This includes info about cleaning, sanitizing, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.
Summer House - North Bethesda
A few notes to help make your meal an enjoyable experience:
-Reservations for the main dining room are strongly encouraged as distanced dine-in seating is limited. Patio dining is on a first come first served basis.
-Guests are required to wear a mask at all times when inside the restaurant, of course except while dining at your table.
-Please take care to arrive on time and limit your dining experience to 90 min as we would like to welcome back as many guests possible.
We appreciate your understanding, and thank you for your patronage of Summer House Santa Monica!
Book your next event with us
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Sealed or wrapped utensils used
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
- Waitstaff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
alaskan king crab
poached eggs, hass avocado, scallion mascarpone, whole-wheat brioche
black beans, cilantro rice, charred tomato salsa, corn tortillas
Had a wonderful brunch on Saturday with my niece. The tostados and the burrito were delicious! Great service and lovely environment!
Great service. .
Food was fine and consistent from other visits over the years. The outside space is great. However, this past visit we all agreed we had the single worst service we have EVER had in any restaurant. We waited 20 minutes for water and a drink order. The manager finally had to take the order as there were no servers in sight. Drinks never arrived. Waitress made multiple mistakes throughout dinner culminating at the end with almost sitcom insanity. She takes dessert order, leaves for 15 minutes, returns and takes dessert order again (seemingly unaware she took it the first time). Another 15 minutes passes, dessert NEVER arrives. we flag her again, she can't remember what we ordered. We ordered cookies...from the case!! By that time kitchen/bakery is closed. It took another 20 minutes to get our check. She brings check and disappears. We were there for 1 hour (!) from the time we finished entrees to the time we could leave. It was painful. They literally closed the place down around us but couldn't be bothered to get us our check. The entire time this was happening we could see our server and the other servers in the restaurant talking, goofing around and removing mask as if we weren't there. They just couldn't be bothered. We'll wait until after Covid to return.
Vicky, First and foremost, I am so sorry. There are multiple issues here that need to be addressed on our end, and I thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience. My name is Clay and I am one of the managers here. The experience you had in absolutely unacceptable - I am so sorry - I will be following up with you privately to make things right. Thanks again for taking the time to let us know, Clay Tormey
Had a delightful dinner with a friend at Summer House. Good food, great drinks. We were able to eat outdoors. Hoping that these restaurants will be able to survive as the weather changes.
Hello, Thanks so much for the positive feedback! Glad to see that food and service were up to par during your visit. We take a lot of pride in both. I would love to acknowledge and thank you in person the next time you are in. My name is Clay and I am one of the managers here. Feel free to reach out to me at firstname.lastname@example.org to make your next reservation! Thanks, Clay Tormey
Summer House is always a top choice for a special meal. My daughter and her friends celebrated her 15th birthday and really enjoyed it.
Carolyn, Thanks so much for the positive feedback! Glad the birthday lunch/dinner was a success and thank you for celebrating with us! My name is Clay and I am one of the managers here - feel free to ask for me when making your next reservation! Would love to thank you in person for the positive feedback and make sure you have another great visit the next time you dine with us! Thank you, Clay Tormey
Great, as always, even with COVID. Thanks for always having great food and service.
Steve, Thanks so much for the positive feedback! We are doing our best during these times and its awesome to see the feedback from our guests. My name is Clay and I am one of the managers here - feel free to ask for me the next time you are in - would love to thank you in person for the feedback and make sure you have another great experience next time! Thank you, Clay Tormey
Food is amazing, presentation and drinks great!
Food was Tasty!!! The burrata & prosciutto was fantastic! The meatballs should be a stand-alone dish cause it was so flavorful! Rib-eye was a little chewy and had a lot of fat (but I didn’t say anything, it was late and the place was about to close). I did take a s’mores bar home and had it then next day for breakfast and it was heaven.
Selena was our server and she was very attentive. She went above and beyond any expectations under normal circumstances but it’s COVID-19 so her personal interest and attention was outstanding. You can tell she loves the industry and enjoys connecting with her guests!
Definitely will go back!
Hello, Thank you so much for the positive feedback here! So glad to hear food and service were up to par - and I will definitely pass along the positive feedback to Selena! My name is Clay and I am one of the managers here - feel free to ask for me the next time you are in - would love to thank you in person for the feedback and make sure you have another great experience next time! Thank you, Clay Tormey
After being seated, after 15 minutes without any waiter coming to the table, I got up and interrupted two waiters who were talking at a register 6 feet from our table. I asked if either was our waiter and they said no, but brought water. After another 10 minutes, and seeing people sat long after being waited on and brought drinks, I got up to ask if someone was going to take our order. A salad was ordered in addition to entrees, and after 15 minutes I asked whether the salad was coming. It was brought 1 minute before our entrees, one of which the waiter failed to take the order properly. The food was just ok, not as good as prior visits and with the terrible service, I will not go back to this restaurant.
