Talavera

4.5
1392 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Spanish
Talavera is a contemporary Spanish steakhouse that focuses on traditional Latin ingredients and specialties such as Paella, dry aged steak, jamón Ibérico, fresh seafood and a flavorful selection of tapas all complemented by a selection of more than 500 new and old world wines and crafted cocktails.

Attire: Resort Casual
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details
What 1392 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.7
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
Phoenix
41 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 3

The food was delicious...the sun was bright...and the service was moderate.
We enjoyed several different paella dishes. Unfortunately, the sun blinding one of us spoiled the ambiance of the evening.

Report
Helpful
y
Phoenix
3 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Service is flawless and what I enjoyed about the meal the most. Menu and execution is close to perfect but priced too high. 15 small, thin slices of salchichon shouldn’t be $22. Still a fine place for a dinner that will impress your date.

Report
Helpful
MD
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

I get the fillet every year and it's always delicious; however, this year it was overly salted. It still was good but the salt overwhelmed the taste to some extent.

Report
Helpful
BT
San Antonio
1 review
Dined on July 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The service was amazing and the food was also amazing! The Chef has great recipes and personally came out to greet us on my Birthday Dinner! I recommend the Paella and Rib eye!

Talavera
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks for taking a moment to share your experience with others, Brian! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great celebration for your birthday. We love the Ribeye and Paella too, and it makes us proud to know you thoroughly enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report
Helpful
JW
Phoenix
23 reviews
Dined on July 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent "Journey to Seville". Wonderful service from the moment of arrival. Chefs interpretations of Spanish classics are spot on.

Talavera
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks for sharing your recent dining experience with us, James! Nothing makes us happier than to hear that you had a great meal at Talavera, and we're thrilled to know that you enjoyed the authenticity of our Spanish menu. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report
Helpful
OT
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on July 13, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

First, I’m going to start off with our host, Ryan. This gentleman along with the other staff were nothing short of excellent. From frequent checks to the food recommendations, the staff were more than helpful.

Second, the food. I ordered the Octopus and then the Talavera seafood dish. Everything was cooked just right and flowed well together with my white wine.

Last, the setting. The valet was quick and professional and the dining was quiet along with a pleasant window view.

I deff. recommend this place for an evening dinner, 10/10.

Talavera
Responded 4 days ago

Wow, thanks for the great review of your experience! Nothing makes us happier than to know we treated our guests to an exemplary dining experience. We'll definitely be sharing this feedback with your server, Ryan, so that he knows he's doing a great job. We can't wait to welcome you back to Talavera soon!

Report
Helpful
SM
New York Area
14 reviews
Dined on July 12, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

The waitress was very sweet but the service was very slow and lagging. The wine was not chilled properly so it took 45 minutes to get wine poured and to get any food served.
The salmon belly (tartare) was tasteless.
The paella was good not great.
Overall disappointing.

Talavera
Responded 4 days ago

Hi there, Susan. Thanks for taking a moment to share some feedback with us about your recent experience, and we're sorry to hear that you were disappointed. The Salmon Belly Tartare was recently changed on our menu, so I'll be sharing your feedback with the culinary team so that we can improve for future guests. We'd love the opportunity to turn things around for you! We'll be sending you a private message with contact info should you wish to give us another try. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
JF
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on July 12, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 3

I can see why this restaurant struggles with its reviews. The views are outstanding and the restaurant has so much potentional. A vast improvement would be a deep clean and update of the patio, completely change the menu to please a wider range of people. Offer a complimentary bread service. I live close to Talavera; my husband and I frequent many of the upscale neighboring restaurants, and wish this place was a little better, as we would love to have another beautiful place to dine.

Talavera
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks for taking a moment to share your experience with us, Jody. We're sorry to read that you didn't care for the menu selections at Talavera. We changed to our Spanish concept last year and have mostly received positive feedback, but we understand that Spanish food and flavors aren't for everyone. We'd love the opportunity to provide a better experience for you if you wish to give us another try. We'll send you a private message with our contact information to make arrangements. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
OT
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on July 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent food, well made and served by exemplary staff. But it is a Four Seasons, so it’s also eye-wateringly expensive, and the supposedly shareable appetizers and tapas are very small.

