The Black Swan Ockham

4.4
1785 Reviews
£26 to £40
British
The Black Swan Ockham nestled in the idyllic Surrey countryside is the local culinary hotspot, offering an inventive British menu using some of the best in fresh local & seasonal produce.

A delightfully eclectic eatery the pub & restaurant presents a stunning international wine list, a great selection of real ales and a cosmopolitan décor with open fires and plenty of comfy seating. During the summer months enjoy one of Surrey"s finest Al fresco dining experiences in our beautiful gardens.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 1785 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
G
Geoff
Surrey
2 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent meal beautifully presented. Very helpful staff

PB
PeteB
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Third time here in recent months and it gets better every time. Great food, superb friendly service. The staff simply make you feel valued as a customer

KK
KellyK
Kent
4 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wow! The hosts at this restaurant are the warmest we’ve ever met! The menu was outstanding along with the drinks choice! This will definitely be a weekly trip for us now we’ve moved to the area!

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 20 hours ago

Hi KellyK Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So pleased you enjoyed your visit. Your kind words are so appreciated. We look forward to seeing you soon. The Black Swan Team

Report
CD
CharlesD
Surrey
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Friendly service, nice atmosphere, excellent menu and delicious well-presented fare. What more could you want?

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 20 hours ago

Hi Charles D So pleased to here you enjoyed your visit with us, and thankyou for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards The Black Swan Team

Report
M
Maggie
Surrey
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Great lunch out to celebrate my partner's birthday. Food was really lovely. Tasty and well presented.

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 20 hours ago

HI Maggie Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So pleased you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you soon. The Black Swan Team

Report
T
vipToffee
Oxford
10 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Never lets me down....always good

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 20 hours ago

Hi Toffee Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you soon. The Black Swan Team

Report
PB
PoppoB
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food2service4ambience3

The good stuff. Service was good with very nice people. Great ambience. Pretty nice setting, and if sat outside do make sure you’re in the non road side garden part. The not so good stuff. Food was patchy. One main was very poor and sent back. Dessert underwhelming. At the price it failed to hit the mark.

F
Frosty
4 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience4

As usual.......... very good. See you soon.
Thank you, Frosty

CS
CarolS
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Expensive I thought, general service was slow initially but improved. Sam our waiter was funny and really made us smile!

MC
MaggieC
Surrey
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always go to the black swan such a fabulous place the service is always carried out with a friendly smile food is excellent and the ambiance of the place is just fantastic don't go to anywhere else now it's my number one place to go for lunch.
Maggie Coombe

GR
GeoffR
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Well managed catering in a pleasant environment. Relaxing for casual entertainment

MB
MazzaB
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Have just eaten one of the best meals I have had recently. Can really recommend the “special” pig cheeks with creamy mashed potatoes, leeks and spinach Mmmmmm. The chicken liver parfait was so tasty as was the pork belly scratchings with apple purée. Another “special” Arctic roll with meringue, raspberries and ice cream was delightful as was the smooth strong coffee. All in all a really great experience as the staff, restaurant and weather were perfect.

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 21 hours ago

Wonderful review, Thank you so much. I will ake sure to pass it onto the team. many thanks The management

Report
F
Floss1
Surrey
2 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Really great service - friendly and efficient. We all loved our chosen dishes. Very pretty outside space. We sat indoors due to our elderly family and it was empty. Staff were so lovely.

AW
AlanW
Dorset
6 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food3service5ambience4

An enjoyable meal with family. Food generally very good but dessert a little odd. Apple and rhubarb crumble turned out to be apple and granola and really dry. Ice cream flavour choices were limited.

MF
MarianF
London
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food2service4ambience5

My starter had a hair in it and I was given a replacement but no offer of taking it off the bill which was poor service recovery.

H
Hectorshouse
1 review
Dined on July 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely pub with very good service and excellent beer.

JR
JessiR
New York Area
1 review
Dined on July 18, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Had a wonderful time at the Black Swan Ockham. It had been a hot and busy day and the staff were tired but super friendly, very happy to help with the needs of our group and provided wonderful service. They have plenty of outdoor space in well designed areas with a good distance between the tables. The food was well presented and delicious

H
Hmmmmm
1 review
Dined on July 18, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Awful just awful. The large french lady was so vile and rude. I will never return.

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 21 hours ago

No comment

Report
RW
RolandW
Surrey
2 reviews
Dined on July 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Setting is fantastic, helpful staff with lovely food. A relaxing Sunday lunch

RP
RoshniP
London
4 reviews
Dined on July 18, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience4

This time after looking forward to going was very disappointing did not get a nice table very noisy from road and had a water balling thrown at us from passing car.
Vegetarian choices were not good my asparagus was under and woody the poached egg was over done Hollandaise sauce had been over nearly curdled.
Vegan Burger was not nice.
Need to improve service as such a nice pub.
Long waits for drinks
Requested a call back no one did as wanted a table by the music.
Hope things change.