Hello, I am so sorry for your experience. My name is Clay and I am one of the managers here at the restaurant. The experience you had is absolutely unacceptable. It is both embarrassing and frustrating to read this, but I thank you for letting us know, and I will be following up with you separately to make this right. Thank you again for letting us know, Clay Tormey
Good food. Great ambiance. Ideal to eat during the pandemic. Will visit again.
Kendra, Thank you so much for the positive feedback! Hope to see you back in the restaurant soon!
Great patio. Good food. Service was not as efficient as usual. My biggest gripe is the wine prices - ridiculously expensive.
Hi Leenda, Thanks for the feedback. I am glad the food was up to par, but I am upset the service didn't match. I will be reaching out to you separately now. Thank you again for letting us know about your experience, Clay Tormey
We are patrons often with very positive past results however, this was a very challenging experience with two major issues in dining
We will be back but will be guarded
Milano, Thank you for the feedback. My name is Clay and I am one of the managers at the restaurant. I am so sorry for the experience you had yesterday. I was the manager on duty yesterday when you dined with us - I wish I had known while you were in to make it right then. I want to make it right now though, and I will be following up privately with you. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us the feedback. Clay Tormey
The overall experience is good. The location and the vibe of the restaurant are great for socializing with friends and family, but not good if you are looking for great food. Nothing about the food would wow you and its expensive ish.
Hello, Thank you for the feedback and taking the time to let us know about your experience. I'm glad the service and ambience was up to par on your visit, but I am sorry about the food. We have high expectations for our food quality here, and it's not okay when it doesn't get served to those standards. I am going to be following up with you privately on this matter. Thank you for reaching out, Clay Tormey
Maddie was super busy, juggling several tables, and was assigned ours last minute, but she was extremely pleasant, welcoming, and accommodating despite her work load. She was attentive, answered our questions, and entertained substitutions and last minute LEYE membership changes. Very professional and a great asset to your team. I’ll be back and hope to be seated in her section again.
Hello, My name is Clay and I am a manager at Summer House and Stella Barra. Thank you so much for reaching out and the positive review! We will definitely pass along the positive feedback to Maddie. She is awesome and this is so great to hear! Feel free to ask for me whenever you want to come back in. Thanks again, Clay Tormey
Impromptu lunch with friends. Great time. Good food and service.
Hello, Thanks so much for reaching out and the positive feedback! My name is Clay and I am a manager here at the restaurant - feel free to ask for me your next time in, or for me to make your next reservation! Hope to see you back in again soon. Clay Tormey
Great service and great company
Rachel, Thanks so much for the positive review! Glad to see food and service were up to par. Hope to see you back in the restaurant again soon! Thanks, Clay Tormey
Fabulous drinks and very fresh, well seasoned food. Great COVID-19 safety precautions too.
Hello, Thanks so much for the positive feedback! We are doing our best to make it as safe and enjoyable dining experience as possible and this is great to hear. My name is Clay and I am one of the managers here - feel free to reach out to me at 301-881-2381 to make your next reservation! Thanks, Clay Tormey
Staff and the manager were great
Thank you so much for the positive feedback! My name is Clay and I am one of the managers here - please feel free to reach out to me at 301-881-2381 when you want to come back in!
Summer House is just not what it used to be. The prices have gone sky high, and the servers are young and inexperienced. Overall, it does not make for a dining experience that matches their high pricing.
Hello, Thank you for this feedback. My name is Clay and I am one of the managers here. Although its not enjoyable to read this feedback, we need to know about our guests experiences, so thank you for reaching out. I am going to be following up with you privately on this to make things right. Thanks again, Clay Tormey
The inside/outside ambience is amazing here. We had the spicy chicken wings , spicy chicken sandwich, mint tea, and spaghetti. Everything but the spaghetti was great. It was a bit bland but our server was so helpful and gave us cheese and pepper flakes to bring it to life. Great spot!!!
Hi Rachel, Thank you for the feedback! Glad to hear it was a good experience and that food and service were up to par. We will work on the spaghetti to make it a better dish! My name is Clay and I am one of the managers here - please feel free to reach out to me at 301-881-2381 to make your next reservation here! Thanks, Clay Tormey
Very good service - Food was overall excellent - portion of salad for the burger could have been bigger- Cobb salad was amazing - will come back again without hesitation
Thank you for the great feedback! Glad it was a good experience and hope to have you back in the restaurant again soon!