Talavera
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience! We're glad to read you had an enjoyable experience in Talavera. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report
Helpful
SC
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on July 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic service and food. We had a wonderful meal, great view and overall 5 star experience. I highly recommend.

Talavera
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks for sharing your review of Talavera with other diners, Sally! We're thrilled to read that you had a fantastic dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Talavera soon!

Report
Helpful
TH
Phoenix
36 reviews
Dined on July 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great experience, wonderful waiters and help was spectacular. Really enjoyed

Talavera
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Tom, and thanks for your review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your service in Talavera, and look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Report
Helpful
f
Los Angeles
8 reviews
Dined on July 4, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

there are many fine dining places in Scottsdale, but, Talavera is a notch above and then some. the service extraordinary, the food inventive, but tasty, portions large enough to satisfy, yet not bloative. Back to the service, not obsequeous, but fully attentive and easy. the view was looking south over most of Phoenix. If you love quiet, terrific views, good food, with Euro luxury thrown in -- look no further

Talavera
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for the glowing review, FoodieHolic! We're so thrilled to read that you had an exceptional dinner with us and that you wanted to share your experience with other diners. We hope that we can welcome you back to Talavera soon for another meal! Cheers!

Report
Helpful
OT
Phoenix
8 reviews
Dined on June 29, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Started outdoors. Quiet but hot. Finished indoors and the staff handled the move gracefully. Food was very good. Nadine was a great server

Report
Helpful
l
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined on June 29, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

It was very pleasant! The food was very good!

Report
Helpful
k
Phoenix
55 reviews
Dined on June 22, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Food not as good as in the past year. However it wasn’t awful. Our waitress perhaps with spread then once food was delivered we never saw her until the bill was due

Report
Helpful
B
Atlanta
134 reviews
Dined on June 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Talavera offers an inventive menu and all-around superb food. Service is impeccable. Ask for Laura, who is excellent at helping pair wine with food. Make a reservation through Open Table, and get there around sunset for excellent views. Sit outside for the best views overlooking the valley.

Report
Helpful
T
Los Angeles
7 reviews
Dined on June 16, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Alot of interesting things on the menu. We ordered the Tomato bread which was like bruschetta but puréed. That was good but it did make the bread super mushy.

We also had the cured meats. Thats was really good.

Entrees are fair. The steaks look like the best choice.

Manager was great... Took care of a few problems that we had with the food preparation..

Overall was good but not Great.. I have been to many Four Seasons restaurants and In my opinion this was not my top choice..

Report
Helpful
P
Phoenix
8 reviews
Dined on June 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Outstanding food and great service!
We loved our anniversary celebration.
Perfect evening!

Report
Helpful
OT
Los Angeles
4 reviews
Dined on June 9, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

All dishes were way too salty. The 3-piece dinner bread we ordered ($5) was too hard. The sausage in the seafood paella was burned and the only jumbo shrimp din not taste fresh either! This dinner was not worth the price we were charged and we don‘t think we will return. Overall, this restsurant is over-rated.

Report
Helpful
SV
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on June 9, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent! I highly recommend and would not hesitate to return.

Report
Helpful
OT
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on June 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Vacation in Scottsdale. Food and service was spectacular. Couldn’t have been more pleased with our experience.

Talavera
Responded on June 5, 2019

Thank you for taking a moment to share your review with other diners! We are so glad to hear you had a great experience and look forward to welcoming you back to Talavera during your next trip to Scottsdale

Report
Helpful
OT
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined on May 31, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Service was incredible and the ambiance was amazing!

Talavera
Responded on June 5, 2019

Thanks for taking a moment to share a review with other diners! We're glad to hear that you had an enjoyable dining experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report
Helpful
SM
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on May 26, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 5

Loved the food and the service in the restaurant. The bar outside the restaurant didn’t offer the same experience, unfortunately, even though it was a bar for the restaurant.