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 21 hours ago

Dear Roshnip, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our pub. We will take your feedback on board to improve. Many thanks

Report
p
pennyb
Hampshire
2 reviews
Dined on July 18, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Lovely garden setting on a very hot day and the staff did their best to get us served and happy

AF
AmandaF
London
1 review
Dined on July 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful garden, good choice of drinks, service was quick & lots of waiters / waitresses on hand to keep drinks topped up etc
Sunday roast was lovely & highly recommend the baked Camembert!

l
lyncher
Surrey
4 reviews
Dined on July 18, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Thought we had booked for a chilled Sunday soul lunch- needs to have when booking that this doesn’t start until 3- we had booked for 1.30- so slightly disappointed.
We came back after 42 years- our first date was here , but we called it the Mucky Duck back then!
Think we will have to book and celebrate our anniversary in September!
Loved everyone of your staff- so customer focused!

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind words. We cant wait to see you again (hopefully in September, for such a special occasion!) Kind regards, Asta Deputy manager

Report
MB
ManishB
Surrey
1 review
Dined on July 18, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

The food and service was great as always. It was an extremely hot day, so the shade was a bit inadequate inthe gsarden. There is a bit of noise from the adjacent road, but all very manageable due to the high hedge. Overall an enjoyable experience. It would have been great if they could provide some activities for kids (a colouring sheet etc)

PH
PeterH
London
1 review
Dined on July 18, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

A lovely pub with friendly & efficient staff and a good atmosphere out in the garden where we sat.. The food was mainly excellent although one of our party found her roast beef a little undercooked and slightly tough.

K
Kaz2021
Brighton
1 review
Dined on July 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Came with two small children. Fantastic food will come again

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Guest, we are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely meal. We hope to see you soon!

Report
F
Frosty
4 reviews
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Lovely visit. Outside in the sunshine. Friendly efficient staff with good honest food.

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Hi Frosty, great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our pub. Hope to see you again soon!

Report
GM
GarrettM
London
3 reviews
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Visited on a very warm summers evening. The outside space is lovely wherever you are sat. The welcome was warm and service was excellent. Maybe only minor grumble is selection of main courses is limited. But the baked camembert sharer is something special!

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Guest, we really appreciate your feedback! We can't wait to see you again, have a great day. Many thanks, Asta Deputy manager

Report
AH
AlanH
1 review
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

W E HAD A VERY ENJOYABLE TIME . LOVELY ATTENTIVE STAFF. THANK YOU. WILL RETURN1

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Alan, we cant wait for you to return! Have a lovely week ahead. Kind regards, Asta Deputy manager

Report
LE
LinseyE
1 review
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Lovely outside eating area and great service. Very attentive and friendly staff

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Linsey, happy we could help you out with a great service, hopefully see you again soon. Many thanks, Asta Deputy manager

Report
TM
TonyM
1 review
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really good food. Great service and good location. Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Really impressed with them. Definitely recommended.

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Tony, such a nice review to read, thank you so much. We can't wait to see you again, have a great day. Many thanks, Asta Deputy manager

Report
j
juliaw
Bedfordshire
3 reviews
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food lots of shady tables perfect on a hot day.

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Guest, thank you for your 5 star review. Have a great day! Many thanks, Asta Deputy manager

Report
S
Stefano
Surrey
1 review
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Above average pub food, with some interesting menu items, with great service and good outdoor seating.

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Stefano, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We hope to see you soon again!

Report
H
katherineH
Hampshire
2 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

What a beautiful pub, delicious food, super friendly and attentive staff.

We felt very welcome and looked after.

I would have given 5 stars for everything but the chocolate brownie dessert was too heavy and sickly and not really a chocolate brownie (mostly heavy chocolate).

Apart from that, excellent and we will definitely return!!

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Katherine, it is great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our pub. Hope to see you again soon! Many thanks, Asta Deputy manager

Report
JL
JulieL
London
4 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience5

Great place service good but the batter on my fish wasn’t cooked which was a shame. Not as good as last time.

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Julie, I am sorry to hear about your recent exuberance. I hope you will give us another try, so we can gain back your trust! Many thanks, Asta Deputy manager

Report
DB
DebbiB
Dorset
1 review
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing lunch in the garden with great staff. Will definitely be back

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Debbi, great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our pub. Hope to see you again soon!

Report
T
vipToffee
Oxford
10 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great as usual

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Guest, thank you for the high rating, it's really appreciated. Kind regards, Asta

Report
G
Ginny
Surrey
1 review
Dined on July 15, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience4

Lovely pub. Staff were great. But I went home hungry. The mains are expensive for what you get.

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Ginny, we are sorry to hear that you did not find your meal good value for money. I have passed on your feedback to our chef. Is there any particular meal you there not happy with? Please let us know, so we can review portioning if necessary. Take care!

Report
SF
SamF
1 review
Dined on July 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always great food, great service and great atmosphere

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Sam, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at the Black Swan! Have a great day!

Report
F
Franco
1 review
Dined on July 15, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Staff great, but the food left me underwhelmed. The pâté was dressed rather fussily decorated and the whitebait/shrimp was perhaps over-cooked and a tad dry. Without the very good service it would have left me disappointed. My friends food looked very nice although I didn’t taste it. I think we’ll give it another go - let’s hope that goes better.

The Black Swan Ockham
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Franco, thank you for your feedback! I am very happy to hear that you had a great service and will give us another go even if you there not very happy with your starters. We can't wait to see you again, have a great day. Kind regards, Asta Deputy manager

Report

FAQs

The Black Swan Ockham is rated 4.4 stars by 1785 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.