You can order pizza half and half also the taste is good.
Love the place but for the price I was expecting better quality food and better service. The food took long only to come cold and had to return the pizza we order because it was just too cold. We didn’t finish our fried calamari because it was oily and tasted like it was fried with old oil.
They were nice enough to take the pizza off our bills. Even though the place and ambiance are nice, I will not recommend or return there.
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback for us. Its not enjoyable to read this, but it's important for us to see so we can make improvements to both our food and service. So thank you. My name is Clay and I am one of the managers here - I am going to be following up with you privately to make this right. Thanks again, Clay Tormey
A touch of California on Rockville Pike! Both the calamari as an appetizer and the burger/ trout we had were outstanding. We dined inside but their patio looks very nice - for the next time...
Thank you for the great feedback! Great to hear that food and service were up to par! My name is Clay and I am one the managers here - feel free to reach out to me at 301-881-2381 to make your next reservation!
Good food, service and ambience. The wine choice was very good too.
Thank you for the great feedback! Hope to see you back in the restaurant soon!
The lobster roll was pathetic! Got $24.95 you get lots of bread and a mere 3 oz. of lobster meat. Complained and not responsive. They should be embarrassed.
Hello, I am so sorry to hear about the experience you had. My name is Clay and I am one of the managers here - I am going to be following up with you privately on this. Thank you for taking the time to let us know, Clay Tormey
Love the decor, love the service, the food was bland though. At that price level it should be spot on and it just wasn't. Calamari was soggy, chicken wings had no flavor, and the pasta was just ok. The one redeeming quality of the food were the drinks, nice cocktails.
Hi Aaron, Thank you for this feedback on your experience with us. Glad to hear the service was up to par, but it sounds like to missed the mark with the food. We have high expectations of our food quality here and I am so sorry to hear that we did not deliver when you were in. I will be following up with you privately on this. Thanks, Clay Tormey
Menu improving over Covid
Service is ok
Perfect brunch spot
The food was amazing, the service was not super attentive but it was fine. I still would recommend eating here. I know things are crazy with so much outside seating.
Hi Beth, Glad to hear the food was up to par, but I am sorry the service was lacking during your visit. I am going to be reaching out to you privately to rectify this. Thank you for the feedback, Clay Tormey
Brunch was delicious. Service was ok.
Hello, Thanks for the positive feedback on the food! Sorry to hear the service was lacking on your visit. My name is Clay and I am one of the managers here. Feel free to ask for me to make your next reservation. Or let me know when you come back in! Would like to make sure service is spot on next time! Thanks, Clay Tormey
The setting outside was lovely and the service and food were very good.
Nice outside dining space for these challenging times. Service was good, the menu offers lots of diverse choices, and the food looks and tastes great.
Mediocre. Lazy service, bland food.
The food was fresh, the drinks were very refreshing on a warm day and the service was great! We will be back!!
Great service, nice venue. We had sidewalk seating so it wasn't as secluded as other areas. The additional COVID surcharge of 4% was not explained and the wait staff doesn't fully understand how it impacts them or what to tell customers that ask.
The food was amazing (I had the chicken and waffles, my favorite Southern classic that I had no idea was served anywhere around here). The service was great, although it was slightly drizzling and we were strongly encouraged to sit outside. So I felt a few heavy drops, but that’s the smallest and only complaint I had. I understand with Covid that seating inside is limited. Will definitely aim to go here again.
It took a very long time for waitress to take our drink order and even longer for the food. We almost left. Then my dates sandwich wasn’t good. Nice atmosphere but very overpriced.
This restaurant has great outdoor seating that transports you to a place of tranquility with good food
I would like to see and addition of frozen cocktails and deserts that reflect connotation of a demerit house.
We have been to Summer House many times both pre and post-COVID and always seem to come away disappointed. The location is great if you Iike lots of activity and people watching. The service is usually pretty friendly and the menu is decent. But the food is WAY overpriced. On our last visit my wife had an arugula salad with chicken that contained mostly filler greens and only a little arugula. At $19 it was pure robbery. I ordered simple blueberry pancakes that were good at $13 and our daughter had a breakfast burrito. Add three coffees and it was $75 for a very forgettable meal. We have given this place so many chances. I really don’t see us going back again.
You can order delivery directly from Summer House - North Bethesda using the Order Online button. Summer House - North Bethesda also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (301) 881-2381.
Summer House - North Bethesda is rated 4.4 stars by 1972 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.