Talavera
Responded on May 29, 2019

Thanks for sharing your feedback with others, Sarah! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Talavera. If you can share any specific details about your experience in Onyx Lounge, I'd be happy to share that feedback with the management team in the Lounge. We hope to see you at Talavera again soon!

Report
Helpful
W
Los Angeles
5 reviews
Dined on May 25, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Fantastic dining and beverage augmented by helpful and knowledgeable staff!

Talavera
Responded on May 29, 2019

Thank you very much for taking a moment to share your experience with others! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed Talavera, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report
Helpful
MA
1 review
Dined on May 25, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 2

Slow service, food mediocre. Not worth $150. We had a much better meal in Old Town for $26, with much better flavors and ingredients. And better service. Only highlight of Talavera was a Justin. He kept our water glasses full and was personable.

Talavera
Responded on May 29, 2019

Thanks for taking a moment to share your experience with us, Mary. Hearing your honest feedback allows us to make changes so that we improve. We're sorry to hear that you didn't feel that there was enough value in your meal. We'd love the opportunity to provide a better experience for you if you'd like to give us another try. Please ask for the Four Seasons Food & Beverage Admin Assistant if you'd like to book another reservation, and we will ensure that you have a flawless meal with us.

Report
Helpful
k
Chicago
44 reviews
Dined on May 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We attended a chef’s tasting and mezcal pairing at the restaurant. The whole experience was exquisite from the ceviche appetizer through our dessert crema. Our waiters were friendly and the chefs were patient with our questions.

Talavera
Responded on May 29, 2019

Thanks for the review, Kim! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Mezcal Dinner last week! It was definitely a unique experience, so we are thrilled you were able to join us! We hope to see you back at Talavera soon!

Report
Helpful
AZ
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on May 21, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 5ambience 2

So disappointing. I did not know Talavera “changed”. I guess it’s been about a year. This restaurant was 5-stars all the way before. Now, the ambiance is “stark” (all the beautiful tapestry and cushy seats are gone, replaced by plain chairs and gray walls). The food was “ok”. If the price was lower, the value might have been there for a repeat. But, this one is “off my list” now. This restaurant used to serve high-end food at high-end prices... and it was worth it. The service is still great. Our waiter was terrific, knew the menu well, and was very helpful. Although, I must say, it was odd, that, not once, were we asked if we needed a refill on our drinks... in any event, a great restaurant lost. The Four Seasons can/should do better then this.

Talavera
Responded on May 29, 2019

We're sorry that it was a surprise to you that the restaurant had changed concepts since your previous visit. We transitioned to our new Spanish menu in March 2018, and with it came an update to our decor. We had to make some tough decisions to adapt with the current culinary trends to stay relevant and fresh. We thank you for your honesty and feedback, and hope you'll consider giving us another try in the future. We'd love the opportunity to provide a 5 star experience again with the new menu

Report
Helpful
a
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 3

I have made the trip to The Four Seasons many times for the views and have only had bad food at their more casual restaurant called Proof. We thought the fancier restaurant would be better and decided to give it a go. I don’t know where to begin w how bad our experience was at Talavera. Our server was incompetent, arrogant, unknowledgeable about the menu and drinks. The menu is unintelligible..... the food description is half baked at best with key ingredients either missing or only in Spanish with inaccurate description from the smug waiter. The food is downright bad. Actually offensive. How is it possible to screw up lamb meatballs?? Well Talavera has managed to do so by serving us black, hard, over cooked meatballs. Our waiter never came back to ask us if we wanted more drinks. They removed half the table’s dirty appetizer dishes and brought out their main courses while our dirty dishes sat in front of us. Then they brought out our food while our dirty dishes sat in front of us. The salmon was $40, the waiter told us that it was wild salmon but it didn’t taste so at all. Just incredible for a restaurant at The Four Seasons. The manager, Vittorio must have caught wind of our unhappiness and came out to make things right, which was appreciated but sadly we left w such a bad taste in our mouths that , after visiting the Four Seasons for over ten years, we won’t be returning. Ever. It was so bad that 24 hours later we are all still talking about how bad it was.

