The Black Swan Ockham
A delightfully eclectic eatery the pub & restaurant presents a stunning international wine list, a great selection of real ales and a cosmopolitan décor with open fires and plenty of comfy seating. During the summer months enjoy one of Surrey"s finest Al fresco dining experiences in our beautiful gardens.
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waitstaff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
- Staff temperature check required
- Contact tracing information collected
Excellent meal beautifully presented. Very helpful staff
Third time here in recent months and it gets better every time. Great food, superb friendly service. The staff simply make you feel valued as a customer
Wow! The hosts at this restaurant are the warmest we’ve ever met! The menu was outstanding along with the drinks choice! This will definitely be a weekly trip for us now we’ve moved to the area!
Hi KellyK Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So pleased you enjoyed your visit. Your kind words are so appreciated. We look forward to seeing you soon. The Black Swan Team
Friendly service, nice atmosphere, excellent menu and delicious well-presented fare. What more could you want?
Hi Charles D So pleased to here you enjoyed your visit with us, and thankyou for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards The Black Swan Team
Great lunch out to celebrate my partner's birthday. Food was really lovely. Tasty and well presented.
HI Maggie Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So pleased you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you soon. The Black Swan Team
Never lets me down....always good
Hi Toffee Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you soon. The Black Swan Team
The good stuff. Service was good with very nice people. Great ambience. Pretty nice setting, and if sat outside do make sure you’re in the non road side garden part. The not so good stuff. Food was patchy. One main was very poor and sent back. Dessert underwhelming. At the price it failed to hit the mark.
As usual.......... very good. See you soon.
Thank you, Frosty
Expensive I thought, general service was slow initially but improved. Sam our waiter was funny and really made us smile!
Always go to the black swan such a fabulous place the service is always carried out with a friendly smile food is excellent and the ambiance of the place is just fantastic don't go to anywhere else now it's my number one place to go for lunch.
Well managed catering in a pleasant environment. Relaxing for casual entertainment
Have just eaten one of the best meals I have had recently. Can really recommend the “special” pig cheeks with creamy mashed potatoes, leeks and spinach Mmmmmm. The chicken liver parfait was so tasty as was the pork belly scratchings with apple purée. Another “special” Arctic roll with meringue, raspberries and ice cream was delightful as was the smooth strong coffee. All in all a really great experience as the staff, restaurant and weather were perfect.
Wonderful review, Thank you so much. I will ake sure to pass it onto the team. many thanks The management
Really great service - friendly and efficient. We all loved our chosen dishes. Very pretty outside space. We sat indoors due to our elderly family and it was empty. Staff were so lovely.
An enjoyable meal with family. Food generally very good but dessert a little odd. Apple and rhubarb crumble turned out to be apple and granola and really dry. Ice cream flavour choices were limited.
My starter had a hair in it and I was given a replacement but no offer of taking it off the bill which was poor service recovery.
Lovely pub with very good service and excellent beer.
Had a wonderful time at the Black Swan Ockham. It had been a hot and busy day and the staff were tired but super friendly, very happy to help with the needs of our group and provided wonderful service. They have plenty of outdoor space in well designed areas with a good distance between the tables. The food was well presented and delicious
Awful just awful. The large french lady was so vile and rude. I will never return.
Setting is fantastic, helpful staff with lovely food. A relaxing Sunday lunch
This time after looking forward to going was very disappointing did not get a nice table very noisy from road and had a water balling thrown at us from passing car.
Vegetarian choices were not good my asparagus was under and woody the poached egg was over done Hollandaise sauce had been over nearly curdled.
Vegan Burger was not nice.
Need to improve service as such a nice pub.
Long waits for drinks
Requested a call back no one did as wanted a table by the music.
Hope things change.
Dear Roshnip, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our pub. We will take your feedback on board to improve. Many thanks
Lovely garden setting on a very hot day and the staff did their best to get us served and happy
Beautiful garden, good choice of drinks, service was quick & lots of waiters / waitresses on hand to keep drinks topped up etc
Sunday roast was lovely & highly recommend the baked Camembert!
