf while outside on the curb, they themselves simply brushed off my attempts to engage them, deflecting the responsibility onto whatever staff would later pass us on the sidewalk— including Lauren, who continued to repeatedly ignore us. Upon being seated, the only individuals to offer us any hospitality was the hostess we initially met and our server. Ironically enough, Lauren continued to coincidentally hover around our table, yet never came over to address the earlier issue , aside from sending the hostess earlier to offer us a glass of complimentary Prosecco to drink while we waited in the street, smh. The food? Overseasoned, oversold, and overpriced. TIP: don’t bother selecting the jumbo shrimp appetizer— it’s not properly cleaned/deveined and you’ll literally be charged per shrimp. Where else on America do they do that? Given that I faced the bar and kitchen, I was privileged to observe the cool staff mingling over the meals in preparations and amongst each other with their n MB masks down— that is, until they locked eyes with me watching them. To curb this rant, I’ll finally dump it up— my guest: disappointed, her birthday: deflated, my night: ruined, my faith in this establishment: nonexistent.

The Clam
Responded on March 21, 2021

Dear Charles, I'm so sorry that you did not enjoy your dinner with us. We do our best to seat our guests on time but sometimes others take a bit longer than anticipated. To express appreciation for your wait, we sent a round of Prosecco and I brought a complimentary appetizer, thanking you for waiting.Our staff wears masks consistently, and COVID rules prevent us from allowing guests to wait inside. I apologize that the experience was not what you had been looking forward to. Kind regards, Laura

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
7 reviews
Dined on March 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing. And great music

c
vipcrippynyc
New York Area
60 reviews
Dined on March 13, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

I think that the expansion of all the outdoor seating plus the indoors reopening has stretched everything a bit thin. I still love the food and service there, but our meal took 3 1/2 hours, start to finish, and involved several errors in what was brought to us. Maybe - which would be a good sign for the economy - they need to staff up even more? Or to reduce the capacity perhaps.

SB
SuttonB
New York Area
1 review
Dined on March 11, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience3

Service was extremely slow. Our drink order was incorrect. My friends halibut was noticeably smaller than those at the nearby tables. It was expensive for what it is.

The Clam
Responded on March 14, 2021

Hi Sutton, I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with us! I will reach out to you privately. Kind regards, Laura

Report
G
viplaurenG
New York Area
31 reviews
Dined on March 6, 2021
Overall2food2service4ambience4

I was disappointed to see that the restaurant was not adhering to safe Covid practices. First, we were shown a table which was "outside" but was really inside as it was totally enclosed and very close to other tables. Then they brought us to another table which had one side open; however it was very close to the tables next to us. On the plus side the service was nice and when they seemed to have forgotten our entrees the hostess offered us free drinks. The heaters were also very good. We had an overhead heater which was hot and also foot heaters for every table. That was definitely a plus. The food was not great. My husband ordered spaghetti with clams and he did not really find any clams. I ordered scallops which came with only 3 scallops and was just ok. Our starters were also just ok. They were not serving oysters. The salmon tartar was fishy.

JN
vipJudyNYC
New York Area
18 reviews
Dined on March 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Bright flavors and great service!

D
Diner22
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on February 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was great - shared many items with the table. Doing a great in the covid and cold

A
vipAdhindsa
New York Area
62 reviews
Dined on February 27, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience4

The Clam has done an excellent job making outdoor dining safe and comfortable! The food was very good--not exceptional. I would go back.

CI
vipChandraI
New York Area
11 reviews
Dined on February 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great night!

e
eebl0018
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on February 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

All was great. I didn’t enjoy the “Covid recovery fee”, though

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on February 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome food + service. They have outdoor dining down!

SS
vipScottS
Naples
15 reviews
Dined on February 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

great local restaurant. The food was fresh & the service was excellent!!!

NY
vipNYCAG84
New York Area
30 reviews
Dined on February 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic dinner experience as always , impeccable service, and very much enjoyed the clam and lobster slider platter. The desserts were a perfect end to our dinner.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience3

Wanted to eat inside

MB
vipMBat
San Francisco
12 reviews
Dined on February 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Valentine’s Day celebrated at The Clam. So special! Everything was excellent. And we were warm enough! Thanks to all the folks at The Clam.

M
Mika
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2021
Overall3food5service5ambience3

The food was spectacular as expected but was disappointed as how cold it was INSIDE the restaurant.

MN
MichaelNY
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food and service are outstanding. I can’t say enough how much we enjoyed this place and will definitely be going back again. Everything we ordered from our drinks, to the appetizers, and to the main dishes were phenomenal.

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from The Clam using the Order Online button. The Clam also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (212) 242-7420.

The Clam is rated 4.8 stars by 1172 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.