Talavera
Responded on May 20, 2019

Thank you for your honest feedback, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share it with us. We understand that our manager hosted a round of drinks and some appetizers for you to try to make things right, but we clearly missed the mark with your dining experience, and we apologize. We'd love for the opportunity to turn things around and welcome you back to try Talavera again. We will send you a private response to make arrangements if you'd like to give us another chance. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
RR
Phoenix
80 reviews
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 4ambience 5

The prices are out of this universe! $18 for 3 meatballs, $60 for a steak and $60 for rack of lamb. The rack of lamb was tasty but $60 for 3 bones is outrageous. It was more of an appetizer than a meal. The outdoor seating is great as are the views. A nice place to go once a year or just once to experience. But there are much better restaurants that offer reasonable pricing and not the four seasons outrageous prices. And they add a 20% tip on to the bill automatically. I normally leave that percentage but it should be up to me, not to have it added in automatically. Overall, our party felt the food was good, service was good, prices were beyond ridiculous. I guess they can get away with it!

Talavera
Responded on May 20, 2019

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience, it is greatly appreciated for us to improve! We're sorry to hear that you felt pricing was high. We regularly conduct a price analysis with other restaurants with similar quality of service and cuisine so that we remain competitive with our pricing. We apologize that your server failed to inform you about the service charge applied when using a Preferred Diner card for a complimentary entree. We will ensure that this does not happen again.

Report
Helpful
CR
Phoenix
171 reviews
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We always have a wonderful experience at Talavera. The food is creative and well prepared, service is prompt and discreet and the view is amazing.

Talavera
Responded on May 20, 2019

Thank you for sharing your experience with other diners! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your meal, and look forward to welcoming you back to Talavera soon.

Report
Helpful
OT
Detroit
1 review
Dined on May 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent food and service, great wine list. Ambience is awesome, beautiful views

Report
Helpful
N
Miami
16 reviews
Dined on May 10, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

The service and the food was beyond excellent. The view is spectacular, The iconoclast Cabernet memorable and the best grilled octopus and Colorado lamb chops I’ve ever eaten. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
m
Phoenix
30 reviews
Dined on May 9, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 5

Food and service is good - but the best thing about this restaurant is the view on the outdoor patio.

Report
Helpful
b
Phoenix
9 reviews
Dined on May 3, 2019
Overall 2food 5service 1ambience 5

Our service was beyond horrible the waiter spilled are per Sacco and did not know how to open the bottle. When asked to explain the wine list he did not even know what per Sacco was. Very embarrassing to have our guest with us and have this bad experience

Report
Helpful
OT
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on May 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent service. Fabulous food. Gluten accommodations made. Beautiful surroundings made for a lovely evening. Thanks!!

Report
Helpful
a
Detroit
10 reviews
Dined on May 1, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

We went for a very special birthday. It was breathtaking. I spoke to maitre d to secure our fabulous table with a view, per request. He indicated we were outside with the “best” view. We had come early enough to grab a drink and the view and had Indicated that. $80 bar tab later, when we went to be seated, they had NOT held our table after all and attempted to seat us inside. I indicated that would,not work and we got an outside table in the back row. All women dining, perhaps? Not nice. Fairly well ignored by our very busy server. But in spite of the inferior treatment, we did indeed love this place.

Report
Helpful
i
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on April 30, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My wife and I had a very enjoyable night at the restaurant. The mood and service was only outmatched by the fabulous food.

Report
Helpful
OT
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on April 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was amazing! Best fillet ever! Also the paella was delicious!

Report
Helpful
W
Chicago
64 reviews
Dined on April 28, 2019
Overall 2food 4service 5ambience 2

Terribly disappointed that our favorite restaurant has been completely transformed from a elegant decor to a minimalist grey cold eatery with a tapas theme menu. No soup or bread is served. My main dish was greasy. A total disappointment and we are not likely to go back. I guess they never heard of " if it ain't broke, don't fix it!".
Very sad.

Report
Helpful
KL
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on April 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Everything was perfect.
Food, wine and ambiance beyond our expectations.

Thanks Anthony and Nadine for your service and attention.

Will make this restaurant a regular stop in our rotation.

Bravo

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
35

Tweets by Talavera