Thought we had booked for a chilled Sunday soul lunch- needs to have when booking that this doesn’t start until 3- we had booked for 1.30- so slightly disappointed.
We came back after 42 years- our first date was here , but we called it the Mucky Duck back then!
Think we will have to book and celebrate our anniversary in September!
Loved everyone of your staff- so customer focused!
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind words. We cant wait to see you again (hopefully in September, for such a special occasion!) Kind regards, Asta Deputy manager
The food and service was great as always. It was an extremely hot day, so the shade was a bit inadequate inthe gsarden. There is a bit of noise from the adjacent road, but all very manageable due to the high hedge. Overall an enjoyable experience. It would have been great if they could provide some activities for kids (a colouring sheet etc)
A lovely pub with friendly & efficient staff and a good atmosphere out in the garden where we sat.. The food was mainly excellent although one of our party found her roast beef a little undercooked and slightly tough.
Came with two small children. Fantastic food will come again
Dear Guest, we are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely meal. We hope to see you soon!
Lovely visit. Outside in the sunshine. Friendly efficient staff with good honest food.
Hi Frosty, great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our pub. Hope to see you again soon!
Visited on a very warm summers evening. The outside space is lovely wherever you are sat. The welcome was warm and service was excellent. Maybe only minor grumble is selection of main courses is limited. But the baked camembert sharer is something special!
Dear Guest, we really appreciate your feedback! We can't wait to see you again, have a great day. Many thanks, Asta Deputy manager
W E HAD A VERY ENJOYABLE TIME . LOVELY ATTENTIVE STAFF. THANK YOU. WILL RETURN1
Dear Alan, we cant wait for you to return! Have a lovely week ahead. Kind regards, Asta Deputy manager
Lovely outside eating area and great service. Very attentive and friendly staff
Dear Linsey, happy we could help you out with a great service, hopefully see you again soon. Many thanks, Asta Deputy manager
Really good food. Great service and good location. Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Really impressed with them. Definitely recommended.
Dear Tony, such a nice review to read, thank you so much. We can't wait to see you again, have a great day. Many thanks, Asta Deputy manager
Great food lots of shady tables perfect on a hot day.
Dear Guest, thank you for your 5 star review. Have a great day! Many thanks, Asta Deputy manager
Above average pub food, with some interesting menu items, with great service and good outdoor seating.
Dear Stefano, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We hope to see you soon again!
What a beautiful pub, delicious food, super friendly and attentive staff.
We felt very welcome and looked after.
I would have given 5 stars for everything but the chocolate brownie dessert was too heavy and sickly and not really a chocolate brownie (mostly heavy chocolate).
Apart from that, excellent and we will definitely return!!
Dear Katherine, it is great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our pub. Hope to see you again soon! Many thanks, Asta Deputy manager
Great place service good but the batter on my fish wasn’t cooked which was a shame. Not as good as last time.
Dear Julie, I am sorry to hear about your recent exuberance. I hope you will give us another try, so we can gain back your trust! Many thanks, Asta Deputy manager
Amazing lunch in the garden with great staff. Will definitely be back
Dear Debbi, great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our pub. Hope to see you again soon!
Great as usual
Dear Guest, thank you for the high rating, it's really appreciated. Kind regards, Asta
Lovely pub. Staff were great. But I went home hungry. The mains are expensive for what you get.
Dear Ginny, we are sorry to hear that you did not find your meal good value for money. I have passed on your feedback to our chef. Is there any particular meal you there not happy with? Please let us know, so we can review portioning if necessary. Take care!
Always great food, great service and great atmosphere
Dear Sam, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at the Black Swan! Have a great day!
Staff great, but the food left me underwhelmed. The pâté was dressed rather fussily decorated and the whitebait/shrimp was perhaps over-cooked and a tad dry. Without the very good service it would have left me disappointed. My friends food looked very nice although I didn’t taste it. I think we’ll give it another go - let’s hope that goes better.
Dear Franco, thank you for your feedback! I am very happy to hear that you had a great service and will give us another go even if you there not very happy with your starters. We can't wait to see you again, have a great day. Kind regards, Asta Deputy manager
The Black Swan Ockham is rated 4.4 stars by 1785 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.